Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 33

Thread: [News] AMD's next-gen 'Whitehaven' CPU: 16C/32T @ 3.6GHz [Update: Confirmed]

  1. #1
    Join XS BOINC Team StyM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Tropics
    Posts
    16,513

    [News] AMD's next-gen 'Whitehaven' CPU: 16C/32T @ 3.6GHz [Update: Confirmed]

    Last edited by StyM; 05-16-2017 at 03:57 PM.

  2. #2
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,793
    this is crazy, but TDP could be around the 150-170W I think. Its a lot of die
    ROG Power PCs - Intel and AMD
    CPUs:i9-7900X, i9-9900K, i7-6950X, i7-5960X, i7-8086K, i7-8700K, 4x i7-7700K, i3-7350K, 2x i7-6700K, i5-6600K, R7-2700X, 4x R5 2600X, R5 2400G, R3 1200, R7-1800X, R7-1700X, 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, A10-7870K, Athlon 845, Athlon 860K,AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930KAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread Intel Cinebench R15 thread

  3. #3
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    679
    Quote Originally Posted by FlanK3r View Post
    this is crazy, but TDP could be around the 150-170W I think. Its a lot of die
    Thats just TWO zeppelin dies MCMed.
    taking into account that with this clock, they could be 65W, this chip(package actually) actually may be in the same TDP as socket 2011 chips .
    Also theres the rumour that x399 chips are going to be newer revision.
    Might be interesting to see it battle out with skylake-X`s . We may theoretically even get decent prices on these.
    Intel 5960X@4.2Ghz[Prime stable]@4.5 [XTU stable] 1.24v NB@3.6ghz Asrock X99 Extreme 3 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance@3200 16-17-17
    Sapphire nitro+ VEGA 56 Samsung SSD 850 256GB Crucial MX100 512GB HDD:WD10TB WD:8TB Seagate8TB

  4. #4
    Xtreme X.I.P. Particle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    3,218
    Hopefully this thing will launch with ECC support and less confusion surrounding its use.
    Particle's First Rule of Online Technical Discussion:
    As a thread about any computer related subject has its length approach infinity, the likelihood and inevitability of a poorly constructed AMD vs. Intel fight also exponentially increases.

    Rule 1A:
    Likewise, the frequency of a car pseudoanalogy to explain a technical concept increases with thread length. This will make many people chuckle, as computer people are rarely knowledgeable about vehicular mechanics.

    Rule 2:
    When confronted with a post that is contrary to what a poster likes, believes, or most often wants to be correct, the poster will pick out only minor details that are largely irrelevant in an attempt to shut out the conflicting idea. The core of the post will be left alone since it isn't easy to contradict what the person is actually saying.

    Rule 2A:
    When a poster cannot properly refute a post they do not like (as described above), the poster will most likely invent fictitious counter-points and/or begin to attack the other's credibility in feeble ways that are dramatic but irrelevant. Do not underestimate this tactic, as in the online world this will sway many observers. Do not forget: Correctness is decided only by what is said last, the most loudly, or with greatest repetition.

    Rule 3:
    When it comes to computer news, 70% of Internet rumors are outright fabricated, 20% are inaccurate enough to simply be discarded, and about 10% are based in reality. Grains of salt--become familiar with them.

    Remember: When debating online, everyone else is ALWAYS wrong if they do not agree with you!

    Random Tip o' the Whatever
    You just can't win. If your product offers feature A instead of B, people will moan how A is stupid and it didn't offer B. If your product offers B instead of A, they'll likewise complain and rant about how anyone's retarded cousin could figure out A is what the market wants.

  5. #5
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,767
    Quote Originally Posted by FlanK3r View Post
    this is crazy, but TDP could be around the 150-170W I think. Its a lot of die
    those are supposed to be an mcm, so 75-85W per die is not bad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Particle View Post
    Hopefully this thing will launch with ECC support and less confusion surrounding its use.
    is ryzen not ecc on everything?
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  6. #6
    Xtreme Enthusiast Kai Robinson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    East Sussex
    Posts
    831
    IIRC the controller on Ryzen supports ECC but the boards are hit & miss.

    Main Rig

    Intel Core i7-2600K (SLB8W, E0 Stepping) @ 4.6Ghz (4.6x100), Corsair H80i AIO Cooler
    MSI Z77A GD-65 Gaming (MS-7551), v25 BIOS
    Kingston HyperX 16GB (2x8GB) PC3-19200 Kit (HX24C11BRK2/16-OC) @ 1.5v, 11-13-13-30 Timings (1:8 Ratio)
    8GB MSI Radeon R9 390X (1080 Mhz Core, 6000 Mhz Memory)
    NZXT H440 Case with NZXT Hue+ Installed
    24" Dell U2412HM (1920x1200, e-IPS panel)
    1 x 500GB Samsung 850 EVO (Boot & Install)
    1 x 2Tb Hitachi 7K2000 in External Enclosure (Scratch Disk)


    Entertainment Setup

    Samsung Series 6 37" 1080p TV
    Gigabyte GA-J1800N-D2H based media PC, Mini ITX Case, Blu-Ray Drive
    Netgear ReadyNAS104 w/4x2TB Toshiba DTACA200's for 5.8TB Volume size

    I refuse to participate in any debate with creationists because doing so would give them the "oxygen of respectability" that they want.
    Creationists don't mind being beaten in an argument. What matters to them is that I give them recognition by bothering to argue with them in public.

  7. #7
    Xtreme Addict Chrono Detector's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    1,139
    I find it odd that the 16 core CPU has higher clocks than the smaller variants, because usually a more powerful CPU with more cores would have less clock speeds in order to reduce the TDP, or am I missing something here. Also, I hope the memory issues will be fixed on this platform.
    AMD Threadripper 12 core 1920x CPU OC at 4Ghz | ASUS ROG Zenith Extreme X399 motherboard | 32GB G.Skill Trident RGB 3200Mhz DDR4 RAM | Gigabyte 11GB GTX 1080 Ti Aorus Xtreme GPU | SilverStone Strider Platinum 1000W Power Supply | Crucial 1050GB MX300 SSD | 4TB Western Digital HDD | 60" Samsung JU7000 4K UHD TV at 3840x2160

  8. #8
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,767
    Quote Originally Posted by Chrono Detector View Post
    I find it odd that the 16 core CPU has higher clocks than the smaller variants, because usually a more powerful CPU with more cores would have less clock speeds in order to reduce the TDP, or am I missing something here. Also, I hope the memory issues will be fixed on this platform.
    they are engineering samples so they send out the highest clock then people get instructions for what potential skus would be if they are making something that needs a lower tdp. if you look at the 12core part it says alienware, so i would bet that is targeting a SFF or integrated device.
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  9. #9
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    1,264
    R7 1700 is 65w @ 3.0base (but spends 99% of its time @ 3.2 all core) , and these are not top bin chips, So that 31/36 SKU should be easily doable @ 125-140w

  10. #10
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Ace Deuce, Michigan
    Posts
    3,956
    Quote Originally Posted by Chrono Detector View Post
    I find it odd that the 16 core CPU has higher clocks than the smaller variants, because usually a more powerful CPU with more cores would have less clock speeds in order to reduce the TDP, or am I missing something here. Also, I hope the memory issues will be fixed on this platform.
    Nah it just has to do with binning. Same issue as with the 8 core vs cutdown 6 core chips.

    It's not about the power consumption per core; it's the fact the 12 core chips are assembled by gluing together 4 4-core units that failed transistor leakage requirements (and hence had 1 core disabled).
    Quote Originally Posted by Hans de Vries View Post

    JF-AMD posting: IPC increases!!!!!!! How many times did I tell you!!!

    terrace215 post: IPC decreases, The more I post the more it decreases.
    terrace215 post: IPC decreases, The more I post the more it decreases.
    terrace215 post: IPC decreases, The more I post the more it decreases.
    .....}
    until (interrupt by Movieman)


    Regards, Hans

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Hungary, Budapest
    Posts
    31
    Full lineup leaked. It seems that after 14 years there will be true competition in the high end and maybe even the absolute performance crown will come back to AMD as well.

    Ryzen 9 CPU Cores/Threads Base/Boost Clock Speed TDP Memory PCIe Lanes
    1998X 16/32 3.5/3.9GHz 155W Quad Channel DDR4 44
    1998 16/32 3.2/3.6GHz 155W Quad Channel DDR4 44
    1977X 14/28 3.5/4.0GHz 155W Quad Channel DDR4 44
    1977 14/28 3.2/3.7GHz 140W Quad Channel DDR4 44
    1976X 14/28 3.6/4.1GHz 140W Quad Channel DDR4 44
    1956X 12/24 3.2/3.8GHz 125W Quad Channel DDR4 44
    1956 12/24 3.0/3.7GHz 125W Quad Channel DDR4 44
    1955X 10/20 3.6/4.0GHz 125W Quad Channel DDR4 44
    1955 10/20 3.1/3.7GHz 125W Quad Channel DDR4 44


    http://wccftech.com/amd-ryzen-9-lineup-threadripper/
    2 x ES Intel Xeon E5 2680v2 @8cores/16threads/25MB L3 cache @ 3,4 Ghz | Asus Z9PE-D8 WS | 6x4GB Kingston HyperX Predator | EVGA Geforce 980Ti HydroCopper @1350Mhz | HyperX 240GB PCi SSD boot + Samsung 840 SSD 2 x 256GB | 25 TB RAID5 (WD+Seagate) Dell T630 server | Corsair AXi1500 | CaseLabs SMA8 gunmetal - watercooling: 2 x EK Supreme LTX CPU + Nickel-Acetal full cover VGA | LG38UC99+Dell U3014 + 2 X Dell U2715

  12. #12
    One-Eyed Killing Machine
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Inside a pot
    Posts
    6,393
    The only problem I see here is that most consumer applications and games do not have the capabilities to utilize that many cores.
    Anything above 6 cores is pretty much "useless" in most cases ( except video encoding & archiving, but even in video, going over 16 cores gives diminishing video quality & smaller performance increases ).
    Coding 24/7... Limited forums/PMs time.

    -Justice isn't blind, Justice is ashamed.

    Many thanks to: Sue Wu, Yiwen Lin, Steven Kuo, Crystal Chen, Vivian Lien, Joe Chan, Sascha Krohn, Joe James, Dan Snyder, Amy Deng, Jack Peterson, Hank Peng, Mafalda Cogliani, Olivia Lee, Marta Piccoli, Mike Clements, Alex Ruedinger, Oliver Baltuch, Korinna Dieck, Steffen Eisentein, Francois Piednoel, Tanja Markovic, Cyril Pelupessy (R.I.P. ), Juan J. Guerrero

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member JPQY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    279
    Hmm..have here chess-engines that can use a few 1000cores if you want..still waiting

    Like last Stockfish has max.threads setting from 512threads

    option name Threads type spin default 1 min 1 max 512

    But this number you can put so high you want..or like asmFish is Numa-aware and you can put how many nodes it can use..
    now it has a default max. from 32nodes/cpu's..so a MB with 32 sockets..where?

    It goes to slow with number off cores! i hear this already from we had dual cores..then first chess program that was programmed to use more cores had max.2048cores in his settings but we go from 2cores to 4,6,8,10,12,14,16..32,64..and more..but still a long way to go..

    AMD will finally come with a Desktop cpu with 16cores/32threads..i know Naples 32c/64t..it's coming..but 14years with these little steps..we should be 10times higher now..
    Now i wait to see Intel i9-7920x 12c/24t against AMD Ryzen 9 Threadripper 1998x 16c/32t Chess/price performance..to see a nice gain in nodes/sec. so that i can make a nice upgrade from my i7 5960x
    -Core i9 7980XE @4,20Ghz Vcore:1,10V
    -Asrock X299 Taichi XE
    -Custom water-cooling loop
    -16Gb Corsair DDR4 3200Mhz
    -Samsung 970 evo Plus 500Gb
    -Samsung 960 evo 250Gb
    -Samsung 850 evo 500Gb
    -Samsung SH-S223Q
    -Asus RTX 2080 Dual OC
    -Cooler Master HAF 932
    -Seasonic Prime 1300W Gold

    Test results are always welcome with this Chess Test where all your cores/threads will run @100% ,Thanks
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...=1#post5259523

  14. #14
    One-Eyed Killing Machine
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Inside a pot
    Posts
    6,393
    You're not providing real-life examples however.
    Yes, there are benchmarks ( mostly synthetic ) that can handle 1000 cores ( question is... where do they stop scaling ? have you done any testing yourself ? or are you one of those who recommend 12 core chips for Adobe After Effects ? [ which practically stops showing any gains at 6-7 cores... ] ).

    Will a 16 core chip make your GAMING experience in Fritz for example any different than a 4.4GHz 7700K ? doubt it.

    Except rendering apps ( which use your cores in rendering, not all the time ) and some specialized software ( and rarely used apps like 7-zip huge compressible folders ), the rest, common apps, most apps out there do not take advantage of 4 cores, not 16

    I've got plenty of multi-cpu setups, I've tested a whole lot of software ( real-life and synthetic ) to know how many apps that see real life usage by people are out there capable of showing performance gains by core counts of >8 cores.

    Quote Originally Posted by JPQY View Post
    Hmm..have here chess-engines that can use a few 1000cores if you want..still waiting

    Like last Stockfish has max.threads setting from 512threads

    option name Threads type spin default 1 min 1 max 512

    But this number you can put so high you want..or like asmFish is Numa-aware and you can put how many nodes it can use..
    now it has a default max. from 32nodes/cpu's..so a MB with 32 sockets..where?

    It goes to slow with number off cores! i hear this already from we had dual cores..then first chess program that was programmed to use more cores had max.2048cores in his settings but we go from 2cores to 4,6,8,10,12,14,16..32,64..and more..but still a long way to go..

    AMD will finally come with a Desktop cpu with 16cores/32threads..i know Naples 32c/64t..it's coming..but 14years with these little steps..we should be 10times higher now..
    Now i wait to see Intel i9-7920x 12c/24t against AMD Ryzen 9 Threadripper 1998x 16c/32t Chess/price performance..to see a nice gain in nodes/sec. so that i can make a nice upgrade from my i7 5960x
    Coding 24/7... Limited forums/PMs time.

    -Justice isn't blind, Justice is ashamed.

    Many thanks to: Sue Wu, Yiwen Lin, Steven Kuo, Crystal Chen, Vivian Lien, Joe Chan, Sascha Krohn, Joe James, Dan Snyder, Amy Deng, Jack Peterson, Hank Peng, Mafalda Cogliani, Olivia Lee, Marta Piccoli, Mike Clements, Alex Ruedinger, Oliver Baltuch, Korinna Dieck, Steffen Eisentein, Francois Piednoel, Tanja Markovic, Cyril Pelupessy (R.I.P. ), Juan J. Guerrero

  15. #15
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Ace Deuce, Michigan
    Posts
    3,956
    I agree with BenchZOwner that for most people more than 4C/8T is unnecessary.

    But, I think that's part of the Ryzen appeal. The architecture isn't perfect, but an R7 1700 is frankly a lot of overall value when you consider the total system cost (noting that AMD boards tend to be cheaper as well).
    Quote Originally Posted by Hans de Vries View Post

    JF-AMD posting: IPC increases!!!!!!! How many times did I tell you!!!

    terrace215 post: IPC decreases, The more I post the more it decreases.
    terrace215 post: IPC decreases, The more I post the more it decreases.
    terrace215 post: IPC decreases, The more I post the more it decreases.
    .....}
    until (interrupt by Movieman)


    Regards, Hans

  16. #16
    Xtreme Member JPQY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    279
    Yes i indeed do some tests ,thanks to a very nice person here on Xtremesystems i could do tests on a Xeon E7-8890 v4 96c\192t ,that's a 4-socket system..(11 month ago)
    and later on i tested a longer time on a Xeon E5-2699 v4 2x22cores =44cores/88threads
    And it's thanks to William we know that Numa was needed to let these engines run @100% with all cores & threads!!
    And yes these where real life tests
    We used Teamviewer and he let me do my benches!! Will never forget this!

    It makes a very big difference for chess..
    If you have systems like that i can send you easy chess-engines and you can try out..
    Which systems do you have!
    -Core i9 7980XE @4,20Ghz Vcore:1,10V
    -Asrock X299 Taichi XE
    -Custom water-cooling loop
    -16Gb Corsair DDR4 3200Mhz
    -Samsung 970 evo Plus 500Gb
    -Samsung 960 evo 250Gb
    -Samsung 850 evo 500Gb
    -Samsung SH-S223Q
    -Asus RTX 2080 Dual OC
    -Cooler Master HAF 932
    -Seasonic Prime 1300W Gold

    Test results are always welcome with this Chess Test where all your cores/threads will run @100% ,Thanks
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...=1#post5259523

  17. #17
    One-Eyed Killing Machine
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Inside a pot
    Posts
    6,393
    You're not getting my point.

    Running a chess test ( BENCHMARK ) is like running 3D Mark and saying "the GTX 1080 @ 1800MHz is a much better card for gaming than the GTX 1080 @ 1780MHz".
    The chess test you are running ( which I assume is just another variation of the n-queens benchmark or a simple chess engine test with movement ops per second count ) is not real-life, meaning, if YOU PLAY a chess game vs your PC, you won't notice the difference between the 4* CPU system and the 1* CPU system.

    It's like extreme overclocking with liquid nitrogen, fun, but with no real-life application/usage.

    If you want numbers, give me a download link & directions and I'll do some test runs when I have some time available this week.
    Coding 24/7... Limited forums/PMs time.

    -Justice isn't blind, Justice is ashamed.

    Many thanks to: Sue Wu, Yiwen Lin, Steven Kuo, Crystal Chen, Vivian Lien, Joe Chan, Sascha Krohn, Joe James, Dan Snyder, Amy Deng, Jack Peterson, Hank Peng, Mafalda Cogliani, Olivia Lee, Marta Piccoli, Mike Clements, Alex Ruedinger, Oliver Baltuch, Korinna Dieck, Steffen Eisentein, Francois Piednoel, Tanja Markovic, Cyril Pelupessy (R.I.P. ), Juan J. Guerrero

  18. #18
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Stockton, CA
    Posts
    3,541
    Quote Originally Posted by JPQY View Post
    Yes i indeed do some tests ,thanks to a very nice person here on Xtremesystems i could do tests on a Xeon E7-8890 v4 96c\192t ,that's a 4-socket system..(11 month ago)
    and later on i tested a longer time on a Xeon E5-2699 v4 2x22cores =44cores/88threads
    And it's thanks to William we know that Numa was needed to let these engines run @100% with all cores & threads!!
    And yes these where real life tests
    We used Teamviewer and he let me do my benches!! Will never forget this!

    It makes a very big difference for chess..
    If you have systems like that i can send you easy chess-engines and you can try out..
    Which systems do you have!
    Have you run your benches on a Ryzen system ?

  19. #19
    Xtreme Member JPQY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    279
    Sorry..i'm testing engines for more then 20years for these chess-programmers
    I call it bench as most people here don't even play chess
    But it's a full working chess engine to play normal chess..okay you need a Gui but it works in console also..
    If you play games with 1core against 4cores..1core loose badly

    On my last 3 systems i pass the 300.000games using 5min.for each side..to get 100.000games takes around 5-6years

    Ohh..i think i understand now..you checking this old bench test..forget it..like i said it's not a Bench-tool..it's a chess program-engine

    You didn't tell me which systems you have..better then William's ?!
    Then i know which version i give you..or i compile a new one if you have extreme much cores
    -Core i9 7980XE @4,20Ghz Vcore:1,10V
    -Asrock X299 Taichi XE
    -Custom water-cooling loop
    -16Gb Corsair DDR4 3200Mhz
    -Samsung 970 evo Plus 500Gb
    -Samsung 960 evo 250Gb
    -Samsung 850 evo 500Gb
    -Samsung SH-S223Q
    -Asus RTX 2080 Dual OC
    -Cooler Master HAF 932
    -Seasonic Prime 1300W Gold

    Test results are always welcome with this Chess Test where all your cores/threads will run @100% ,Thanks
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...=1#post5259523

  20. #20
    Xtreme Member JPQY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    279
    Hi Buckeye.. i did ask here on forum..and i get some result from a 1800x..yes..not much,but it's a start..

    You want i send them to you..

    Kind regards,
    JP.
    -Core i9 7980XE @4,20Ghz Vcore:1,10V
    -Asrock X299 Taichi XE
    -Custom water-cooling loop
    -16Gb Corsair DDR4 3200Mhz
    -Samsung 970 evo Plus 500Gb
    -Samsung 960 evo 250Gb
    -Samsung 850 evo 500Gb
    -Samsung SH-S223Q
    -Asus RTX 2080 Dual OC
    -Cooler Master HAF 932
    -Seasonic Prime 1300W Gold

    Test results are always welcome with this Chess Test where all your cores/threads will run @100% ,Thanks
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...=1#post5259523

  21. #21
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Stockton, CA
    Posts
    3,541
    Quote Originally Posted by JPQY View Post
    Hi Buckeye.. i did ask here on forum..and i get some result from a 1800x..yes..not much,but it's a start..

    You want i send them to you..

    Kind regards,
    JP.
    Quote Originally Posted by JPQY View Post
    You didn't tell me which systems you have..better then William's ?!
    Some one has better systems ??? LOL


    Ok man

  22. #22
    Xtreme Member EternityZX9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Nursing Student -or- Beta Testing Escape From Tarkov
    Posts
    421
    I think AMD's approach is like that Field of Dreams saying "If you build it, they will come".

    Maybe in another 5 years developers will take full advantage of 16 cores / 32 threads but we have a long way to go before they are useful in more than a handful of things - especially in gaming.

    But you have to start somewhere and this might as well be it.
    Intel Core i7 7700K | MSI Z270 XPOWER G.T. | EVGA 1080Ti SC2 | 16GB DDR4 G.Skill Trident Z 3200 | Samsung S27A950D | 3 x Samsung 850 EVO (250GB, 2 x 2TB) | EVGA Supernova P2 1200w | Coolermaster Cosmos II

  23. #23

  24. #24
    Join XS BOINC Team StyM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Tropics
    Posts
    16,513
    it's already proven that ryzen beats intels HEDT on DC.
    definitely those 16c/32t chip will be a monster on DC.

  25. #25
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    412
    Making Intel release an i9 series is an epic win for the customer, thanks to AMD.

    And the R9 series looks much more interesting than the i9... 16C/32T monster for HEDT
    Main: Windows 10 Core i7 5820K @ 4500Mhz, Corsair H100i, 32GB DDR4-2800, eVGA GTX980 Ti, Kingston SSDNow 240GB, Crucial C300 64GB Cache + WD 1.5TB Green, Asus X99-A/USB3.1
    ESXi Server 6.5 Xeon E5 2670, 64GB DDR3-1600, 1TB, Intel DX79SR, 4xIntel 1Gbps
    ESXi Server 6.0 Xeon E5 2650L v3, 64GB DDR4-2400, 1TB, Asrock X99 Xtreme4, 4xIntel 1Gbps
    FreeNAS 9.10 x64 Xeon X3430 , 32GB DDR3-1600, 3x(3x1TB) WD Blue, Intel S3420GPRX, 4xIntel 1Gbps

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •