Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Need help folks

  1. #1
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    560

    Need help folks

    Other thread was on the 390. Got it back (refurbed). Tried installing with updated drivers from amd for the 390. WoT will not play as well as iTunes says no video playback. Tried going back to the 795 with drivers for that, Nope, same crap. GPU-Z sees it. Can run cinebench too. Its like I am missing something as it thinks i have an old gpu (according to itunes). Downloaded latest drivers from AMD. Am thinking the refurb card did something but with gpu-z seeing it and cinebench, don't know. Suggestions?

  2. #2
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    NE Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,473
    Have you cleaned all the drivers out with something like Driver Sweeper, then re-installing newest drivers for that card? I had an issue where an old driver file was still hanging around and screwing with my GPU not being recognized by BOINC. Just a thought.
    Home PC -- 24/7 Cruncher #1
    GA-P67A-UD4-B3 BIOS F8 mod, 2600k (L051B138) @ 4.5 GHz, 1.260v full load, Corsair H70 (Boots into Windows @ 5.6 GHz per Massman binning)
    Samsung Green 2x4GB @2133 C10, Gigabyte 7950 @1200/1250, Vertex 4 128GB, 4x3TB WD Red RAID10, BR Burner, Win7 Ult x64, CM690, HX750

    Work PC -- 24/7 Cruncher #2 ... Crucial M225 64GB SSD Donated to Endurance Testing (Died at 968 TB of writes...no that is not a typo!)
    GA-EP45T-UD3LR BIOS F10 modded, Q6600 G0 VID 1.212 (L731B536), 3.6 GHz 9x400 @ 1.312v full load, Zerotherm Zen FZ120
    OCZ 2x2GB DDR3-1600MHz C7, Sapphire 7870 @1100/1275, Crucial MX100 128GB, 2x500GB Hitachi RAID1, Win7 Ent x64, Centurion 590, XFX PRO650W

    Music System
    SB Server->SB Touch w/Android Tablet as a remote->S/PDIF->Denon AVR-X3300W->JBL Studio Series Floorstanding Speakers


  3. #3
    Xtreme Owner FUGGER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    12,148
    Try installing the OS with the 390 installed, if you have a spare HD. It will confirm if the vga is damaged.
    Intel 7960X ES @ 4.4Ghz
    ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
    GTX 1080ti Galax Hall of Fame
    32GB Galax Hall of Fame
    Intel Optane
    Platimax 1350W
    Enermax 240 Liqtech AIO

    Intel 8700K @ 5.2Ghz
    Asus Maximus X Apex
    GRX 1080ti Galax Hall of Fame
    16GB Galax Hall of Fame
    Intel Optane
    Platimax 1350W
    Enermax 240 Liqtech AIO

  4. #4
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    560
    Have guru driver remover so do remove the drivers. When I try to load WoT, it tries to kick in then disappears. Dam 7950 was working great until I tried the swap. Found my original install disc from sapphire so will remove the drivers, then try this. Thought maybe the APU wasn't pumping enough juice but it runs cinebench fine. Any other program out there to stress the gpu that won't work if there is issues? Not ready to reinstall the OS until next week after step daughter wedding this weekend. Hoping I don't have to go that far.

  5. #5
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    NE Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,473
    There's a Render Test in GPU-Z. There's a "?" to the right of the Bus Interface field on the GPU-Z screen. Click on the "?" to bring up the Render test screen. It's not a full load test, but may tell you something???
    Last edited by bluestang; 04-21-2017 at 12:26 PM.
    Home PC -- 24/7 Cruncher #1
    GA-P67A-UD4-B3 BIOS F8 mod, 2600k (L051B138) @ 4.5 GHz, 1.260v full load, Corsair H70 (Boots into Windows @ 5.6 GHz per Massman binning)
    Samsung Green 2x4GB @2133 C10, Gigabyte 7950 @1200/1250, Vertex 4 128GB, 4x3TB WD Red RAID10, BR Burner, Win7 Ult x64, CM690, HX750

    Work PC -- 24/7 Cruncher #2 ... Crucial M225 64GB SSD Donated to Endurance Testing (Died at 968 TB of writes...no that is not a typo!)
    GA-EP45T-UD3LR BIOS F10 modded, Q6600 G0 VID 1.212 (L731B536), 3.6 GHz 9x400 @ 1.312v full load, Zerotherm Zen FZ120
    OCZ 2x2GB DDR3-1600MHz C7, Sapphire 7870 @1100/1275, Crucial MX100 128GB, 2x500GB Hitachi RAID1, Win7 Ent x64, Centurion 590, XFX PRO650W

    Music System
    SB Server->SB Touch w/Android Tablet as a remote->S/PDIF->Denon AVR-X3300W->JBL Studio Series Floorstanding Speakers


  6. #6
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    560
    Thanks for the tip. You folks won't believe this. I put the 390 in after removing drivers. Used the install cd that came with it. Has the catalyst control center that i think amd changed. Ran the gpu-z render first. Ran fine. Almost maxed out the card. Fired up WoT. It works now. May be a bunch of updates behind on the amd drivers but its working and not going to update. Thanks for your help guys.

  7. #7
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    NE Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,473
    What driver version? Yeah, I don't like that change they made you're talking about myself. Didn't that start when Crimson Edition came out?

    Glad you got something working!
    Home PC -- 24/7 Cruncher #1
    GA-P67A-UD4-B3 BIOS F8 mod, 2600k (L051B138) @ 4.5 GHz, 1.260v full load, Corsair H70 (Boots into Windows @ 5.6 GHz per Massman binning)
    Samsung Green 2x4GB @2133 C10, Gigabyte 7950 @1200/1250, Vertex 4 128GB, 4x3TB WD Red RAID10, BR Burner, Win7 Ult x64, CM690, HX750

    Work PC -- 24/7 Cruncher #2 ... Crucial M225 64GB SSD Donated to Endurance Testing (Died at 968 TB of writes...no that is not a typo!)
    GA-EP45T-UD3LR BIOS F10 modded, Q6600 G0 VID 1.212 (L731B536), 3.6 GHz 9x400 @ 1.312v full load, Zerotherm Zen FZ120
    OCZ 2x2GB DDR3-1600MHz C7, Sapphire 7870 @1100/1275, Crucial MX100 128GB, 2x500GB Hitachi RAID1, Win7 Ent x64, Centurion 590, XFX PRO650W

    Music System
    SB Server->SB Touch w/Android Tablet as a remote->S/PDIF->Denon AVR-X3300W->JBL Studio Series Floorstanding Speakers


  8. #8
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    560
    The card is working out ok but man this thing could heat a house. Wondering if updating the software would help or make it worst. Not sure what version I am on as I'm not home now. Will check and post.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •