Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Radeon RX 480 Cards Can Successfully be Flashed to RX 580

  1. #1
    Join XS BOINC Team StyM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Tropics
    Posts
    13,156

    Radeon RX 480 Cards Can Successfully be Flashed to RX 580

    https://www.techpowerup.com/232498/r...shed-to-rx-580

    User TonybonJoby in our own forums has successfully flashed his XFX RX 480 graphics card with the BIOS from a Sapphire RX 580 Limited Edition (the one that runs at 1411 MHz Boost clocks, yes.) Having obtained the Sapphire's BIOS right here on TPU, he then flashed it onto his graphics card (which possesses a dual-BIOS setup; this is an important point which you should consider, as it gives you an extra safety net should anything go wrong) through ATIFlash. The newly-christened RX 580 thus smiles for the screenshot, with a stock clock of 1411 MHz, higher than most overclocks possible with the RX 480 cards, probably due to increased voltages on the BIOS level. The user then tested the card on The Witcher 3 and Furmark, with no problems having been reported. Just remember to back-up your BIOS with GPU-Z and make sure to peruse our forums for some details on this flashing process before you get the proverbial grease on your elbows.

    Essentially, this may allow you to bypass some artificial overclocking limitation with your graphics card, probably by increased voltages on different power states of the card. You should do this at your own risk, and remember, the only guaranteed way of getting an RX 580 is... you guessed it, buying an RX 580. However, this might also give you an extra performance boost, and free performance is always good, right?

  2. #2
    Xtreme Owner FUGGER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    12,067
    I flashed my Sapphire RX 480 Nitro+ cards to RX 580, testing now.
    Intel 7700K @ 5.1Ghz
    ASUS Maximus IX Formula
    ASUS GTX Titan X
    32GB Galax HOF
    Intel 750 SSD 1.2TB
    Platimax 1350W
    Enermax 240 Liqtech AOI

    Intel 6950X ES
    Asus Rampage E10
    Asus GTX 980
    32GB HyperX AFR
    Intel 750 SSD 1.2TB
    MaxREVO 1500W
    Dimas Benchtable

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    41
    I was First who found it:
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=413958#12
    Working good till now, maybe need little more mv, but I wal able to OC 1425/2100 like the RX570 Nitro in the review with the same bios in less Voltage:
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.ph...2&postcount=16

    Moreover- there is new Polaris Bios editor that supports RX 5X0 bios editing:
    http://www.overclock.net/t/1604567/p...#post_26033854

    BTW- my ASIC quality is 94.3% :-)

  4. #4
    Xtreme Owner FUGGER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    12,067
    I have a few hours in now on mine in Crossfire are working fine with exception to one thing I do notice between the Titan X and the 480's in Crossfire is that I can see the AMD cards ramping up in frame rate due to some lag.

    What I see happening is when the cards are idle at desktop and watching GPUID I will see the cards drop back to PCIE 1.1 from 3.0, the second CF card will remain at PCIE 1.1 until used. I think this is what is causing the FPS ramping up in DX11. When I start the computer I will start GPUID and watch the cards bump back and fourth a few times between PCIE 1.1 and 3.

    Thanks update on editor
    Intel 7700K @ 5.1Ghz
    ASUS Maximus IX Formula
    ASUS GTX Titan X
    32GB Galax HOF
    Intel 750 SSD 1.2TB
    Platimax 1350W
    Enermax 240 Liqtech AOI

    Intel 6950X ES
    Asus Rampage E10
    Asus GTX 980
    32GB HyperX AFR
    Intel 750 SSD 1.2TB
    MaxREVO 1500W
    Dimas Benchtable

  5. #5
    Xtreme Owner FUGGER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    12,067
    After some testing... It is asking too much for some cards to make this jump.

    I have two what I thought was equal cards to find out one is not happy being flashed to RX 580.

    For the most part it works ok, and it can run as second card but single card running Superposition can make it fail with settings over 1080p medium.

    Playing with voltages in Triix to get the voltage bump and then maybe edit the bios to fix it.
    Intel 7700K @ 5.1Ghz
    ASUS Maximus IX Formula
    ASUS GTX Titan X
    32GB Galax HOF
    Intel 750 SSD 1.2TB
    Platimax 1350W
    Enermax 240 Liqtech AOI

    Intel 6950X ES
    Asus Rampage E10
    Asus GTX 980
    32GB HyperX AFR
    Intel 750 SSD 1.2TB
    MaxREVO 1500W
    Dimas Benchtable

  6. #6
    Pie assassin
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Where lights collide
    Posts
    2,256
    hmm ill have to give this a try as well
    Current Status - Testing & Research

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •