Page 12 of 35 FirstFirst ... 2910111213141522 ... LastLast
Results 276 to 300 of 861

Thread: Ryzen - Return of the Jedi

  1. #276
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    159
    1800 @ CL14


    FX-9370 @ 4.7 GHz @ 1,44 V | NB @ 2286 MHz @ 1,21V
    32 GB 1600 CL11 1,5V @ 846 MHz @ CL 9-9-9 @ 1,4V
    MORA 2 + Laing D5 + 9 x 120mm @ 5V
    Gigabyte GA-970A UD3 Rev. 1.2
    XFX HD7750 2GB Core Edition
    Samsung 850 Pro 512GB

  2. #277
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,085
    Quote Originally Posted by cdawall View Post
    @chew* so I have been playing with my IMC some. I am not claiming stability on this, but it runs this 32M and 3dmark so far


    Yah thats normal for ref clock boards

    Prime 95 custom blend with 13312 allocated out of 16g shows ryzens weakness though with 3200 divider.



    Thats not throttling...thats rounding errors. Drop to 2933...fine..back up to 3200 not fine.

    Sure it wont effect benching but im helping 24/7 guys atm.
    Last edited by chew*; 03-25-2017 at 08:05 PM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  3. #278
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1,557
    Quote Originally Posted by techtrancer View Post
    1800 @ CL14
    I think they will still go lower I am not even pushing voltage yet that was like 1.45v on the ram. They are some good damn sticks. It is actually set to 14-14-14, but the bios didn't save correctly yet again.

    Quote Originally Posted by chew* View Post
    Yah thats normal for ref clock boards

    Prime 95 custom blend with 13312 allocated out of 16g shows ryzens weakness though with 3200 divider.



    Thats not throttling...thats rounding errors. Drop to 2933...fine..back up to 3200 not fine.

    Sure it wont effect benching but im helping 24/7 guys atm.
    That's curious I hate p95 (it's an old hatred don't ask) for me 24/7 use is all the effort I am willing to put into it. Honestly the best ram killer I have dealt with is chrome with YouTube streaming. I have had memtest pass and that still have errors.



  4. #279
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    159
    Maybe normal?
    I habe 4x8gb Dual ranked DDR3 in My AM3+ Board
    Can run them by ref clock with up to ~970 in Prime Blend Custom
    Also Boot into win around 1000



    But can't boot with the 1866 multiplier
    Last edited by techtrancer; 03-25-2017 at 10:01 PM.


    FX-9370 @ 4.7 GHz @ 1,44 V | NB @ 2286 MHz @ 1,21V
    32 GB 1600 CL11 1,5V @ 846 MHz @ CL 9-9-9 @ 1,4V
    MORA 2 + Laing D5 + 9 x 120mm @ 5V
    Gigabyte GA-970A UD3 Rev. 1.2
    XFX HD7750 2GB Core Edition
    Samsung 850 Pro 512GB

  5. #280
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    578
    For those of you performing bclk OC, are you using any SATA devices at all? What are you using for storage?

  6. #281
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    680
    Quote Originally Posted by drmrlordx View Post
    For those of you performing bclk OC, are you using any SATA devices at all? What are you using for storage?
    Yes it would be very helpful to find out how the system behaves with different bclk`s, what voltages to raise in order to stabilize etc.
    Also , im with chew on the stability front.I ve found out through empirical testing, if it "seems" stable, even with everything youre doing, but isnt stable in prime blend, it will surely crap out on you sooner or later, or for example, write or copy a file with a crc in it, and you are screwed, and dont even know about it :-/ . I run my pc 24/7, sometimes encoding AND playing a game and running a vm at the same time.Stability and most of all ram/IMC stability is very important.Theres also a trap, even tested and confirmed setting with fixed frequency, CAN become unstable when p states are active.
    Intel 5960X@4.2Ghz[Prime stable]@4.5 [XTU stable] 1.24v NB@3.6ghz Asrock X99 Extreme 3 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance@3200 16-17-17
    Sapphire nitro+ VEGA 56 Samsung SSD 850 256GB Crucial MX100 512GB HDD:WD10TB WD:8TB Seagate8TB

  7. #282
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,085
    Agreed.

    I will give another example.

    "My pc is stable for gaming so i don't need to stress test"

    Ok so a new game comes out or a new driver.

    You install. You think an error when writing to hd will not happen?
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  8. #283
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1,557










    These aren't necessarily the exact settings I ran for the runs above, but the voltages are the same as what I have kept for all of the runs. I do not recommend using that much SOC voltage, but my chip seems to eat it up when going for high ram clocks.



  9. #284
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,085
    Progress with 32G dual rank on a non ref clock board. 3200mhz booted and validated

    Last edited by chew*; 03-27-2017 at 12:29 AM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  10. #285
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    59
    My Friend Post

    3733 CL14 on C6H (Bios 1002)


  11. #286
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,085
    Yep once again thats faily easy on a ref clock board.

    We are discussing dual rank on non ref clock boards.

    Totally different animal.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  12. #287
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1,557
    Quote Originally Posted by chew* View Post
    Yep once again thats faily easy on a ref clock board.

    We are discussing dual rank on non ref clock boards.

    Totally different animal.
    I wouldn't exactly call it easy...



  13. #288
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,085
    Plenty of people are doing it if you check the net or bot.

    Just saying.

    Infrared who has done it tried 4x8 g ( mimic of dual rank ) struggled to hit 3200 and only clocking in windows not at 3200 divider.

    I struggled to boot it 3200 @ 3200 divider ( dual rank ) since i can't bump ref clock in windows.

    Try doing that and in comparison SR 2x8g 3733 on ref clock board = easy.

    Perspective matters.
    Last edited by chew*; 03-27-2017 at 11:24 AM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  14. #289
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1,557
    Quote Originally Posted by chew* View Post
    Plenty of people are doing it if you check the net or bot.

    Just saying.

    Infrared who has done it tried 4x8 g ( mimic of dual rank ) struggled to hit 3200 and only clocking in windows not at 3200 divider.

    I struggled to boot it 3200 @ 3200 divider ( dual rank ) since i can't bump ref clock in windows.

    Try doing that and in comparison SR 2x8g 3733 on ref clock board = easy.

    Perspective matters.
    I got 3200 with 4x8GB on my board using the 3200 divider fine when I tested using 0702, I have not tried with 1002 yet. 3733 has been a pain to keep stable I will say that, but that could also be my specific CPU.



  15. #290
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,085
    i'm seeing weird stuff myself. 3200 has been a pain in prime blend but I think I may have it sorted. less is more type scenario for whatever reason. Maybe my chip is dumb.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  16. #291
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1,557
    Quote Originally Posted by chew* View Post
    i'm seeing weird stuff myself. 3200 has been a pain in prime blend but I think I may have it sorted. less is more type scenario for whatever reason. Maybe my chip is dumb.
    I really think that these are setting stupidly tight tertiary timings, but that is a guess based on my lack of care to look into it further.



  17. #292
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,085
    New bios out for msi boards with new agesa.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  18. #293
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    578
    Quote Originally Posted by cdawall View Post
    These aren't necessarily the exact settings I ran for the runs above, but the voltages are the same as what I have kept for all of the runs. I do not recommend using that much SOC voltage, but my chip seems to eat it up when going for high ram clocks.
    Damn, that IS a lot of SoC voltage. I also see you've cranked that PLL voltage up there . . . and the SB voltage.

    It's a shame the ASRock boards don't have things like current capability controls and power duty controls, but eh what can you do?

  19. #294
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1,557
    Quote Originally Posted by drmrlordx View Post
    Damn, that IS a lot of SoC voltage. I also see you've cranked that PLL voltage up there . . . and the SB voltage.

    It's a shame the ASRock boards don't have things like current capability controls and power duty controls, but eh what can you do?
    I have a habit of going a bit high with voltages. This particular chip and board isn't mine nor do I really care if it died so it got what made it stable.

    Voltages is one of those tweaks chew* really makes me look silly. I am a bit rushed and brute force with them he definitely spends more time getting it just right.



  20. #295
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,085
    Quote Originally Posted by cdawall View Post
    I have a habit of going a bit high with voltages. This particular chip and board isn't mine nor do I really care if it died so it got what made it stable.

    Voltages is one of those tweaks chew* really makes me look silly. I am a bit rushed and brute force with them he definitely spends more time getting it just right.
    If you stability tested you would know what buttons to push and what you did not have to push

    This board is pushing my patience though with 3200 + IMC brutality. I think it may be agesa that i'm battling....

    CH6 is on 800110e

    Msi is on 80111c

    I'm on 800105
    Last edited by chew*; 03-27-2017 at 08:52 PM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  21. #296
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1,557
    Quote Originally Posted by chew* View Post
    If you stability tested you would know what buttons to push and what you did not have to push

    This board is pushing my patience though. I think it may be agesa that i'm battling....

    CH6 is on 800110e

    Msi is on 80111c

    I'm on 800105

    Lol that was learned from pushing benchmarks I test enough to at least know a general vicinity to shoot for.



  22. #297
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Ayia Napa, Cyprus
    Posts
    1,371
    Guys, silly question

    What do you mean by 'ref clock board' in the context of Zen ?

    Cheers
    24/7 Settings - Closed Case Rig
    SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W
    MSI X370 XPOWER Gaming Titanium | Ryzen 5 3600 2010SUS @ 4400 mhz @ 1.325v (prime95 load)
    Viper Steel Series PVS416G413C9K @ 3800/1900 mhz | 1.52v | 14-15-14-14-28-42-252-16-1T
    Asus GTX 780 DCII OC @ 1332/3522 mhz | 1.3v | Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
    EK-FB MSI X370 XPower RGB Monoblock 1/2" ID | Swiftech D5 MCP655 | EK-XRES 100
    Alphacool NexXxoS UT60 280 | 4 x Scythe GT AP-15 @ 5v
    Thermochill PA120.3 | 1 x NF-A12x15 | 2 x ML120 | PWM

  23. #298
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,085
    Quote Originally Posted by mongoled View Post
    Guys, silly question

    What do you mean by 'ref clock board' in the context of Zen ?

    Cheers
    A ref clock board has fine grain ref clock tuning in .00 grain.

    A non ref clock board will have depending on bios adjustable bclock in 1.+ resolution.

    So non ref clock 100>101>102

    Ref clock 99.80>100.00>100.20

    Currently the majority of non ref clock are "locked" at 99.80.
    Last edited by chew*; 03-28-2017 at 06:59 AM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  24. #299
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Ayia Napa, Cyprus
    Posts
    1,371
    Quote Originally Posted by chew* View Post
    A ref clock board has fine grain ref clock tuning in .00 grain.

    A non ref clock board will have depending on bios adjustable bclock in 1.+ resolution.

    So non ref clock 100>101>102

    Ref clock 99.80>100.00>100.20

    Currently the majority of non ref clock are "locked" at 99.80.
    Have never seen this before, are these production boards or engineering samples?

    If production, have not come across any sort of list that defines which AM4 boards are ref or non ref.

    Never saw such feature in a production board in all my time as an overclocker, from epox, abit, dfi, gigabyte, asrock, asus, something in the back of my mind re MSI not sure if its was to do with ref clocks.

    Learn something new everyday!
    Last edited by mongoled; 03-28-2017 at 07:34 AM. Reason: grammer
    24/7 Settings - Closed Case Rig
    SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W
    MSI X370 XPOWER Gaming Titanium | Ryzen 5 3600 2010SUS @ 4400 mhz @ 1.325v (prime95 load)
    Viper Steel Series PVS416G413C9K @ 3800/1900 mhz | 1.52v | 14-15-14-14-28-42-252-16-1T
    Asus GTX 780 DCII OC @ 1332/3522 mhz | 1.3v | Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
    EK-FB MSI X370 XPower RGB Monoblock 1/2" ID | Swiftech D5 MCP655 | EK-XRES 100
    Alphacool NexXxoS UT60 280 | 4 x Scythe GT AP-15 @ 5v
    Thermochill PA120.3 | 1 x NF-A12x15 | 2 x ML120 | PWM

  25. #300
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,085
    Production and its kinda new to ryzen am4.

    Seeing as a .25 multi gives you 25 mhz and that can make or break stability on an oc with these chips ( yes its that fine of a line) 101x40 gets you 4040 mhz.. So even a multiplier is finer grain than Zens ref clock.

    So 100.20 is much finer grain control and one point of having a chip.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

Page 12 of 35 FirstFirst ... 2910111213141522 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •