Page 3 of 35 FirstFirst 12345613 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 75 of 861

Thread: Ryzen - Return of the Jedi

  1. #51
    Xtreme Enthusiast Raiderman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    503
    Nice work Brian, looking forward to more updates. Get some sleep.
    Last edited by Raiderman; 03-03-2017 at 06:55 AM.
    C3 Phenom II 965 BE (0941CPMW)
    Msi 790Fx-GD 70
    2x2 gb OCZ AMD Black Edition 1600mhz DDR 3
    2x MSI HD 5850's OC edition X-fire
    2x Western Digital 250gb 16mb cache Raid-0
    1x Seagate 1 TB Data
    SILVERSTONE|DA700 700W RT Power Supply
    Koolance INX-720 (Koolance 345 block)
    LianLi pc-60fwb




  2. #52
    Xtreme Member eagle101's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    SoCal USA
    Posts
    722

    General Chew

    Chew from what I have seen you do Here, I Promote you to:
    "General Chew Of Xtreme Systems AMD Division"

    I myself have 2 Honorable Discharges US Army
    101st Airborne Division(Air Assault Unit)

    *I also Salute All the Other testers here for a Job well Done, I'm a nobody compared to you guys

    I guess W7 64 is out for this Ryzen 1800x and Hero crosshair6-DDR4 TridentZ 2x8gb 2400
    or could it work for a while ??? before I re-format to W10 Pro.
    I was not ready to goto W10 but after talking to Mr. Bill last night he said get with the program man.
    nuts
    Last edited by eagle101; 03-03-2017 at 08:19 AM.
    Thanks Eagle101
    -------------------------
    CrossHairV-Z 9590 cpu-OC
    SSD Ocz RevoDrive3 X2 Raid0 PciE
    -51c Cpu SS Phase.Change Cooling
    Msi 290X Lightning oc
    1600 Watts P2 Evga Platinum
    G.SKILL Trident X Cas7 1600Mhz
    Dell U2410 24" IPS

    5.1 Sound Pro-Klipsch





  3. #53
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    679
    Quote Originally Posted by eagle101 View Post
    Chew from what I have seen you do Here, I Promote you to:
    "General Chew Of Xtreme Systems AMD Division"

    I myself have 2 Honorable Discharges US Army
    101st Airborne Division(Air Assault Unit)

    *I also Salute All the Other testers here for a Job well Done, I'm a nobody compared to you guys

    I guess W7 64 is out for this Ryzen 1800x and Hero crosshair6-DDR4 TridentZ 2x8gb 2400
    or could it work for a while ??? before I re-format to W10 Pro.
    I was not ready to goto W10 but after talking to Mr. Bill last night he said get with the program man.
    nuts
    There are drivers for Win7 no prob.But set windows to high performance mode, amd has some quirks with their cnq again.
    Intel 5960X@4.2Ghz[Prime stable]@4.5 [XTU stable] 1.24v NB@3.6ghz Asrock X99 Extreme 3 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance@3200 16-17-17
    Sapphire nitro+ VEGA 56 Samsung SSD 850 256GB Crucial MX100 512GB HDD:WD10TB WD:8TB Seagate8TB

  4. #54
    Xtreme Member eagle101's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    SoCal USA
    Posts
    722

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by vario View Post
    There are drivers for Win7 no prob.But set windows to high performance mode, amd has some quirks with their cnq again.
    Thanks vario

    I'm already set at high performance.....what I wana do is just unplug machine take off phase.change evaporator head off from cpu
    take CHV-Z board out.....hopefully the Hero CH6 asus board all screws and connectors will line up the same as CHV-Z board.
    and put the new 1800x and CH6-Hero board and push the start button....and just goof off and play around on W7 64 Pro that's existing now on my ocz Revo3x2 ssd pcie drive...

    Im looking right now for the new W10 64 pro dvd / cd to get in the next few weeks, I have heard everything runs better on W10
    Im just a little scared to have to change Immediately to W10
    I don't know what: quirks cng is ? I'm not a gamer just so you know if that applies here
    Last edited by eagle101; 03-03-2017 at 09:16 AM.
    Thanks Eagle101
    -------------------------
    CrossHairV-Z 9590 cpu-OC
    SSD Ocz RevoDrive3 X2 Raid0 PciE
    -51c Cpu SS Phase.Change Cooling
    Msi 290X Lightning oc
    1600 Watts P2 Evga Platinum
    G.SKILL Trident X Cas7 1600Mhz
    Dell U2410 24" IPS

    5.1 Sound Pro-Klipsch





  5. #55
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,020
    I should note this so i will. Prime 95 is using bd k10 code or whatever you want to call it.It will need an update.The Stilt claims its not enough load currently. I have always respected his knowlege so if he said it its probably accurate.

    I think like i did in review aggravating chip even more will be necessary to load it more to verify stability. So piss it off. Run cinebench. Literally spam it like i did back to back. Toss wprime 1024 at it. Open other stuff up. Just really annoy it. Cinebench prime 95 and wprime all at once.
    Last edited by chew*; 03-03-2017 at 12:25 PM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  6. #56
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    72
    I'm a bit disappointed with Ryzen. I was looking forward at dumping my 5820K and build a AM4 PC. After the reviews and mostly the poor overclocking potential, I don't feel like doing it anymore. They are selling the CPU near it's limit. Still, it's a bargain for that price and performance and I do believe AMD will reclaim some market. Too bad Intel still has got the lead in games.

  7. #57
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,020
    Im not and i will explain why. In order to beat or be competive a reviewer needs to use intel 8/16 or 10/20 chip and board etc etc.

    To beat it in ipc you need another chip and board. Pick one you cant have both.

    To be best in games another chip

    On this platform disable smt you get both in one socket at far less cost. One socket one platform.

    So to game you need x chip on intel. But...at the cost of workstation performance. And vice versa

    Ryzen is middle of the road happy balance.
    Last edited by chew*; 03-03-2017 at 01:06 PM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  8. #58
    Xtreme 3D Team
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,482
    Quote Originally Posted by chew* View Post
    I should note this so i will. Prime 95 is using bd k10 code or whatever you want to call it.It will need an update.The Stilt claims its not enough load currently. I have always respected his knowlege so if he said it its probably accurate.

    I think like i did in review aggravating chip even more will be necessary to load it more to verify stability. So piss it off. Run cinebench. Literally spam it like i did back to back. Toss wprime 1024 at it. Open other stuff up. Just really annoy it. Cinebench prime 95 and wprime all at once.
    Maybe Linpack? LinX/IBT etc?
    Smile

  9. #59
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    72
    I agree. Ryzen is a good overall CPU with very good price/performance ratio. I do believe it will gain the heart of many gamers. Nowadays CPU's are less important for gaming. With Ryzen you can put the extra cash on a better GPU and have far better performance than with Intel platform.
    Something I was extremely surprised about, is the excellent energy consumption of Ryzen CPU's. A 8 core consuming less than Intel's 7700K (4 core). This was a big problem for AMD in the past.
    The biggest deception is the overclockability of Ryzen. They do on average 4-4.1 Ghz from what I have seen. I was expecting something in the 4.4-4.5 range. But I am glad Intel is finally facing some serious competition.

  10. #60
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,020
    Those are optimized for intel code. They were never a good test for amd. Its also for guys who want to think a quick stress test = stable

    Prime 95 uses BD k10 code. Optimized for amd. Just needs code for ryzen to be more reliable for stress testing.
    Last edited by chew*; 03-03-2017 at 01:28 PM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  11. #61
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,020
    I honestly dont feel it was a deception as far as overclocking goes. I think peoples expectations were deceptive to themselves. Amd only admitted they could be oced they would all be unlocked multis.

    Amd showed or someone showed leaks of 5.2 on ln2. That was a preety good indicator for me at least.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  12. #62
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    72
    I was used of having huge headroom for oc with AMD. With thuban you could easily squeeze 1 Ghz more on the 1090T. With Vishera, you could even go past the magical 5 ghz limit on water. So I was expecting a little more of Ryzen. I mean, if you consider the turbo, you only win 200-300 mhz. It's very small margin. But who knows, they might work this out in future Ryzen stepping.

  13. #63
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,020
    It could definitely benefit from like a c3 revision like deneb did or a respin. Still clock speed is and always has been irrelavant. I know we like to see big numbers but if a 3gig chip beats a 5gig chip in application X the 5g clock is pointless.

    This chip reminds me of llano minus the graphics. I loved llano.
    Last edited by chew*; 03-03-2017 at 01:37 PM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  14. #64
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    68
    Quote Originally Posted by IronBalls View Post
    I was used of having huge headroom for oc with AMD. With thuban you could easily squeeze 1 Ghz more on the 1090T. With Vishera, you could even go past the magical 5 ghz limit on water. So I was expecting a little more of Ryzen. I mean, if you consider the turbo, you only win 200-300 mhz. It's very small margin. But who knows, they might work this out in future Ryzen stepping.
    The chips you mention have one thing in common, they were both on a somewhat mature manufacturing process - Thuban on 45nm, Vishera on 32nm.

    However, if you look at the first chips AMD made on new nodes, the picture is quite similar to what we see with Ryzen.
    Deneb, 45nm, wasn't a really great clocker in the beginning but got much better with the C3 stepping
    Llano, 32nm, even though a mature architecture, it was not particularly great for overclocking either
    Kaveri, 28nm, improved over time but started rather slow too

    I'm confident that Ryzen clocks and overclocking will improve over time, as the process and manufacturing matures.
    Power Rig: Core i7-5930K, ASRock X99 Extreme6/3.1, 16GB G.Skill DDR4-2400, Asus Strix GTX980 OC
    Time Sink: Core i7-5775C, ASRock Z97E-ITX/ac, 16GB AMD DDR3-2133, Silverstone PT-09 w/ 120W Power Brick
    HTPC: Athlon 5350, ASRock AM1H-ITX, 4GB DDR3, Supermicro SC-101i

  15. #65
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,020
    Yep. Search 955 unleashed on forums. Deneb launch 4 gig air was golden and my abilty to get it stable there was questioned.
    That particular chip was just a lucky low leakage well balanced chip.

    C3 saw chips up to 4.5-4.6 stable over time.

    My expectations are somewhat conservative but i think 4.3 on ryzen with optimizations could be realistic.

    Would not be surprised if we see a 4.2 4.3 xfr chip 6 months to a year down the road.

    No clue if we will be doing that on 65w chips all cores stable though especially on current boards.
    Last edited by chew*; 03-03-2017 at 02:23 PM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  16. #66
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    72
    Quote Originally Posted by chew* View Post
    It could definitely benefit from like a c3 revision like deneb did or a respin. Still clock speed is and always has been irrelavant. I know we like to see big numbers but if a 3gig chip beats a 5gig chip in application X the 5g clock is pointless.

    This chip reminds me of llano minus the graphics. I loved llano.
    I fully agree. For the average consumer, overclock doesn't matter. But for someone that loves to overclock and to squeeze every single mhz, it is somewhat disappointing. Going from 3.8 GHz to 4 GHz doesn't give you the thrill of going from 3.2 to 4.3 GHz. But I agree, it's only numbers. My FX 8320 would do 5 GHz with only 1.45v, yet it's beaten by a stock 5820k. But when seen trough the eyes of an overclocker, it matters

  17. #67
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,020
    Thats where i come into play. Im here to help you guys get the most performance out of the chips as i always have done in the past. We have oc restrictions so time to chase hardware configs memory speeds and whatever performance we can extract at our given clocks reliably.

    Total system performance matters most.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  18. #68
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    159
    Quote Originally Posted by chew* View Post
    Those are optimized for intel code. They were never a good test for amd. Its also for guys who want to think a quick stress test = stable

    Prime 95 uses BD k10 code. Optimized for amd. Just needs code for ryzen to be more reliable for stress testing.
    Have you Test If the Stress Test oft AOD works?
    With the FX i get more Heat with AOD whan Turbo was on
    Without Turbo i get more Heat with Prime
    Fastest and highest Heat with this Settings



    Also an good Job to heat up with Turbo does the realy old Benchmark nuclearus!
    With this Setting the FX heats with Turbo more up than AOD
    But Start for every Core an extra nuclearus!!!!
    So finaly 8x nuclearus was Running

    Last edited by techtrancer; 03-03-2017 at 03:10 PM.


    FX-9370 @ 4.7 GHz @ 1,44 V | NB @ 2286 MHz @ 1,21V
    32 GB 1600 CL11 1,5V @ 846 MHz @ CL 9-9-9 @ 1,4V
    MORA 2 + Laing D5 + 9 x 120mm @ 5V
    Gigabyte GA-970A UD3 Rev. 1.2
    XFX HD7750 2GB Core Edition
    Samsung 850 Pro 512GB

  19. #69
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,020
    Thx techtrancer. I will look into this and run them at settings i used for review.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  20. #70
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    159
    But think is only good for max Heat Stress!
    I also use Prime large & smal
    And Maybe the best FFT for highest Heat with Ryzen is an other.
    Also Maybe an other nuclearus Setting

    An good way to See How much Power the CPU use at the Moment of Stress is SIW
    There you can See How much Watt it use
    It's not the right Watt, but you can See If it's most ore not.
    Also if it's nonstop high ore if it goes up and down
    So you can find the best FFT & nuclearus Setting for max Heat easier
    Last edited by techtrancer; 03-03-2017 at 03:43 PM.


    FX-9370 @ 4.7 GHz @ 1,44 V | NB @ 2286 MHz @ 1,21V
    32 GB 1600 CL11 1,5V @ 846 MHz @ CL 9-9-9 @ 1,4V
    MORA 2 + Laing D5 + 9 x 120mm @ 5V
    Gigabyte GA-970A UD3 Rev. 1.2
    XFX HD7750 2GB Core Edition
    Samsung 850 Pro 512GB

  21. #71
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,020
    Im more concerned with imc tbh. Normally i can get a random thread drop if imc or memory has instability. I am unable to trigger this with current version. I can get heat up really good just pounding all threads simultaneously with multiple stress tests.

    Id rather use 1700 for that with this board. Swapping to 95 watt part changes alot.

    If one was to do pwm temps testing and analysis on gaming 5 without using 95w parts as well it would be rather inconclusive and misleading.

    Temps are hot to the touch with 1700 no fan. Temps will burn you with 1800x no fan same volts same clocks.
    Last edited by chew*; 03-03-2017 at 03:46 PM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  22. #72
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    159
    My normal 24/7 cooling setup^^
    Works well since 939
    Never distroy an MB, RAM ore CPU

    Last edited by techtrancer; 03-03-2017 at 04:02 PM.


    FX-9370 @ 4.7 GHz @ 1,44 V | NB @ 2286 MHz @ 1,21V
    32 GB 1600 CL11 1,5V @ 846 MHz @ CL 9-9-9 @ 1,4V
    MORA 2 + Laing D5 + 9 x 120mm @ 5V
    Gigabyte GA-970A UD3 Rev. 1.2
    XFX HD7750 2GB Core Edition
    Samsung 850 Pro 512GB

  23. #73
    Xtreme Owner Charles Wirth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    12,324
    Have you been able to complete a 32M?
    Intel 9990XE @ 5.1Ghz
    ASUS Rampage VI Extreme Omega
    GTX 2080 ti Galax Hall of Fame
    64GB Galax Hall of Fame
    Intel Optane
    Platimax 1245W

    Intel 3175X
    Asus Dominus Extreme
    GRX 1080ti Galax Hall of Fame
    96GB Patriot Steel
    Intel Optane 900P RAID

  24. #74
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,020
    Quote Originally Posted by FUGGER View Post
    Have you been able to complete a 32M?
    Yep np there.

    Hynix and samsung

    In fact new bios 2s faster. w/samsung.
    Last edited by chew*; 03-03-2017 at 04:11 PM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  25. #75
    Xtreme Owner Charles Wirth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    12,324
    Hmm, I will change OS.
    Intel 9990XE @ 5.1Ghz
    ASUS Rampage VI Extreme Omega
    GTX 2080 ti Galax Hall of Fame
    64GB Galax Hall of Fame
    Intel Optane
    Platimax 1245W

    Intel 3175X
    Asus Dominus Extreme
    GRX 1080ti Galax Hall of Fame
    96GB Patriot Steel
    Intel Optane 900P RAID

Page 3 of 35 FirstFirst 12345613 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •