Page 25 of 25 FirstFirst ... 1522232425
Results 601 to 624 of 624

Thread: Ryzen - Return of the Jedi

  1. #601
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    10,681
    Quote Originally Posted by ACD View Post
    Let's see 32m
    Working through imc coldbug and i have better times saved on usb stick but gives you a general idea....







    Bench session went very smooth ch6 cooperated 100%.

    As long as your aware that 95% of chips are going to have imc coldbug and avoid high mem speeds it just works.

    I had ln2 mode enabled for entire session. Never had a boot issue till i tried cas 9...my sticks are not good enough for c9 it seems.

    Big to runmc (ron mcall) if he still lurks the forums. 5 years plus the phase units he built just continue to work flawlessly....never even needed a recharge.

    Bios was stuck @ 5c,ryzen master 0c. Even under cinebench lowest it hit was -34c, under pi -38 and idling @ -44c with 1.6v
    Last edited by chew*; 04-24-2017 at 07:51 AM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  2. #602
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    770
    Are you running AGESA 1.0.0.4 or the latest AGESA 1.0.0.4a?
    Intel i7 980X
    12GB
    Asus P6X58
    GTX 780 TI x 3
    x2 Samsung 850Evo 500GB
    Windows 10 Pro 64


    Swiftech Apogee XL2
    Swiftech MCP35X
    Koolance GPU blocks
    360 x1, 240 x1, 120 x1 Radiator

  3. #603
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    10,681
    I am running the fastest possible PI config.

    This chip is flaky i took screens to show.

    Typical ryzen dramatic black screen in cinebench when not stable..
    This a a 3.9 stable air chip....
    Just testing stability not bothering with score...its w10 anyway so does not count...

    1.4v



    1.4 still


    1.45


    Where i left off on pi. Tuning diff strap and speed currently..


    At the above effeciency...im 7:30s @ 4.8....
    Its far from effecient for 4.6 but very fast for these memory speeds...
    Last edited by chew*; 04-24-2017 at 09:10 AM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  4. #604
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,699
    these quick blacks I got today several times. But how to fix it? I can run 4100 MHz R15 with 1.42V in BIOS + LLC3. So I tried 4150 MHz in steps 1.44V to 1.47V and the same, after few seconds of rendering black window and code simply 8 .
    ROG Power PCs - Intel and AMD
    CPUs:i7-6950X, i7-5960X, 4x i7-7700K, i3-7350K, 2x i7-6700K, i5-6600K, R7-1800X, R7-1700X, 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, A10-7870K, Athlon 845, Athlon 860K,AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930KAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread Intel Cinebench R15 thread

  5. #605
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    10,681
    Quote Originally Posted by FlanK3r View Post
    these quick blacks I got today several times. But how to fix it? I can run 4100 MHz R15 with 1.42V in BIOS + LLC3. So I tried 4150 MHz in steps 1.44V to 1.47V and the same, after few seconds of rendering black window and code simply 8 .
    Bin to win......no way to fix black screen. its the limit of your chip at x volts and x temps.........

    Anyway I just wanted to show there is a ton of room on the table still.

    this run was not tuned properly and with just a slight increase in memory speed completely smashed my above run......

    busy week again and its certainly killing my ability to tune around the imc bug.....phone is ringing non stop......I do best with 0 distractions....

    7:3x is more than possible at 4.6......that's why I am running 4.6...

    Of course you need an imc that will cooperate for that 7:3x range but I am 100% certain without a good cold imc I can pull this down to 7:4x range

    Last edited by chew*; 04-24-2017 at 11:57 AM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  6. #606
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,699
    Any tips for LN2 and IMC coldbug? I will test 1500X and maybe also 1700X this weekend with LN2...
    ROG Power PCs - Intel and AMD
    CPUs:i7-6950X, i7-5960X, 4x i7-7700K, i3-7350K, 2x i7-6700K, i5-6600K, R7-1800X, R7-1700X, 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, A10-7870K, Athlon 845, Athlon 860K,AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930KAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread Intel Cinebench R15 thread

  7. #607
    Xtreme Owner FUGGER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    12,063
    Start off with a profile 2666Mhz CL14, ignore cpu fan, and see what the cores can do.

    Fighting with ram and LN2 is fun, I had the luxury of the cascade @ -120c to see what the IMC wont do. In the guide Elmor has a graph that is pretty accurate to all chips and how they respond cold, just factor in he is basing that graph upon the 1800X and the lesser bins are in fact lesser bins thus lower frequencies to be expected.

    Dropping SMT will get you a little extra speed if you are seeking 5Ghz without threading.
    Intel 7700K @ 5.1Ghz
    ASUS Maximus IX Formula
    ASUS GTX Titan X
    32GB Galax HOF
    Intel 750 SSD 1.2TB
    Platimax 1350W
    Enermax 240 Liqtech AOI

    Intel 6950X ES
    Asus Rampage E10
    Asus GTX 980
    32GB HyperX AFR
    Intel 750 SSD 1.2TB
    MaxREVO 1500W
    Dimas Benchtable

  8. #608
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    10,681
    Like I said 7:4x definitely possible even fighting a wicked bad cold bug.

    I'm really stretching it running this chip @ 4.6 so yet to get an actually tuned run to complete.

    I think but not positive 7:3x might be a reality if I can get it to cooperate for a tuned run.

    If you notice I pulled 3 secs off time with considerably less memory speed without software tweaking

    Think I am going to break the rig down for the meantime however as I just picked up a K7 to test.

    32g testing is top priority so give me a few days to work through it and see if its possible.....

    Last edited by chew*; 04-25-2017 at 07:32 PM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  9. #609
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,699
    Thank you guys for few tips Keep fingers cross After I will lost my nervoues, I will have second PC for LN2 benhcing (Phenom II x6 1090T BE)
    ROG Power PCs - Intel and AMD
    CPUs:i7-6950X, i7-5960X, 4x i7-7700K, i3-7350K, 2x i7-6700K, i5-6600K, R7-1800X, R7-1700X, 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, A10-7870K, Athlon 845, Athlon 860K,AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930KAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread Intel Cinebench R15 thread

  10. #610
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    157
    Quote Originally Posted by FlanK3r View Post
    Thank you guys for few tips Keep fingers cross After I will lost my nervoues, I will have second PC for LN2 benhcing (Phenom II x6 1090T BE)
    To Late
    My best X6 is sold
    Would have been a good processor to bench under LN2

    Last edited by techtrancer; 04-26-2017 at 07:30 AM.


    FX-9370 @ 4.7 GHz @ 1,44 V | NB @ 2286 MHz @ 1,21V
    32 GB 1600 CL11 1,5V @ 846 MHz @ CL 9-9-9 @ 1,4V
    MORA 2 + Laing D5 + 9 x 120mm @ 5V
    Gigabyte GA-970A UD3 Rev. 1.2
    XFX HD7750 2GB Core Edition
    Samsung 850 Pro 512GB

  11. #611
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    10,681
    Most good air = bad ln2.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  12. #612
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    174
    Was that last run from 1866 divider?
    CPU : AMD FX 8350@ 4.6 /AMD FX-9370 @ 4.8 Mobo : ASUS Sabretooth R2.0
    Cooler :Koolance 380A
    Ram : 2x4 Gb Gskill Sniper 2133@2000
    Video : 2 ASUS GTX 580 CU II SLI @ 950/2280
    SSD : Kingston HyperX 240 Gb
    OS : Win7 Pro
    Case : Banchetto 101
    PSU : Leadex SuperFlower 1K Platinum
    Monitor : Asus 27"

    HTPC : FX-6350, CM-V-8, ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
    , 2x8 Gb Geil DDR3 1600, Radeon HD 6850, Win8 Pro

    http://hwbot.org/user/johan45

  13. #613
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,699
    Chew:not always true. I tested x6 1100T, this chip was good on AIR and good at LN2 too
    ROG Power PCs - Intel and AMD
    CPUs:i7-6950X, i7-5960X, 4x i7-7700K, i3-7350K, 2x i7-6700K, i5-6600K, R7-1800X, R7-1700X, 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, A10-7870K, Athlon 845, Athlon 860K,AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930KAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread Intel Cinebench R15 thread

  14. #614
    Pie assassin
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Where lights collide
    Posts
    2,252
    Quote Originally Posted by Johan45 View Post
    Was that last run from 1866 divider?
    Trc gives away what divider is used
    Current Status - Testing & Research

  15. #615
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    541
    Or you can just see the FSB : DRAM ratio on the screen. (FSBRAM - damn smiley...)
    X6 1090T (1010MPMW) @ 4267MHz 1.44V NB@3229MHz 1.33V | Asus Crosshair IV Formula | 2x2GB Corsair Dominator GTX2 @ 1845MHz 6-6-5-17-22 1T | Asus HD4890 @ 1050/4800 | Corsair HX850W | HAF 932
    EK Supreme HF | EK-FC4890LT | MCP655 + Koolance D5 Top | ThermoChill PA120.3 + 3x Enermax Magma | XSPC Bay res | Masterkleer 1/2" UV Red

  16. #616
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    10,681
    Use whats fast...not what you think is fast
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  17. #617
    Crunch-Fu Adept
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Czech Rep.
    Posts
    1,481
    My initial thrill of Ryzens performance for a workstation is now being scarred by random instabilities and crashes when running long-term, on NVMe storage, virtual machines, encoding and BOINC projects when not in use. My feelings from trying to use Ryzen for a workstation - it's not production-ready. Hopefully AMD irons out the kinks in a better BIOS/AGESA/chip revision. There are definitely some I/O issues.
    Sometimes a good slap in the face is all you need

    Bios my arss.....
    I can fix this problem with a hardware mod....
    Hipro5


    "Overclock till death. Overclocking is life." Hipro5

  18. #618
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    157
    Quote Originally Posted by chew* View Post
    Most good air = bad ln2.
    Was wathercooling
    Don't know How the X6 perform at higher clocks under ln2
    My cooling was only enough for 4.2ghz @ Prime
    But Need realy less v-Core for 4.2


    FX-9370 @ 4.7 GHz @ 1,44 V | NB @ 2286 MHz @ 1,21V
    32 GB 1600 CL11 1,5V @ 846 MHz @ CL 9-9-9 @ 1,4V
    MORA 2 + Laing D5 + 9 x 120mm @ 5V
    Gigabyte GA-970A UD3 Rev. 1.2
    XFX HD7750 2GB Core Edition
    Samsung 850 Pro 512GB

  19. #619
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    10,681
    Quote Originally Posted by Aerou View Post
    My initial thrill of Ryzens performance for a workstation is now being scarred by random instabilities and crashes when running long-term, on NVMe storage, virtual machines, encoding and BOINC projects when not in use. My feelings from trying to use Ryzen for a workstation - it's not production-ready. Hopefully AMD irons out the kinks in a better BIOS/AGESA/chip revision. There are definitely some I/O issues.
    what is you SOC voltage?

    SOC preety much effects usb pci etc etc.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  20. #620
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    10,681
    Ok so gigabyte K7........board can be a chore to OC ref clock wise.....

    The basic stuff is easy with 2x8g......but it ends there.

    BUG
    ref clock is rendered useless at least with this chip once you deviate from stock multi ( auto setting )

    Pretty much anything over 33.50x multi unless you have a golden 4.1g chip is going to be near impossible to use refclock on.

    Will post e6 if you change multi when using ref clock.

    I found a workaround to get my 1700 up to 3.9 using auto via ryzen master.....great if you need to clock up....not so great if you need to boot a 1800x that can not do 4.3gig with 36x ( auto )





    It can do over 3600 after about 2 minutes of boot looping.

    Ok maybe a slight exaggeration but yah at least 5 boot loops I would guess for each timing and AM4 training...

    Basically it has potential but bios needs some serious polishing.



    32g operation in its current state at optimal timings is not happening.

    I honestly will not bother with super slacked timings, I find it a rather pointless sacrifice when the competition can do it...hopefully its possible after a few updates.

    good news is it is actual capable of stability at 120 ref clock......

    The other good news is that this is the chip I have been running at 1.6v for 3 days on phase change......looks like its not degrading....yet.

    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  21. #621
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    10,681
    Ok got a little time in on the R5 1400.

    did 4150 cine air @ 1.4

    does 4.4 phase 1.4 not much scaling only tried 1.45....

    whooping that 4770Ks azz though.....



    fooled around with 32m on it diff strap diff tune faster time

    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  22. #622
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    157
    How much does the R5 1400 @ 24/7 usable Voltage and 24/7 Memory in Cinebench?


    FX-9370 @ 4.7 GHz @ 1,44 V | NB @ 2286 MHz @ 1,21V
    32 GB 1600 CL11 1,5V @ 846 MHz @ CL 9-9-9 @ 1,4V
    MORA 2 + Laing D5 + 9 x 120mm @ 5V
    Gigabyte GA-970A UD3 Rev. 1.2
    XFX HD7750 2GB Core Edition
    Samsung 850 Pro 512GB

  23. #623
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    10,681
    High 800s @ 4050 @ 1.4v 24/7 3200 memory....even works with 32g..

    Of course that is this chip...seems r5 is quite the lottery as far as overclocking goes..
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  24. #624
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    157
    Thx
    With My FX i am around 740 with My 24/7 Setting
    ~4.7GHz & 930 @ CL11
    Think will wait for Ryzen+
    Last edited by techtrancer; Today at 06:17 AM.


    FX-9370 @ 4.7 GHz @ 1,44 V | NB @ 2286 MHz @ 1,21V
    32 GB 1600 CL11 1,5V @ 846 MHz @ CL 9-9-9 @ 1,4V
    MORA 2 + Laing D5 + 9 x 120mm @ 5V
    Gigabyte GA-970A UD3 Rev. 1.2
    XFX HD7750 2GB Core Edition
    Samsung 850 Pro 512GB

Page 25 of 25 FirstFirst ... 1522232425

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •