Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 51 to 75 of 110

Thread: Ryzen and memory

  1. #51
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,020
    Quote Originally Posted by StAndrew View Post
    Forgive me but I remember hearing that the Bios was embeded on the CPU, correct? How does manufacturer baord bios/firmware fit in all this?
    I think that's grey area for NDA so I will have to wait to give you the answer.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  2. #52
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    419
    Those memory benchmarks are perfectly feasible as i know that 20%+ scaling is possible (depending on timings) and the witcher does start getting cpu limited around 100fps in a few parts of the game
    digital foundry has shown ~8% improvement from 2133 to 3000 in it
    my guess is that the funny scaling at different speed steps could be timing related or just margin of error in there test
    for example they may be using 2133c13 2400c15 2666c16 3000c15 3200c14
    Last edited by dasa; 02-27-2017 at 02:12 PM.
    TJ08-EW 6700k@4.7 1.375v - Z170-GENE - 2x8g 3866 16-16-16 - 1070@ 2088\9500MHz -Samsung 830 64G, Sandisk Ultra II 960G, WD Green 3tb - Seasonic XP1050 - Dell U2713 - Pioneer Todoroki 5.1 Apogee Drive II - EK VGA-HF Supreme - Phobia 200mm Rad - Silverstone AP181 Project Darkling
    3770k vs 6700k RAM Scaling, HT vs RAM, Arma III CPU vs RAM, Thief CPU vs RAM

  3. #53
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,020
    Yah the timings are key. without knowing those it leaves a rather large variable in the equasion.

    If timings were same through all tests? that scaling could be realistic but also dumb.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  4. #54
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    419
    intel exactly matching amd on a number of the points though is more than a little unlikely
    almost like they mixed up there tests a bit
    TJ08-EW 6700k@4.7 1.375v - Z170-GENE - 2x8g 3866 16-16-16 - 1070@ 2088\9500MHz -Samsung 830 64G, Sandisk Ultra II 960G, WD Green 3tb - Seasonic XP1050 - Dell U2713 - Pioneer Todoroki 5.1 Apogee Drive II - EK VGA-HF Supreme - Phobia 200mm Rad - Silverstone AP181 Project Darkling
    3770k vs 6700k RAM Scaling, HT vs RAM, Arma III CPU vs RAM, Thief CPU vs RAM

  5. #55
    One-Eyed Killing Machine
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Inside a pot
    Posts
    6,393
    Quote Originally Posted by chew* View Post
    Without knowing timings used its a shot in the dark to make assumptions. if identical timings were used its realistic however. There is also an X factor that I'm not at liberty to discuss yet.

    Grid autosport is very sensitive to total platform performance albeit a little dated. Its also real world vs synthetic.

    I'm likely going to use it as a reference in testing since it is highly accurate and consistent and does not require me to make my own custom benchmark.

    It also allows other users to do a direct comparison of there own system versus my results which would be impossible with a custom made benchmark unless it was hosted for public use.
    If you are talking about GRID Autosport's integrated benchmark, I'd say quite the opposite, it's far from consistent.
    5 runs with the same config 1 after the other and the results are over the place even in the highly unlikely to change a lot average fps.

    manual ( real ) Gameplay would be consistent if you can keep your driving and route consistent, however I was simply bored and lacking in time to do manual tests apart from BF1 and Watch Dogs 2 for the current tests.
    Coding 24/7... Limited forums/PMs time.

    -Justice isn't blind, Justice is ashamed.

    Many thanks to: Sue Wu, Yiwen Lin, Steven Kuo, Crystal Chen, Vivian Lien, Joe Chan, Sascha Krohn, Joe James, Dan Snyder, Amy Deng, Jack Peterson, Hank Peng, Mafalda Cogliani, Olivia Lee, Marta Piccoli, Mike Clements, Alex Ruedinger, Oliver Baltuch, Korinna Dieck, Steffen Eisentein, Francois Piednoel, Tanja Markovic, Cyril Pelupessy (R.I.P. ), Juan J. Guerrero

  6. #56
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    US, MI
    Posts
    1,678
    Quote Originally Posted by chew* View Post
    I think that's grey area for NDA so I will have to wait to give you the answer.
    I'm concerned a bit about this.
    That and the so called "restricted RAM tuning options".
    Makes me wonder if you'll kill the cpu if you push the ram to much.
    What would normally be fixable with a cmos reset or a bios flash is stuck on the cpu.

    I hope I'm reading to much into it.
    I suppose even if there was an issue I guess the bios makers could just limit the min and max timing mask.

    ...
    Other then that I am looking forward to what can be done with these new ryzen chips .

    Oh and I've been reading that there's a new microcode coming out a while after launch that should improve mem clocking?
    Microcodes normally don't do that..., but it sounds like some sort of patch.
    I wonder if the asus has flashback...


    CPU: Intel Core i7-4930k [3332B054]
    CPU Heatsink: NZXT Kraken X60
    Mobo: ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition (0507 BIOS)
    MEM: 4x 4gig G.Skill [F3-2400C9Q-16GTXD] (Dual Sidded Samsung of Some Sorts)
    PSU: Antec HCP-850 Platinum
    VGA: nVidia Grid VGX K2 (WIP with 2x 680 lightnings)
    Monitor: ASUS VG278HE & 3DVision2 Kit
    Drives: 2x WD Red 2TB Drives [WDBMMA0020HNC-NRSN] (RAID 0), Corsair Force Series 3 CSSD-F60GB3A-BK 60GB SATA3 SSD, Pioneer BDR-2208 Blue Ray Burner
    Case: Rosewill Blackhawk Ultra
    OS's: Windows 2003 Enterprise x86 SP2-R2 VLM, Windows 7 Standard Embedded x86 SP1 EVL (128GB Patched), Windows 7 Standard Embedded x64 SP1 EVL
    Mouse: Using generic mouse for now...
    Arm:Samsung Galaxy S IV i9500 Octo-Core Quad Band 16gb Unlocked and 2x 64gig sd cards
    777

    Sig is slightly out of date, I'll update it later ^^


  7. #57
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,020
    I can't see them not adding them in the future. It only benefits them if users can extract a tad more performance.

    flashback on the asus boards that I'm aware of is done by using rog connect and renaming file. no rog connect then I'm not sure.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  8. #58
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1,557
    I have so many things I want to say... Currently using a 3600 kit that seem to be doing ok.



  9. #59
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Bucharest
    Posts
    138
    Good things?
    FX 8370 * Chrosshair V Formula Z * 16GB Kingston 1866 * Sapphire Fury * Samsung 850 Pro * WD Raptor 74Gb * Seagate 2TB * Seagate 1TB * Corsair 1200i * Corsair 800D
    EK Supremacy EVO * EK-FB Crosshair V * EK Coolstream XE 480 + XE 120 * D5 * EK F4-120 * Lamptron FC5 * Masterkleer tubing * EK coolant

  10. #60
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cork, Ireland
    Posts
    114
    Seems AMD is also making sure that it is known that Ryzen 7 does not mind faster than DDR4 3200 - See Wccftech - R7 1700 with G Skill DDR4 3400 on Asus Crosshair Hero
    FX 8350 @ 4.92 | FX8320E @ 4.8 | Asus Sabretooth FX990 R3.0 | 16GB GSkill TridentX 1600Mhz @ 7-8-8-10 | AMD R9 290 | Samsung SM950 Pro 500GB | Toshiba X300 4TB | Be-Quiet! 650W P8 PSU | Dual DDCs | EX Supremacy | EK R9 GPU | RX360 | RX240

  11. #61
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1,557
    Quote Originally Posted by chinook View Post
    Good things?
    We need a more complete bios is the only current issue I am having. For something hitting the market in a couple days it seems very unfinished to me.



  12. #62
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Bucharest
    Posts
    138
    I see. Do you have info that it affects all .. players? Or just this particular one that you have? And thanks for the info, mate.
    FX 8370 * Chrosshair V Formula Z * 16GB Kingston 1866 * Sapphire Fury * Samsung 850 Pro * WD Raptor 74Gb * Seagate 2TB * Seagate 1TB * Corsair 1200i * Corsair 800D
    EK Supremacy EVO * EK-FB Crosshair V * EK Coolstream XE 480 + XE 120 * D5 * EK F4-120 * Lamptron FC5 * Masterkleer tubing * EK coolant

  13. #63
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1,557
    I can't speak for anyone other than me and I have a single board.



  14. #64
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Krypton, Hawaii
    Posts
    363
    Quote Originally Posted by BenchZowner View Post
    If you are talking about GRID Autosport's integrated benchmark, I'd say quite the opposite, it's far from consistent.
    5 runs with the same config 1 after the other and the results are over the place even in the highly unlikely to change a lot average fps.

    manual ( real ) Gameplay would be consistent if you can keep your driving and route consistent, however I was simply bored and lacking in time to do manual tests apart from BF1 and Watch Dogs 2 for the current tests.
    BZ u benchin once more? nooooooooice

  15. #65
    One-Eyed Killing Machine
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Inside a pot
    Posts
    6,393
    Got like 4 hours of benching video to put some "high speed RAM, more cores = better performance" claims to the test
    Coding 24/7... Limited forums/PMs time.

    -Justice isn't blind, Justice is ashamed.

    Many thanks to: Sue Wu, Yiwen Lin, Steven Kuo, Crystal Chen, Vivian Lien, Joe Chan, Sascha Krohn, Joe James, Dan Snyder, Amy Deng, Jack Peterson, Hank Peng, Mafalda Cogliani, Olivia Lee, Marta Piccoli, Mike Clements, Alex Ruedinger, Oliver Baltuch, Korinna Dieck, Steffen Eisentein, Francois Piednoel, Tanja Markovic, Cyril Pelupessy (R.I.P. ), Juan J. Guerrero

  16. #66
    I am Xtreme Ket's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,810
    Just a FYI guys that my review and testing will be late to the party. I have the CPU but the shipment of the Auros Gaming 5 is delayed - Gigabyte falling behind apparently. So my review won't come until the end of next week at the earliest

    Quote Originally Posted by vario View Post
    AMD wanted to calm people down a bit ;-)

    https://twitter.com/AMDRyzen/status/836285599636127744

    Timings are weak, but its kinda reasurring
    On the bright side, thats with a 1T command rate at least. Still a bit rubbish though.
    Last edited by Ket; 03-01-2017 at 06:28 AM.

    "Prowler"
    Asrock Z77 Extreme6 | i5 3570k @ 4.5GHz 1.18v | 2x4GB PC12800 Ripjaws @ 1866MHz 10-10-10-15 1T 1.55v | Gigabyte GTX980, custom cooler @ 1.5GHz / 7.6GHz | Xonar DX 7.1 | 2TB Barracuda | 2x Sony Optiarc | Corsair 850w HX

    Cooling:

    3x Coolermaster Sickleflow 120mm 70CFM fans | Modified CoolIT ECO sealed loop CPU cooler | Custom made "The Judge" VGA VRM heatsink

    Asrock Z77 thread! | Asrock Z77 Extreme6 Review | Asrock P67 Extreme4 Review | Asrock P67 Extreme4/6 Pro3 thread | Asrock Z68 Extreme4 thread | Asrock Z68 Extreme4 Review | Asrock Z68 Gen3 Thread | 8GB G-Skill review | TK 2.ZERO homepage | P5Q series mBIOS thread

    (\_/) This is Bunny.
    (+.+) Bunny is dead.
    (^ ^) Copy and paste Bunny into your sig to create an army of BUNNY ZOMBIE MINIONS!!!

  17. #67
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,020
    For now i would pass on the corsair platinum 10-12-12-28 kit. I got them to post and boot and run 32m but they defaulted at 2T CR.

    It required doing the gigaboo gigabyte rain dance reboot cycle to get them working.

    They are also double sided.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  18. #68
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1,557



  19. #69
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,020
    Found a better way to get them to boot. Used reviwers kit to get settings applied. Did the old swaparoo trick after shutdown. No reboot dance.

    Could not fool CR though....back at 2T
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  20. #70
    Xtreme Member eagle101's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    SoCal USA
    Posts
    722
    Quote Originally Posted by chew* View Post
    Found a better way to get them to boot. Used reviwers kit to get settings applied. Did the old swaparoo trick after shutdown. No reboot dance.

    Could not fool CR though....back at 2T
    what no 1T.....
    Thanks Eagle101
    -------------------------
    CrossHairV-Z 9590 cpu-OC
    SSD Ocz RevoDrive3 X2 Raid0 PciE
    -51c Cpu SS Phase.Change Cooling
    Msi 290X Lightning oc
    1600 Watts P2 Evga Platinum
    G.SKILL Trident X Cas7 1600Mhz
    Dell U2410 24" IPS

    5.1 Sound Pro-Klipsch





  21. #71
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,020
    I would probably opt for the gskills so far eagle. I dunno how but at 2T (unless not relevant anymore ) in one test is comparable and that test seems inconsistant in W10x64. The rest its not even close.

    To bad corsairs website fails to mention 2T.

    I would not have ordered.

    Hell the budget vengeance have 1T
    Last edited by chew*; 03-01-2017 at 03:51 PM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  22. #72
    Xtreme Member eagle101's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    SoCal USA
    Posts
    722
    Quote Originally Posted by chew* View Post
    I would probably opt for the gskills so far eagle. I dunno how but at 2T (unless not relevant anymore ) in one test is comparable and that test seems inconsistant in W10x64. The rest its not even close.

    To bad corsairs website fails to mention 2T.

    I would not have ordered.

    Hell the budget vengeance have 1T

    at least progress is being made.......... and ya I hope the G.Skill Trident-Z might work excellent no body knows about that one yet unless someone out there
    has tried them?
    Thanks Eagle101
    -------------------------
    CrossHairV-Z 9590 cpu-OC
    SSD Ocz RevoDrive3 X2 Raid0 PciE
    -51c Cpu SS Phase.Change Cooling
    Msi 290X Lightning oc
    1600 Watts P2 Evga Platinum
    G.SKILL Trident X Cas7 1600Mhz
    Dell U2410 24" IPS

    5.1 Sound Pro-Klipsch





  23. #73
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,020
    The trident z is what im using in pc 3200 14-14-14 flavor.
    Samsung

    Corsair in 15-17-17 pc3000
    Hynix low bin

    Corsair in 10-12-12 pc2400
    Hynix i dont know bin....
    Last edited by chew*; 03-01-2017 at 04:14 PM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  24. #74
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Chicago,Illinois
    Posts
    1,180
    What about 4 sticks ?



  25. #75
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,020
    Quote Originally Posted by Hell Hound View Post
    What about 4 sticks ?
    You gonna buy them? .

    No offense but not spending $300 to make a post on a forum if it boots or not.

    I'll let someone else who has them already confirm it. Im chasing platforms performance. High density and high performance usually dont mix.

    I game more than 16g is pointless. Running 4x4 is dumb not to mention options are slim to none.

    Double sided being finicky is a good indicator of 4 dimm drama and 2T CR at this point in time.

    Bios,agesa could change. Stuffs new and has some teething issues.
    Last edited by chew*; 03-01-2017 at 05:46 PM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •