MMM
    X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Overclocking oldies but goldies

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    34

    Overclocking oldies but goldies

    I will start with a very old platform - socket 7 - but a long-life platform, maybe one of the longest:

    a) below is k6 III 400@475 MHz, 250nm on a Soyo 5EHM+ 1MB L2 cahe MVP3 motherboard, usually these CPU can cope with maximum 450 MHz at stock voltage + 0.1V;
    b) the 256 kb L2 cache inside the CPU are more important than the frequency, the additional performance compared to simple k6-2 - clock per clock - is around 20%, a k6 III at 450 MHz is movind better than a k6-2 at 600 MHz;
    c) it is the last time Intel made the "mistake" they will never repeat: they licensed the socket to AMD, and it is well known what happened later, Pentium1 MMX stopped to 233MHZ - followed by Penium II, and AMD reached with K6-2 si k6-2+ frequencies of 600 MHz (official k6-2 570 MHz k6-2 and 550MHz for k6-2+) - competing with Intel's Pentium II, but 600MHz is an usual frequency for good super socket 7 motherboards with FSB > 100 MHz and K6-2+, k6-3+;
    d) the multiplier is unlocked, and from k6-2 CXT - chomper, the AMD CPUs are considering the 2x multiplier - 6x;
    Attached Images Attached Images
    never say never.../WS and S939 collector-dual:socket 7 PR351,PIII-GA-6BXDS,MSI694D,S370DDE, socketA-S2469,A7M266D, socket940-TyanS2895,S2877,SM H8DCE, socketF-XW9400, socket T-DellT7500, G34
    rig1: Dual Opty6386ES, 6380ES Thermalright HR01+ Supermicro H8DGI-F 32GB DDR3 460GTX
    rig2: i7 980X DFI UT X58-T3eH8 24GB Corsair Vengeance DDR1600 CL9 True120BE GA 460GTX
    rig3: X5690 Asus P6X58E-Pro 12GB Samsung LoVo DDR2133 CL8 True120
    rig4: HP XW9400 Dual Opty2435 32GB DDR2 ECC 2x146GB SAS X-Fi EM GA 460GTX

  2. #2
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    578
    Dude, old school. I never had a K6-III, but I did have a loaner K6-II 350 after getting rid of my K6-233. Had an ATI Rage Fury Maxx ugh.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    34
    below is a k6-2+ 500 MHz@600 MHz with 128 kb L2 cache manufactured with an 180nm technology (k6-2 was manufactured with an 250 nm technology), on a VIA MVP3 512 kb cache DFI K6XV3+/66 motherboard.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    never say never.../WS and S939 collector-dual:socket 7 PR351,PIII-GA-6BXDS,MSI694D,S370DDE, socketA-S2469,A7M266D, socket940-TyanS2895,S2877,SM H8DCE, socketF-XW9400, socket T-DellT7500, G34
    rig1: Dual Opty6386ES, 6380ES Thermalright HR01+ Supermicro H8DGI-F 32GB DDR3 460GTX
    rig2: i7 980X DFI UT X58-T3eH8 24GB Corsair Vengeance DDR1600 CL9 True120BE GA 460GTX
    rig3: X5690 Asus P6X58E-Pro 12GB Samsung LoVo DDR2133 CL8 True120
    rig4: HP XW9400 Dual Opty2435 32GB DDR2 ECC 2x146GB SAS X-Fi EM GA 460GTX

  4. #4
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    3,426
    Very nice OC!
    I had K6-2 450 oc to 570MHz on Ali Alladin V board.
    Played with K6-3 400MHz but it was resilient to OC as I had early model. Only 450MHz was stable on it and getting 500MHz was impossible even with cold water.

    Any older Cinebench results on these babies?
    RiG1: Ryzen 7 1700 @4.0GHz 1.39V, Asus X370 Prime, G.Skill RipJaws 2x8GB 3200MHz CL14 Samsung B-die, TuL Vega 56 Stock, Samsung SS805 100GB SLC SDD (OS Drive) + 512GB Evo 850 SSD (2nd OS Drive) + 3TB Seagate + 1TB Seagate, BeQuiet PowerZone 1000W

    RiG2: HTPC AMD A10-7850K APU, 2x8GB Kingstone HyperX 2400C12, AsRock FM2A88M Extreme4+, 128GB SSD + 640GB Samsung 7200, LG Blu-ray Recorder, Thermaltake BACH, Hiper 4M880 880W PSU

    SmartPhone Samsung Galaxy S7 EDGE
    XBONE paired with 55'' Samsung LED 3D TV

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    317
    Quote Originally Posted by DavidMMM View Post
    below is a k6-2+ 500 MHz@600 MHz with 128 kb L2 cache manufactured with an 180nm technology (k6-2 was manufactured with an 250 nm technology), on a VIA MVP3 512 kb cache DFI K6XV3+/66 motherboard.
    Depending on benchmark, sometimes the 5.5x multiplier can be faster than the undocumented 6x -- IIRC, memory performance is better, which is great if you have good bus options above 100MHz (I don't). If you look at the k6plus forums, you'll find some info on that.
    I haven't booted my SS7 machine for some years, it has a K6-III+ 500 ANZ @600MHz/2.0V on a modest Shuttle HOT-591P (MVP3 with 512KB L3) REV.2.0 with 2x256MB @100MHz/CL2-2-2-5 that fortunately has no problem with .18 parts with latest bios. This system has also a GF2 GTS and a good old AWE64. Last time it booted after a long rest, it threw some bluescreens and I had no time to investigate. Probably a busted PSU, since MB caps look fine.
    Currently out of use is the previous K6-2+ 550 ACZ, also reaches 6x100MHz/2.0V primestable. On the pile there's also a rare .25 mobile K6-III-P/380AFK, but it can't do more than 430MHz. The other couple of K6-2s aren't worth to mention.
    Last edited by AlleyViper; 10-02-2016 at 07:25 PM.
    STRIX X470-F | R5 2600X, PBO OC + TRUE Bk Rev.A, 2xGT AP-15 | 2x8GB Flare X 3200C14 @3200MHz/CL14-14-14-34-1T| RX480 Gaming X 8G @1316/2025 | SB Z | M500 240GB, DT01ACA200, AD-7243S | Lian-Li PC-B70: FC5V2 + 2xNB PK-2, 2xNB PL-2 | RM750

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    34
    furthermore below is a k6-2+ 500 MHz@605 MHz with 128 kb L2 cache, on a Ali AlladinV Gigabyte GA5AX with 512 kb cache L2, which cannot be shown by CPUZ / I will try my k6-3+ on the Epox MVP3 G2, FIC PA2013 mobos, after I will update their BIOSes/ I will try to resuscitate the dinosaur: dual Pentium Siemens Nixdorf Primergy - with 256MB of RAM.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    never say never.../WS and S939 collector-dual:socket 7 PR351,PIII-GA-6BXDS,MSI694D,S370DDE, socketA-S2469,A7M266D, socket940-TyanS2895,S2877,SM H8DCE, socketF-XW9400, socket T-DellT7500, G34
    rig1: Dual Opty6386ES, 6380ES Thermalright HR01+ Supermicro H8DGI-F 32GB DDR3 460GTX
    rig2: i7 980X DFI UT X58-T3eH8 24GB Corsair Vengeance DDR1600 CL9 True120BE GA 460GTX
    rig3: X5690 Asus P6X58E-Pro 12GB Samsung LoVo DDR2133 CL8 True120
    rig4: HP XW9400 Dual Opty2435 32GB DDR2 ECC 2x146GB SAS X-Fi EM GA 460GTX

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    317
    Cool stuff, thanks for sharing! That's one of the best cards still compatible with an AGP 1.0 3.3V slot (at 2x). Depending on bench, with a L2 cache enabled CPU such as K6-2+ or K6-III/+ sometimes it performs faster if you disable the onboard cache that is now working as L3. For general use, it's better to leave it enabled, of course.
    IIRC Memory bandwith is much lower on MVP3 than on Ali, unfortunately.
    Last edited by AlleyViper; 10-04-2016 at 02:46 PM.
    STRIX X470-F | R5 2600X, PBO OC + TRUE Bk Rev.A, 2xGT AP-15 | 2x8GB Flare X 3200C14 @3200MHz/CL14-14-14-34-1T| RX480 Gaming X 8G @1316/2025 | SB Z | M500 240GB, DT01ACA200, AD-7243S | Lian-Li PC-B70: FC5V2 + 2xNB PK-2, 2xNB PL-2 | RM750

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    34
    3d mark2001 on a super socket 7 system: k6-2+ 500@570MHz and SOYO 5EHM+ VIA MVP3 1MB L3 cache together with a Hercules ATI Radeon 9700 Pro AGP8x/4x:
    Attached Images Attached Images
    never say never.../WS and S939 collector-dual:socket 7 PR351,PIII-GA-6BXDS,MSI694D,S370DDE, socketA-S2469,A7M266D, socket940-TyanS2895,S2877,SM H8DCE, socketF-XW9400, socket T-DellT7500, G34
    rig1: Dual Opty6386ES, 6380ES Thermalright HR01+ Supermicro H8DGI-F 32GB DDR3 460GTX
    rig2: i7 980X DFI UT X58-T3eH8 24GB Corsair Vengeance DDR1600 CL9 True120BE GA 460GTX
    rig3: X5690 Asus P6X58E-Pro 12GB Samsung LoVo DDR2133 CL8 True120
    rig4: HP XW9400 Dual Opty2435 32GB DDR2 ECC 2x146GB SAS X-Fi EM GA 460GTX

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    34
    a) a benchmark 3d mark2001 on a super socket 7 system: k6-3+ 450@575MHz=5x115MHz, with motherboard Gigabyte GA-5AX rev.4.1 512 kB L3 cache and videocard Asus nVidia 5900 AGP8x/4x:
    b) the K6-3+ is a little unstable at 600MHz, probably a little more voltage will help;
    c) I have updated the BIOS-es for k6-2+/k6-3+ support for Epox MVP3 G2 (1 MB L2), FIC PA2013 rev.2 and GA- 5AX rev. 5.2, I will play with them when I will have time.
    never say never.../WS and S939 collector-dual:socket 7 PR351,PIII-GA-6BXDS,MSI694D,S370DDE, socketA-S2469,A7M266D, socket940-TyanS2895,S2877,SM H8DCE, socketF-XW9400, socket T-DellT7500, G34
    rig1: Dual Opty6386ES, 6380ES Thermalright HR01+ Supermicro H8DGI-F 32GB DDR3 460GTX
    rig2: i7 980X DFI UT X58-T3eH8 24GB Corsair Vengeance DDR1600 CL9 True120BE GA 460GTX
    rig3: X5690 Asus P6X58E-Pro 12GB Samsung LoVo DDR2133 CL8 True120
    rig4: HP XW9400 Dual Opty2435 32GB DDR2 ECC 2x146GB SAS X-Fi EM GA 460GTX

  10. #10
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    578
    Wow, it's been awhile since I heard about Aladdin chipsets. I remember looking hard at some of their stuff in '97 when putting together a k6-233 system.

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    317
    Took the dust off the MVP3 based K6-III+ mentioned above, upgraded the lousy PSU to a good old Enermax 465AX FMA and ran a few benchmarks. The reason it was spitting BSODs the last time I've tried it wasn't the PSU, but some incompatibility with a NEC based 4 port USB 2.0 PCI card. The 3DM2001SE score is even lower, as it's a DX7 card that skips test 4. Back In the day, I remember my 1333 tbird with a slower GF2 MX doing a much better score (~2.5K maybe).

    I have a GF4 ti4200 X8 collecting dust, but unfortunately the original fan was faulty, so the cooler was replaced by a mammoth passive solution from TT many years ago. Because of that, it's unlikely to fit in the current baby ATX build (mostly because of MB layout) -- edit: just checked, the card won't even fit with the original cooler because a cap hits the CPU cooler. So, a passive HP OEM GF2 GTS 32MB @AGP 2x was used stock in the bench bellow. Even a lousy FX5200 64bit was reaching near 2000pts (2DK1) in this K6-III+ setup some years ago. It seems I'm stuck with cards without any tall components just a bit after the AGP slot.

    Last edited by AlleyViper; 01-17-2017 at 01:00 PM.
    STRIX X470-F | R5 2600X, PBO OC + TRUE Bk Rev.A, 2xGT AP-15 | 2x8GB Flare X 3200C14 @3200MHz/CL14-14-14-34-1T| RX480 Gaming X 8G @1316/2025 | SB Z | M500 240GB, DT01ACA200, AD-7243S | Lian-Li PC-B70: FC5V2 + 2xNB PK-2, 2xNB PL-2 | RM750

  12. #12
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Daytona Beach
    Posts
    3,715
    I enjoy old school overclocking more than the new. Thanks for the screen shots!!!

    I've been messing around with an Asus SK8V and FX-51. I never could afford FX-51 back in the day so I bought one off ebay a couple months ago. so I finally can say I own one. Also found a DFI Infinity NF Ultra II.


    check out "XS REVIEWS"

    Want me to believe your hardware review? Show me a receipt

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    317
    Uau! The original 940 and a FX-51, that was a monster back in his day. At the time (early 04') I was running a 754 3200+ ClawHammer (early rev. C0 too) on a Abit KV8-MAX3, but the K8T800 was a pita for two reasons, no AGP/PCI lock and unstable with TRCD2. nf3 250Gb later was godsent.
    Last edited by AlleyViper; 01-19-2017 at 07:22 PM.
    STRIX X470-F | R5 2600X, PBO OC + TRUE Bk Rev.A, 2xGT AP-15 | 2x8GB Flare X 3200C14 @3200MHz/CL14-14-14-34-1T| RX480 Gaming X 8G @1316/2025 | SB Z | M500 240GB, DT01ACA200, AD-7243S | Lian-Li PC-B70: FC5V2 + 2xNB PK-2, 2xNB PL-2 | RM750

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    34
    managed to bring the k6-3+ to 605MHz on the good old GA-5AX rev.4.1, on the same nVidia 5900, just for comparison:
    never say never.../WS and S939 collector-dual:socket 7 PR351,PIII-GA-6BXDS,MSI694D,S370DDE, socketA-S2469,A7M266D, socket940-TyanS2895,S2877,SM H8DCE, socketF-XW9400, socket T-DellT7500, G34
    rig1: Dual Opty6386ES, 6380ES Thermalright HR01+ Supermicro H8DGI-F 32GB DDR3 460GTX
    rig2: i7 980X DFI UT X58-T3eH8 24GB Corsair Vengeance DDR1600 CL9 True120BE GA 460GTX
    rig3: X5690 Asus P6X58E-Pro 12GB Samsung LoVo DDR2133 CL8 True120
    rig4: HP XW9400 Dual Opty2435 32GB DDR2 ECC 2x146GB SAS X-Fi EM GA 460GTX

  15. #15
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    317
    Thanks for sharing, those are some really nice results. Btw, I've noticed that CPU-Z will fail to show the onboard cache (L3) when multiple instances are open on my system (after the first).
    Last edited by AlleyViper; 01-23-2017 at 09:30 AM.
    STRIX X470-F | R5 2600X, PBO OC + TRUE Bk Rev.A, 2xGT AP-15 | 2x8GB Flare X 3200C14 @3200MHz/CL14-14-14-34-1T| RX480 Gaming X 8G @1316/2025 | SB Z | M500 240GB, DT01ACA200, AD-7243S | Lian-Li PC-B70: FC5V2 + 2xNB PK-2, 2xNB PL-2 | RM750

  16. #16
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    34
    CPUZ fails to show motherboard's L3 cache on ALi chip based SS7 motherboards, on all I have, with different kind of revisions, even if with the new ones. This does not apply to the VIA chip based motherboards.
    never say never.../WS and S939 collector-dual:socket 7 PR351,PIII-GA-6BXDS,MSI694D,S370DDE, socketA-S2469,A7M266D, socket940-TyanS2895,S2877,SM H8DCE, socketF-XW9400, socket T-DellT7500, G34
    rig1: Dual Opty6386ES, 6380ES Thermalright HR01+ Supermicro H8DGI-F 32GB DDR3 460GTX
    rig2: i7 980X DFI UT X58-T3eH8 24GB Corsair Vengeance DDR1600 CL9 True120BE GA 460GTX
    rig3: X5690 Asus P6X58E-Pro 12GB Samsung LoVo DDR2133 CL8 True120
    rig4: HP XW9400 Dual Opty2435 32GB DDR2 ECC 2x146GB SAS X-Fi EM GA 460GTX

  17. #17
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    317
    On my MVP3 it'll only fail for every instance opened after the first one. I've actually had to repeat one benchmark when I've posted the screens above, because I failed to notice it before closing programs.
    STRIX X470-F | R5 2600X, PBO OC + TRUE Bk Rev.A, 2xGT AP-15 | 2x8GB Flare X 3200C14 @3200MHz/CL14-14-14-34-1T| RX480 Gaming X 8G @1316/2025 | SB Z | M500 240GB, DT01ACA200, AD-7243S | Lian-Li PC-B70: FC5V2 + 2xNB PK-2, 2xNB PL-2 | RM750

  18. #18
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Evje, Norway
    Posts
    3,425
    Cool. I had a K6-2 400mhz back in the days. Made a cardboard shroud and put a 80mm fan on the cooler. Didnt really know what i was doing, but fiddled with some jumpers on the motherboard and managed to clock it to 450mhz.
    Quote Originally Posted by iddqd View Post
    Not to be outdone by rival ATi, nVidia's going to offer its own drivers on EA Download Manager.
    X2 555 @ B55 @ 4050 1.4v, NB @ 2700 1.35v Fuzion V1
    Gigabyte 890gpa-ud3h v2.1
    HD6950 2GB swiftech MCW60 @ 1000mhz, 1.168v 1515mhz memory
    Corsair Vengeance 2x4GB 1866 cas 9 @ 1800 8.9.8.27.41 1T 110ns 1.605v
    C300 64GB, 2X Seagate barracuda green LP 2TB, Essence STX, Zalman ZM750-HP
    DDC 3.2/petras, PA120.3 ek-res400, Stackers STC-01,
    Dell U2412m, G110, G9x, Razer Scarab

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •