MMM
    X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Looking for a modem/router to replace my comcast setup

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    165

    Looking for a modem/router to replace my comcast setup

    Right now I'm using Xfinity modem/router with a coaxial plugin. It also has the phone plugged into. Is there a good single setup to replace this? My lan speeds are terrific, but my wifi sux badly. And they won't do anything about it. With a lan cable my speeds are about 125mb down and 11mb up. But with my wifi, it's only 30mb or so download speed.

    Any suggestions?
    Q9550-Evga 780i A1-X-Fi Platinum
    ThermalTake 850-9800GTX/8800GT
    8GB GSkill 8500
    2 x 90GB OCZ Agility3 Raid 0-BenQ 20.1 WS

  2. #2
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    165
    Anyone?
    Q9550-Evga 780i A1-X-Fi Platinum
    ThermalTake 850-9800GTX/8800GT
    8GB GSkill 8500
    2 x 90GB OCZ Agility3 Raid 0-BenQ 20.1 WS

  3. #3
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,772
    do you have VOIP with comcst? and what kind of residence do you have.? and what box did comcast give you?
    Last edited by zanzabar; 09-28-2014 at 04:52 PM.
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    165
    Residence..

    Cisco Model DPC3939 DOCSIS 3.0 16x4 Wireless Residential Voice Gateway
    Q9550-Evga 780i A1-X-Fi Platinum
    ThermalTake 850-9800GTX/8800GT
    8GB GSkill 8500
    2 x 90GB OCZ Agility3 Raid 0-BenQ 20.1 WS

  5. #5
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    2,589
    I use the provided modem from comcast. my speeds were very sporadic to say the least... usually on wifi i would get 120mb down and about 11 mb up but then recently after they upgraded everyone on the extreme 105 to 150mb down then my connection got horrible was seeing speeds as low as 65 mb down and less than 10mb up... didnt really care much since I hadnt even known about the upgraded plans until I bothered to check my statement (its on autopay each month) and then I noticed they upgraded me free of charge. So I plugged in a rj45 cat5e cable and ran the speed test again and to my shock I found now the speeds were worse than before... and drastically lower than what I was expecting... I tried reseting my modem, router, swapped out the cable between the modem and router from cat5e to cat6 and then cat6e and finally i started to notice some stability around 95 ~ 100 mb down and 22 ~ 23 mb up as a result. I tested on wired connection and not wifi

    So just the other day I got a sample network data cable which the company who made it claims is beyond spec of even cat7 and 7a and is rated for 10G support upwards of 1200mhz and supports video etc without an issue. It was a double shielded cable and very expensive. They provided me a 2 ft sample cable since I Was already involved with them buying supplies for commercial work for an office I am retrofitting with 10G networking.

    So anyways I was not expecting any improvement simply by swapping out the cable between the modem and the router but and low and behold to my surprise I found this cable did the trick and now as you can see in my signature my speeds have vastly improved well beyond what I am supposed to be getting. (150mb down , 10mb up) ..... and I am using a cat6e 600mhz cable to connect my laptop to the router. So the results in my signature reflect this. Having said that, I will definitely test again with the faster and higher speed spec. 10G capable cable as I am intrigued now to do so and who knows I may just get a minor improvement on my downstream and upstream speed haha.... I will be cutting custom lengths of the new cable this wekeend
    Last edited by hecktic; 10-03-2014 at 04:40 AM.

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    165
    With a cable hooked up, it's fine, my speeds are what is advertised. It's my wifi that sux. I don't think it should be that much of a difference should it?
    Q9550-Evga 780i A1-X-Fi Platinum
    ThermalTake 850-9800GTX/8800GT
    8GB GSkill 8500
    2 x 90GB OCZ Agility3 Raid 0-BenQ 20.1 WS

  7. #7
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    1000 Elysian Park Ave
    Posts
    2,669
    Motorola Surfboard? That's the one most people get, maybe tweaking the wi-fi will get it done? Wi-Fi booster?
    i3-8100 | GTX 970
    Ryzen 5 1600 | RX 580
    Assume nothing; Question everything

  8. #8
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,772
    ther are a few really nice routers that came out recently like the nighthawk from netgear (made by asus) and the asus 68u/87u. the 68u is the same inside as the nighthawk and 87u is the same as the nighthawk x6. all 4 broadcast at the legal maximum and are very nice.

    Quote Originally Posted by Kingcarcas View Post
    Motorola Surfboard? That's the one most people get, maybe tweaking the wi-fi will get it done? Wi-Fi booster?
    moto no longer exists and they do not ship any more product (cisco killed the brand name.) and the box OP has from comcast uses the same chips as the white surfboard for its modem.
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  9. #9
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    2,589
    yeah my speeds are stable since i posted with this new cable running from the modem to the router... i added a netgear prosafe switch between the modem and router. my router is dlink model dir-855 and seems to overheat a lot lately. I will need to replace it. I am going to swap out the cat6e cable running from my laptop to the router with the higher spec 10G cable. Lets see if I get anymore higher speed results on my testing... i think it will jump from 178 ~ 180 mb down / 22 ~ 25 mb up to 198 ~ 205 mb down / 24 ~ 27 mb up

    But just a guess... actual results will vary... but lets see what happens with this double shielded 1200mhz cable

  10. #10
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    2,589
    Just broke my speeds out to a higher tier lol..... something is up with comcast this weekend ... the peak was showing over 700mb haha

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •