MMM
Page 1 of 9 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 244

Thread: ASUS X99 Motherboard Series - Official Support Thread

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2,745

    ASUS X99 Motherboard Series - Official Support Thread (North America)

    This thread is for posting and sharing tips, tricks and results relating to ASUS X99 motherboards.

    5960X OC tips PDF:

    https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bz2...it?usp=sharing


    Latest UEFI Build for R5E:
    RAMPAGE V EXTREME UEFI 0801
    0801 Download Mirror


    Latest UEFI build 1002 for the X99-Deluxe:
    X99-Deluxe 1002 UEFI
    Mirror

    -Raja
    Last edited by Raja@ASUS; 10-13-2014 at 04:14 AM.
    ASUS North America Technical Marketing - If you are based outside North America and require technical assistance or have a query please contact ASUS Support for your region.


    Rampage IV Extreme tweaking guide

    ASUS Z77 UEFI Tuning Guide for overclocking

    Maximus 5 Gene OC Guide

    Maximus VI Series UEFI OC Guide

  2. #2
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,796
    Thx for link, I lost it ...
    ROG Power PCs - Intel and AMD
    CPUs:i9-7900X, i9-9900K, i7-6950X, i7-5960X, i7-8086K, i7-8700K, 4x i7-7700K, i3-7350K, 2x i7-6700K, i5-6600K, R7-2700X, 4x R5 2600X, R5 2400G, R3 1200, R7-1800X, R7-1700X, 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, A10-7870K, Athlon 845, Athlon 860K,AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930KAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread Intel Cinebench R15 thread

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    192
    I've just purchased an X99 Deluxe and a 5960x, have it water cooled with a 3x120 rad, XSPC Raystorm block, and a D5 pump. Temps stay below TjMax so everything appears ok. However, I've noticed something strange when under load, while stock or overclocked, CPUZ reports the chip drawing significantly higher voltage than what is set in the BIOS when running Prime 95 or Intel Burn Test. At stock the chip may want up to 1.1 volts according to CPUZ under these conditions and @ 4.5GHz and 1.3V with the voltage set mnanually in the BIOS it shoots as high as 1.49V. Something's not right here. The only legitimate reason I can think of for this to happen is if it's specific to an AVX workload, which may be the case with the testing tools I've mentioned. However, my previous ROG boards never did this with Haswell or Ivy Bridge. I've updated the BIOS to the latest beta version available on the support site, 0701 dated 8/29/14. What I'm wondering is the following:
    1) is this normal/can this behavior be reproduced by others?
    2) is there a setting which controls this behavior? - again, voltage is set manually (not using adaptive or offset)

    Edit: I've just run the standard OCCT test (not the Linpack test) which to my understanding should not use AVX and I see the exact same voltage spike. Either CPUZ is wrong, the sensor is damaged, or there's a BIOS setting that affects this behavior.
    Last edited by techguy2k5; 09-01-2014 at 06:03 AM.

  4. #4
    L-l-look at you, hacker.
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    4,643
    Try disabling LLC and see if that changes the readings CPU-Z is giving you. Also, I'm guessing this isn't the case, but you haven't accidentally switched the CPU overvolt jumper on the bottom right of the board, have you (see eg. page 1-20 of your manual)?

    Have the same setup (5960X and X99 Deluxe) on its way to me, should be arriving late this week, so will be able to comment if I see the same behaviour then.
    Rig specs
    CPU: i7 5960X Mobo: Asus X99 Deluxe RAM: 4x4GB G.Skill DDR4-2400 CAS-15 VGA: 2x eVGA GTX680 Superclock PSU: Corsair AX1200

    Foundational Falsehoods of Creationism



  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    192
    Quote Originally Posted by SoulsCollective View Post
    Try disabling LLC and see if that changes the readings CPU-Z is giving you. Also, I'm guessing this isn't the case, but you haven't accidentally switched the CPU overvolt jumper on the bottom right of the board, have you (see eg. page 1-20 of your manual)?

    Have the same setup (5960X and X99 Deluxe) on its way to me, should be arriving late this week, so will be able to comment if I see the same behaviour then.
    Thanks for the suggestions, the BIOS layout is very different compared to the ROG boards I'm used to so I knew I was missing something. I'll check LLC and the board switch you mentioned here in a bit and report back.

  6. #6
    L-l-look at you, hacker.
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    4,643
    Have paged through the manual and done a quick search, but my Google-fu is failing me - can't find anything on voltage read points for the X99 Deluxe (if any). It could be that CPU-Z is simply getting confused (can happen with new gen) and software readings are either wrong or being misinterpreted; ideally you'd check with a DMM but with no obvious read points I'm not sure how to go about doing that.
    Rig specs
    CPU: i7 5960X Mobo: Asus X99 Deluxe RAM: 4x4GB G.Skill DDR4-2400 CAS-15 VGA: 2x eVGA GTX680 Superclock PSU: Corsair AX1200

    Foundational Falsehoods of Creationism



  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    192
    Quote Originally Posted by SoulsCollective View Post
    Have paged through the manual and done a quick search, but my Google-fu is failing me - can't find anything on voltage read points for the X99 Deluxe (if any). It could be that CPU-Z is simply getting confused (can happen with new gen) and software readings are either wrong or being misinterpreted; ideally you'd check with a DMM but with no obvious read points I'm not sure how to go about doing that.
    That's the direction I was going originally. I did a quick search for voltage read points as well and didn't find anything, might be a feature reserved for the Rampage V Extreme.

  8. #8
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,796
    I had X99 DLX in hands only for short time. I tried light OC via BIOS. I had no time for OCCT or AVX LINX, so I tried only Cinebench and CPUZ voltage was similar as in BIOS (+-0.05V)
    ROG Power PCs - Intel and AMD
    CPUs:i9-7900X, i9-9900K, i7-6950X, i7-5960X, i7-8086K, i7-8700K, 4x i7-7700K, i3-7350K, 2x i7-6700K, i5-6600K, R7-2700X, 4x R5 2600X, R5 2400G, R3 1200, R7-1800X, R7-1700X, 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, A10-7870K, Athlon 845, Athlon 860K,AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930KAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread Intel Cinebench R15 thread

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    192
    Quote Originally Posted by FlanK3r View Post
    I had X99 DLX in hands only for short time. I tried light OC via BIOS. I had no time for OCCT or AVX LINX, so I tried only Cinebench and CPUZ voltage was similar as in BIOS (+-0.05V)
    I assume you measured with CPUZ? Do you remember disabling LLC and checking the voltage switch on the mobo? I still haven't done those yet, need a bit more time this morning and was just curious if you recall.

  10. #10
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,796
    no, I had borrowed board for short time (30 minutes maybe ?), so I set only manual voltage in BIOS, LLC at auto and in benchmark I watched CPUZ.
    ROG Power PCs - Intel and AMD
    CPUs:i9-7900X, i9-9900K, i7-6950X, i7-5960X, i7-8086K, i7-8700K, 4x i7-7700K, i3-7350K, 2x i7-6700K, i5-6600K, R7-2700X, 4x R5 2600X, R5 2400G, R3 1200, R7-1800X, R7-1700X, 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, A10-7870K, Athlon 845, Athlon 860K,AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930KAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread Intel Cinebench R15 thread

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    192
    Quote Originally Posted by FlanK3r View Post
    no, I had borrowed board for short time (30 minutes maybe ?), so I set only manual voltage in BIOS, LLC at auto and in benchmark I watched CPUZ.
    That doesn't sound any different than what I've done which concerns me a bit. I'll double check things here before too long. Hopefully I just missed something.

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    192
    Looks like LLC needs to be taken off Auto to work "properly", at least in my case. Setting to Level 9 and manually setting voltage in the BIOS yields a rock steady voltage reading in CPUZ at almost exactly what I set (1.33V->1.328V). Thanks for the tips, guys.

  13. #13
    L-l-look at you, hacker.
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    4,643
    Quote Originally Posted by techguy2k5 View Post
    Looks like LLC needs to be taken off Auto to work "properly", at least in my case. Setting to Level 9 and manually setting voltage in the BIOS yields a rock steady voltage reading in CPUZ at almost exactly what I set (1.33V->1.328V). Thanks for the tips, guys.
    Interesting. Presuming accurate reporting, a 1.3V vs 1.5V core voltage should produce significantly different behaviour. Have you noticed any commensurate changes to temps or stability since changing LLC from auto? I'm wondering whether this has actually 'done' anything or has just resulted in CPU-Z giving a more accurate read.
    Rig specs
    CPU: i7 5960X Mobo: Asus X99 Deluxe RAM: 4x4GB G.Skill DDR4-2400 CAS-15 VGA: 2x eVGA GTX680 Superclock PSU: Corsair AX1200

    Foundational Falsehoods of Creationism



  14. #14
    Xtreme Owner Charles Wirth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    12,324
    Just a few notes.

    On the R5E you can enable and disable specific cores and this is working, you can now find the best core easier or disable a problem core if you were lets say, shooting for max frequency. Other manufacturers do not have this feature.

    In Windows, with all cores enabled the turbo functions as we normally see it on other chips, setting performance mode in power options (control panel) locks cores to max speed as intended. I mention this because it failed on a different MFG board.

    Same setup, all cores enabled, if you adjust each core speed differently with XTU, all cores default core 0 speed regardless of other cores set speed. I emailed Intel on this and got a reply

    "There is a feature broken since Ivy Bridge that I would like to see fixed. That is the turbo multiples and the way they work.

    Example: in XTU you can set core speeds 0/1 4400 and 2/3 at 4200, meaning the first two cores are set to 4.4Ghz and the last two cores are set to 4.2Ghz, I hope this make sense. You would think that two cores could lock down to 4.4Ghz but they don't, they run at the lower speed set. This holds true if you try with mobiles, Sandy, Ivy and Haswell. AMD got this right and you can lock the cores at x speed.

    Where this helps me and I wish this worked. I want to leave 3 cores down at low Mhz and force core 0 to max Mhz. I then lock affinity down for my benchmark to that one core. This does not work on Intel.

    Thanks
    Charles"

    "From engineering:

    Thanks for sharing, we?ve discussed similar ideas. Currently the Turbo OC Architecture does not support this. Maybe someday, but no plans currently."

    Memory overclocking is working as intended and the R5E gets the most out of DDR4 so far, I say this because my other board has issues that I am sure will be fixed with BIOS updates.

    My vcore is very stable, I have not seen the problem experienced on Deluxe.
    Intel 9990XE @ 5.1Ghz
    ASUS Rampage VI Extreme Omega
    GTX 2080 ti Galax Hall of Fame
    64GB Galax Hall of Fame
    Intel Optane
    Platimax 1245W

    Intel 3175X
    Asus Dominus Extreme
    GRX 1080ti Galax Hall of Fame
    96GB Patriot Steel
    Intel Optane 900P RAID

  15. #15
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2,745
    Thx Charles.
    ASUS North America Technical Marketing - If you are based outside North America and require technical assistance or have a query please contact ASUS Support for your region.


    Rampage IV Extreme tweaking guide

    ASUS Z77 UEFI Tuning Guide for overclocking

    Maximus 5 Gene OC Guide

    Maximus VI Series UEFI OC Guide

  16. #16
    Great guide Raja! i always read your guide, and always helps!

    Thanks

  17. #17
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,796
    What nice I saw in London...
    I think, I need luck for something similar. Next 14 days Im preparing my hand for good choice in shop

    ROG Power PCs - Intel and AMD
    CPUs:i9-7900X, i9-9900K, i7-6950X, i7-5960X, i7-8086K, i7-8700K, 4x i7-7700K, i3-7350K, 2x i7-6700K, i5-6600K, R7-2700X, 4x R5 2600X, R5 2400G, R3 1200, R7-1800X, R7-1700X, 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, A10-7870K, Athlon 845, Athlon 860K,AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930KAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread Intel Cinebench R15 thread

  18. #18
    Xtreme Memory Hoarder
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2,601
    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    This thread is for posting and sharing tips, tricks and results relating to ASUS X99 motherboards.

    5960X OC tips PDF:

    https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bz2...it?usp=sharing


    More to follow soon. Yours truly is in the middle of an oversees trip and will be back in action full-time from 9/1

    -Raja

    Thanks Raja great read!
    Quote Originally Posted by Hondacity View Post
    gskillllin it!

  19. #19
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    200
    ^^^ +1
    Thanks

  20. #20
    Xtreme Memory Hoarder
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2,601
    Thanks, Asus this board is a true work of art









    Will pick up a 5820K as that's all that's available at local brick and mortar and ram should show up the next few days. Looking forward to firing this up
    Quote Originally Posted by Hondacity View Post
    gskillllin it!

  21. #21
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    363
    Wow looks very nice man,looking forward to results,will have to give X99 play myself later looks like a exciting platform
    Last edited by bullant; 09-04-2014 at 02:28 AM.

  22. #22
    3D Team Captain
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,135
    I'm looking forward to seeing your DDR4 results, George!

    Quote Originally Posted by chew* View Post
    You can never have enough D9's.

  23. #23
    XIP
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    5,580
    Great thread Raja

    What a beauty. Thanks Asus

    It will be fun

    4X4 and 4X8 clocking next..



    Last edited by Dumo; 09-08-2014 at 11:10 PM.

  24. #24
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    80
    Cheers from Thailand

    I just got myself these...

    I have no idea how to OC right now. I just jumped off from my previous i7 920 hours ago as the mobo was dying. This is my very first UEFI mainboard. And I'm sticking to this thread waiting for all the info.





    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Dark-Master; 09-04-2014 at 12:50 PM.

  25. #25
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    3,000
    How controlled are the voltage transients above set VCore during load fluctuations when LLC is enabled to give little/no droop under load? I don't mean by looking at CPUZ, I mean true assessment with a high polling rate DMM or scope. Old boards would spike well over set vcore during load fluctuations (heavy to light load specifically) - Raja can you comment on the X99 VRM in this regard?
    Ci7 990X::Rampage III Extreme::12GB Corsair Dominator 1866C7GT::2 x EVGA SC Titans in SLI::Corsair AX1200::TJ07::Watercooled
    Ci7 920 3849B018::Rampage II Extreme::6GB GSKILL Trident 2000C9 BBSE::EVGA GTX580::Antec Signature SG850::TJ09::Aircooled w/TRUE 120X

Page 1 of 9 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •