Thread: Pressure building up in loop

Pressure building up in loop

Hey everyone. I'm on my 4th build with full liquid, but it's been my first time using hard piping (Monsoon Hardline). I've noticed overnight that the pressure in my loop is building up, which of course causes the weakest link to leak once it gets too high. I've never needed a pressure relief valve of any sort before, as the pressure has never exceed head pressure of the pumps. I rotated the case, both with pumps on and off, on filling, and couldn't see any entrapped air. I'm using Ice Dragon with Mayhems UV Green dye (could it possibly be a reaction between the hardline and that mix? doubting that, but I've never used that combo before so I'm not too sure).

I'm running a single series loop with blocks on everything, HAF X case, top mount radiator, dual 655 pumps in a dual 5.25" drive bay reservoir. I had the pumps at max speed (5) and had the issue, so i dropped them both down to 3, same issue.

My initial thoughts were entrapped air in the radiator compressing and causing the pressure but, as I said, I couldn't get any more air out of there so I'm not sure.

Also, to be clear, when I open up the reservoir, I'm not just getting a "puff" of air, it vacates the air, and then starts pushing out fluid as well (whether the machine is on or off). So, I know that it's not just pumps pushing fluid out, since it happens when the machine is off (once the pressure has built up overnight).

Anyone got any ideas?

Crunching For The Points! NKrader's Avatar
    this is really weird, it shouldnt be able to push more than it pulls, its a loop. are you topping if off when its running and pressurized then turning it off and then it spews out?

not the coolant or the color causing this. dual d5 will have ALOT of pressure.

just let the loop push out what it wants too and dont top it off again higher than that? fixed?
    Last edited by NKrader; 07-28-2014 at 08:56 AM.

Xtreme Addict