MMM
    X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Results 1 to 24 of 24

Thread: Haswell fighter arrived - Ivy Bridge Costa Rica does 4Ghz at only 1.048 volts........

  1. #1
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Where You don't get nothin' for $
    Posts
    1,001

    Cool Haswell fighter arrived - Ivy Bridge Costa Rica does 4Ghz at only 0.984 volts........

    Hi folks,

    God of overclockers was with me when I was purchasing this stuff:



    8GB G.Skill TridentX RAM at 1.66 Vdimm. All out of the box, done on a 60EUR board..............

    More to come soon.


    EDIT: See post 12
    Last edited by camouflage; 07-14-2014 at 08:06 AM. Reason: New chip -----------> see post 12
    If nothing works nomore......:


  2. #2
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Where You don't get nothin' for $
    Posts
    1,001
    Here we go - 4.5Ghz at 1.232 volts:



    All on air.............
    If nothing works nomore......:


  3. #3
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    268
    nothing so special. did you tried @4.8 or 5.0Ghz yet? love to see chip response vs vcore at full load @ 5.0Ghz.
    [FSB<>BCLK]
    3930k@4.3Ghz 1.30v/4.5Ghz 1.35v full load 24/7 Lapped~gtx 1070Ti
    R4G Modded Bios 4901~Corsair 110GT+Ven-Pro 2.4Ghz 2x8Gb@2.4Ghz 1.65v C11~850Evo+970Evo 500gb~Win8.1X64~AX1200i

    SORRY FOR MY BAD ENGLISH

  4. #4
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Where You don't get nothin' for $
    Posts
    1,001
    Not really special, but low voltage. Here's 4.7Ghz at 1.336 volts:



    Need more cold for higher clocks.
    If nothing works nomore......:


  5. #5
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    544
    Sorry to disappoint you, but really good IB does 5GHz 32M with 1.3V or lower.
    Last edited by I.nfraR.ed; 06-02-2014 at 03:18 PM.
    X6 1090T (1010MPMW) @ 4267MHz 1.44V NB@3229MHz 1.33V | Asus Crosshair IV Formula | 2x2GB Corsair Dominator GTX2 @ 1845MHz 6-6-5-17-22 1T | Asus HD4890 @ 1050/4800 | Corsair HX850W | HAF 932
    EK Supreme HF | EK-FC4890LT | MCP655 + Koolance D5 Top | ThermoChill PA120.3 + 3x Enermax Magma | XSPC Bay res | Masterkleer 1/2" UV Red

  6. #6
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    IND
    Posts
    1,056
    nice share

    Last edited by Gaul; 06-02-2014 at 08:38 PM.

  7. #7
    Xtreme Enthusiast Gunslinger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Decatur, AL
    Posts
    939
    Quote Originally Posted by I.nfraR.ed View Post
    Sorry to disappoint you, but really good IB does 5GHz 32M with 1.3V or lower.
    Golden chips do it with 1.2V or less.
    Quote Originally Posted by chuchnit View Post
    Why do you always have to bring two sockets into everything?
    Quote Originally Posted by Movieman View Post
    Because a one socket system is only 1/2 a system..
    You got two balls don't you?
    I rest my case!


    http://www.usdebtclock.org/

  8. #8
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    544
    Quote Originally Posted by Gunslinger View Post
    Golden chips do it with 1.2V or less.
    Yep. Mine does it with 1.26V and it's not golden
    X6 1090T (1010MPMW) @ 4267MHz 1.44V NB@3229MHz 1.33V | Asus Crosshair IV Formula | 2x2GB Corsair Dominator GTX2 @ 1845MHz 6-6-5-17-22 1T | Asus HD4890 @ 1050/4800 | Corsair HX850W | HAF 932
    EK Supreme HF | EK-FC4890LT | MCP655 + Koolance D5 Top | ThermoChill PA120.3 + 3x Enermax Magma | XSPC Bay res | Masterkleer 1/2" UV Red

  9. #9
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Where You don't get nothin' for $
    Posts
    1,001
    So this is only avarage chip here.

    Changed board to AsRock Z77 Extreme4 and cooling to Corsair H60.

    RAM needs 1.68 volts on this board for 1300MHz at stock timings.

    Multi 49 ia a NOGO. Maybe some finetuning on the BCKL possible.



    If nothing works nomore......:


  10. #10
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Where You don't get nothin' for $
    Posts
    1,001
    Here's VID & Vcore @ stock speed - no winner chip but on the other hand not a bad one.............:



    Here're the temps, using CORSAIR H60 Liquidcooler - chip is not delidded, crappy INTEL TC onboard



    Vcore 1.36 volts - roomtemp 19?C.

    ----------> regarded to Z77.............
    Last edited by camouflage; 06-24-2014 at 03:06 PM.
    If nothing works nomore......:


  11. #11
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Where You don't get nothin' for $
    Posts
    1,001
    Some undervoltig action - IMC doing 1200MHz even at very low voltage level:



    If nothing works nomore......:


  12. #12
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Where You don't get nothin' for $
    Posts
    1,001
    OK - new actor in da house.

    Again Costa Rica.

    VID @ 3.4Ghz 1.070v.

    L@@ks like 0.984 vCore @ 4GHz:





    Promising chip - delidded with liquid metal on die. Maby 5GHz? Time will tell.............................
    If nothing works nomore......:


  13. #13
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Where You don't get nothin' for $
    Posts
    1,001
    4.5GHz @ 1.144v:



    If nothing works nomore......:


  14. #14
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Where You don't get nothin' for $
    Posts
    1,001
    4.8GHz @ 1.280v:



    AIDA write very close to 40k...............
    If nothing works nomore......:


  15. #15
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Where You don't get nothin' for $
    Posts
    1,001
    4.9GHz @ 1.336v:



    Will try some 32M later.

    No boot at 5GHz so far ..............
    If nothing works nomore......:


  16. #16
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Where You don't get nothin' for $
    Posts
    1,001
    Finally it is a 5Ghz chip - @ 1.400v:



    After another bump of voltage it works. Nice chip, all results with DDR3-2600 and Corsair H60 cooler.
    Last edited by camouflage; 06-29-2014 at 09:58 PM.
    If nothing works nomore......:


  17. #17
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Where You don't get nothin' for $
    Posts
    1,001
    It is possible to lower Vcore down to 1.392 @ 5Ghz:



    Temps during 32M never went above 50?C.............
    If nothing works nomore......:


  18. #18
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Athens -> Hellas
    Posts
    944
    With the H60 In a bucket of ice ?

  19. #19
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Where You don't get nothin' for $
    Posts
    1,001
    Quote Originally Posted by felix_w View Post
    With the H60 In a bucket of ice ?
    Haha - no, chip is delidded, TC replaced by liquid metal. IHS on the die but not sealed again.

    H60 sandwich mounted, 2x 120mm fans.

    Using MX4 on the IHS, the H60 cooler is made of copper so it could get damaged by contact with liquid metal by the time.

    L@@king this way:





    Last edited by camouflage; 07-02-2014 at 01:01 AM.
    If nothing works nomore......:


  20. #20
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Athens -> Hellas
    Posts
    944
    Really nice result!!!!

    BTW, i see what you did there, the led's of the G.Skill ram cooler are normally blue....

  21. #21
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Where You don't get nothin' for $
    Posts
    1,001
    Quote Originally Posted by felix_w View Post
    Really nice result!!!!

    BTW, i see what you did there, the led's of the G.Skill ram cooler are normally blue....
    No - I changed nothing. Maybe G.Skill changed the LED colour................

    The chip was a lucky punch - bought it for less bucks from a "gamer" on EBAY.

    Only information I had was the VID @ 3.6GHz - he ran the CPU on P67............
    If nothing works nomore......:


  22. #22
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    86
    I am running 4.5ghz 3570K at 1.22-1.23. I noticed too many blue screens while playing BF4. I cranked up the party to 1.25-1.26v according to CPU-Z readings. My Asus board overvolts slightly if CPU-Z is accurate. I didn't go with Haswell because it was new and the OC's I was seeing were not hitting 4.5ghz last year easily. 4.5ghz seems to be the sweet spot of the 3570K. I have been watching the devil canyon OC which is two generations newer and than ivy and the scaling is the same. Whenever I go above 4.5ghz, I take significantly more voltage. I have been rock solid at 1.264v with no blue screens. 1.23-1.24 has been running sell since Sept 2013.

    I always like to point out stable OC's vs. bootable and provable setups. I am only on 120mm Air cooling, not the exotic liquid cooling some of you have.
    i5-3570K 4.6Ghz Xigmatek Gaia Cooler
    Asus P8z77-V LK
    Toshiba 120GB SSD
    Samsung Spinpoint F3's 1TBx2 RAID 0
    Gskill Sniper 8GBx2 1866
    Sapphire HD 7950

  23. #23
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Where You don't get nothin' for $
    Posts
    1,001
    Quote Originally Posted by Hans Gruber View Post
    I am running 4.5ghz 3570K at 1.22-1.23. I noticed too many blue screens while playing BF4. I cranked up the party to 1.25-1.26v according to CPU-Z readings. My Asus board overvolts slightly if CPU-Z is accurate. I didn't go with Haswell because it was new and the OC's I was seeing were not hitting 4.5ghz last year easily. 4.5ghz seems to be the sweet spot of the 3570K. I have been watching the devil canyon OC which is two generations newer and than ivy and the scaling is the same. Whenever I go above 4.5ghz, I take significantly more voltage. I have been rock solid at 1.264v with no blue screens. 1.23-1.24 has been running sell since Sept 2013.

    I always like to point out stable OC's vs. bootable and provable setups. I am only on 120mm Air cooling, not the exotic liquid cooling some of you have.
    4.8GHz IVY is like ~4.6 HASWELL. But in the end yet I also decided to go with Z77 - 5GHz IVY was much easier to find and silicon lotto is an expensive hobby.......

    BTW - need a new mobo, AR Xtreme4 is limited at DDR3-2600. At that speed my 2400 G.Skills are running with stock volts - it's time now to squeze the sticks a bit.
    If nothing works nomore......:


  24. #24
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    IND
    Posts
    1,056
    perhaps we got same batch
    ~NO DELID~


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •