Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: SLI 16x/8x instead of 16x/16x

  1. #1
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    1,228

    SLI 16x/8x instead of 16x/16x

    Motherboard model: ASUS Rampage IV Extreme

    UEFI Version: 4804

    CPU: Intel 3930K

    Memory kit part number (s) and amount in GB: G.SKILL Trident X Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3
    SDRAM DDR3 2400 (PC3 19200) Desktop Memory Model F3-2400C10Q-16GTX

    GPU: eVGA GTX670 FTW SLI

    SSD/HDDs/Optical drives: Crucial M4 x 2 in raid0 UEFI windows 8 install

    PSU: Antec TPQ 1200

    USB Devices (model/version number): Steelseries sensai raw mouse, Steelseries keyboard

    Monitor: dell

    CPU Cooler: antec kuehler

    PC CASE: bench table

    Operating system: Microsoft Activated yes/no? Windows 8.1 Update 1 YES

    System Overclocked (provide details)? No

    Issue

    I have a Rampage IV and I just noticed my setup is running 16/8 instead of 16/16. I know it was running correctly before but I have upgraded my bios since then, I am thinking this is when it changed? But I am not sure to be honest. BIOS reports 16/8 as does GPUZ w/fullscreen. Cards are in the proper slots for 16/16 I do have my sound card in x1 slot. Can this be bridge related? BIOS is also set for GEN3 but I also tried GEN2 and same result. Running most current bios from asus.com 4804. I have a soundcard installed in PCIE 1x slot, that should not cause this correct?

    i9-10900k@5.3ghz//MSI MEG z490 Unify//32GB Gskill TridentZ b.die@DDR4666//RTX 2080ti(+150/+700) kingpin bios//Samsung 970 Pro//Corsair AX1200i
    Custom Loop: Dual DDCs->Dual EK XE360 w/GT's -> HK IV CPU -> HK IV GPU ->EK X3 Res controlled by Aquaero 6

  2. #2
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    150
    I'd recommend unplugging the Sound Card and just rule out what occurs when that is removed. I have the same motherboard but only two GPU's and I get x16 on both. I checked the manual and it isn't really clear what happens if you utilise the grey PCIe slots. I think they run from the chipset and not from the CPU whilst the red ones run from the CPU PCIe controller so I'd not expect the sound card to affect the x16 availability but test it anyway and check as the manual isn't clear.

  3. #3
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Fullerton, California
    Posts
    848
    From Asus: "For PCIe 3.0 x16 (X8 mode), PCIEx8_2B(Grey) shares bandwidth with PCIEx8_2A(Red)."

  4. #4
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    1,228
    Quote Originally Posted by urbanfox View Post
    From Asus: "For PCIe 3.0 x16 (X8 mode), PCIEx8_2B(Grey) shares bandwidth with PCIEx8_2A(Red)."
    I dont really understand what that means to be honest, are you saying I should move the sound card?
    i9-10900k@5.3ghz//MSI MEG z490 Unify//32GB Gskill TridentZ b.die@DDR4666//RTX 2080ti(+150/+700) kingpin bios//Samsung 970 Pro//Corsair AX1200i
    Custom Loop: Dual DDCs->Dual EK XE360 w/GT's -> HK IV CPU -> HK IV GPU ->EK X3 Res controlled by Aquaero 6

  5. #5
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    1,228
    Here is a paint diagram, whats weird is *IF* it is the soundcard im wondering why i had 16x/16x before.

    Yellow is where I have my GPUS
    Blue is the soundcard
    i9-10900k@5.3ghz//MSI MEG z490 Unify//32GB Gskill TridentZ b.die@DDR4666//RTX 2080ti(+150/+700) kingpin bios//Samsung 970 Pro//Corsair AX1200i
    Custom Loop: Dual DDCs->Dual EK XE360 w/GT's -> HK IV CPU -> HK IV GPU ->EK X3 Res controlled by Aquaero 6

  6. #6
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    1,228
    unplugging the sound card resulted in the same, 8x in bios and in windows/gpuz. RMA time?
    i9-10900k@5.3ghz//MSI MEG z490 Unify//32GB Gskill TridentZ b.die@DDR4666//RTX 2080ti(+150/+700) kingpin bios//Samsung 970 Pro//Corsair AX1200i
    Custom Loop: Dual DDCs->Dual EK XE360 w/GT's -> HK IV CPU -> HK IV GPU ->EK X3 Res controlled by Aquaero 6

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    202
    I've seen these new BIOS do funny things like get stuck on certain settings when they get corrupted...

    The solution is to clear the BIOS physically with the jumper on the motherboard.

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •