MMM
    X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: FX-9590 & Crosshair V Formula-Z issues, random hanging and black screen.

  1. #1
    Ω
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    788

    FX-9590 & Crosshair V Formula-Z issues, random hanging and black screen.

    I just finishing upgrading my PC last night and re-installing Windows. I noticed while I was using the PC installing drivers and such that the system would randomly hang and the screen would go dead.

    My system is not currently overclocked and all bios settings are at factory minus the LAN and Onboard Sound being disabled.

    I have the 8-Pin CPU power cable and 4-Pin molex connected. I see there is an additional 4-Pin CPU power connector, but is this required? Could that be the the source of issues?


    My Hardware consists of:

    FX-9590
    Crosshair V Formula-Z
    16GB AMD Radeon DDR3-2133 Memory
    (2) MSI R7970 Lightning
    Sound Blaster Recon3D

    Corsair AX1200 Power Supply
    CaseLabs M8 w/ extended top

    128GB Samsung 840 SSD
    (2) 3TB Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM HDD
    4TB HGST Desktar 7200 RPM HDD
    LG Blu-Ray DVD-RW

    Custom Water Cooling - Dual Loops - Dedicated CPU and GPU loops
    Laing DDC 3.25 12V pumps with Koolance Heatsink Kit for each loop.
    All Radiators fitted with Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1450 RPM Fans
    CPU Loop - EK Coolstream RAD XT 360 / EK Supremacy water block / EK CH-V-F-Z Motherboard block / EK 150 Reservoir
    GPU Loop - (2) EK Coolstream RAD XT 360 / Heatkiller 79XX waterblocks / EK 150 Reservoir
    Ω Raven Build Blog

    "The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants." - Thomas Jefferson
    " Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges" - In times of war, the law falls silent.

  2. #2
    I would make sure that all CPU power connectors are powered as the FX-9590 requires 220w of power. If you didn't clear the CMOS before the upgrade, you might need to do this and then check the BIOS settings to make sure the RAM timings, etc. are correct or manually enter them. If problems continue I'd run Memtest86+ V4.2 or V5 overnight to check for RAM issues.

    Keep an eye on the CPU "core temp" as these CPUs can run hot if everything in the cooling system is not perfect. 61C core temp is believed to be the max operating temp for the FX-9000 series but AMD has yet to post this online.

  3. #3
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    657
    NOTE: The last four or 5 bios releases on this board are flakey with fast memory. For my board I had to drop to 1866 with the newer bios. (With bios 1503 I can do 2133 with no problems.)


    BTW: I also originally only had the 8 pin attached and not the four pin. At that time it wouldn't power on with a new 290x card (single card) unless I had the molex connector. That had me paniced until I figured that out.

    Later on I added a new power supply cable for the four pin. At that point it will work without the molex. So having both the 8 pin and 4 pin connectors did something.
    (Although I also re-attached the molex just to be safe even though I don't crossfire.)
    FX-8350, Powercolor ATI R9 290X LCS, OCZ Vertex 4, Crosshair V Forumula-Z, AMD Radeon DDR3-2133 2x8Gb, Corsair HX1000W, Thermaltake Xaser VI, Xonar D2X, Water Cooling 140.3

  4. #4
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    Posts
    585
    AFAIK, the top CPU 4pin is what you need to have plugged in and the 4pin molex is optional to provide the PCI-Express more power for higher end VGAs. Flanker has worked with this platform a lot so hopefully he'll stop in and verify.
    Heatware
    filmbot

  5. #5
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    657
    Quote Originally Posted by filmbot View Post
    AFAIK, the top CPU 4pin is what you need to have plugged in and the 4pin molex is optional to provide the PCI-Express more power for higher end VGAs. Flanker has worked with this platform a lot so hopefully he'll stop in and verify.
    This motherboard has a both a CPU 8pin AND a CPU 4pin. (In addition to the 4pin molex.)
    FX-8350, Powercolor ATI R9 290X LCS, OCZ Vertex 4, Crosshair V Forumula-Z, AMD Radeon DDR3-2133 2x8Gb, Corsair HX1000W, Thermaltake Xaser VI, Xonar D2X, Water Cooling 140.3

  6. #6
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,918
    Do you have a card on air to try? Also when overclocking this board I only used the 8 pin so that should be enough unless your psu is not upto task
    Amd Nvidia/Ati -3dmark06 scorebord revisted

    asus L1N64-ws or /b depending on bios chip
    4x1gig 8500 gkill bpk
    2x opteron 8224 @ 3.8ghz
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...&postcount=236
    vga= 8800gt
    winxp pro

    custom chiller -31 water
    2x dtek fuzions
    bix3-with x3panaflo hi output
    antec 850 quattro

    heat under msimax abitmax and dfimax

  7. #7
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,918
    and I will also start pulling everything out the system and started out with bare minimum components then check one by one at time to see which one is causing the problem
    Amd Nvidia/Ati -3dmark06 scorebord revisted

    asus L1N64-ws or /b depending on bios chip
    4x1gig 8500 gkill bpk
    2x opteron 8224 @ 3.8ghz
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...&postcount=236
    vga= 8800gt
    winxp pro

    custom chiller -31 water
    2x dtek fuzions
    bix3-with x3panaflo hi output
    antec 850 quattro

    heat under msimax abitmax and dfimax

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    178
    [QUOTE=keithlm;5231054]NOTE: The last four or 5 bios releases on this board are flakey with fast memory. For my board I had to drop to 1866 with the newer bios. (With bios 1503 I can do 2133 with no problems.)


    [QUOTE]

    I did a little bit of testing around that and there is something off, have a look
    http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...postcount=2388
    http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...postcount=2389
    HTPC : Ryzen, NH D-15, ASUS Crosshir VI Hero
    , 2x8 Team 3000, Asus GTX 980 Strix, Win10 Pro

    http://hwbot.org/user/johan45

  9. #9
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    Posts
    585
    Quote Originally Posted by keithlm View Post
    This motherboard has a both a CPU 8pin AND a CPU 4pin. (In addition to the 4pin molex.)
    I know, guess my statement was just with that implied. I always plug anything in that is meant for the CPU, better safe then sorry. If that doesn't fix the issue, I'd do as msimax says and start from barebones.
    Heatware
    filmbot

  10. #10
    Ω
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    788
    I'd like to thank everyone for the suggestions but I figured out what the issue was the other night.

    Apparently after I had seated the processor and screwed down my EK Supremacy water block it didn't like how it was seated. I re-seated the processor and amazingly enough that fixed the issue.

    As for the additional EATX12V, as per a few people it is recommended to plug that in as well because it will reduce chances of the 4+4 8 pin EATX12V_1 from warping due to heat and/or melting due to the large amount of current coming through that channel when overclocking the FX-9590.
    Ω Raven Build Blog

    "The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants." - Thomas Jefferson
    " Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges" - In times of war, the law falls silent.

  11. #11
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North America, USA, TX
    Posts
    723
    Quote Originally Posted by keithlm View Post
    NOTE: The last four or 5 bios releases on this board are flakey with fast memory. For my board I had to drop to 1866 with the newer bios. (With bios 1503 I can do 2133 with no problems.)


    BTW: I also originally only had the 8 pin attached and not the four pin. At that time it wouldn't power on with a new 290x card (single card) unless I had the molex connector. That had me paniced until I figured that out.

    Later on I added a new power supply cable for the four pin. At that point it will work without the molex. So having both the 8 pin and 4 pin connectors did something.
    (Although I also re-attached the molex just to be safe even though I don't crossfire.)

    Can you downgrade the BIOS to 1503?
    Old Standby:
    DFI LANPARTY nF4 Ultra-D (R.AD0) 623-3 BIOS
    AMD Athlon 64 3800+ X2 (CCBWE 0529SPMW)
    THERMALRIGHT XP-90 w/Panaflo FBA09A12H-1AZ 90mm (56.8cfm) - AS Ceramique
    MSI NX6600GT-TD128E GF 6600 GT PCI-E
    WD Raptor 74G Boot, WD 1200JB IDE
    NEC ND-3520AW Black
    OCZ OCZ600ADJ ATX 600W
    ALPS Black 1.44MB 3.5" Internal Floppy Drive Model DF354H121F
    Lian Li PC-60USB B2 Silver Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
    Win XP Pro (32-bit) SP2

  12. #12
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    657
    Quote Originally Posted by sauria View Post
    Can you downgrade the BIOS to 1503?
    I probably will very soon... I can't get the new bios 2002 to be stable at 2133 10-11-11-32
    (That's what I've been running this ram at for months... so I know it is stable. It keeps either locking up or just losing the keyboard/mouse. Which to me is the same thing)

    (You have to do the flashback/usb method to go back to 1503 from the last 2 or 3 newer bios.)

    BUT for now... I'm still messing around with it.
    FX-8350, Powercolor ATI R9 290X LCS, OCZ Vertex 4, Crosshair V Forumula-Z, AMD Radeon DDR3-2133 2x8Gb, Corsair HX1000W, Thermaltake Xaser VI, Xonar D2X, Water Cooling 140.3

  13. #13
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    657
    BTW: Got tired of random hangs and/or USB locks. Have now reverted to 1503 and everything is back to my optimal settings.
    FX-8350, Powercolor ATI R9 290X LCS, OCZ Vertex 4, Crosshair V Forumula-Z, AMD Radeon DDR3-2133 2x8Gb, Corsair HX1000W, Thermaltake Xaser VI, Xonar D2X, Water Cooling 140.3

  14. #14
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North America, USA, TX
    Posts
    723
    Quote Originally Posted by keithlm View Post
    BTW: Got tired of random hangs and/or USB locks. Have now reverted to 1503 and everything is back to my optimal settings.
    Thank you! Good news.
    Old Standby:
    DFI LANPARTY nF4 Ultra-D (R.AD0) 623-3 BIOS
    AMD Athlon 64 3800+ X2 (CCBWE 0529SPMW)
    THERMALRIGHT XP-90 w/Panaflo FBA09A12H-1AZ 90mm (56.8cfm) - AS Ceramique
    MSI NX6600GT-TD128E GF 6600 GT PCI-E
    WD Raptor 74G Boot, WD 1200JB IDE
    NEC ND-3520AW Black
    OCZ OCZ600ADJ ATX 600W
    ALPS Black 1.44MB 3.5" Internal Floppy Drive Model DF354H121F
    Lian Li PC-60USB B2 Silver Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
    Win XP Pro (32-bit) SP2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •