Thread: GIGABYTE Acrylic project by Spazloy

Xtreme Member

GIGABYTE Acrylic project by Spazloy

GIGABYTE Acrylic Project

Welcome to my new project

I recently won a competition on facebook with Gigabyte and then sent me one of their custom showcases (apparently theres only a few of these around, and none are for sale)

I have a liquid cooled rig now, but its not really up to scratch and the components only cool the CPU. So I am going to use this project to learn more about liquid cooling mods, learn more about PCs, and just have a good time.

Unfortunately I'm still a student and have only 2 months left before I have to enter the real world and find a job. So if the project doesn't progress for a while, don't be alarmed, I've just ran out of money and I'm waiting for my first paycheck. It may go a little faster as I will be trying to enlist a few sponsors to get the project moving.

Gigabyte will be following this build intently as this case is a bit of their pride and joy so I will be sending them snaps and a link to this page, I hope they realise that I'm about to drill lots of big holes in it

Before you look at the spec list, you need to know a bit about my degree. I am a game designer which means I use really memory heavy programs (thats why I have 16bg of ram) and I live in the UK and study 400 miles from home, so education is not cheap which means my computer was built on a budget. The parts will hopefully change over the course of the project as I would prefer to use a gigabyte motherboard and GPUs, and a more current PileDriver 9320, but it will take time to acquire these parts.

If anyone wants a look at what I do: http://lawrenceselly.wix.com/sellydesign

Specs:
    Brain: AMD FX 8120 CPU
    Heart: Corsair HX720
    Bones: Biostar 990fx AM3+
    Eyes: AMD Sapphire Radeon 7850 2GB
    Skin: GIGABYTE Acrylic show case
    Lungs: Phobya G-Silent Slim Edition
    Nerves: MDPC-X Black... obviously
    Long Term Memory: WD Blue 750gb