View Poll Results: Which TV would you choose?

Voters
5. You may not vote on this poll
  • 60" LG Plasma

    2 40.00%
  • 50" TCL 4K 120hz refresh

    1 20.00%
  • Just wait awhile

    2 40.00%
Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Buying a new TV, which would you choose?

  1. #1
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    State of Confusion, USA
    Posts
    2,513

    Buying a new TV, which would you choose?

    Preface (I'll try to keep this short):
    My current TV is a 52" Samsung LCD (~6yrs old w/CFL backlight). I bought a house last year and coming from an apartment, the screen seems a little small in the new place...
    The Sammy actually has a beautiful picture, but I've decided it's time to upgrade.

    I'm trying to keep the price <$1000. I found this 60" LG Plasma for $700:
    http://www.microcenter.com/product/4...art_Plasma_TV#

    MicroCenter has great prices on TV's so while shopping online I found this for $900:
    http://www.microcenter.com/product/4...50_4K_LED_HDTV
    Granted, it won't solve the size problem, but it's not a gimped 30hz refresh panel, and the nerd in me loves the idea of 4K!

    I do have a few concerns about this 4K TV though...
    1) Not sure how my Emotiva UMC-1 would handle the signal
    2) It's an off brand, so quality and performance are questionable
    3) There aren't really any 4K sources right now. I'd assume it up converts, but I didn't see anything in the specs stating that it does.

    Of course I'll make this decision myself, just looking for opinions...
    AMD FX-8350 (1237 PGN) | Asus Crosshair V Formula (bios 1703) | G.Skill 2133 CL9 @ 2230 9-11-10 | Sapphire HD 6870 | Samsung 830 128Gb SSD / 2 WD 1Tb Black SATA3 storage | Corsair TX750 PSU
    Watercooled ST 120.3 & TC 120.1 / MCP35X XSPC Top / Apogee HD Block | WIN7 64 Bit HP | Corsair 800D Obsidian Case








    First Computer: Commodore Vic 20 (circa 1981).

  2. #2
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    1000 Elysian Park Ave
    Posts
    2,666
    I would try to land a 60'' Plasma even if it was LG, I would really push to get one of the last Panasonic Plasma ever made, 65'' is the biggest IIRC.............but that could be getting close to the price of a projector

    If i was buying a house I'd have a dedicated theater room that would hopefully some day get a PJ

    *But of course if this is a brightly lit area than LCD is better
    **Then get a 39'' 4K for PC gaming.
    Last edited by Kingcarcas; 01-14-2014 at 03:39 PM.
    i3-8100 | GTX 970
    Ryzen 5 1600 | RX 580
    Assume nothing; Question everything

  3. #3
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    State of Confusion, USA
    Posts
    2,513
    Thanks KC!

    I went to HHGregg Sunday and they had this 60" Samsung Plasma for $950:
    http://www.hhgregg.com/samsung-60-10...qaFocusTarget1

    I have to say, the picture was beautiful! Great contrast, color, deep blacks and decent brightness.
    Plus the power consumption was quite a bit lower than the LG...

    I've dealt with HHG before, and they're usually willing to haggle (especially if you can show them something competitive that's cheaper).

    I'm definitely buying a new set this weekend!
    If I can get them down to ~$850, do you think it would be money well spent compared to the LG?

    Dave
    AMD FX-8350 (1237 PGN) | Asus Crosshair V Formula (bios 1703) | G.Skill 2133 CL9 @ 2230 9-11-10 | Sapphire HD 6870 | Samsung 830 128Gb SSD / 2 WD 1Tb Black SATA3 storage | Corsair TX750 PSU
    Watercooled ST 120.3 & TC 120.1 / MCP35X XSPC Top / Apogee HD Block | WIN7 64 Bit HP | Corsair 800D Obsidian Case








    First Computer: Commodore Vic 20 (circa 1981).

  4. #4
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,767
    i have not see a real 1080p panel in a sansung in a long time that was not over $3k, they love to trim them short and force overscan.

    if you live on the west coast i think that video only still has some panasonic plasmas.
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  5. #5
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    1000 Elysian Park Ave
    Posts
    2,666
    Just want to throw it out there, I myself no longer buy Samsung, too many headaches......

    And the newest Panasonics were confirmed to have better blacks than the Pioneer Kuro of yesteryear
    i3-8100 | GTX 970
    Ryzen 5 1600 | RX 580
    Assume nothing; Question everything

  6. #6
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    State of Confusion, USA
    Posts
    2,513
    After a lot of research and talking to folks here and on Emotiva Lounge, I went ahead and picked up the 60" LG Plasma at MC tonight...
    They had 6 on Wednesday and were down to 2 when I checked @ 5pm (from work). I was going to wait until tomorrow but they were selling pretty fast and I was afraid if I waited they'd be gone... So I took 1/2 day PTO and went and grabbed one of the last ones!

    I'd love to own one of those Pannys, but it just wasn't in my budget. At $700 I think the LG was a steal (Brand New too, no open box/refurb crap).
    Plus, my friend who brought his van to help me pick it up gave me $350 for my old 52" Sammy LCD. So I made a deal my wallet really likes!

    Once I get everything arranged I'll post a pic.

    Thanks for your help Folks!
    Dave
    AMD FX-8350 (1237 PGN) | Asus Crosshair V Formula (bios 1703) | G.Skill 2133 CL9 @ 2230 9-11-10 | Sapphire HD 6870 | Samsung 830 128Gb SSD / 2 WD 1Tb Black SATA3 storage | Corsair TX750 PSU
    Watercooled ST 120.3 & TC 120.1 / MCP35X XSPC Top / Apogee HD Block | WIN7 64 Bit HP | Corsair 800D Obsidian Case








    First Computer: Commodore Vic 20 (circa 1981).

  7. #7
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    1000 Elysian Park Ave
    Posts
    2,666
    I had a 50'' Panny 2011 model, but had to downsize and got a LG .........LCD If only they still made 42'' Plasmas, have fun!
    i3-8100 | GTX 970
    Ryzen 5 1600 | RX 580
    Assume nothing; Question everything

  8. #8
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,136
    Quote Originally Posted by Daveburt714 View Post
    Granted, it won't solve the size problem, but it's not a gimped 30hz refresh panel, and the nerd in me loves the idea of 4K!
    You sure about that? Those Seiki's also say they are 120Hz but the catch is these are still a max of 30Hz at 4K and 120Hz in 1080p mode.
    I just looked at it more and dont see any Display Port input on the TV, just HDMI. That means it is definitely limited to 30Hz in 4K mode.
    Rig 1:
    ASUS P8Z77-V
    Intel i5 3570K @ 4.75GHz
    16GB of Team Xtreme DDR-2666 RAM (11-13-13-35-2T)
    Nvidia GTX 670 4GB SLI

    Rig 2:
    Asus Sabertooth 990FX
    AMD FX-8350 @ 5.6GHz
    16GB of Mushkin DDR-1866 RAM (8-9-8-26-1T)
    AMD 6950 with 6970 bios flash

    Yamakasi Catleap 2B overclocked to 120Hz refresh rate
    Audio-GD FUN DAC unit w/ AD797BRZ opamps
    Sennheiser PC350 headset w/ hero mod

  9. #9
    Crunching For The Points! NKrader's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Vancouver WA, USA
    Posts
    2,900
    the amount of power and heat that plasma use/create makes lcd>plasma for me.. having that slightly better picture and mildly better color and contrast isnt worth the power bill and sweating in my living room.

    i traded toshiba plasma for sammy led/lcd and never looked back

    Catfood Shotgun
    Motherboard : Asus Strix z370i | CPU : Intel i7 8700k | Ram : 2x16GB Crucial DDR4 3000 | Heatsink : Noctua NH-U14S
    Storage - Boot: 960 PRO 512GB STEAM: 960 EVO 1TB | PSU : Corsair SFX 600w
    Monitor : Samsung Samsung S34E790C 34" Curved (3440x1440)

  10. #10
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    1000 Elysian Park Ave
    Posts
    2,666
    Bah, last time i checked Plasmas were no longer 500W, more like 100-200W, which over the course of a year aint squat! (And i'm in CA!)
    i3-8100 | GTX 970
    Ryzen 5 1600 | RX 580
    Assume nothing; Question everything

  11. #11
    Crunching For The Points! NKrader's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Vancouver WA, USA
    Posts
    2,900
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingcarcas View Post
    Bah, last time i checked Plasmas were no longer 500W, more like 100-200W, which over the course of a year aint squat! (And i'm in CA!)
    Power that I could be using to crunch

    Catfood Shotgun
    Motherboard : Asus Strix z370i | CPU : Intel i7 8700k | Ram : 2x16GB Crucial DDR4 3000 | Heatsink : Noctua NH-U14S
    Storage - Boot: 960 PRO 512GB STEAM: 960 EVO 1TB | PSU : Corsair SFX 600w
    Monitor : Samsung Samsung S34E790C 34" Curved (3440x1440)

  12. #12
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    State of Confusion, USA
    Posts
    2,513
    Quote Originally Posted by EniGmA1987 View Post
    You sure about that? Those Seiki's also say they are 120Hz but the catch is these are still a max of 30Hz at 4K and 120Hz in 1080p mode.
    I just looked at it more and dont see any Display Port input on the TV, just HDMI. That means it is definitely limited to 30Hz in 4K mode.
    Your probably right EniGmA, and the lack of display port (or dual link HDMI) would seem to prove your point...
    They had one set up at the store, but it was a static PC desktop image.
    It looked nice and the pixels were tiny, but that doesn't really give you an idea of what a moving image would look like.

    NKrader: I've had the plasma for a few days now and I honestly don't notice it putting off any more heat than my LCD did (certainly not sweating when it's on ).
    It's not perfect... My biggest problem is the reflectivity of the screen. I work 2nd shift, so I only notice it in the morning when the sun shines in just the right way.
    I'm pretty sure a wall mount or new TV stand that allows me to give it a slight downward tilt will solve that problem though...

    As for power consumption, I compared it to my 52" Sammy LCD (CCFL backlight). The older LCD was rated @ 250w while the 60" LG plasma is rated @ 168w.
    The 168w is probably a little high, since I'm using some power saving features.

    Anyway, I know I'm comparing 7 year old tech to modern stuff, but this is my 1st plasma set and I have to say I'm very impressed!
    The picture quality is awesome! Much better contrast, color saturation and black levels. Plus if you get really close to the screen the pixels are much less defined than they were on the LCD...

    I'm sure there's better tech coming down the road, and I may regret not waiting a year or so, but I can live with this for $700...

    Pretty darn happy with my purchase!
    AMD FX-8350 (1237 PGN) | Asus Crosshair V Formula (bios 1703) | G.Skill 2133 CL9 @ 2230 9-11-10 | Sapphire HD 6870 | Samsung 830 128Gb SSD / 2 WD 1Tb Black SATA3 storage | Corsair TX750 PSU
    Watercooled ST 120.3 & TC 120.1 / MCP35X XSPC Top / Apogee HD Block | WIN7 64 Bit HP | Corsair 800D Obsidian Case








    First Computer: Commodore Vic 20 (circa 1981).

  13. #13
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    OZtralia
    Posts
    2,052
    ^ You cant beat plasma IMHO and you certainly got a bargain !!

    My 4.5 year old Pana plasma still runs rings around every LCD/LED I have seen for picture quality and if it costs me 50 bucks more a year to run then so be it, its worth every penny, and compared to my old 40" LCD this plasma has never gotten much warmer than room temp...................though room temps here ATM are in the mid to high 30's and low 40's......as in Celsius
    lots and lots of cores and lots and lots of tuners,HTPC's boards,cases,HDD's,vga's,DDR1&2&3 etc etc all powered by Corsair PSU's

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Miltown, Wisconsin
    Posts
    353
    I got a old school projection tv, and it is beatiful. Its a Sony kds55a3000, the last model/year they made them. Runs circles around any lcd I have seen, with excellent blacks too. It has a 120hz sxrd engine. Most tv's those days were only 60hz. I will fix it, before I even think about replacing it. A true viewing pleasure.
    Quote Originally Posted by ***Deimos*** View Post
    WARNING GTX480 - may cause dizziness, blurred vision, dry mouth, dehydration, shortness of breath, headaches, naussea, explosive diahrea


    Foxconn Bloodrage P11 ( 2.1 SLIC MOD )
    Corei7 980 (3118B583) 4.2ghz 24-7 with stock vcore
    2x8GB PNY 1600c9 @ 1600mhz 9-9-9-24-1T
    nVidia GTX 770
    256gb OCZ Vertex4 FW 1.5
    2TB Green Barracuda
    Antec HCG-620w PSU
    Corsair H50 ( Sucks Hairry Balls IMHO )
    Coolermaster Storm Sniper Black Custom Sleeved
    3 x Dell U2410 H-IPS 1920x1200 Surround
    Windows 7 x64 Ultimate




  15. #15
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    State of Confusion, USA
    Posts
    2,513
    Just thought I'd update this thread...

    I'm loving this TV! Hopefully, I'm not pushing it to the point where plasma burn in will be a problem, but I've taken that into consideration and I think I'm good.
    My camera's pretty crappy and using flash blew things out, but in person the picture is awesome!

    Here's a couple pics:
    I know my wiring is a CF, but I'll clean that up once I get everything working the way I want...


    Here's a shot showing the TV settings. My camera's weak, and this was the best I could get without using flash:


    The pics don't really do it justice! In person I'm pretty happy with this set, and my Home Theater in general...

    Thanks for your help folks!
    Dave
    AMD FX-8350 (1237 PGN) | Asus Crosshair V Formula (bios 1703) | G.Skill 2133 CL9 @ 2230 9-11-10 | Sapphire HD 6870 | Samsung 830 128Gb SSD / 2 WD 1Tb Black SATA3 storage | Corsair TX750 PSU
    Watercooled ST 120.3 & TC 120.1 / MCP35X XSPC Top / Apogee HD Block | WIN7 64 Bit HP | Corsair 800D Obsidian Case








    First Computer: Commodore Vic 20 (circa 1981).

  16. #16
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    OZtralia
    Posts
    2,052
    ^ Ohhhh my, your wiring really is a cluster fluck, it will probably cost you another 700 bucks trying to hide it


    ps.......I like you rack too
    lots and lots of cores and lots and lots of tuners,HTPC's boards,cases,HDD's,vga's,DDR1&2&3 etc etc all powered by Corsair PSU's

  17. #17
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    1000 Elysian Park Ave
    Posts
    2,666
    I remember that Sony KDS55, I think we were going to get one for a short time back in the day. The Samsung LED DLPs that didn't need a replacement lamp, I wonder how they're holding up these days......

    Looking good Dave!! I want a rack like that one day, what kind of speakers do you have??

    Only one thing missing there...........well actually TWO things Dual Monster Subwoofers on each side of the TV If you want something on a budget dual Dayton 1200s would be alright (or Dual NXG 500s)
    i3-8100 | GTX 970
    Ryzen 5 1600 | RX 580
    Assume nothing; Question everything

  18. #18
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    State of Confusion, USA
    Posts
    2,513
    Thanks folks,
    I bought that rack about 10yrs ago at Lowes, but can't find them anymore. I was going to buy another shelf for it...
    It does pose a problem as far as hiding wires, but it's very open and allows everything to breath well.

    Quote Originally Posted by Kingcarcas View Post
    Looking good Dave!! I want a rack like that one day, what kind of speakers do you have??
    My speakers are mis-matched, but they sound really good together.
    The mains are Paradigm Monitor 9/S7's (got them on sale for $600 (set)).
    Center is an Infinity Sterling and surrounds are Optimus X88AV's.
    Sub is a 10" 100w Infinity.

    I'm just a working guy, so I try to look for good deals. I got the center and surrounds for $70 at a pawn shop.

    My Infinity sub puts out plenty of bass for me, but thanks for the tip on the Dayton 1200's!
    Good reviews, and they're definitely in my price range...
    AMD FX-8350 (1237 PGN) | Asus Crosshair V Formula (bios 1703) | G.Skill 2133 CL9 @ 2230 9-11-10 | Sapphire HD 6870 | Samsung 830 128Gb SSD / 2 WD 1Tb Black SATA3 storage | Corsair TX750 PSU
    Watercooled ST 120.3 & TC 120.1 / MCP35X XSPC Top / Apogee HD Block | WIN7 64 Bit HP | Corsair 800D Obsidian Case








    First Computer: Commodore Vic 20 (circa 1981).

  19. #19
    The Voice of Reason
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Lincoln, NE
    Posts
    9,220
    I still wouldn't buy an LCD TV today unless it was a small one for a non-critical, optional room. I own a 65" DLP, and would buy a Plasma if I wanted another (smaller) set. I've just never seen an LCD TV that is worth the money.

    IMO, and in AV enthusiasts opinions elsewhere, LCDs should be kept to computer monitors or your non-primary viewing room.
    Last edited by Soulburner; 03-09-2014 at 09:38 PM.
    Windows 7 + SSD:
    Mode: AHCI, default Microsoft driver or latest Intel RST
    Defrag: Off
    Hibernation: Off (use Sleep mode, recommend a UPS)
    Indexing: On (it only indexes a few locations, not your whole system unless you tell it to)
    Page File: On (set to the minimum of 16MB if you have a large amount of RAM, disabling not recommended)
    Prefetch: On
    Superfetch: On (RAM is always faster than an SSD - use it)
    System Restore: Off (with regular backups)
    Browser Cache: RAM Only, Disk Cache Off (How to with Chrome)
    Documents, Music, Pictures, Videos, Downloads to HDD (Public Libraries too, see above link about junctions)
    UAC: On!

  20. #20
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    State of Confusion, USA
    Posts
    2,513
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingcarcas View Post
    Only one thing missing there...........well actually TWO things Dual Monster Subwoofers on each side of the TV If you want something on a budget dual Dayton 1200s would be alright (or Dual NXG 500s)
    Gee thanks KC...

    I really don't need any encouragement when it comes to upgrading my Home Theater, but since my Infinity Sub was 10+ years old you got me looking at it as a weak link...
    After a little inspection I realized it was only an 8" sub, and after some research it turns out "Parts Express" is only ~30 miles north of here. I HAD to go check it out!

    Long story short, I looked at the SUB-1200's and they thumped just a little too hard for my taste. I did wind up buying a 10" SUB-1000 though ($95).
    I'm not a huge bass head and my neighbors house is only ~30ft away, but this sub has made a big difference when watching movies!

    Kinda like Goldilocks, this one seemed just right....

    Here's a pic with the new Sub (naked):


    I know I'm giving you crap man, but thanks for the suggestion!
    For the price these Dayton Subs kick butt. I'm running it @ 60% gain, if I cranked it up I'm sure I could aggivate neighbors...

    The Dayton subs offer some serious bang for the buck!
    AMD FX-8350 (1237 PGN) | Asus Crosshair V Formula (bios 1703) | G.Skill 2133 CL9 @ 2230 9-11-10 | Sapphire HD 6870 | Samsung 830 128Gb SSD / 2 WD 1Tb Black SATA3 storage | Corsair TX750 PSU
    Watercooled ST 120.3 & TC 120.1 / MCP35X XSPC Top / Apogee HD Block | WIN7 64 Bit HP | Corsair 800D Obsidian Case








    First Computer: Commodore Vic 20 (circa 1981).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •