Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Windows Server 2008r2 Virus Scanner? Free?

  1. #1
    Crunching For The Points! NKrader's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Vancouver WA, USA
    Posts
    2,900

    Windows Server 2008r2 Virus Scanner? Free?

    Trying to find decent protection for my file sever.

    I usually used avira in the past but that like many others does not work on "server" OS..

    Bleh.. Anyone?

    Catfood Shotgun
    Motherboard : Asus Strix z370i | CPU : Intel i7 8700k | Ram : 2x16GB Crucial DDR4 3000 | Heatsink : Noctua NH-U14S
    Storage - Boot: 960 PRO 512GB STEAM: 960 EVO 1TB | PSU : Corsair SFX 600w
    Monitor : Samsung Samsung S34E790C 34" Curved (3440x1440)

  2. #2
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    England, UK
    Posts
    1,837
    I believe Avast free used to work on Server OS but they may have changed that. Worth a shot though.

  3. #3
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Chicago-ish
    Posts
    53
    ClamAV, not realtime but it is free.
    Robert Kincaid 1935 - 2011
    CRUNCHERS
    Main 920@3.99GHz 12GB DDR3 NVIDIA 480GTX Back-UPS NS 1250
    Dell C6100 XS23-TY3 4 x NODES 2 x 2.4GHz E5530 24GBper node,Total 8 x 2.4GHz E5530 96GB
    Dell C6100 XS23-TY3 4 x NODES 2 x 2.13GHz L5630 16GBper node,Total 8 x 2.13GHz L5630 64GB
    DellServer 2x L5420 (4core) 8GB ECC DDR2
    Server 2x 2GHz Sossaman's 4GB ECC DDR2 (RAID 6 4x2TB Samsung F4 HD204UI 2x2TB WD Red) - under loonym
    SkillsServer 2x AMD 6-core 6GB ECC DDR2 XenServer || Zipples AMD 940 4core
    Sammy 3 2x 2GHz Sossaman's/4GB || Sammy 4 2x 2GHz Sossaman's 1GB ECC DDR2
    PART TIME CRUNCHERS
    Cruncher 4 950@3.06GHz 3GB DDR3 EVGA 275GTX ASUS 260GTX EVGA260GTX || Sammy 5 Supermicro 2x Dual-Core Xeon 2GHz/4GB/80 Server 6014L-M
    Athlon II x2 3 GHz 4GB DDR3 320GB RAID1 + 320GB Backup
    CSHS_CISCO CRUNCHERS http://stats.free-dc.org/stats.php?p...cg&name=828782
    5x (AMD FX 8120 (8core) 8GB DDR3 Running through XenServer ||AMD FX 8120 (8core) 4GB DDR3 2xRadion Cards Intel i7 950 4GB DDR3
    http://folding.extremeoverclocking.c...e.php?u=458094 http://allprojectstats.com/su1429018x5--1-2.png

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    116
    I remember just running Microsoft Security Essentials on my 2008R2 VM's. Don't have any sitting around atm or I would check for you.

    But if you have your hosts under control with good AV, your file server should be fine theoretically

    Main Rig:
    - i7 2600k + Noctua NH-C14 - GTX 570
    - 16 GB RAM - Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    - 1x 256GB Corsair Performance Pro SSD
    - 1x 256GB Samsung 830 SSD

  5. #5
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    US, MI
    Posts
    1,677
    I used to use symantec antivirus corp, then del the startup reg keys so I could run the scan manually when I felt like (and not have it run in the bg all the time...).

    But I see that is now eol :\.
    Replaced with some crap called symantec endpoint protection.

    I just use the online check and see if any of my files contain a virus.
    If they do I manually remove them, or format and re-install windows...
    If I were actually infected I would try to prevent it(perhaps like proxomitron in the ie days or gut tftp, etc...), then gut it out of my os manually, then do the scan to remove what files need removing or whatever.
    Then re-install...

    I think this is the link if I'm not mistaken:
    https://security.symantec.com/sscv6/home.asp

    It won't remove anything, it just checks with the latest db.

    Otherwise I don't have probs with virus so I can't help you much with finding a program to run in the bg all the time for it (edit: I mean that my advice might not be any good).
    The only db I only actually trusted was symantec's.

    Stuff like mcafee with it's off the wall false positives, screw that.
    Symantec has some of those too but it's alright.

    I never used any of the norton antivirus products though...


    Edit:
    Oh crap, forgot, you may need to spoof to use that online scanner...
    Then again maybe it'll just work anyways with ie, I can't say off hand, I don't have a server os installed at the moment (I don't use 2008, just 2003...).
    Last edited by NEOAethyr; 12-06-2013 at 11:20 AM. Reason: Darned cigs take forever to roll..., and darned edits lol


    CPU: Intel Core i7-4930k [3332B054]
    CPU Heatsink: NZXT Kraken X60
    Mobo: ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition (0507 BIOS)
    MEM: 4x 4gig G.Skill [F3-2400C9Q-16GTXD] (Dual Sidded Samsung of Some Sorts)
    PSU: Antec HCP-850 Platinum
    VGA: nVidia Grid VGX K2 (WIP with 2x 680 lightnings)
    Monitor: ASUS VG278HE & 3DVision2 Kit
    Drives: 2x WD Red 2TB Drives [WDBMMA0020HNC-NRSN] (RAID 0), Corsair Force Series 3 CSSD-F60GB3A-BK 60GB SATA3 SSD, Pioneer BDR-2208 Blue Ray Burner
    Case: Rosewill Blackhawk Ultra
    OS's: Windows 2003 Enterprise x86 SP2-R2 VLM, Windows 7 Standard Embedded x86 SP1 EVL (128GB Patched), Windows 7 Standard Embedded x64 SP1 EVL
    Mouse: Using generic mouse for now...
    Arm:Samsung Galaxy S IV i9500 Octo-Core Quad Band 16gb Unlocked and 2x 64gig sd cards
    777

    Sig is slightly out of date, I'll update it later ^^


  6. #6
    Crunching For The Points! NKrader's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Vancouver WA, USA
    Posts
    2,900
    Quote Originally Posted by MadMike261 View Post
    I remember just running Microsoft Security Essentials on my 2008R2 VM's. Don't have any sitting around atm or I would check for you.

    But if you have your hosts under control with good AV, your file server should be fine theoretically
    my file server is so much more,

    i remote in it does all of my downloads that it hosts and such.

    Quote Originally Posted by Nirvash View Post
    ClamAV, not realtime but it is free.
    i dont really want to have to do anything, or schedual scans, i just like the peace of mind knowing that it is watching things that are happening.




    also it looks like im picking up a 3x licence avira proffessional for like 60$ for the year. seems like my best option

    Catfood Shotgun
    Motherboard : Asus Strix z370i | CPU : Intel i7 8700k | Ram : 2x16GB Crucial DDR4 3000 | Heatsink : Noctua NH-U14S
    Storage - Boot: 960 PRO 512GB STEAM: 960 EVO 1TB | PSU : Corsair SFX 600w
    Monitor : Samsung Samsung S34E790C 34" Curved (3440x1440)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •