Thread: New build with MO-RA3 radiator

New build with MO-RA3 radiator

Hi all,

I'm new to watercooling but I already read a lot. My plan is to build a decent and quiet watercooling setup for my 3 year old pc.

This is what I had in mind:

- GPU WATERBLOCKS: 2x aquagrafx gtx 480 (linked with twinconnector)
    - CPU WATERBLOCK: Koolance CPU-380 waterblock to cool a I7 950

- PUMP: 2x swiftech MCP655 PWM DRIVE
    - RESERVOIR: Koolance dual pump/ dual bay RP-452X2 Rev.2.0
    - RADIATOR: MO-RA3 420 PRO
    - FANS on rad: 9x Antec TrueQuiet 140 on lowest setting by build in switch (500rpm)

- TUBES: primochill primoflex advanced lrt 3/8 id - 5/8 od - crystal-clear
    - LIQUID: distilled water + Primochill Liquid Utopia Clear

- Quick disconnects: 2x Koolance QD3 set at pc exit for easy replacement of rad or pc if necessary.
    - FITTINGS: 10MM (3/8) EK High Flow Fitting - G1/4
    - CLAMPS: Koolance Hose Clamp (3/8 ID - 5/8 OD) Silver

- FILTER: Aqua-Computer Filter G1/4 Stainless Steel Mesh (to protect my waterblocks and pump for debris)

So... I hope I mentioned everything.
    I went for 2 pumps for redundancy. Both of them will be controlled by the mobo's (RIIE) pwm signal coming from the CPU header. One of them will return a rpm signal to the cpu fan header, the other one to a spare fan header. This way I can always check if both are still working.
    Since the pumps are changing the water flow speed depending on the load, I think a fixed RPM can be used for the fans on the radiator (please correct me if I'm wrong). This way the system keeps quiet.

I want to measure the flowrate. Please advice what I can use best.

My rampage II extreme mobo came with a optional fan to make some extra air flow inside the case. I think it's a good idea to install this one as well.

The Koolance CPU-380 waterblock can also be used for more recent sockets (like 2011) so I can still use it when I upgrade to a new CPU.