MMM
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: 24GB RAM on Bloodrage ?.........you bet!

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Miltown, Wisconsin
    Posts
    353

    24GB RAM on Bloodrage ?.........you bet!

    I have not found much information about people using more than 12gb, 3x4gb kits on a bloodrage. So I will share my findings for anyone wondering, just tried for the hell of it and 8gb sticks work in the bloodrage. 24gb of RAM baby! and to all the haters who said that three ram slots was a bad move by foxconn.
    Quote Originally Posted by ***Deimos*** View Post
    WARNING GTX480 - may cause dizziness, blurred vision, dry mouth, dehydration, shortness of breath, headaches, naussea, explosive diahrea


    Foxconn Bloodrage P11 ( 2.1 SLIC MOD )
    Corei7 980 (3118B583) 4.2ghz 24-7 with stock vcore
    2x8GB PNY 1600c9 @ 1600mhz 9-9-9-24-1T
    nVidia GTX 770
    256gb OCZ Vertex4 FW 1.5
    2TB Green Barracuda
    Antec HCG-620w PSU
    Corsair H50 ( Sucks Hairry Balls IMHO )
    Coolermaster Storm Sniper Black Custom Sleeved
    3 x Dell U2410 H-IPS 1920x1200 Surround
    Windows 7 x64 Ultimate




  2. #2
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Wherever I may roam
    Posts
    678
    Nice one!! timings? V? how about a screenie please ....
    ____________________________________________

    More & more very expensive, quickly obsolete parts!!

  3. #3
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Heart of Europe
    Posts
    1,992
    Three slots is more then enough. Plus it had quite positive benefits on OC.

    Good to know as I need a "bit" more RAM. Using latest BIOS or?
    i7 930 D0 - 4,2 GHz + Megashadow
    3x4GB Crucial 1600MHz CL8
    Foxconn Bloodrage rev. 1.1 - P09
    MSI HAWK N760
    Crucial M500 240GB SSD
    SeaGate ES.2 1TB + 1TB External SeaGate
    Corsair HX 850W (its GOLD man!)
    ASUS STX + Sennheiser HD 555 (tape mod)

    Old-new camera so some new pics will be there.. My Flickr My 500px.com My Tumblr

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Miltown, Wisconsin
    Posts
    353
    I used bios P11 for testing. I know they added support for 4gb dimms, but didn't know if 8gb dimms would work. I couldn't find anyone who has used more than 4gb on the net. I had some 8gb sticks to play with and figured id give them a shot. It worked to my surprise. Im in the process of upgrading my X58 setup. I just got a vanilla 6 core 980 and wanted to beef up my ram too.

    I use my PC as a workstation for Adobe CS and Corel and 6gb is just not enough. I have hit my limit many times before. I like to have all my programs running across 3 1200p dells, and have about 20 tabbed websites running.

    Didnt have a lot of time to play with them though, timings are a bit week on 8gb sticks. My sticks are 3x8 1600mhz 9-9-9-24 1.5v PNY.

    Still trying to decide if i should use the 24gb kit or use a 12gb kit at better timings. Someone will trade me for 3x4 Dom GT's 2000mz 9-10-9-27.

    I will take some screens when I get a chance to play around more.
    Quote Originally Posted by ***Deimos*** View Post
    WARNING GTX480 - may cause dizziness, blurred vision, dry mouth, dehydration, shortness of breath, headaches, naussea, explosive diahrea


    Foxconn Bloodrage P11 ( 2.1 SLIC MOD )
    Corei7 980 (3118B583) 4.2ghz 24-7 with stock vcore
    2x8GB PNY 1600c9 @ 1600mhz 9-9-9-24-1T
    nVidia GTX 770
    256gb OCZ Vertex4 FW 1.5
    2TB Green Barracuda
    Antec HCG-620w PSU
    Corsair H50 ( Sucks Hairry Balls IMHO )
    Coolermaster Storm Sniper Black Custom Sleeved
    3 x Dell U2410 H-IPS 1920x1200 Surround
    Windows 7 x64 Ultimate




  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    122
    Quote Originally Posted by To(V)bo Co(V)bo View Post
    My sticks are 3x8 1600mhz 9-9-9-24 1.5v PNY.
    And they run actually at 1600mhz 9-9-9-24?

    Quote Originally Posted by To(V)bo Co(V)bo View Post
    Still trying to decide if i should use the 24gb kit or use a 12gb kit at better timings.
    More memory is always better solution. Better timings with 12GB kit will lead to "placebo effect" .
    ASRock 990FX Extreme4|AMD FX-8320 w/water|OCZ3RPR1866C9LV4GK|XFX HD5850|WD6000HLHX|PC P&C Silencer 910W
    Foxconn BloodRAGE X58|Intel Core i7 920|G.Skill F3-16000CL9T-6GBTD|XFX HD5770|WD6000HLHX|PC P&C Silencer 750W

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Miltown, Wisconsin
    Posts
    353
    Update....
    Finally got around to playing with the ram. Seems I can't get the third stick to post. Works with 2 sticks no problem. I tested all sticks, none are dead.
    Tried every setting I could think of. It's odd that 2 sticks work, but 3 sticks don't.
    Ram runs at timings, even had them cranked up to 1920mhz at cas 9. High tRFC though

    Should I get a 3x4gb set or just run the 2x8gb. That empty slot is pissing me off.
    Quote Originally Posted by ***Deimos*** View Post
    WARNING GTX480 - may cause dizziness, blurred vision, dry mouth, dehydration, shortness of breath, headaches, naussea, explosive diahrea


    Foxconn Bloodrage P11 ( 2.1 SLIC MOD )
    Corei7 980 (3118B583) 4.2ghz 24-7 with stock vcore
    2x8GB PNY 1600c9 @ 1600mhz 9-9-9-24-1T
    nVidia GTX 770
    256gb OCZ Vertex4 FW 1.5
    2TB Green Barracuda
    Antec HCG-620w PSU
    Corsair H50 ( Sucks Hairry Balls IMHO )
    Coolermaster Storm Sniper Black Custom Sleeved
    3 x Dell U2410 H-IPS 1920x1200 Surround
    Windows 7 x64 Ultimate




  7. #7
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Heart of Europe
    Posts
    1,992
    And all three sticks work? I mean, isnt one of them sorta faulty?

    Otherwise, VTT needs to be set in max 0,5V difference from vDIMM (I think there is no minimum, usually everything between 0.3 to 0.5V is fine). Thing is that VTT actually needs to be juiced up to make sticks work, with low they can sometimes even fail to post.

    Btw. how do these low-volt sticks work with decent voltage bump, does it help OC or just kills memory?

    I need (really need) more memory..

    So either I will change platform (sigh, that will be expensive), or keep what I have and upgrade memory.. but its a bit hard to find 8GB sticks with native 1.65V.
    i7 930 D0 - 4,2 GHz + Megashadow
    3x4GB Crucial 1600MHz CL8
    Foxconn Bloodrage rev. 1.1 - P09
    MSI HAWK N760
    Crucial M500 240GB SSD
    SeaGate ES.2 1TB + 1TB External SeaGate
    Corsair HX 850W (its GOLD man!)
    ASUS STX + Sennheiser HD 555 (tape mod)

    Old-new camera so some new pics will be there.. My Flickr My 500px.com My Tumblr

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Miltown, Wisconsin
    Posts
    353
    You don't have to run ram with 1.65v on 1366. At the time bloodrage came out 1.65 was the lowest they could get. DDR3 before nehalem was around 1.9v. Right now you can even get sticks with 1.35v.

    My sticks run at 1.5v stock, but i am running them at 1.6v to give them some extra juice. All the sticks work just fine. Just cant get all 3 together to post. 2 sticks will post fine at 16gb. I tried all sorts of configurations.

    Seems like it is a hard bios limit. They released a bios to support 4gb dimms. Apparently before they released that bios, 4gb sticks worked, but only with 2 installed. Just like my scenario. Was really hoping to get more.

    Intel claims that 24gb is max, but it isn't. Many people have got 48gb running in some boards, mostly asus. Xeon's can run 1tb of ram believe it or not. I might get a asus board to run all 3 sticks.
    Quote Originally Posted by ***Deimos*** View Post
    WARNING GTX480 - may cause dizziness, blurred vision, dry mouth, dehydration, shortness of breath, headaches, naussea, explosive diahrea


    Foxconn Bloodrage P11 ( 2.1 SLIC MOD )
    Corei7 980 (3118B583) 4.2ghz 24-7 with stock vcore
    2x8GB PNY 1600c9 @ 1600mhz 9-9-9-24-1T
    nVidia GTX 770
    256gb OCZ Vertex4 FW 1.5
    2TB Green Barracuda
    Antec HCG-620w PSU
    Corsair H50 ( Sucks Hairry Balls IMHO )
    Coolermaster Storm Sniper Black Custom Sleeved
    3 x Dell U2410 H-IPS 1920x1200 Surround
    Windows 7 x64 Ultimate




Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •