Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 50

Thread: Xbox one demo running..... Nvidia?

  1. #1
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Oregon - USA
    Posts
    743

    Xbox one demo running..... Nvidia?

    These two pictures are very incriminating. According to the article mircrosoft claims the demos were being ran on "comparable" hard ware to the Xbox one.. But does that comparable spec include a 700 series GTX graphics card from Nvidia? Not to mention Microsoft Opted to use windows 7 during E3 as opposed to their own windows 8 which is what the Xbox OS is built off of?

    well here you decide.
    http://www.cinemablend.com/games/Xbo...rds-56737.html
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    4930k @4.875
    G.Skill Trident X 2666 Cl10
    Gtx 780 SC
    1600w Lepa Gold
    Samsung 840 Pro 256GB


  2. #2
    Assistant Administrator Buckeye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Stockton, CA
    Posts
    3,277
    Microsoft FAIL, your drunk, go home now !

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member Dami3n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Inside a floppy drive
    Posts
    366
    Hail to the new XBOX NONE

  4. #4
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    920
    If you're using a new engine, it can take time to get it running at full speed on the intended hardware. PC's are pretty brute force so running an alpha on a high spec PC will probably give a better impression than on a dev kit, without the cloud compute running. But even so it doesn't look good.

  5. #5
    Xtreme Cruncher [XC] Lead Head's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    3,027
    The Xbox 360 E3 demo units were PowerMac G5s. Not really unexpected, especially if the real hardware isn't ready yet.
    Fold for XS!
    You know you want to

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Oregon - USA
    Posts
    743
    Kinda sad microsoft using competitors product to demo theirs
    Last edited by Ace123; 06-14-2013 at 08:38 PM.
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    4930k @4.875
    G.Skill Trident X 2666 Cl10
    Gtx 780 SC
    1600w Lepa Gold
    Samsung 840 Pro 256GB


  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    331
    funny and sad ...

  8. #8
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,667
    Disgusting if you ask me.

    Intel Core i7-3770K
    ASUS P8Z77-I DELUXE
    Geforce GTX 470 - PNY XLR8
    Corsair 8GB (2x4GB) Vengeance LP 1600
    Corsair H80
    120GB Samsung 840 EVO, 500GB WD Scorpio Blue, 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3
    Corsair RM650
    Cooler Master Elite 120 Advanced
    OC: 5Ghz | +0.185 offset : 1.352v

  9. #9
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    863
    WTH?! Why weren't they using "the new king- the world's fastest, most advanced graphics card"?

    http://www.amd.com/US/PRODUCTS/DESKT...deon-7990.aspx

    I'd think they would want to use the "uncompromising masterpiece of breathtaking performance" their partner AMD is making, not a GTX780.

    More seriously, I get the whole "Windows has more overhead, need a higher end chip to run the games in it" issue, and you'd want the highest end single GPU to run the most "console like".

    IMO, this isn't a big deal.
    Intel 990x/Corsair H80 /Asus Rampage III
    Coolermaster HAF932 case
    Patriot 3 X 2GB
    EVGA GTX Titan SC
    Dell 3008

  10. #10
    Xtreme Addict Chickenfeed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    1,262
    This is just a lazy way to showcase something with minimal effort. Many of the launch titles still need their share of optimizations and the results current dev kits can provide would likely have not been so impressive. If you take a title roughly targeted at the dev kits performance budget and throw a high spec PC at it, you'll be able to brute force things and display a game under ideal circumstances aka not the actual console.

    More than anything this shows a lack of preparedness on MS's part. Doesn't exactly inspire confidence.
    Last edited by Chickenfeed; 06-15-2013 at 04:29 AM.
    Feedanator 6.0
    CASE:FT02B|PSU:AX850|CPU:i7 4770K|Mobo:Z87 Pro|Ram:8x2GB GSkill 2400|GPU:SLI GTX 780 3GB|HD:M4 128GB+256GB/F1 1TB|SOUND:Titanium HD,PC350|LCD:VG248QE/QH270-lite|OS:Win8 x64 Pro|INPUT:SS Sensei /w HD9/DasUltSilent|COOLING:H80

    Htpcanator 2.0
    CASE:Fractual Mini|PSU:X660|CPU:i5 2500K|Mobo:MIV Gene Z|Ram:4x4GB GSkill 1600|GPU:GTX 670 2GB|HD:M4 128GB+256GB/F3 1TB|TV:ST30 50"SOUND:HTRC360/Klipsch 5.1|NAS:DS212+ 2TB Raid1

  11. #11
    Xtreme Addict Chrono Detector's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    1,091
    So Microsoft blatantly lied to everyone and in fact was using a high end PC, passing it off as an Xbox One, not to mention that PC was running Windows 7 instead of Windows 8 shows how much Microsoft can't even trust their own latest operating system and not to mention they were exposed too.... too funny really.
    PC 1: Intel Xeon E5 2687w | 32GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X 2133Mhz | Gigabyte GTX 780 GHZ | Corsair AX1200 watt Power Supply | 20x LG SATA DVD+/- RW | LG BluRay/HD DVD Combo Drive| Logitech Z-5500 5.1 speakers | 55" LG 55UB8500 4K UHD TV | ASRock X79 Fata1ty Champion | Aerocool Strike-X ST Black | 1x OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD | 1x 4TB Western Digital Hard Drive | Windows 8.1 x64 Pro

  12. #12
    Xtreme Cruncher informal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    6,173
    More worrying is the fact MS didn't have consoles (even ES) running any games... If you want a product demo you would need a product to make such a demo. No product= smoke and mirrors IMO.

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member fiskov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Brighton, UK
    Posts
    211
    So why does the PC never get these "good" games?

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    191
    One of the users on polish site digged in it a lil bit more...


  15. #15
    Xtreme Enthusiast Evantaur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    988
    Quote Originally Posted by c22 View Post
    One of the users on polish site digged in it a lil bit more...

    so intel AND nvidia

    I like large posteriors and I cannot prevaricate

  16. #16
    Xtreme Addict Andrew LB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Peoples Republic of Kalifornia
    Posts
    1,566
    Quote Originally Posted by [XC] Lead Head View Post
    The Xbox 360 E3 demo units were PowerMac G5s. Not really unexpected, especially if the real hardware isn't ready yet.
    They sure did! My curiosity got the better of me back at E4 2005 and I decided to snoop around in areas off-limits to non-microsoft staff. Everything was great until I busted out my Canon SLR to snap this shot! As you can imagine the MS guys were not pleased with my discovery.



    More worrying is the fact MS didn't have consoles (even ES) running any games... If you want a product demo you would need a product to make such a demo. No product= smoke and mirrors IMO.
    Why? They didn't have the 360 running its own hardware at E3 in 2005 and they not only made the release deadline, they had lots of product available.

    I'm sure Microsoft will be on time as usual.

    "The strongest reason for the people to retain the right to
    keep and bear arms is, as a last resort, to protect
    themselves against tyranny in Government."

    -Thomas Jefferson

  17. #17
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    863
    You'd think they'd want a FX CPU and a 7970 for this. Then they could at least say they needed products higher up in the product lines they had chosen to run in Windows.

    This way it looks like they picked the second best company to sell, and the best companies to demo. Not a good day for AMD, or MS.

    I'll still buy my son both a PS4 and Xbox, but for the people that buy one only, this can't look good. The tech world jumps on stuff like this like rabid wolverines too. Will probably be on the news next week.
    Intel 990x/Corsair H80 /Asus Rampage III
    Coolermaster HAF932 case
    Patriot 3 X 2GB
    EVGA GTX Titan SC
    Dell 3008

  18. #18
    I am Xtreme Hornet331's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    5,466
    As andrew said, its nothing special, nearly all games that are showcased are either prerendered or run of none console hardware (aka pc) and even for PC titles you can't be sure of that what you see at E3 will look like the actual game, since they make special levels, add better textures (which are not in the game at launch) etc.

  19. #19
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    381
    Quote Originally Posted by Hornet331 View Post
    As andrew said, its nothing special, nearly all games that are showcased are either prerendered or run of none console hardware (aka pc) and even for PC titles you can't be sure of that what you see at E3 will look like the actual game, since they make special levels, add better textures (which are not in the game at launch) etc.
    But they were running on console compatible hardware :P an x86 CPU and a DirectX GPU.
    Sure, they should have done this with Windows 8, an AMD FX CPU, and a HD7970. But even with a config like that we would have been complaining about something else...
    Main: Windows 8.1 PRO Intel Core i7 4820K @ 4700Mhz, Corsair H100i, 16GB DDR3-2400, HD7950 3GB @ Corsair H60, Crucial M4 128GB OS, Crucial C300 64GB Cache + Samsung 1TB F3, WD 1.5TB Green, Gigabyte GA-X79-UD3
    HTPC: Windows 8.1 PRO AMD Athlon 5150, 6GB DDR3-1600, Radeon R3 iGPU, 500GB, Gigabyte GA-AM1M-S2H
    ESXi Server 5.5 AMD Athlon X3 455, 8GB DDR3-1600, 80GB, Biostar A880GU3, 2xIntel PRO1000
    ESXi Server 5.5 AMD Fusion A6-3500, 8GB DDR3-1600, 80GB, Biostar TA75M, 2xIntel PRO1000
    ESXi Server 5.1 Intel Core i5 650, 8GB DDR3-1600, 160GB, Biostar TH55B HD, 2xIntel PRO1000
    FreeNAS 9.2.1.6 x64 Intel Pentium G2030, 8GB DDR3-1333, Intel HD Graphics, 4x1TB WD Blue RAID-Z1, Asrock H61GM-VG3, Bitfenix Prodigy

  20. #20
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    331
    Quote Originally Posted by Evantaur View Post
    so intel AND nvidia
    it was in source news, Intel cpu + GeForce GTX 780, dont need this digging ...

  21. #21
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Saskatchewan, Canada
    Posts
    2,208
    http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/di...go-devkit-leak

    Basically the development kits had Nvidia hardware too. Maybe the driver support and tools makes it easier to program and run games well on Nvidia hardware.

    Really these should be running AMD hardware at this point. Doesn't make sense to use Nvidia hardware.
    Core i7 920@ 4.66ghz(H2O)
    6gb OCZ platinum
    4870x2 + 4890 in Trifire
    2*640 WD Blacks
    750GB Seagate.

  22. #22
    I am Xtreme zalbard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    8,741
    I find this hilarious after all the claims that having AMD inside consoles will make the devs fully optimise for AMD arch.
    Donate to XS forums
    Quote Originally Posted by jayhall0315 View Post
    If you are really extreme, you never let informed facts or the scientific method hold you back from your journey to the wrong answer.

  23. #23
    Xtreme Enthusiast R101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    516
    I am just interested if 'xbox cloud virtual machines' will run on Intel or AMD servers.. If they run on Intel, then Intel made better deal and sold server CPUs instead of low margin AMD unit that goes into console..
    2x Dual E5 2670, 32 GB, Transcend SSD 256 GB, 2xSeagate Constellation ES 2TB, 1KW PSU
    HP Envy 17" - i7 2630 QM, HD6850, 8 GB.
    i7 3770, GF 650, 8 GB, Transcend SSD 256 GB, 6x3 TB. 850W PSU

  24. #24
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    863
    Quote Originally Posted by zalbard View Post
    I find this hilarious after all the claims that having AMD inside consoles will make the devs fully optimise for AMD arch.
    I find it ironic after all the "AMD is in all three consoles! NVIDIA is doomxorz!" posts.

    Looks like there may be more substance to NVIDIA's story they didn't want this business than many believed. Looks like when MS wants to show off, they turn to the market leaders.
    Intel 990x/Corsair H80 /Asus Rampage III
    Coolermaster HAF932 case
    Patriot 3 X 2GB
    EVGA GTX Titan SC
    Dell 3008

  25. #25
    Xtreme Cruncher informal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    6,173
    Or they don't have ready consoles that can run those games without crashing. Heck, even that "PC" crashed running the game, that's how the guy saw it was a "fake" console. If it haven't crashed we would never have discovered this lol.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •