Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 51 to 75 of 111

Thread: The Book of Bulldozer - Revelations: Episode 2 (SuperPI / x87)

  1. #51
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    13
    Works perfectly

    Without


    With

  2. #52
    NooB MOD
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    5,796
    I have the new version mirrored here, it's exactly the same file as The Stilt uploaded and the MD5 hash can be verified at OnlineMD5. No pop-ups, no adverts, no waiting
    Xtreme SUPERCOMPUTER
    Nov 1 - Nov 8 Join Now!


    Quote Originally Posted by Jowy Atreides View Post
    Intel is about to get athlon'd
    Athlon64 3700+ KACAE 0605APAW @ 3455MHz 314x11 1.92v/Vapochill || Core 2 Duo E8500 Q807 @ 6060MHz 638x9.5 1.95v LN2 @ -120'c || Athlon64 FX-55 CABCE 0516WPMW @ 3916MHz 261x15 1.802v/LN2 @ -40c || DFI LP UT CFX3200-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra D || Sapphire X1950XT || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 290MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v || 2x256MB G.Skill TCCD @ 350MHz 3-4-4-8 3.1v || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 294MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v

  3. #53
    Tyler Durden
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    5,668
    This is really great Stilt, amazing work! One thing I wanted to point out. I have an FX 8350 in an ASRock 990FX Extreme9 running BIOS 1.01 (which was pulled months back). When I opened your tool, it gave me the option to apply the ERRATA fix and said I needed to update my BIOS. Is it really possible that ASRock's BIOS doesn't contain this ERRATA fix? I know the BIOS sucks and is buggy, and they have failed to release even a single update for it, but this would really put me over the edge if it's true.
    Formerly XIP, now just P.

  4. #54
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    1,698
    Quote Originally Posted by EnJoY View Post
    This is really great Stilt, amazing work! One thing I wanted to point out. I have an FX 8350 in an ASRock 990FX Extreme9 running BIOS 1.01 (which was pulled months back). When I opened your tool, it gave me the option to apply the ERRATA fix and said I needed to update my BIOS. Is it really possible that ASRock's BIOS doesn't contain this ERRATA fix? I know the BIOS sucks and is buggy, and they have failed to release even a single update for it, but this would really put me over the edge if it's true.
    Checked both of the bioses (1.00 & 1.10) for ASRock 990FX Extreme9.
    Both of the bioses are based on an old AGESA version (V1.2.9.0), while the official launch AGESA version for Vishera was V1.5.0.0.
    Due the old AGESA version the microcodes are outdated too:

    Zambezi (OR-B2) - Installed: 06000626 (01/04/2012), The most recent version: 0600063D (03/06/2013).
    Vishera (OR-C0) - Installed: 06000817 (05/24/2012), The most recent version: 06000822 (01/03/2013).

    Version 0600063D (OR-B2) contains 10 errata fixes, while the 06000822 (OR-C0) fixes 8.

  5. #55
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,753
    in 32M its awesome boost, I tried with decent summer stable OC profile...




    more than4m 30s better result!!!! Woow. I think, 32M with LN2 could be quickly fun now with Vishera, maybe around 10minutes only.
    ROG Power PCs - Intel and AMD
    CPUs:i7-6950X, i7-5960X, 4x i7-7700K, i3-7350K, 2x i7-6700K, i5-6600K, R7-1800X, R7-1700X, 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, A10-7870K, Athlon 845, Athlon 860K,AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930KAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread Intel Cinebench R15 thread

  6. #56
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,209
    Many many thanks, this is much appreciated and something I didn't even dream about!

    This goes into AMD Hall of Fame I wonder what will be the response from both the community and AMD engineers
    1. ASUS Sabertooth 990fx | FX 8320 || 2. DFI DK 790FXB-M3H5 | X4 810
    8GB Samsung 30nm DDR3-2000 9-10-10-28 || 4GB PSC DDR3-1333 6-7-6-21
    Corsair TX750W | Sapphire 6970 2GB || BeQuiet PurePower 450w | HD 4850
    EK Supreme | AC aquagratix | Laing Pro | MoRa 2 || Aircooled

  7. #57
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    France
    Posts
    8,832
    Quote Originally Posted by Oese View Post
    I wonder what will be the response from both the community and AMD engineers
    They better be ashamed...
    Donate to XS forums
    Quote Originally Posted by jayhall0315 View Post
    If you are really extreme, you never let informed facts or the scientific method hold you back from your journey to the wrong answer.

  8. #58
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    57
    I wonder if it would be possible to mod these kinda fixes into bios like they do with SLIC tables and SLI certs (if you dont know what those are, head over to mydigitallife.info and read the bios forums)
    AMD FX-8350@4.6(280/2520/2520)| 32gb gskill ares ddr3 1866|
    2*sapphire dual-x 7870ghz|16896.8 GB hdd space|
    2*hp ZR24w+Gateway FPD1976W(video playback)|Asus Xonar DX|
    z5500 5.1 speakers|Windows 7 x64|CoolerMaster Cosmos Medusa
    PcPower and Cooling TurboCool 1200watt

  9. #59
    Tyler Durden
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    5,668
    Quote Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
    Checked both of the bioses (1.00 & 1.10) for ASRock 990FX Extreme9.
    Both of the bioses are based on an old AGESA version (V1.2.9.0), while the official launch AGESA version for Vishera was V1.5.0.0.
    Due the old AGESA version the microcodes are outdated too:

    Zambezi (OR-B2) - Installed: 06000626 (01/04/2012), The most recent version: 0600063D (03/06/2013).
    Vishera (OR-C0) - Installed: 06000817 (05/24/2012), The most recent version: 06000822 (01/03/2013).

    Version 0600063D (OR-B2) contains 10 errata fixes, while the 06000822 (OR-C0) fixes 8.
    Wow, ASRock is terrible. Is this at all normal for a 990FX board to be using such an outdated AGESA? Thanks for your time.
    Formerly XIP, now just P.

  10. #60
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    57
    Quote Originally Posted by EnJoY View Post
    Wow, ASRock is terrible. Is this at all normal for a 990FX board to be using such an outdated AGESA? Thanks for your time.
    kinda wondering if the asrock 990fx extreme4 has the same outdated AGESA....used a few for friends builds......they clock damn well.....

    if anybody knows please tell me.
    AMD FX-8350@4.6(280/2520/2520)| 32gb gskill ares ddr3 1866|
    2*sapphire dual-x 7870ghz|16896.8 GB hdd space|
    2*hp ZR24w+Gateway FPD1976W(video playback)|Asus Xonar DX|
    z5500 5.1 speakers|Windows 7 x64|CoolerMaster Cosmos Medusa
    PcPower and Cooling TurboCool 1200watt

  11. #61
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    1,698
    Quote Originally Posted by EnJoY View Post
    Wow, ASRock is terrible. Is this at all normal for a 990FX board to be using such an outdated AGESA? Thanks for your time.
    Quote Originally Posted by AzureSky View Post
    kinda wondering if the asrock 990fx extreme4 has the same outdated AGESA....used a few for friends builds......they clock damn well.....

    if anybody knows please tell me.
    This is for 970-990 chipset series motherboards only (althought some of the ASUS lower end models managed to slip in too).



    Zambezi microcodes marked with red > 06000629 still have the Valve CEG fault present.
    Last edited by The Stilt; 07-17-2013 at 05:47 PM.

  12. #62
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Nederlands
    Posts
    635
    Dammm That looks awe full. So much outdated or even worse :'(
    I wonder if the Intel platforms have similar problems.
    System Specs: -=Game PC=- | -=Lan Box=-

  13. #63
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,136
    Strange that higher revision Gigabyte UD3 boards would revert back to older AGESA code than the older revision board.
    Rig 1:
    ASUS P8Z77-V
    Intel i5 3570K @ 4.75GHz
    16GB of Team Xtreme DDR-2666 RAM (11-13-13-35-2T)
    Nvidia GTX 670 4GB SLI

    Rig 2:
    Asus Sabertooth 990FX
    AMD FX-8350 @ 5.6GHz
    16GB of Mushkin DDR-1866 RAM (8-9-8-26-1T)
    AMD 6950 with 6970 bios flash

    Yamakasi Catleap 2B overclocked to 120Hz refresh rate
    Audio-GD FUN DAC unit w/ AD797BRZ opamps
    Sennheiser PC350 headset w/ hero mod

  14. #64
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,209
    Mhm i get an error "cannot initialize driver" on Sabertooth 990 FX R1.0 1604 Bios.

    Anyone has a clue?
    1. ASUS Sabertooth 990fx | FX 8320 || 2. DFI DK 790FXB-M3H5 | X4 810
    8GB Samsung 30nm DDR3-2000 9-10-10-28 || 4GB PSC DDR3-1333 6-7-6-21
    Corsair TX750W | Sapphire 6970 2GB || BeQuiet PurePower 450w | HD 4850
    EK Supreme | AC aquagratix | Laing Pro | MoRa 2 || Aircooled

  15. #65
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    1,698
    Quote Originally Posted by Oese View Post
    Mhm i get an error "cannot initialize driver" on Sabertooth 990 FX R1.0 1604 Bios.

    Anyone has a clue?
    Run as Admin.

  16. #66
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    1,698
    Quote Originally Posted by EniGmA1987 View Post
    Strange that higher revision Gigabyte UD3 boards would revert back to older AGESA code than the older revision board.
    Check the compile date of the bioses.

  17. #67
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,209
    Quote Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
    Run as Admin.
    Ouch! Works perfectly.... My Bad

    -16 % in SPI 1M
    1. ASUS Sabertooth 990fx | FX 8320 || 2. DFI DK 790FXB-M3H5 | X4 810
    8GB Samsung 30nm DDR3-2000 9-10-10-28 || 4GB PSC DDR3-1333 6-7-6-21
    Corsair TX750W | Sapphire 6970 2GB || BeQuiet PurePower 450w | HD 4850
    EK Supreme | AC aquagratix | Laing Pro | MoRa 2 || Aircooled

  18. #68
    Tyler Durden
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    5,668
    Quote Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
    This is for 970-990 chipset series motherboards only (althought some of the ASUS lower end models managed to slip in too).

    Zambezi microcodes marked with red > 06000629 still have the Valve CEG fault present.
    Thanks again for this. Looks like I shouldn't have gambled with ASRock.
    Formerly XIP, now just P.

  19. #69
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    84
    Threw mine in here also. I ran each run without patch (the top Super PI) and with the patch (the bottom one). Very cool update. THis was with my 24/7 5ghz vishera. My chip uses only 1.475v to get the 5ghz and it shaved off 4 minutes from the 32m, so I am gonna play with the higher clocks it can do. Will throw some updates in here shortly. Good job STILT.



    Here is the updated with Vishera at 5200mhz. Broke 15mins on 32m finally. LOL. If this improves performance on other programs that might have some similar code to super PI that would be nice. I read some said PhysX.

    Last edited by ga1ve1an; 06-24-2013 at 05:47 PM.

  20. #70
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Oregon - USA
    Posts
    831
    are we not able to manually update agesa code in bios as we used to in the past?
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    4930k @4.875
    G.Skill Trident X 2666 Cl10
    Gtx 780 SC
    1600w Lepa Gold
    Samsung 840 Pro 256GB


  21. #71
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    1,698
    Quote Originally Posted by Ace123 View Post
    are we not able to manually update agesa code in bios as we used to in the past?
    As far as I know, nobody has ever done it successfully.
    You would need to have access to the source code of the bios (vendor / model specific) project.

  22. #72
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    State of Confusion, USA
    Posts
    2,513
    Quote Originally Posted by EnJoY View Post
    Thanks again for this. Looks like I shouldn't have gambled with ASRock.
    I know this is OT, but I've been playing with ASRock boards myself lately...
    The specs and hardware look good, but the bios support has been questionable to say the least!
    I bought a 990FX EX9 and was pretty disappointed with it. Bios support is seriously lacking, and the fact that they haven't even bothered to update the AGESA code is pititful.
    It's pretty sad when you buy a companies top of the line board and there hasn't been a decent (lasting) bios update in six months...
    You can get decent clocks from the EX9, but it takes a lot of effort, and winds up being a random luck of the draw setting that makes no real sense to a decent overclocker. ...
    That being said, the bios does fine at close to stock. Guess I need to put together a rig for Craigslist and get rid of this board.

    For whatever reason (MicoCenter Combo deal?), I went with ASRock once again and grabbed the 6600K/ASRock EX6 (FM2) board.
    I have to admit that it's heads above the EX9, and at least there have been a couple bios updates that have stuck and were actually usefull...

    Maybe ASRock is short on bios talent and they're directing it all towards FM2. Reguardless, I'd recommend the EX6, but steer folks away from the EX9!
    AMD FX-8350 (1237 PGN) | Asus Crosshair V Formula (bios 1703) | G.Skill 2133 CL9 @ 2230 9-11-10 | Sapphire HD 6870 | Samsung 830 128Gb SSD / 2 WD 1Tb Black SATA3 storage | Corsair TX750 PSU
    Watercooled ST 120.3 & TC 120.1 / MCP35X XSPC Top / Apogee HD Block | WIN7 64 Bit HP | Corsair 800D Obsidian Case








    First Computer: Commodore Vic 20 (circa 1981).

  23. #73
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    645
    I also agree that on current Motherboards, the most limiting factor are BIOSes that are missing features or have them badly implemented. You have examples like this, and this, of what issues are present when BIOS aren't fully compliant with specifications. Manufacturers usually don't go back to fix BIOS-related issues, even if from the Hardware side the Motherboard is perfect. This sometimes leaves you with non functional features (AMD-Vi for IOMMU virtualization comes to mind) because the BIOS developers seems to be ridiculous lazy. This include even if AMD wants to patch this via microcode, even if earlier AM3+ Motherboards could work with it, I doubt many will receive BIOS upgrades to do so.
    How I would love that Coreboot could become more accessible to get rid of that propietary code crap...


    Now, for some offtopic...

    @ The Stilt
    How in-depth is possible to analyze a BIOS BIN/ROM file with automatic tools and none to little knowledge? I suppose that at least someone must be able to easily retrieve AGESA version from a BIOS file to make the table you did there in a timely manner. Doubt someone could physically test THAT many Motherboards just for that purpose.
    I'm looking for creative ways to be able to check if a Motherboard has proper AMD-Vi support or not by checking if it has a ACPI IVRS table (Or ACPI DMAR for Intel VT-d, for that matter), however, I have no idea of how exactly it should be inside a BIOS file to know what I should be looking for (Besides that I should also uncompress the BIOS modules first, I suppose). The idea is that anyone interesed in this feature for virtualization, would be able to discard Motherboards that don't have it functional before purchase by checking the BIOS for that table and at least some insight if the values retrieved seems to be valid.
    Yep, absolutely non-related to x87, but its worth a shot.
    Last edited by zir_blazer; 06-25-2013 at 01:15 AM.

  24. #74
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    324
    I wonder if there are any other than SuperPI applications that got improvement?

    Another question, does the older BIOS AGESA microcode impact performance, or it is x87 only?
    Windows 8.1
    Asus M4A87TD EVO + Phenom II X6 1055T @ 3900MHz + HD3850
    APUs

  25. #75
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    1,698
    A small update: Bulldozer Conditioner R1.02B

    Original package checksum (MD5): BCC929498EF1B01B7F99B8F2DA805F46

    Bulldozer Conditioner R1.02B

    Changes:

    - Enhanced the NRAC fix
    - Added a UAC prompt (admin rights) for Windows Vista / 7 & 8.
    - Updated the AGESA version info

    The enhanced fix included in BDC R1.02B is around 10 seconds faster in SuperPI 32M than the one in R1.00 / R1.01 versions

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •