MMM
    X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: What are the settings needed to Overclocking the Q9550 C1 processor to 4GHGz?

  1. #1
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    588

    Exclamation What are the settings needed to Overclocking the Q9550 C1 processor to 4GHGz?

    hi guys

    my friend have old processor Q9550 C1 he Wants to Overclocking the processor to 4GHz....so What are the settings needed to do this?
    i now that E0 Edition better than C1 Edition in Overclocking...but Let's try

    System:
    Intel core 2 quad Q9550 C1
    ASROCK P45TS-R
    A-DATA DDR3 1333MHz 4GB



    These pictures from inside the BIOS Motherboards









    I hope that experts guys in this field to help me
    WOOOOOF

  2. #2
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,379
    Start here :

    Overclock mode [Manual]
    CPU Frequency [400]
    CPU Voltage [1.35]
    NB Voltage [1.2]

    If that posts and is stable, work your way up with eg 10MHz increments... however I wouldn't push the little Asrock too hard... 470FSB might be too tricky
    Last edited by Leeghoofd; 05-30-2013 at 12:06 PM.
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  3. #3
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    588
    Quote Originally Posted by Leeghoofd View Post
    Start here :

    Overclock mode [Manual]
    CPU Frequency [400]
    CPU Voltage [1.35]
    NB Voltage [1.2]

    If that posts and is stable, work your way up with eg 10MHz increments... however I wouldn't push the little Asrock too hard... 470FSB might be too tricky
    First, thank you to answer my questions
    ok i will do this settings, but the NB Voltage in this MB Has four choices low/ medium/ High/ Very high? so what to choice?
    WOOOOOF

  4. #4
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,379
    Try Medium setting ( prolly 1.1V is LOW -1.2V is Medium,... )
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  5. #5
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    588
    Quote Originally Posted by Leeghoofd View Post
    Try Medium setting ( prolly 1.1V is LOW -1.2V is Medium,... )
    OK i Going to try it and let you know what will happen with me soon
    thx
    WOOOOOF

  6. #6
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    588
    I'm sorry Leeghoofd but my friend didn't give me the results of the Overclocking the Processor in time..he was really late ..sorry again.

    Now we come to the results

    he was able to reach the processor frequency to 3.4GHz with these choices that set by you, and there was a full stability and he tested the stability with this program prime95 for 3 hours and The situation was stable.
    this is a picture:



    But what I want to ask you, does he have to disable one of these options here??



    because I read that he must do so in order to achieve greater stability if he want to earn greater frequency in overcolcking , and also another question If you do not mind....he tried to exceed the barrier frequency of 3.4 but there wasn't any stability despite that he raised volt processor to maximize which is 1.362 so what is the method used to overclock the processor more than that?Does he have to raise the frequency volt motherboard? Or he has to raise the frequency volt memory?Or what???

    Thank you very much my friend
    WOOOOOF

  7. #7
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    waukegan
    Posts
    3,748
    disable thermal throttling for sure. and maybe intel speed step... i personally use cool'n quiet on my amd and it does not affect stability.
    mobo: strix b350f
    gpu: rx580 1366/2000
    cpu: ryzen 1700 @ 3.8ghz
    ram: 32 gb gskill 2400 @ 3000
    psu: coarsair 1kw
    hdd's: samsung 500gb ssd 1tb & 3tb hdd

  8. #8
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    588
    Quote Originally Posted by i found nemo View Post
    disable thermal throttling for sure. and maybe intel speed step... i personally use cool'n quiet on my amd and it does not affect stability.
    Thank you

    I still wait for expert help
    WOOOOOF

  9. #9
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    waukegan
    Posts
    3,748
    well for all overclocking when it comes to cpu, lower ram frequency THEN overclock the cpu. when u find about what you want for cpu, downclock cpu and overclock ram. then find your middle ground.
    mobo: strix b350f
    gpu: rx580 1366/2000
    cpu: ryzen 1700 @ 3.8ghz
    ram: 32 gb gskill 2400 @ 3000
    psu: coarsair 1kw
    hdd's: samsung 500gb ssd 1tb & 3tb hdd

  10. #10
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    588
    Quote Originally Posted by i found nemo View Post
    well for all overclocking when it comes to cpu, lower ram frequency THEN overclock the cpu. when u find about what you want for cpu, downclock cpu and overclock ram. then find your middle ground.
    Thanks, but I still wait for the answers to my questions here.Yesterday, my friend sent me the latest results and have been able to reach the 3.488MHz frequency with 1.3625V CPU volts and he tested the stability with this program prime95 for 3 hours and The situation was stable and these are its settings:

    CPU Frequency [410]
    CPU Voltage [1.3625]
    NB Voltage [1.2]
    M Frequency [980]
    M Voltage [1.83]

    But when he try to push the CPU Frequency [420] There was no stability
    the question that still wait for his answer is these choices that we have in the image here? these settings? What should I do?

    WOOOOOF

  11. #11
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    waukegan
    Posts
    3,748
    upping the cpu voltage to 1.425 should help you hit 3.6ghz, but be aware of ram speed.
    Last edited by i found nemo; 10-11-2013 at 08:50 AM.
    mobo: strix b350f
    gpu: rx580 1366/2000
    cpu: ryzen 1700 @ 3.8ghz
    ram: 32 gb gskill 2400 @ 3000
    psu: coarsair 1kw
    hdd's: samsung 500gb ssd 1tb & 3tb hdd

  12. #12
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    588
    Quote Originally Posted by i found nemo View Post
    upping the cpu voltage to 1.425 should help you hit 3.6ghz, but be aware of ram speed.
    Is this safe voltage for this CPU? 1.425 voltage may cause processor damage or not?
    the ram speed is DDR3 1333MHz but for Overclocking the CPU he lower the frequency to 800MHz. is this ok?
    WOOOOOF

  13. #13
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    waukegan
    Posts
    3,748
    yes lower the ram speed, then overclock the cpu. then when he turns fsb up, his ram will speed up too. as i understand it, under 60c and 1.425v max for everyday use. but actually this cpu should overclock a bit more with the volts it has.. so maybe the instability he experienced at 420x8.5 was cause because of ram instability. not cpu instability.
    Last edited by i found nemo; 10-11-2013 at 11:46 AM.
    mobo: strix b350f
    gpu: rx580 1366/2000
    cpu: ryzen 1700 @ 3.8ghz
    ram: 32 gb gskill 2400 @ 3000
    psu: coarsair 1kw
    hdd's: samsung 500gb ssd 1tb & 3tb hdd

  14. #14
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    588
    Quote Originally Posted by i found nemo View Post
    yes lower the ram speed, then overclock the cpu. then when he turns fsb up, his ram will speed up too. as i understand it, under 60c and 1.425v max for everyday use. but actually this cpu should overclock a bit more with the volts it has.. so maybe the instability he experienced at 420x8.5 was cause because of ram instability. not cpu instability.
    ok,so you think the problem is ram instability?
    I think I agree with you in it, because my friend told me previously that he is suffering from these ram when he make it work 1333MHz.
    his Motherboard can also take ram DDR2 OR DDR3, he have DDR2 1066MHz.

    i Will tell him to try out these ram DDR2 1066MHz and tells us what will happen with him.
    WOOOOOF

  15. #15
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    waukegan
    Posts
    3,748
    sure, keep us updated.
    mobo: strix b350f
    gpu: rx580 1366/2000
    cpu: ryzen 1700 @ 3.8ghz
    ram: 32 gb gskill 2400 @ 3000
    psu: coarsair 1kw
    hdd's: samsung 500gb ssd 1tb & 3tb hdd

  16. #16
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Posts
    581

    This is how I ran a X3350, equivalent to a Q9450.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •