OCN2
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Help! System resets during "heavy combat"

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    London. UK
    Posts
    185

    Help! System resets during "heavy combat"

    My system specs are in my sig, my computer will restart by itself in Battlefield 3 during intense scenes ( i only play multiplayer if that helps ) this has never happened before, with any of my systems, ever. No BSOD involved.. Im wandering if my psu has finally given up? or reached its MTBF? i've been running it for almost 4 years. Though a cheap "watt gauge" tells me im only drawing 980watts from the wall during mid gameplay.

    All system temps are well under control.

    Any help, as always greatly appreciated and thank you in advance.
    Last edited by ell; 11-13-2011 at 11:39 AM.
    Asus Rampage II Extreme | i7 920 @ 4ghz (1.4v 200 BCLK) | 6 Gig OCZ Reaper 1866mhz | MSI GTX 480 Tri-SLi | Intel X25-M | 5 WD 1TB in RAID0 | Thermaltake 1500watt ToughPower | Samsung SM305T |

    EK Supreme | EK Mosfet Blocks | Koolance MB-ASR2E NB/SB Block | DRAM Block for MB-ASR2E | MCP355 | MCP355 | TFC XCHANGER Triple & Quad Radiators | Lian Li P80

    A man who appreciates 2560x1600



  2. #2
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Carson City, NV
    Posts
    947
    have you considered that after all these years your CPU or motherboard (or another component altogether) may have degraded and either needs more volts, or less ghz? It's sort of one of those things I've also experienced, but never really figured out exactly the cause.
    Last edited by defect9; 11-13-2011 at 12:05 PM.
    i7 2600k, 8GB 1866Mhz DDR3, GTX560 Ti, Gigabyte Z68XP-UD4, CM Cosmos 1000 Case, and some green crap everywhere.
    Quote Originally Posted by Alexandr0s View Post
    So you're saying I could use my own pee as coolant?

  3. #3
    Technician
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Merseyside, UK
    Posts
    2,624
    Tried at stock clocks? Test cpu/memory/gfx separately see if it helps.

  4. #4
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Latvia, Riga
    Posts
    3,959
    Hmm, o/c-ed i7 & tri-sli 480, 5 hdd on 4 year old 1500W. Yes, those three gpu-s under full load (especially if overclocked) might use a bit close to what PSU gives. I wouldn't change PSU though, but buy another less powerful (and cheaper) one for eg. just CPU and use them both simultaneously.

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Back and forth between Florida and Maine
    Posts
    4,097
    Probably better off posting this in the General Computer Hardware section ...

  6. #6
    Chasing After Diety
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Absolutely Speachless :O
    Posts
    11,929
    Quote Originally Posted by shazza View Post
    Probably better off posting this in the General Computer Hardware section ...
    ^ it would fit there better shazza...

    it has nothing to do with LC unless its a prior leak he had which he thinks its causing the crash.

    Sounds like hardware degradation to me... which means the OP needs to run stock and see if it crashes there.
    Nadeshiko: i7 990 12GB DDR3 eVGA Classified *In Testing... Jealous? *
    Miyuki: W3580 6GB DDR3 P6T-Dlx
    Lind: Dual Gainestown 3.07
    Sammy: Dual Yonah Sossoman cheerleader. *Sammy-> Lind.*

    [12:37] skinnee: quit helping me procrastinate block reviews, you asshat. :p
    [12:38] Naekuh: i love watching u get the firing squad on XS
    Its my fault.. and no im not sorry about it either.

  7. #7
    OVERCLOCKAHOLICS
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Hawaii
    Posts
    858
    Quote Originally Posted by NaeKuh View Post
    ^ it would fit there better shazza...

    it has nothing to do with LC unless its a prior leak he had which he thinks its causing the crash.

    Sounds like hardware degradation to me... which means the OP needs to run stock and see if it crashes there.
    lol, I was thinking the same thing.

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    319
    Try running furmark + p95 at the same time and see if it crashes then. If it crashes almost instantly and resets, then it is likely the power supply not being able to supply enough voltage to the components or the drivers having issues with tri-sli.
    MM H2gO - Win 7 Pro
    2 PA120.2 Thermochill
    MCP355 w/XSPC res top
    i5-2500k @ 5.0ghz w/Heatkiller 3.0
    Corsair HX850 - M IV Gene-z
    GTX 480 w/DD 480 ni/cu

  9. #9
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Bangkok,Thailand (DamHot)
    Posts
    2,690
    Power relate
    Intel Core i5 6600K + ASRock Z170 OC Formula + Galax HOF 4000 (8GBx2) + Antec 1200W OC Version
    EK SupremeHF + BlackIce GTX360 + Swiftech 655 + XSPC ResTop
    Macbook Pro 15" Late 2011 (i7 2760QM + HD 6770M)
    Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 (2014) , Huawei Nexus 6P
    [history system]80286 80386 80486 Cyrix K5 Pentium133 Pentium II Duron1G Athlon1G E2180 E3300 E5300 E7200 E8200 E8400 E8500 E8600 Q9550 QX6800 X3-720BE i7-920 i3-530 i5-750 Semp140@x2 955BE X4-B55 Q6600 i5-2500K i7-2600K X4-B60 X6-1055T FX-8120 i7-4790K

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    20
    Check and see if your PS fan is running, Mine wasn't and under heavy load it would shut down, then restart.. Simple fix to change Fan.. Mine is working Fine, but I moved it to a back up rig!
    i7-4770k|Asus Maximus VI Formula|16gb G.skill Ripjaws|Swiftech Apogee XT|Swiftech MCR320QP|EK X3 250 Reservoir|EK DCP4.0 pump| Evga GTX760 FTW 4gb w/EK WB


  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    487
    I had a similar issue several years back with a 1KW PC P&C. After 3 years of heavy use pushing 3 X 285"s and a heavily OC'd Intel Core2 Extreme X9650 the system started rebooting during games. The PSU is still in use today just in a lot less demanding system. What is the warranty on that PSU of yours?

    Intel Core i7-2600K---> Koolance 370
    3 X EVGA 480 GTX SC's Watercooled--> Koolance VID-NX480 blocks, HWLabs GTX 480, Liang D5 Vario
    Koolance RP-45X2 Reservoir
    Corsair Obsidian 800D
    Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD7-B3 MB
    SILVERSTONE ST1500 1500W PSU
    16G CORSAIR DOMINATOR-GT (4 x 4GB) PC3 12800
    2 X Kingston HyperX SH100S3B/120G SATA 3 in RAID 0
    1 X WD Caviar Black 1TB
    Dell 3007 WFP-HC
    Z-5500's
    Windows 7 64bit

  12. #12
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Melbourne, Oz
    Posts
    645
    Resets like that generally points to the GPU overclocked to high.

    Turn that down a few notches, and let's see how you go.
    Never argue with Idiots...they will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience!
    i-Prodigy (small APD2 GFX/CPU waterloop) ; HP Blackbird Project Log (dual-Xeon Watercooled) ; Macho Mini Project Log (Sandybridge watercooled mini-ITX)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •