Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: DFI NFII Ultra Infinity VDD mod

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    The Netherlands, Friesland
    Posts
    35

    DFI NFII Ultra Infinity VDD mod

    Is there any Vdd for the DFI NFII Ultra Infinity?
    I can do 250 MHz FSB but it's not very stable. Lowering the timings and 3,65 Vdimm wont help, so i think my mem is not the bottleneck (Winbond CH-5)
    DFI nF4 Ultra-D
    Gigabyte Geforce 6600 GT
    2x 256MB Adata /BH5 (268 - 1,5-2-2-5)
    -35 deg. C R290 / 1/5HP waterchiller

    Ministry of Overclocking Contests

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    michigan
    Posts
    220
    Iam thinking that bh-5 are the ones that love voltage.
    q6600 fuzion cooled
    abit ip35pro
    8800gts 512 fuzion cooled

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    437
    Holst?

    I'm at 265MHz now. 266 reboots on me and more Vdimm doesn't work. Also..on 240 it wont run prime at 1.8V Vdd. Vdd mod would be greatly apreciated.

  4. #4
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Keller, TX
    Posts
    1,126
    I think this is where the VDD mod can be done. I'll try it tomorrow and let you guys know. But I need a favor first. Could anyone check the volt on the left leg of the FET on the pic. My board is not setup and I can't go into the BIOS to raise the VDD and check if the voltage "changes" on that FET. I measured it and it reads 1.52v, is it the default voltage for the board?

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    437
    I think thats AGP voltage.. I have raised mine to 1.6 and it reads 1.61V. Default is 1.5V and would read your value. The other leg reads 3.3V line I think. It reads 3.43V here and I've modded mine to that.

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    437
    Ok..measured some more..

    On the other side of the AGP slot there is a cap, fet and coil in a group. It's between the dimms and the AGP slot. The fet is right above a screwhole. That fet reads Vdd voltage. I checked at 1.7V and it showed 1.7V, I raised Vdd to 1.8V and it showed 1.8V.

  7. #7
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Keller, TX
    Posts
    1,126
    Solder pin 6 to pin 4 via 100k trimmer, lower resistance for more volts.

    I got 1.63 @ 60.5kohm, so you could start at 60-70kohm, if you will.
    Last edited by Malves; 02-09-2004 at 11:12 AM.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Leics UK
    Posts
    4,200
    Brilliant Malves, thanks for the help.

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    437
    Excellent work as always guys!!!! Now i only need a pot..aargghh

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    The Netherlands, Friesland
    Posts
    35
    Nice job!
    Unfortunately my DFI died past weekend, so i am looking for a new one.
    DFI nF4 Ultra-D
    Gigabyte Geforce 6600 GT
    2x 256MB Adata /BH5 (268 - 1,5-2-2-5)
    -35 deg. C R290 / 1/5HP waterchiller

    Ministry of Overclocking Contests

  11. #11
    AMD Fanboy
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    San Luis Obispo, California
    Posts
    2,408
    the abit AN7 has the exact same mod!

    i was right!

    i was workin on finding that that hard way.. plug and test.. lol

    i guess i was right that WAS vdd! w00t! GJ on the mod
    Dell Studio XPS16... no desktop
    yes i have AIM, yes you can send me a message. EvilSpork3 i dare you.

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    437
    Any gains so far??? I didn't do the mod yet, maybe I should. I lose my mouse @ 263MHz. Could that be it?

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    3
    did someone the mod for the abit an7??

    please reply

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    9
    Originally posted by Evil_Spork
    the abit AN7 has the exact same mod!

    i was right!

    i was workin on finding that that hard way.. plug and test.. lol

    i guess i was right that WAS vdd! w00t! GJ on the mod
    The lay-out is different on AN7, so is the orientation of the chip and it's name. I measured NB voltage between one of the legs and earth.

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    9
    It's says LM358 on my chip also, but the rest of the text does not correspond.

  16. #16
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1
    The Mod don,t work on the AN7. I,f test it. I turned down the Trimmer to 0 Ohm and the Voltage don,t change.

    Look at this Link: http://www.onsemi.com/pub/Collateral/LM358-D.PDF

    LRP
    Last edited by LRP; 04-13-2004 at 08:05 AM.

  17. #17
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    93
    I have done this mod with no change no matter what the resistance. I have changed wires, checked the ohms right on the trimmer and it reads where it should but no change. Has anyone got this to work on the Ultra Infinity or what am I doing wrong here? It reads 1.63v on the fet above the agp slot with no change.
    Last edited by WannaOC; 07-11-2004 at 11:42 AM.
    P4 630 @ 4131 1.425V, Abit AS8 @ 275 FSB w/ vagp & vdroop mods, 1x1024 OCZ PC3200 (Contact me if you have one to sell!!), Gainward 6800GT
    2.4C, Abit AI7, OCZ PC4400 Gold, eVGA gForce4 MX 360/297
    XP2400-M, DFI Ultra Infinity w/ VDIMM & VDD mods 250x10, Buffalo CH-5 1:1 @ 3.4V, GForce4 420MX

  18. #18
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Engineering Lab - NCSU
    Posts
    3,098
    I have done this mod on a couple of DFI boards and they all worked.

    Can you post a pic of the mod you did bud, and where you are checking Vdd?


    I like my women the way I like my processors...naked.
    I am not the HellFire that writes bios files. I work strictly on voltage modifications.

  19. #19
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    93

    Question

    I got my hands on another UI and I'm still not getting this mod right I guess so I'm raising this thread from the dead. I'm using a 50k trimmer attached to the chip at the marked spots and I'm checking it at the marked spot on the other pic.

    With the mod off the vdd check spot shows 2.6v when the vdd is set to 1.8 and 2.75v when set to 1.9v in the BIOS. I am able to get that up to 3.0v with the trimmer but I see no change in stability so I'm not sure if it is actually changing the vdd. I may be maxed out on my ram but I would still like to find out what I'm doing wrong. I figure after two mods on two boards and neither works it got to be something I'm doing wrong, can anyone help me out?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    P4 630 @ 4131 1.425V, Abit AS8 @ 275 FSB w/ vagp & vdroop mods, 1x1024 OCZ PC3200 (Contact me if you have one to sell!!), Gainward 6800GT
    2.4C, Abit AI7, OCZ PC4400 Gold, eVGA gForce4 MX 360/297
    XP2400-M, DFI Ultra Infinity w/ VDIMM & VDD mods 250x10, Buffalo CH-5 1:1 @ 3.4V, GForce4 420MX

  20. #20
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Saginaw, Michigan
    Posts
    473
    http://www.malvescorner.net/nfii.html

    Recommends using a 100k trimmer, but you seem to have all the points right. Could be other factors why you can't go higher on fsb.

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •