Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 31

Thread: Mining With LTC

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    220

    Mining With LTC

    I started this as a trail off from Here in an effort to not hijack that thread. This being the case, the thread is about mining litecoin, and configuring it, because I am having trouble getting my cards mining efficiently enough so I thought it would be beneficial to start a thread in case any other litecoin noobs run into some issues.

    That being said, the 5770 is running on xubuntu x64 12.04.2 LTS with the fglrx 8.911 drivers. And I am using cgminer 2.10.3 with the following args:
    Code:
    ./cgminer --scrypt -o http://ltc.kattare.com:9332 --intensity 18 --worksize 256 --shaders 800 --auto-fan --auto-gpu --lookup-gap 2 -g 1
    Thanks you guys in advance. I can throw you a tip if you shoot me your addy.
    Last edited by desnudopenguino; 04-16-2013 at 07:49 PM. Reason: forgot a little info

    Desktop (and Cruncher #1):AMD Phenom II x6 1090T @ 4.03Ghz | Gigabyte MA790FXT-UD5P (F8n) | G.Skill Ripjaws 2x4GB @ 9-9-9-24-1T 1680MHz | Radeon HD 5850 & 5830 | Silverstone ST75F 750W | 60GB OCZ Vertex 2 3x1TB WD RE3 (Raid 5) | Lian Li PC-A70B
    Cruncher (#2): Intel Core I7 920 (stock) | EVGA X58 SLI | G.Skill Pi 3x2GB | 2x Radeon HD 6870 | Corsair HX850 | Some Janky HDD | LanCool PC-K7
    Cruncher (#3): Intel Core I7 2600k (stock) | BioStar TH67+ | G.Skill Ripjaws 2x4GB | Antec Basiq550 | Some Janky HDD | Antec 300
    Server: Intel Atom | 2x2GB DDR3 | ThermalRight TR2-430 | Some Less Janky Laptop HDD | Fractal Core-1000
    Mobile: Lenovo X120e

  2. #2
    Xtreme 3D Team
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,482
    Switch pools, burnside's pool is ****. I'm at give-me-ltc.com, seeing much better results...like 20% better.

    I'm mining on Windows after I spent hours upon hours tweaking on 12.04 LTS, AMD's fglrx drivers are utter crap, it was okay for 5x00 series in 2011 but they are literally FUBAR lately, they don't correctly support the latest X.org so there are no functioning 3D drivers at all for 12.10 for example.
    Smile

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    220
    Ok, cool. I was on xurious' pool but they got wicked unstable, so i jumped over to burnside's pool, but it's been showing the ugly lately as well. I'll give give-me-ltc a shot.

    I agree amd's drivers are poop on *nix. At this point, I'm trying to avoid buying win licenses. I may switch though if this gets enough pull from me.

    I also rebooted my computer, and now I'm pulling about 143 khash/s. I'll play around with it some more tomorrow after work and life.

    Thanks mate!

    Desktop (and Cruncher #1):AMD Phenom II x6 1090T @ 4.03Ghz | Gigabyte MA790FXT-UD5P (F8n) | G.Skill Ripjaws 2x4GB @ 9-9-9-24-1T 1680MHz | Radeon HD 5850 & 5830 | Silverstone ST75F 750W | 60GB OCZ Vertex 2 3x1TB WD RE3 (Raid 5) | Lian Li PC-A70B
    Cruncher (#2): Intel Core I7 920 (stock) | EVGA X58 SLI | G.Skill Pi 3x2GB | 2x Radeon HD 6870 | Corsair HX850 | Some Janky HDD | LanCool PC-K7
    Cruncher (#3): Intel Core I7 2600k (stock) | BioStar TH67+ | G.Skill Ripjaws 2x4GB | Antec Basiq550 | Some Janky HDD | Antec 300
    Server: Intel Atom | 2x2GB DDR3 | ThermalRight TR2-430 | Some Less Janky Laptop HDD | Fractal Core-1000
    Mobile: Lenovo X120e

  4. #4
    Xtreme 3D Team
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,482
    People buy those?

    I can't help you much with the miner since cgminer and reaper are a little different, but try using a lower aggression level of 17 and instead of gpu_shaders use thread_concurrency 3200.
    Smile

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    220
    I did some tweaking, but i seem to be stuck around 160 khash/s. maybe switching to reaper will help.

    Desktop (and Cruncher #1):AMD Phenom II x6 1090T @ 4.03Ghz | Gigabyte MA790FXT-UD5P (F8n) | G.Skill Ripjaws 2x4GB @ 9-9-9-24-1T 1680MHz | Radeon HD 5850 & 5830 | Silverstone ST75F 750W | 60GB OCZ Vertex 2 3x1TB WD RE3 (Raid 5) | Lian Li PC-A70B
    Cruncher (#2): Intel Core I7 920 (stock) | EVGA X58 SLI | G.Skill Pi 3x2GB | 2x Radeon HD 6870 | Corsair HX850 | Some Janky HDD | LanCool PC-K7
    Cruncher (#3): Intel Core I7 2600k (stock) | BioStar TH67+ | G.Skill Ripjaws 2x4GB | Antec Basiq550 | Some Janky HDD | Antec 300
    Server: Intel Atom | 2x2GB DDR3 | ThermalRight TR2-430 | Some Less Janky Laptop HDD | Fractal Core-1000
    Mobile: Lenovo X120e

  6. #6
    Xtreme 3D Team
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,482
    What core/mem speeds?
    At stock that sounds about right.

    I'm running 930/1280
    Smile

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    39
    Quote Originally Posted by BeepBeep2 View Post
    Switch pools, burnside's pool is ****. I'm at give-me-ltc.com, seeing much better results...like 20% better.

    I'm mining on Windows after I spent hours upon hours tweaking on 12.04 LTS, AMD's fglrx drivers are utter crap, it was okay for 5x00 series in 2011 but they are literally FUBAR lately, they don't correctly support the latest X.org so there are no functioning 3D drivers at all for 12.10 for example.
    I agree with amd's fgrlx drivers. I have been fighting them for 3-4 days. I am installing a full 7 install tonight, so that my new stuff can start mining.

  8. #8
    Xtreme Addict Evantaur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,040
    http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownloa...2&lang=English

    Code:
    cd /tmp
    wget http://www2.ati.com/drivers/linux/amd-driver-installer-catalyst-13.1-linux-x86.x86_64.zip
    unzip amd-driver-installer-catalyst-13.1-linux-x86.x86_64.zip
    chmod +x amd-driver-installer-catalyst-13.1-linux-x86.x86_64.run
    sudo ./amd-driver-installer-catalyst-13.1-linux-x86.x86_64.run
    those drivers you get from apt-get are outdated

    I like large posteriors and I cannot prevaricate

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    39
    I tried 13.1 and 13.3. also tried sdk 2.7 and 2.8. I could never get everything working properly. Either it would not mine, or it would not see all of my gpu's. I am not a linux expert, but I have used it a little bit. I tried ubuntu and I also tried a walkthrough on btcforums that used centos.

  10. #10
    Xtreme Addict Evantaur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,040
    you need to be logged in to a graphical desktop in order to be able to use your ati cards for mining (or anything else) it's an AMD thing

    if you just start it up and try to run that command via SSH it won't detect your cards


    easiest way to do so is
    sudo nano /etc/lightdm/lightdm.conf

    and find (ctrl + w)

    #autologin-user=

    uncomment that one and add your username to it
    Last edited by Evantaur; 04-19-2013 at 04:42 PM.

    I like large posteriors and I cannot prevaricate

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Buenos Aires
    Posts
    307
    I get 160khash with an oced 5670 man...Jus sayin.
    Try Windows 7, guiminer and 13.1 drivers. That just works
    Also as beep said, give-me-ltc.com is where it's at. (stratum is neat)

  12. #12
    Xtreme 3D Team
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,482
    Please keep this config buried in this little thread...

    5770 - ~210-230 khash/s in reaper, 190-245 khash/s measured by pool @ 920/1325, 1-3% stales, no hw errors
    Windows 7 SP1, AMD 13.1 drivers w/included APP SDK

    Reaper Beta 13 v4 -
    gpu_thread_concurrency 9600
    worksize 256
    vectors 1
    aggression 17
    threads_per_gpu 2
    sharethreads 16
    lookup_gap 2

    Last edited by BeepBeep2; 04-20-2013 at 12:24 PM.
    Smile

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    220
    Hey... People are actually posting stuff! Sorry I haven't been back since my last post. Grad school is kicking my butt pretty hard right now, but when I get some time, I will try the settings suggested, and see if I have another copy of 7 I can dig out and use.

    And a big thank you to the contributors so far! Mayhaps we could set up an XS pool some time in the future?

    Desktop (and Cruncher #1):AMD Phenom II x6 1090T @ 4.03Ghz | Gigabyte MA790FXT-UD5P (F8n) | G.Skill Ripjaws 2x4GB @ 9-9-9-24-1T 1680MHz | Radeon HD 5850 & 5830 | Silverstone ST75F 750W | 60GB OCZ Vertex 2 3x1TB WD RE3 (Raid 5) | Lian Li PC-A70B
    Cruncher (#2): Intel Core I7 920 (stock) | EVGA X58 SLI | G.Skill Pi 3x2GB | 2x Radeon HD 6870 | Corsair HX850 | Some Janky HDD | LanCool PC-K7
    Cruncher (#3): Intel Core I7 2600k (stock) | BioStar TH67+ | G.Skill Ripjaws 2x4GB | Antec Basiq550 | Some Janky HDD | Antec 300
    Server: Intel Atom | 2x2GB DDR3 | ThermalRight TR2-430 | Some Less Janky Laptop HDD | Fractal Core-1000
    Mobile: Lenovo X120e

  14. #14
    Xtreme 3D Team
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,482
    I am actually already a little interested in doing so.

    As far as windows 7 goes, just don't activate it...
    Smile

  15. #15
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    NE Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,556
    So is it still worth getting into this? I mean I have a 7770 and a 7950 sitting idle right now.
    Home PC -- 24/7 Cruncher #1
    GA-P67A-UD4-B3 BIOS F8 mod, 2600k (L051B138) @ 4.5 GHz, 1.260v full load, Arctic Liquid 120, (Boots Win7 @ 5.6 GHz per Massman binning)
    Samsung Green 2x4GB @2133 C10, 2x MSI 1660ti, Vertex 4 128GB, 2x3TB WD Red RAID1, BR Burner, Win7 Ult x64, Enthoo Pro, HX750

    Work PC -- 24/7 Cruncher #2 ... Crucial M225 64GB SSD Donated to Endurance Testing (Died at 968 TB of writes...no that is not a typo!)
    GA-EP45T-UD3LR BIOS F10 modded, Q6600 G0 VID 1.212 (L731B536), 3.6 GHz 9x400 @ 1.312v full load, Zerotherm Zen FZ120
    OCZ 2x2GB DDR3-1600MHz C7, Gigabyte 7950 @1200/1250, Crucial MX100 128GB, 2x1TB WD Red RAID1, Win7 Ent x64, Centurion 590, XFX PRO650W

    Music System
    SB Server->SB Touch w/Android Tablet as a remote->S/PDIF->Denon AVR-X3300W->JBL Studio Series Floorstanding Speakers


  16. #16
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    448
    You know, I wanted to get started with this but I had problems setting everything up. Maybe I should add that to my list o' things to do this weekend.
    Desktop rigs:
    Oysterhead- Intel i5-2320 CPU@3.0Ghz, Zalman 9500AT2, 8Gb Patriot 1333Mhz DDR3 RAM, 120Gb Kingston V200+ SSD, 1Tb Seagate HD, Linux Mint 17 Cinnamon 64 bit, LG 330W PSU

    Flying Frog Brigade-Intel Xeon W3520@2.66Ghz, 6Gb Hynix 1066Mhz DDR3 RAM, 640Gb Hitachi HD, 512Mb GDDR5 AMD HD4870, Mac OSX 10.6.8/Linux Mint 14 Cinnamon dual boot

    Laptop:
    Colonel Claypool-Intel T6600 Core 2 Duo, 4Gb 1066Mhz DDR3 RAM, 1Gb GDDR3 Nvidia 230M,240Gb Edge SATA6 SSD, Windows 7 Home 64 bit




  17. #17
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Seattle WA
    Posts
    334
    I wonder what 2 7990's could do.....

  18. #18
    Xtremely High Voltage Sparky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    16,048
    Are you guys doing this actually making any "real" money off this or is it simply a fun side project to tinker with?

    Only reason I'd really want to get into this is if it could offset my electric bill by more than it adds to it
    The Cardboard Master
    Crunch with us, the XS WCG team
    Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz, 16GB DDR3-1600, Radeon 7950 @ 1000/1250, Win 10 Pro x64

  19. #19
    NooB MOD
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    5,804
    I have two friends that each bought eight Radeon HD 7950s spread across four machines purely for Litecoin. They're turning over about $1,000 per month (each), meaning the four PCs are paid off within six months. I'll get a picture for you...

    And on another note. Which drivers are you guys using? I know 13.1 is the ideal, but it's old and glitchy with some newer games (my machine isn't a dedicated miner). I'm currently on 13.3 Beta 3, but would like to know how it compares to newer drivers such as 13.4, 13.5 Beta, 13.5 Beta 2 and 13.5 Beta 3.
    Xtreme SUPERCOMPUTER
    Nov 1 - Nov 8 Join Now!


    Quote Originally Posted by Jowy Atreides View Post
    Intel is about to get athlon'd
    Athlon64 3700+ KACAE 0605APAW @ 3455MHz 314x11 1.92v/Vapochill || Core 2 Duo E8500 Q807 @ 6060MHz 638x9.5 1.95v LN2 @ -120'c || Athlon64 FX-55 CABCE 0516WPMW @ 3916MHz 261x15 1.802v/LN2 @ -40c || DFI LP UT CFX3200-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra D || Sapphire X1950XT || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 290MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v || 2x256MB G.Skill TCCD @ 350MHz 3-4-4-8 3.1v || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 294MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v

  20. #20
    Xtremely High Voltage Sparky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    16,048


    My single 7950 would easily pay for my electric bill right now, and then some. Wow. Could maybe use it to actually fund some crunchers.
    The Cardboard Master
    Crunch with us, the XS WCG team
    Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz, 16GB DDR3-1600, Radeon 7950 @ 1000/1250, Win 10 Pro x64

  21. #21
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    NE Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,556
    Does anyone have an "idiot's guide to setting up litecoin".
    I have a 7770 and a 7950 I would like to get up and running on win7 x64 using cgminer and reaper and using give-me-ltc pool.
    Home PC -- 24/7 Cruncher #1
    GA-P67A-UD4-B3 BIOS F8 mod, 2600k (L051B138) @ 4.5 GHz, 1.260v full load, Arctic Liquid 120, (Boots Win7 @ 5.6 GHz per Massman binning)
    Samsung Green 2x4GB @2133 C10, 2x MSI 1660ti, Vertex 4 128GB, 2x3TB WD Red RAID1, BR Burner, Win7 Ult x64, Enthoo Pro, HX750

    Work PC -- 24/7 Cruncher #2 ... Crucial M225 64GB SSD Donated to Endurance Testing (Died at 968 TB of writes...no that is not a typo!)
    GA-EP45T-UD3LR BIOS F10 modded, Q6600 G0 VID 1.212 (L731B536), 3.6 GHz 9x400 @ 1.312v full load, Zerotherm Zen FZ120
    OCZ 2x2GB DDR3-1600MHz C7, Gigabyte 7950 @1200/1250, Crucial MX100 128GB, 2x1TB WD Red RAID1, Win7 Ent x64, Centurion 590, XFX PRO650W

    Music System
    SB Server->SB Touch w/Android Tablet as a remote->S/PDIF->Denon AVR-X3300W->JBL Studio Series Floorstanding Speakers


  22. #22
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    448
    Quote Originally Posted by bluestang View Post
    Does anyone have an "idiot's guide to setting up litecoin".
    I have a 7770 and a 7950 I would like to get up and running on win7 x64 using cgminer and reaper and using give-me-ltc pool.
    Yeah I second that. I tried setting up on cgminer and reaper using the give me ltc pool and all I got was errors.

    Also, my anti-virus tagged my cgminer download.
    Last edited by yojimbo197; 06-05-2013 at 10:53 AM.
    Desktop rigs:
    Oysterhead- Intel i5-2320 CPU@3.0Ghz, Zalman 9500AT2, 8Gb Patriot 1333Mhz DDR3 RAM, 120Gb Kingston V200+ SSD, 1Tb Seagate HD, Linux Mint 17 Cinnamon 64 bit, LG 330W PSU

    Flying Frog Brigade-Intel Xeon W3520@2.66Ghz, 6Gb Hynix 1066Mhz DDR3 RAM, 640Gb Hitachi HD, 512Mb GDDR5 AMD HD4870, Mac OSX 10.6.8/Linux Mint 14 Cinnamon dual boot

    Laptop:
    Colonel Claypool-Intel T6600 Core 2 Duo, 4Gb 1066Mhz DDR3 RAM, 1Gb GDDR3 Nvidia 230M,240Gb Edge SATA6 SSD, Windows 7 Home 64 bit




  23. #23
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    NE Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,556
    Home PC -- 24/7 Cruncher #1
    GA-P67A-UD4-B3 BIOS F8 mod, 2600k (L051B138) @ 4.5 GHz, 1.260v full load, Arctic Liquid 120, (Boots Win7 @ 5.6 GHz per Massman binning)
    Samsung Green 2x4GB @2133 C10, 2x MSI 1660ti, Vertex 4 128GB, 2x3TB WD Red RAID1, BR Burner, Win7 Ult x64, Enthoo Pro, HX750

    Work PC -- 24/7 Cruncher #2 ... Crucial M225 64GB SSD Donated to Endurance Testing (Died at 968 TB of writes...no that is not a typo!)
    GA-EP45T-UD3LR BIOS F10 modded, Q6600 G0 VID 1.212 (L731B536), 3.6 GHz 9x400 @ 1.312v full load, Zerotherm Zen FZ120
    OCZ 2x2GB DDR3-1600MHz C7, Gigabyte 7950 @1200/1250, Crucial MX100 128GB, 2x1TB WD Red RAID1, Win7 Ent x64, Centurion 590, XFX PRO650W

    Music System
    SB Server->SB Touch w/Android Tablet as a remote->S/PDIF->Denon AVR-X3300W->JBL Studio Series Floorstanding Speakers


  24. #24
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    448
    That guide looked pretty nice.

    Unfortunately the bat file they tell you to make didn't work for me. Whenever I double click it, a DOS command window pops up and then disappears before I can even see what went wrong.
    Desktop rigs:
    Oysterhead- Intel i5-2320 CPU@3.0Ghz, Zalman 9500AT2, 8Gb Patriot 1333Mhz DDR3 RAM, 120Gb Kingston V200+ SSD, 1Tb Seagate HD, Linux Mint 17 Cinnamon 64 bit, LG 330W PSU

    Flying Frog Brigade-Intel Xeon W3520@2.66Ghz, 6Gb Hynix 1066Mhz DDR3 RAM, 640Gb Hitachi HD, 512Mb GDDR5 AMD HD4870, Mac OSX 10.6.8/Linux Mint 14 Cinnamon dual boot

    Laptop:
    Colonel Claypool-Intel T6600 Core 2 Duo, 4Gb 1066Mhz DDR3 RAM, 1Gb GDDR3 Nvidia 230M,240Gb Edge SATA6 SSD, Windows 7 Home 64 bit




  25. #25
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    NE Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,556
    OK, I thought it was just my one PC I tried it on cuz it didn't work for me either.
    Home PC -- 24/7 Cruncher #1
    GA-P67A-UD4-B3 BIOS F8 mod, 2600k (L051B138) @ 4.5 GHz, 1.260v full load, Arctic Liquid 120, (Boots Win7 @ 5.6 GHz per Massman binning)
    Samsung Green 2x4GB @2133 C10, 2x MSI 1660ti, Vertex 4 128GB, 2x3TB WD Red RAID1, BR Burner, Win7 Ult x64, Enthoo Pro, HX750

    Work PC -- 24/7 Cruncher #2 ... Crucial M225 64GB SSD Donated to Endurance Testing (Died at 968 TB of writes...no that is not a typo!)
    GA-EP45T-UD3LR BIOS F10 modded, Q6600 G0 VID 1.212 (L731B536), 3.6 GHz 9x400 @ 1.312v full load, Zerotherm Zen FZ120
    OCZ 2x2GB DDR3-1600MHz C7, Gigabyte 7950 @1200/1250, Crucial MX100 128GB, 2x1TB WD Red RAID1, Win7 Ent x64, Centurion 590, XFX PRO650W

    Music System
    SB Server->SB Touch w/Android Tablet as a remote->S/PDIF->Denon AVR-X3300W->JBL Studio Series Floorstanding Speakers


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •