Thread: Asus HD 7970 Matrix Platinum........Artifacting?

Asus HD 7970 Matrix Platinum........Artifacting?

I have just purchased the above card and all seemed ok until I started playing "World of Tanks". Does anyone know what sort of temps I should be getting with this card? Game is set to max everything and resolution is 1920x1080. After about an hour of playing this game it started to artifact so bad I had to quit the game. I am worried I might damaging the card if I continue to play my favourite game, but surly this card should be able to handle the game at max settings, as my friend is using a Gigabyte Windforce Ghz 7970 in an almost identical system and case and his temps are approximately 56? where as mine are hitting 75?? I was using the official 13.1 drivers and have since installed the 13.3 Beta, but still getting the same problem. Could it be a faulty card or as my friend thinks it may be that the thermal paste is not making contact with the GPU? Previous to this I had an EVGA GTX 680 at the same settings and it never once gave me a problem or got hot like the Asus 7970. I don't want RMA due to the hassle especially with Asus in the UK unless I have to. The card is at factory settings. Room tempature 20?.
    Asus RIVE | Intel Core i7-3960X | Prolimatech Megahalems |Corsair AX860i | Cosmos S | Asus HD 7970 Matrix Platinum | Windows 7 Ultimate 64 | 16GB Corsair Dominator GT | Samsung S27A950D | ASUS Xonar D2X | Samsung 256GB SSD 840 PRO |

Xtreme Member
    replace tim and try the card in another mobo,

Quote Originally Posted by subzero 1979 View Post
    replace tim and try the card in another mobo,
    Won't replacing the TIM invalidate the warranty? If not what's the best TIM to use or does it really matter?
    Asus RIVE | Intel Core i7-3960X | Prolimatech Megahalems |Corsair AX860i | Cosmos S | Asus HD 7970 Matrix Platinum | Windows 7 Ultimate 64 | 16GB Corsair Dominator GT | Samsung S27A950D | ASUS Xonar D2X | Samsung 256GB SSD 840 PRO |

c[_]