Thread: Help me build my dream video editing & storage machine

Help me build my dream video editing & storage machine

Hi hopefully this is the proper part of the forum to post this into

First I have to confess that I build my last pc over 6 years ago and I since then did not read up or follow any computer magazines or test. You could easy say that Im a noob. BUT I have a once in a lifetime opportunity to build a video encoding/ storage server machine and my work will cover the costs.

From the little reading I did I think that the PC-D8000 case from Lian Li would be perfect for my needs... http://www.lian-li.com/v2/en/product...s_index=62&g=f

The machine needs as much cpu power as possible for video encoding and the plan is to have a 20-25 hdd raid. I know that Id like a water cooled system with a Intel i7 extreme. But i really dont know wich components would be the best for my needs and wich components fit well together.... I need the raid and the cpu encoding power for work but if those criteria are filled and if the case allows It I'd pitch in for a sli system myself and just use the system for work & play.

Open to any suggestions

Bump

V3 Xeons coming soon!
    Where are you located?
    Crunch with us, the XS WCG team
    The XS WCG team needs your support.
    A good project with good goals.
    Come join us,get that warm fuzzy feeling that you've done something good for mankind.

Quote Originally Posted by Frisch View Post
    If you have lost faith in humanity, then hold a newborn in your hands.

what kind of video work are you doing that you need 20+ drives, and where are you located so we can get a parts list?