Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Multiple CPUs in 3Dmark ??

  1. #1
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Sydney , Australia
    Posts
    1,604
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Multiple CPUs in 3Dmark ??

    Guys, I know this is the right place to ask so here it goes:

    I have been happily benching on water for a while now and I really like the strong physics scores that 2011 cpus give, it makes it easier to get a strong total score with lots of gpu power and I hate seeing strong graphics scores being held back by a weak cpu, so this leads me to wonder about 8 core Xeons. I can not find any results anywhere (even bad ones) with one or more Xeons in 3Dmark, does anyone have a pair of Xeons and a 3D11 score to show? I saw that Brian on hwbot (Team Russia) has a GTX680 on a Z9PE-D8 with a pair of 2687w's but again no 3Dmark submissions .....

    Any help would be great.

    Bencher/Gamer(1) 4930K - Asus R4E - 2x R9 290x - G.skill Pi 2200c7 or Team 2400LV 4x4GB - EK Supreme HF - SR1-420 - Qnix 2560x1440
    Netbox AMD 5600K - Gigabyte mitx - Aten DVI/USB/120Hz KVM
    PB 1xTitan=16453(3D11), 1xGTX680=13343(3D11), 1x GTX580=8733(3D11)38000(3D06) 1x7970=12059(3D11)40000(vantage)395k(AM3) Folding for team 24

    AUSTRALIAN DRAG RACING http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OFsbfEIy3Yw

  2. #2
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    4,812
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Problem with the 8c CPUs is that there is no K/X-sku for overclocking. Given the limited BCLK overclocking capabilities of the dual socket boards (no 1.25x gear ratio support), the maximum CPU frequency for those CPUs is very low. In 3DMark you need to have a decently overclocked CPU for the game tests as well, especially in a multi-GPU configuration. So, it's better to have a highly overclocked single CPU part than a only slightly overclocked dual CPU.
    Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

  3. #3
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Sydney , Australia
    Posts
    1,604
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    I guess they dont clock ram well either, I would have thought 16 cores at 3ghz (or a little more) would outrun 6 cores at 5ghz (only Vantage onwards, ones that like multiple cores)

    Bencher/Gamer(1) 4930K - Asus R4E - 2x R9 290x - G.skill Pi 2200c7 or Team 2400LV 4x4GB - EK Supreme HF - SR1-420 - Qnix 2560x1440
    Netbox AMD 5600K - Gigabyte mitx - Aten DVI/USB/120Hz KVM
    PB 1xTitan=16453(3D11), 1xGTX680=13343(3D11), 1x GTX580=8733(3D11)38000(3D06) 1x7970=12059(3D11)40000(vantage)395k(AM3) Folding for team 24

    AUSTRALIAN DRAG RACING http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OFsbfEIy3Yw

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Buenos Aires
    Posts
    307
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    Na, you're better off with a 3930k that's a good ocer or even a high clocked 3770k for that matter, with fast 2666mhz ram or 2800 cl9 if possible.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    33
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0
    I've tested 2 2690's on an SR-X but with those 2 on stock you get about 43k cpu in vantage and only uses 24 cores max afaik. It's not really going to get any better than that.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •