MMM
    X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Some advice on Ram overclocking required!

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    283

    Some advice on Ram overclocking required!

    Hi all,

    I have the system you see in the signature.

    Currently I have the x3380 CPU at 9.5x444mhz and it can prime95 for 10 hours without any problems.

    However this is with my Corsair XMS3 DHX 1600mhz C9 @ 444*2.66 and not proper quad band...That's not even on 1200mhz sticks that should be able to handle 1600 at least.

    The timings I use are 9-9-9-24 so not very pushy.

    If I try 3.33 memory band (1480mhz for the ram that is), the system becomes unstable. I get BSODs, or prime95 has errors etc.

    I tried slightly raising the voltage to 1.84 for the ram, that didn't help either.

    I am thinking of getting the dominator platinum 2133 8gb kit. Do you think this will allow me to run the system without issues at 4* for the ram?

    Look forward to the thoughts of you experts and I thank you in advance for taking the time to give me a hand with this as it's quite frustrating
    Last edited by LoWRiDeR; 01-20-2013 at 01:43 AM.
    GIGABYTE Z97X Gaming 3
    Intel i7-4790K Devil's Canyon @ 4.5ghz
    NXZT 340S
    Corsair H110i & Corsair Link
    2x8GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3-2133
    ASUS Strix GTX1080Ti OC
    Storage:
    1. 2xSamsung 850 Pro 250GB SSD
    2. Samsung 860 Pro 250GB SSD
    3. Samsung 970 Evo M.2 250GB SSD
    4. WD Caviar SATAII 1TB 32 mb cache
    5. Seagate SATAII 320GB 16mb cache
    6. Samsung 2.5" SATAII 320GB 8mb cache
    7. HGST(PS4) 2.5" SATAII 500GB 8mb cache
    8. Maxtor SATAI 120GB 8mb cache
    Corsair AX1200i PSU
    Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    18
    I thought Xeons can't OC their rams ?

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    283
    What do y mean? Dont all C2Qs have quad band?

    Sent from my GT-9100@1600mhz Exynos/400mhz Mali
    CyanogenMod 10.1 MCM JB 4.2.1 & Siyah v5
    GIGABYTE Z97X Gaming 3
    Intel i7-4790K Devil's Canyon @ 4.5ghz
    NXZT 340S
    Corsair H110i & Corsair Link
    2x8GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3-2133
    ASUS Strix GTX1080Ti OC
    Storage:
    1. 2xSamsung 850 Pro 250GB SSD
    2. Samsung 860 Pro 250GB SSD
    3. Samsung 970 Evo M.2 250GB SSD
    4. WD Caviar SATAII 1TB 32 mb cache
    5. Seagate SATAII 320GB 16mb cache
    6. Samsung 2.5" SATAII 320GB 8mb cache
    7. HGST(PS4) 2.5" SATAII 500GB 8mb cache
    8. Maxtor SATAI 120GB 8mb cache
    Corsair AX1200i PSU
    Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Buenos Aires
    Posts
    307
    You're already underclocking the ram then? Doesn't sound like faster ram will benefit you with that cpu of yours. I'd get some crucial ram instead, it will play nicely with high voltage and tighter timings at lower clocks.

  5. #5
    Xtreme Addict Evantaur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,040
    XMS3 caused me to have stability issues as well, switched to g.skill and problems went away

    I like large posteriors and I cannot prevaricate

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    283
    Yes i am underclocking otherwise bsods...Ok so it is probably the ram. Ill get some new sticks and try again.

    Sent from my GT-9100@1600mhz Exynos/400mhz Mali
    CyanogenMod 10.1 MCM JB 4.2.1 & Siyah v5
    Last edited by LoWRiDeR; 01-20-2013 at 05:33 AM.
    GIGABYTE Z97X Gaming 3
    Intel i7-4790K Devil's Canyon @ 4.5ghz
    NXZT 340S
    Corsair H110i & Corsair Link
    2x8GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3-2133
    ASUS Strix GTX1080Ti OC
    Storage:
    1. 2xSamsung 850 Pro 250GB SSD
    2. Samsung 860 Pro 250GB SSD
    3. Samsung 970 Evo M.2 250GB SSD
    4. WD Caviar SATAII 1TB 32 mb cache
    5. Seagate SATAII 320GB 16mb cache
    6. Samsung 2.5" SATAII 320GB 8mb cache
    7. HGST(PS4) 2.5" SATAII 500GB 8mb cache
    8. Maxtor SATAI 120GB 8mb cache
    Corsair AX1200i PSU
    Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Buenos Aires
    Posts
    307
    Probably, but try to get those Crucial sticks I reccomended. 1600mhz cl8 ones...

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    283
    Hi, In the end i did get those 2x4gb dominator platinums 2133mhz and the system is flowing without issues quad pumped at 4.2ghz with 9 9 9 24 latency! Happy with it. Now probably I need an update on the graphics department. Thoughts?
    GIGABYTE Z97X Gaming 3
    Intel i7-4790K Devil's Canyon @ 4.5ghz
    NXZT 340S
    Corsair H110i & Corsair Link
    2x8GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3-2133
    ASUS Strix GTX1080Ti OC
    Storage:
    1. 2xSamsung 850 Pro 250GB SSD
    2. Samsung 860 Pro 250GB SSD
    3. Samsung 970 Evo M.2 250GB SSD
    4. WD Caviar SATAII 1TB 32 mb cache
    5. Seagate SATAII 320GB 16mb cache
    6. Samsung 2.5" SATAII 320GB 8mb cache
    7. HGST(PS4) 2.5" SATAII 500GB 8mb cache
    8. Maxtor SATAI 120GB 8mb cache
    Corsair AX1200i PSU
    Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Buenos Aires
    Posts
    307
    Dual 460s are equal to a gtx 580. You can upgrade to a 7950 or gtx 660ti if you game at 1080p.

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    283
    Thanks. What would dual asus directcu ii 660tis be equal to?

    Sent from my GT-I9100
    GIGABYTE Z97X Gaming 3
    Intel i7-4790K Devil's Canyon @ 4.5ghz
    NXZT 340S
    Corsair H110i & Corsair Link
    2x8GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3-2133
    ASUS Strix GTX1080Ti OC
    Storage:
    1. 2xSamsung 850 Pro 250GB SSD
    2. Samsung 860 Pro 250GB SSD
    3. Samsung 970 Evo M.2 250GB SSD
    4. WD Caviar SATAII 1TB 32 mb cache
    5. Seagate SATAII 320GB 16mb cache
    6. Samsung 2.5" SATAII 320GB 8mb cache
    7. HGST(PS4) 2.5" SATAII 500GB 8mb cache
    8. Maxtor SATAI 120GB 8mb cache
    Corsair AX1200i PSU
    Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Buenos Aires
    Posts
    307
    That's gtx690 territory right there...probably not worth the cost when you can get a better setup with more vram with dual 7950s.
    You game at 1440p?

    EDIT: GEforce cards seem to be smoother for gaming, despite showing less fps in FRAPS. 660ti 3gb cards would be nice I guess.

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    283
    I would like 1440p yes. I was thinking a couple of asus gtx660ti directcu top 2gb vram

    Sent from my GT-I9100
    GIGABYTE Z97X Gaming 3
    Intel i7-4790K Devil's Canyon @ 4.5ghz
    NXZT 340S
    Corsair H110i & Corsair Link
    2x8GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3-2133
    ASUS Strix GTX1080Ti OC
    Storage:
    1. 2xSamsung 850 Pro 250GB SSD
    2. Samsung 860 Pro 250GB SSD
    3. Samsung 970 Evo M.2 250GB SSD
    4. WD Caviar SATAII 1TB 32 mb cache
    5. Seagate SATAII 320GB 16mb cache
    6. Samsung 2.5" SATAII 320GB 8mb cache
    7. HGST(PS4) 2.5" SATAII 500GB 8mb cache
    8. Maxtor SATAI 120GB 8mb cache
    Corsair AX1200i PSU
    Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Buenos Aires
    Posts
    307
    Yeah, that would do the trick for 1080p easily, maybe even 5760x1080. I'd try to go with 3gb models for 1440p, but 2gb should fare well.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •