Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Two nvidia cards and only one is doing math?!

  1. #1
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Finland, Eura
    Posts
    1,744

    Two nvidia cards and only one is doing math?!

    I have edited cc_config.xml in C:/programfiles/boinc/ folder to:
    Code:
    <cc_config>
    <options>
    <use_all_gpus>1</use_all_gpus>
    </options>
    </cc_config>
    And I?m using Boinc 7.0.42 with app_config.xml in C:\ProgramData\BOINC\projects\www.worldcommunitygrid.org folder just like this:
    Code:
    <app_config>
       <app>
          <name>hcc1</name>
          <max_concurrent>4</max_concurrent>
          <gpu_versions>
              <gpu_usage>.250</gpu_usage>
              <cpu_usage>1.000</cpu_usage>
          </gpu_versions>
       </app>
    </app_config>
    And still going like this:


    So where is the problem?
    Last edited by BulldogPO; 01-08-2013 at 04:35 AM. Reason: typo fixing


    http://mato78.com - Finnish PC Hardware news & reviews
    BulldogPO @ Twitter


  2. #2
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Crab Nebula
    Posts
    493
    I know there are some projects that have a problem with running 2 Nvidia cards at the same time but I'm not sure if WCG is one of them. Try adding the line of code below to your cc_config.xml file which is located in the BOINC folder not the project folder.

    <use_all_gpus>1</use_all_gpus>

    If you don't have a cc_config file in the BOINC folder copy and paste the code below into notepad, rename it cc_config.xml and place it into the BOINC folder. You'll have to shut down and restart boinc for the changes to take effect.

    <cc_config>
    <options>
    <use_all_gpus>1</use_all_gpus>
    </options>
    </cc_config>



    You'll never know what you're living for until you know what you're willing to die for.

  3. #3
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Finland, Eura
    Posts
    1,744
    I had that cc_config in boinc folder already, like I wrote in first post.


    http://mato78.com - Finnish PC Hardware news & reviews
    BulldogPO @ Twitter


  4. #4
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    NE Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,608
    Have you tried max_concurrent set to 8 ?
    24/7 Cruncher #1
    Crosshair VII Hero, Ryzen 3900X, 4.0 GHz @ 1.225v, Arctic Liquid Freezer II 420 AIO, 4x8GB GSKILL 3600MHz C15, ASUS TUF 3090 OC
    Samsung 980 1TB NVMe, Samsung 870 QVO 1TB, 2x10TB WD Red RAID1, Win 10 Pro, Enthoo Luxe TG, EVGA SuperNOVA 1200W P2

    24/7 Cruncher #2
    ASRock X470 Taichi, Ryzen 3900X, 4.0 GHz @ 1.225v, Arctic Liquid Freezer 280 AIO, 2x16GB GSKILL NEO 3600MHz C16, EVGA 3080ti FTW3 Ultra
    Samsung 970 EVO 250GB NVMe, Samsung 870 EVO 500GBWin 10 Ent, Enthoo Pro, Seasonic FOCUS Plus 850W

    24/7 Cruncher #3
    GA-P67A-UD4-B3 BIOS F8 mod, 2600k (L051B138) @ 4.5 GHz, 1.260v full load, Arctic Liquid 120, (Boots Win @ 5.6 GHz per Massman binning)
    Samsung Green 4x4GB @2133 C10, EVGA 2080ti FTW3 Hybrid, Samsung 870 EVO 500GB, 2x1TB WD Red RAID1, Win10 Ent, Rosewill Rise, EVGA SuperNOVA 1300W G2

    24/7 Cruncher #4 ... Crucial M225 64GB SSD Donated to Endurance Testing (Died at 968 TB of writes...no that is not a typo!)
    GA-EP45T-UD3LR BIOS F10 modded, Q6600 G0 VID 1.212 (L731B536), 3.6 GHz 9x400 @ 1.312v full load, Zerotherm Zen FZ120
    OCZ 2x2GB DDR3-1600MHz C7, Gigabyte 7950 @1200/1250, Crucial MX100 128GB, 2x1TB WD Red RAID1, Win10 Ent, Centurion 590, XFX PRO650W

    Music System
    SB Server->SB Touch w/Android Tablet as a remote->Denon AVR-X3300W->JBL Studio Series Floorstanding Speakers, JBL LS Center, 2x SVS SB-2000 Subs


  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Crab Nebula
    Posts
    493
    Quote Originally Posted by BulldogPO View Post
    I had that cc_config in boinc folder already, like I wrote in first post.
    My bad. Was in a hurry and missed that. If that doesn't get both cards going I have no other suggestions.



    You'll never know what you're living for until you know what you're willing to die for.

  6. #6
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Finland, Eura
    Posts
    1,744
    Changed Max Concurrent to 8 and one packet went to second card, but only one.


    http://mato78.com - Finnish PC Hardware news & reviews
    BulldogPO @ Twitter


  7. #7
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    NE Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,608
    You have a 3570k so cpu_usage should be .50 to run 4 per card.

    You can probably put concurrent back to 4 then.
    24/7 Cruncher #1
    Crosshair VII Hero, Ryzen 3900X, 4.0 GHz @ 1.225v, Arctic Liquid Freezer II 420 AIO, 4x8GB GSKILL 3600MHz C15, ASUS TUF 3090 OC
    Samsung 980 1TB NVMe, Samsung 870 QVO 1TB, 2x10TB WD Red RAID1, Win 10 Pro, Enthoo Luxe TG, EVGA SuperNOVA 1200W P2

    24/7 Cruncher #2
    ASRock X470 Taichi, Ryzen 3900X, 4.0 GHz @ 1.225v, Arctic Liquid Freezer 280 AIO, 2x16GB GSKILL NEO 3600MHz C16, EVGA 3080ti FTW3 Ultra
    Samsung 970 EVO 250GB NVMe, Samsung 870 EVO 500GBWin 10 Ent, Enthoo Pro, Seasonic FOCUS Plus 850W

    24/7 Cruncher #3
    GA-P67A-UD4-B3 BIOS F8 mod, 2600k (L051B138) @ 4.5 GHz, 1.260v full load, Arctic Liquid 120, (Boots Win @ 5.6 GHz per Massman binning)
    Samsung Green 4x4GB @2133 C10, EVGA 2080ti FTW3 Hybrid, Samsung 870 EVO 500GB, 2x1TB WD Red RAID1, Win10 Ent, Rosewill Rise, EVGA SuperNOVA 1300W G2

    24/7 Cruncher #4 ... Crucial M225 64GB SSD Donated to Endurance Testing (Died at 968 TB of writes...no that is not a typo!)
    GA-EP45T-UD3LR BIOS F10 modded, Q6600 G0 VID 1.212 (L731B536), 3.6 GHz 9x400 @ 1.312v full load, Zerotherm Zen FZ120
    OCZ 2x2GB DDR3-1600MHz C7, Gigabyte 7950 @1200/1250, Crucial MX100 128GB, 2x1TB WD Red RAID1, Win10 Ent, Centurion 590, XFX PRO650W

    Music System
    SB Server->SB Touch w/Android Tablet as a remote->Denon AVR-X3300W->JBL Studio Series Floorstanding Speakers, JBL LS Center, 2x SVS SB-2000 Subs


  8. #8
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Finland, Eura
    Posts
    1,744
    Damn, is it this CPU, i5-3570K..
    Now it does three packets per GPU as I changed app_config to following:
    Code:
    <app_config>
       <app>
          <name>hcc1</name>
          <max_concurrent>6</max_concurrent>
          <gpu_versions>
              <gpu_usage>.333</gpu_usage>
              <cpu_usage>.667</cpu_usage>
          </gpu_versions>
       </app>
    </app_config>


    http://mato78.com - Finnish PC Hardware news & reviews
    BulldogPO @ Twitter


  9. #9
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Finland, Eura
    Posts
    1,744
    Now looks good, and does four threads per GPU (four on GTX 660 Ti and four on GTX 670)



    With this:
    Code:
    <app_config>
       <app>
          <name>hcc1</name>
          <max_concurrent>8</max_concurrent>
          <gpu_versions>
              <gpu_usage>.250</gpu_usage>
              <cpu_usage>0.500</cpu_usage>
          </gpu_versions>
       </app>
    </app_config>
    CPU might be bottlenecking if I add one card more?
    Last edited by BulldogPO; 01-08-2013 at 07:54 AM.


    http://mato78.com - Finnish PC Hardware news & reviews
    BulldogPO @ Twitter


  10. #10
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Saskatoon (Canada)
    Posts
    1,568
    Which card? My GTX670 didn't benefit from any more than 2 threads. I suspect you would be better off running 2 threads per card.

    Yin|Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD5-B3|Swiftech XT -> GTX240 -> DDC+ w/ Petra's|2600K @ 5.0GHz @1.368V |4 x 4 GB G.Skill Eco DDR3-1600-8-8-8-24|Asus DirectCUII GTX670|120 GB Crucial M4|2 x 2 TB Seagate LP(Raid-0)|Plextor 755-SA|Auzentech Prelude 7.1|Seasonic M12-700|Lian-Li PC-6077B (Heavily Modded)

    Squire|Shuttle SD36G5M| R.I.P.

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Crab Nebula
    Posts
    493
    Quote Originally Posted by Bun-Bun View Post
    Which card? My GTX670 didn't benefit from any more than 2 threads. I suspect you would be better off running 2 threads per card.
    Agreed. Nvidia has horrible OpenCl driver support. If you do some testing I think you'll find that 2 is the sweet spot for them.



    You'll never know what you're living for until you know what you're willing to die for.

  12. #12
    c[_]
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    18,728
    I'm surprised you can stand running it on your nVidia cards at all. Everything turns into a lag fest on the desktop when I use my GTX670's..

    All along the watchtower the watchmen watch the eternal return.

  13. #13
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    kingston.ma
    Posts
    2,139
    In my testing I found the best results for NVidia is to only run 1 WU per CPU thread as their implementation of OpenCL is really a pig.

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Crab Nebula
    Posts
    493
    Quote Originally Posted by STEvil View Post
    I'm surprised you can stand running it on your nVidia cards at all. Everything turns into a lag fest on the desktop when I use my GTX670's..
    You can get around that if you use 1 to crunch and the other to run the just the monitor. Not the best scenario but better than the lag fest. If you have room for a third card that is older and can't run the tasks maybe you could use that for the monitor while both the 670s crunch.



    You'll never know what you're living for until you know what you're willing to die for.

  15. #15
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Finland, Eura
    Posts
    1,744
    nanoprobe, how do you exclude one specific card from WCG?


    http://mato78.com - Finnish PC Hardware news & reviews
    BulldogPO @ Twitter


  16. #16
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Crab Nebula
    Posts
    493
    Quote Originally Posted by BulldogPO View Post
    nanoprobe, how do you exclude one specific card from WCG?
    Add an exclude GPU tag to you cc_config.xml file in the ProgramData BOINC folder.

    <exclude_gpu>
    <url>project_www.worldcommunitygrid.org</url>
    <device_num>N</device_num> N= device number either 0 or 1
    <type>nvidia|ati</type> One or the other, not both
    <app>appname</app> GPU app name
    </exclude_gpu>
    Last edited by nanoprobe; 01-11-2013 at 02:58 AM.



    You'll never know what you're living for until you know what you're willing to die for.

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •