Page 11 of 21 FirstFirst ... 891011121314 ... LastLast
Results 251 to 275 of 503

Thread: KGB - Kepler BIOS Editor/Unlocker

  1. #251
    Administrator andressergio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Montevideo - Uruguay
    Posts
    5,442
    Quote Originally Posted by CryptiK View Post
    1. That's your checksum that says invalid in parentheses. The 80.04.00.0F is the bios version. In the KGB config file change preserve checksum to = 1

    2. Max boost issue - did you take the hash (#) away from the boost option the re-save? If you leave it commented out it wont apply.
    i used the = 1 option to preserve checksum and still says INVALID seems not working on my cards

    Last edited by andressergio; 01-12-2013 at 06:14 AM.
    Intel Core i9-7980XE@ 4.8GHz 18C/18TH (Direct Die Contact)
    ASRock X299 OC Formula
    ADATA XPG SPECTRIX D80 (4x8GB) DDR4-3800C17 B-Die
    1x Intel Optane SSD 905P 480GB
    4x HP EX950 NVMe 2TB on ASRock ULTRA M.2 CARD
    EVGA RTX 2080TI KINGPIN 2190/8000 Stock Cooling AIO 240
    SilverStone ST1500W-TI TITANIUM
    Alphacool Custom Water Cooling

  2. #252
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,996
    Did the bios you started with and modified with KGB have a valid checksum before you modified it? I have tried it and it works preserving the checksum of the original bios. You made some with the old version of KGB and used one of those or made one with the new version before you selected preserve checksum = 1 then they will have invalid checksums. Start with the one I made you, it has a valid checksum.

    Quote Originally Posted by hazy81 View Post
    CryptiK, thx a lot! You shot in the center of bull's eye. Man, it's working, hell yeah!
    No problem
    Ci7 990X::Rampage III Extreme::12GB Corsair Dominator 1866C7GT::2 x EVGA SC Titans in SLI::Corsair AX1200::TJ07::Watercooled
    Ci7 920 3849B018::Rampage II Extreme::6GB GSKILL Trident 2000C9 BBSE::EVGA GTX580::Antec Signature SG850::TJ09::Aircooled w/TRUE 120X

  3. #253
    Administrator andressergio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Montevideo - Uruguay
    Posts
    5,442
    i started from the original backup with latest version of KGB and modded cfg and no go
    Intel Core i9-7980XE@ 4.8GHz 18C/18TH (Direct Die Contact)
    ASRock X299 OC Formula
    ADATA XPG SPECTRIX D80 (4x8GB) DDR4-3800C17 B-Die
    1x Intel Optane SSD 905P 480GB
    4x HP EX950 NVMe 2TB on ASRock ULTRA M.2 CARD
    EVGA RTX 2080TI KINGPIN 2190/8000 Stock Cooling AIO 240
    SilverStone ST1500W-TI TITANIUM
    Alphacool Custom Water Cooling

  4. #254
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    57
    Thanks man, but still stuck at 99-100% power target. This is really frustrating since it seems that I have a great card.

    Any further help would be greatly appreciated, maybe I am missing something? Do I need a special driver or whatnot?
    P8P67Deluxe
    2500K @ 5046 MHZ
    8 GB Ripjaws
    MSI 660 TI PE

  5. #255
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,789
    Quote Originally Posted by andressergio View Post
    i started from the original backup with latest version of KGB and modded cfg and no go
    Send me your original bios so i can take a look. Thanks
    Sandy Bridge 2500k @ 4.5ghz 1.28v | MSI p67a-gd65 B3 Mobo | Samsung ddr3 8gb |
    Swiftech apogee drive II | Coolgate 120| GTX660ti w/heat killer gpu x| Seasonic x650 PSU

    QX9650 @ 4ghz | P5K-E/WIFI-AP Mobo | Hyperx ddr2 1066 4gb | EVGA GTX560ti 448 core FTW @ 900mhz | OCZ 700w Modular PSU |
    DD MC-TDX CPU block | DD Maze5 GPU block | Black Ice Xtreme II 240 Rad | Laing D5 Pump

  6. #256
    Administrator andressergio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Montevideo - Uruguay
    Posts
    5,442
    Quote Originally Posted by CrazyNutz View Post
    Send me your original bios so i can take a look. Thanks
    thanks CrazyN i already posted for you here
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...nlocker/page10

    http://www.2shared.com/file/lSBeOULP/GK104.html

    cheers !!!
    Sergio
    Intel Core i9-7980XE@ 4.8GHz 18C/18TH (Direct Die Contact)
    ASRock X299 OC Formula
    ADATA XPG SPECTRIX D80 (4x8GB) DDR4-3800C17 B-Die
    1x Intel Optane SSD 905P 480GB
    4x HP EX950 NVMe 2TB on ASRock ULTRA M.2 CARD
    EVGA RTX 2080TI KINGPIN 2190/8000 Stock Cooling AIO 240
    SilverStone ST1500W-TI TITANIUM
    Alphacool Custom Water Cooling

  7. #257
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,789
    Quote Originally Posted by andressergio View Post
    I'm confused now, because you said it was working for you, but now its not? Is it only not working after you used preserve_original_checksum=1 ? if so then use preserve_original_checksum=0

    if you were not having a problem before do not use preserve_original_checksum=1
    Last edited by CrazyNutz; 01-12-2013 at 01:30 PM.
    Sandy Bridge 2500k @ 4.5ghz 1.28v | MSI p67a-gd65 B3 Mobo | Samsung ddr3 8gb |
    Swiftech apogee drive II | Coolgate 120| GTX660ti w/heat killer gpu x| Seasonic x650 PSU

    QX9650 @ 4ghz | P5K-E/WIFI-AP Mobo | Hyperx ddr2 1066 4gb | EVGA GTX560ti 448 core FTW @ 900mhz | OCZ 700w Modular PSU |
    DD MC-TDX CPU block | DD Maze5 GPU block | Black Ice Xtreme II 240 Rad | Laing D5 Pump

  8. #258
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by ovard View Post
    Thanks man, but still stuck at 99-100% power target. This is really frustrating since it seems that I have a great card.

    Any further help would be greatly appreciated, maybe I am missing something? Do I need a special driver or whatnot?
    Hi,

    I have the exact same problem (locked to 100% power target)

    It seems to just be a problem on msi power edition cards 660ti and 670.

    I have read about people on the 670 fixing it with a bios flash but I don't think there is a bios available for the 660ti yet but Crazy said he might include an option for tdp adjustment in a future edition of kgb which might fix the issue.

  9. #259
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,789
    Quote Originally Posted by ginnnnny View Post
    Hi,

    I have the exact same problem (locked to 100% power target)

    It seems to just be a problem on msi power edition cards 660ti and 670.

    I have read about people on the 670 fixing it with a bios flash but I don't think there is a bios available for the 660ti yet but Crazy said he might include an option for tdp adjustment in a future edition of kgb which might fix the issue.
    Yes this is a known issue with PE cards. I plans to work this out.
    Sandy Bridge 2500k @ 4.5ghz 1.28v | MSI p67a-gd65 B3 Mobo | Samsung ddr3 8gb |
    Swiftech apogee drive II | Coolgate 120| GTX660ti w/heat killer gpu x| Seasonic x650 PSU

    QX9650 @ 4ghz | P5K-E/WIFI-AP Mobo | Hyperx ddr2 1066 4gb | EVGA GTX560ti 448 core FTW @ 900mhz | OCZ 700w Modular PSU |
    DD MC-TDX CPU block | DD Maze5 GPU block | Black Ice Xtreme II 240 Rad | Laing D5 Pump

  10. #260
    Administrator andressergio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Montevideo - Uruguay
    Posts
    5,442
    Quote Originally Posted by CrazyNutz View Post
    I'm confused now, because you said it was working for you, but now its not? Is it only not working after you used preserve_original_checksum=1 ? if so then use preserve_original_checksum=0

    if you were not having a problem before do not use preserve_original_checksum=1
    no no theres a missunderstanding

    remember i had the turbo issue you modified to 1320 instead of 1320,5 that was on older version ? that works perfect now, but checksum never worked for me that is missing to be perfect nothing more

    second i sent my bios for you to investigate (if you want) if mem volts can be added or touched on anyway as my card allows it as the MSI lighthing does but Cryptik found the memory lines but not to add volts


    if you read from the begining its all here
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...nlocker/page10

    Thanks
    Sergio
    Last edited by andressergio; 01-12-2013 at 02:33 PM.
    Intel Core i9-7980XE@ 4.8GHz 18C/18TH (Direct Die Contact)
    ASRock X299 OC Formula
    ADATA XPG SPECTRIX D80 (4x8GB) DDR4-3800C17 B-Die
    1x Intel Optane SSD 905P 480GB
    4x HP EX950 NVMe 2TB on ASRock ULTRA M.2 CARD
    EVGA RTX 2080TI KINGPIN 2190/8000 Stock Cooling AIO 240
    SilverStone ST1500W-TI TITANIUM
    Alphacool Custom Water Cooling

  11. #261
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by CrazyNutz View Post
    Yes this is a known issue with PE cards. I plans to work this out.
    I have been wondering whether or not it's just the card giving off the wrong reading.

    I think that maybe when it says 100% it is actually using 120% but I don't have anyway to test.

    When my drivers crash from overclocking my card drops down to around 80% power target until I reboot msi afterburner.

    example my msi 660ti can score these points on 3dmark11:
    9000 points at 80% power target
    10000 points at 100% power target
    http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/5433791

    Would those scores even be possible if it was really only at 100% power target?
    Last edited by ginnnnny; 01-12-2013 at 06:14 PM.

  12. #262
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,996
    There's 2 ways to give you more overclocking headroom concerning board power. There's the 100% board power target and the max board power target. Now if 132% is not enough, and these cards suck power like mad when you crank the voltage and clocks, what's being done here is increasing the max board power target so you can move the slider to 150% for example.

    This is for reference boards:

    Reference board 100% board power = 170w
    Reference board max board power = 225w

    (225/170)*100 = 132%


    If the board power is adjusted to 255w:

    (255/170)*100 = 150%

    So then you can slide the slider to 150% allowing the card to pull 250w.

    This still means you need to adjust with software the power slider to push the % higher. I wanted to do away with software other than for monitoring so what I did using a hex editor was change the power rating that 100% board power correlated to. Mine's now set at 270w instead of the default 225 (it's a lightning card so has higher ratings) which means I can leave the slider at 100% and TDP is re-targetted to 270w. It's my preference to do it this way but it's just a difference approach for the same end result.

    I'm not sure how CrazyNuts is going to approach it, he knows much more about this stuff than me, but this may possibly be a way around the issue if the max board power can't be easily adjusted.
    Last edited by CryptiK; 01-12-2013 at 06:22 PM.
    Ci7 990X::Rampage III Extreme::12GB Corsair Dominator 1866C7GT::2 x EVGA SC Titans in SLI::Corsair AX1200::TJ07::Watercooled
    Ci7 920 3849B018::Rampage II Extreme::6GB GSKILL Trident 2000C9 BBSE::EVGA GTX580::Antec Signature SG850::TJ09::Aircooled w/TRUE 120X

  13. #263
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    1

    After unlock GPU throttling from 1241 to 1150

    Hi Guys.

    Got a Gainward GTX PHantom 4GB and successfully unlocked bios with this Mod and all is fine although card isn't the best overclocker though managed an extra 40Mhz on GPU which took it to 1241Mhz boost stable, however when card hits 73 degrees it throttles straight back down to 1150 which is a huge drop compared to before it was unlocked which only dropped in smaller increments so essentially without the unlock I could get a better GPU clock.

    Is there anyway of reducing the throttling by smaller increments to try and maintian a better over all clock speed?

    I know this has been mentioned before just wondering if there's a remedy for it.

    Thanks

  14. #264
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,996
    73 is just over the first throttle point, there's probably something going on but have you made a custom fan profile to keep it under 70 if possible?
    Ci7 990X::Rampage III Extreme::12GB Corsair Dominator 1866C7GT::2 x EVGA SC Titans in SLI::Corsair AX1200::TJ07::Watercooled
    Ci7 920 3849B018::Rampage II Extreme::6GB GSKILL Trident 2000C9 BBSE::EVGA GTX580::Antec Signature SG850::TJ09::Aircooled w/TRUE 120X

  15. #265
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    6
    Yes, followed a few guides in setting correct fan curve. Ambient temperatures are quite warm where I live and when your playing something like BF3 temperatures hover around 75c which isn't to bad, don't seem to have such a steep throttling with stock bios.

    Heard a couple others experiencing this problem after KGB modd.

    Thanks for reply


    Quote Originally Posted by CryptiK View Post
    73 is just over the first throttle point, there's probably something going on but have you made a custom fan profile to keep it under 70 if possible?

  16. #266
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by CryptiK View Post
    There's 2 ways to give you more overclocking headroom concerning board power. There's the 100% board power target and the max board power target. Now if 132% is not enough, and these cards suck power like mad when you crank the voltage and clocks, what's being done here is increasing the max board power target so you can move the slider to 150% for example.
    Hi Cryptik

    We can move the slider to 150% but it has no affect its just the same as having it at 100%.

    Fingers crossed Crazy will fix it for us

  17. #267
    c[_]
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    20,374
    stock bios may have had lower voltage, dual109

    does your case have good airflow?

    All along the watchtower the watchmen watch the eternal return.

  18. #268
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    6

    GTX680 GPU throttles 1241 to 1150 after modd

    It's a Antec 900 v2, don't think it's the best honestly but don't think I can keep this baby under 70 irregardless, unless I go with water.

    75 degrees is sweetspot for this cooler under heavy load. (BF3, Crysis2, etc)

    Quote Originally Posted by STEvil View Post
    stock bios may have had lower voltage, dual109

    does your case have good airflow?
    Yeah I think the voltage might be the culprit.

    Other then trying to keep it cool can the bios be modded to throttle to lower voltage therefore not impacting on clocks as much like stock bios.

  19. #269
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by dual110 View Post
    Hi Guys.

    Got a Gainward GTX PHantom 4GB and successfully unlocked bios with this Mod and all is fine although card isn't the best overclocker though managed an extra 40Mhz on GPU which took it to 1241Mhz boost stable, however when card hits 73 degrees it throttles straight back down to 1150 which is a huge drop compared to before it was unlocked which only dropped in smaller increments so essentially without the unlock I could get a better GPU clock.

    Is there anyway of reducing the throttling by smaller increments to try and maintian a better over all clock speed?

    I know this has been mentioned before just wondering if there's a remedy for it.

    Thanks

    If you use the 1.2v bios the card will still boost to 1.212v but only drop back to 1.2v when throttled.
    Last edited by ginnnnny; 01-15-2013 at 11:41 PM.

  20. #270
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by ginnnnny View Post
    I believe you have turned the voltage up to high and if you change to bios with slightly lower voltage would fix it for you.

    If you use the 1.212v bios the card will boost to 1.212v and drop right back to 1.1v when throttled.

    If you use the 1.2v bios the card will still boost to 1.212v but only drop back to 1.2v when throttled.
    Thanks Ginnnnny,

    Does the latest version of the KGB modd allow me to change my max boost? Yeah last time I just used the default but I believe you can set values in the CFG file, does this include the max boost?

    Thanks

  21. #271
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by dual109 View Post
    Thanks Ginnnnny,

    Does the latest version of the KGB modd allow me to change my max boost? Yeah last time I just used the default but I believe you can set values in the CFG file, does this include the max boost?

    Thanks
    Yes I put max boost -13 because I was over boosting
    I put voltage to 1.200000

    on 1.187500 bios I was getting throttled to 1050
    on 1.200000 bios I'm now getting throttled to 1200

    These bios below will all boost to 1.212v and get you the same max clock.
    1.187500 throttles to 1.187500
    1.200000 throttles to 1.200000
    Last edited by ginnnnny; 01-15-2013 at 11:40 PM.

  22. #272
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    6
    Ok, any possibility of providing me with an example of what the CFG file should look like to get1.200000 max boost before I apply modd to default bios.

    thanks


    Quote Originally Posted by ginnnnny View Post
    Yes I put max boost -13 because I was over boosting
    I put voltage to 1.200000

    on 1.212000 bios I was getting throttled to 1050
    on 1.200000 bios I'm now getting throttled to 1200

    These bios below will all boost to 1.212v and get you the same max clock.
    1.187500 throttles to 1.187500
    1.200000 throttles to 1.200000
    1.212000 throttles to 1.1v

    So by choosing a lower voltage bios you actually get more

  23. #273
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    28
    Hey dual I had to edit my post because I made a mistake.

    I thought I was on 1.212v bios and changed to 1.2v bios but I was originally on 1.1875 bios and then changed to 1.2v.

    But either way changing to 1.2v has stopped me throttling so bad so I would try that

    1.1875 bios got me 10000 3dmark11
    1.2v bios got me 10100 3dmark11
    http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/5582713

    As for cfg file I would ask one of others I'm a noob

  24. #274
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    6
    Ginnnnny,

    Fantastic worked a gem, set my power in the CFG file to 1.200000 and it no longer throttles at all which is what I was after and now can reduce the severity of my fan profile so its a bit quiter, being playing crysis 2 for last two hours rock stable at 1241. Prior to changing the power once it hit 73c it would throttle to 1150, I tested to see if it would throttle when it hit 80 degrees and it didn't so didn't go any further for obvious reasons.

    Pretty hot down where I live so difficult to keep GPU under 70 degrees however I do need to look at my cooling as I've sold my 7970 which pumped the hot air straight out back of case as opposed to the Gainward GTX680 Phantom which leaves air in case.

    Once again thanks for help.

    Cheers



    Quote Originally Posted by ginnnnny View Post
    Hey dual I had to edit my post because I made a mistake.

    I thought I was on 1.212v bios and changed to 1.2v bios but I was originally on 1.1875 bios and then changed to 1.2v.

    But either way changing to 1.2v has stopped me throttling so bad so I would try that

    1.1875 bios got me 10000 3dmark11
    1.2v bios got me 10100 3dmark11
    http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/5582713

    As for cfg file I would ask one of others I'm a noob

  25. #275
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    129
    Hi all.

    Using version .05 on the GTX 690 i was getting between 1202 and 1215 on each gpu.

    What you think i should set it to CrazyNuts?

    Is it possible the 690 could go over 1250 mhz or even 1300mhz?

    I remember seeing some reviewers cherry picked cards going over 1250 at the time of release.
    Case:Antec 1200
    PSU:Corsair AX 1200w
    Motherboard:Rampage Extreme 2 x58 on Water
    CPU:I7 930 @4.4ghz HT on (1.43) 24/7 on Water
    Radiator:Swiftech Mcr 320 QP Triple(using Radbox)
    Block:Swiftech Apogee XT/ EK-FB RE2 ver.2 Acetal+Nickel/EK-Mosfet Copper Plexi
    Reservoir:Swiftech Micro Res v2
    Tubing:Primochill Blue
    Water: Deionzed with PT Nuke
    Memory:6GB Corsair xms 1600mhz(1675) 9-9-9-24-2N
    Hardrive:300Gb Raptor-500GB Wd-1TB Wd
    Sound:Asus Xonar Xense
    Headset:Sennheiser 350
    GPU:Gigabyte GTX 690
    GPU Driver:313.95
    3D Vantage:51283
    OS:Windows 7 Ultimate
    Mouse:Logitech G500
    Keyboard:Logitech G11
    Mouse mat:Razer Destructor
    Monitorell U2410 rev5 24inch 16:10
    Fully Stable: Linx Occt IBT Prime 95

Page 11 of 21 FirstFirst ... 891011121314 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •