Page 1 of 21 123411 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 501

Thread: KGB - Kepler BIOS Editor/Unlocker

  1. #1
    Xtreme Addict CrazyNutz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,787

    KGB - Kepler BIOS Editor/Unlocker

    KGB (Kepler Golden BIOS) Is an Nvidia Kepler BIOS Editor/Unlocker program I have written. Enjoy

    KGB supports: GTX690, GTX680, GTX670, GTX660Ti, GTX660OEM and GTX660.


    Instructions: KGB is a console application, you must use it from a command prompt in windows. Start menu then type cmd, then cd to the folder containing kgb.
    You will need to extract your bios from your card with this version of GPU-Z http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/at...2&d=1344772659
    When you are done modding your bios you will need to flash it back to your card with nvflash.

    Usage Example 1: kgb.exe your_bios.rom
    This will display info from the bios.

    Usage Example 2: kgb.exe your_bios.rom unlock
    This will unlock your BIOS. Make sure you have a backup of your original BIOS file!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


    By default it will unlock to 150% Power, Voltage 1.1875v (1.2125v On Boost, only on GK104?), and Fan Range to 30% - 100% (You can now define these values in the kgb.cfg file)

    NOTICE: When you unlock the bios your card WILL boost higher, It may boost past stable. If you have any overclocks set then it WILL very likely boost past stable.
    Remove your overclock settings (from precision, afterburner, etc..) then try again. If it's still unstable you may have to underclock the base a bit.

    WARNING: KGB works on all the bios files I have so far. However that's not to say it will work on yours. Make sure to look at the output of KGB after you unlock,
    If something looks fishy do not flash it. If something goes wrong I take no responsibility. Use at your own risk!!!

    Download:
    LATEST: https://www.dropbox.com/s/fsxyvofr1idazhm/kgb_0.6.2.zip

    Test version of KGB for titan. Only fan, and power supported for now:
    TITAN: https://www.dropbox.com/s/dk54rmgce0...gb_titan.zip?m

    OLD: https://www.dropbox.com/s/d6dimgnx8cxvlca/kgb_0.6.1.zip
    OLD: https://www.dropbox.com/s/ouhpkeq5m4n6vn5/kgb_0.6.0.zip
    OLD: https://www.dropbox.com/s/vrunxuq03vj0m5y/kgb_0.5.zip


    Revision History
    Version 0.6.2
    -Added support for more bioses

    Version 0.6.1
    -Minor fixes

    Version 0.6
    -Added config option to change the max boost frequency.
    -Added EXPERIMENTAL option to preserve the original checksum.
    -Added fixes for some bios that KGB was not playing nice with.

    Version 0.5
    -Added support for GTX690
    -Added fix_checksum option (if you only wan't to fix the checksum and not change any other values supply "fix_checksum" as the parameter rather than "unlock")
    -Added kgb.cfg file. You can change the values in this file to customize your unlock values fan, voltage, power.

    Version a0.4
    -Added support for 660 OEM
    -Added extra error checking
    Last edited by CrazyNutz; 03-03-2013 at 05:03 AM.
    Sandy Bridge 2500k @ 4.5ghz 1.28v | MSI p67a-gd65 B3 Mobo | Samsung ddr3 8gb |
    Swiftech apogee drive II | Coolgate 120| GTX660ti w/heat killer gpu x| Seasonic x650 PSU

    QX9650 @ 4ghz | P5K-E/WIFI-AP Mobo | Hyperx ddr2 1066 4gb | EVGA GTX560ti 448 core FTW @ 900mhz | OCZ 700w Modular PSU |
    DD MC-TDX CPU block | DD Maze5 GPU block | Black Ice Xtreme II 240 Rad | Laing D5 Pump

  2. #2
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    930
    How do you fix the digital signature ? (Not the 1 byte CRC)

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member fgw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    329
    Quote Originally Posted by W1zzard View Post
    How do you fix the digital signature ? (Not the 1 byte CRC)
    i'm interested in that too ...

    anyway, as an owner of a 680 lightning im already able to take full voltagecontrol of my card using afterburner!

    but i'm looking for a way to extend the fan range to 0% - 100%
    Processor: Intel Core i7 990X
    Motherboard: ASUS Rampage III Extreme
    Memory: Corsair CMT6GX3M3A2000C8
    Video Card: MSI N680GTX Lightning
    Power Supply: Seasonic S12 650W
    Case: Chieftec BH-01B-B-B

  4. #4
    Xtreme Mentor bhavv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    2,617
    Will this work on non reference PCB kepler GPUs too?
    Intel I7 980 + Phanteks PH-TC14PE Red, Asus Rampage III Extreme, 12 GB Geil Ultra Series
    SLI MSI GTX 680 power edition, Creative X-Fi Titanium HD, 2x4 Tb Seagate HDD, 128 Gb Crucial M4, 512 Gb Crucial M4
    Gigabyte M8000X, Microsoft Sidewinder X4, Antec P182, Acer G24, Windows 7 Professional, XFX Proseries 850w XXX

    Keeping my mobo + CPU till they are obsolete

    Copper loop X48 build Blue X58 Build Red X58 build

  5. #5
    Xtreme Addict CrazyNutz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,787
    Quote Originally Posted by W1zzard View Post
    How do you fix the digital signature ? (Not the 1 byte CRC)
    I don't fix it. I and many others have manually modded quite a large number of bios files, and they have been fine without fixing the digital sig.
    I'm not sure what purpose the digital signature serves. Also some BIOS file don't even have it.

    At this point I would have to say the Digital Signature section has nothing to do with validating the bios section.
    Sandy Bridge 2500k @ 4.5ghz 1.28v | MSI p67a-gd65 B3 Mobo | Samsung ddr3 8gb |
    Swiftech apogee drive II | Coolgate 120| GTX660ti w/heat killer gpu x| Seasonic x650 PSU

    QX9650 @ 4ghz | P5K-E/WIFI-AP Mobo | Hyperx ddr2 1066 4gb | EVGA GTX560ti 448 core FTW @ 900mhz | OCZ 700w Modular PSU |
    DD MC-TDX CPU block | DD Maze5 GPU block | Black Ice Xtreme II 240 Rad | Laing D5 Pump

  6. #6
    Xtreme Addict CrazyNutz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,787
    Quote Originally Posted by bhavv View Post
    Will this work on non reference PCB kepler GPUs too?
    Yes
    Sandy Bridge 2500k @ 4.5ghz 1.28v | MSI p67a-gd65 B3 Mobo | Samsung ddr3 8gb |
    Swiftech apogee drive II | Coolgate 120| GTX660ti w/heat killer gpu x| Seasonic x650 PSU

    QX9650 @ 4ghz | P5K-E/WIFI-AP Mobo | Hyperx ddr2 1066 4gb | EVGA GTX560ti 448 core FTW @ 900mhz | OCZ 700w Modular PSU |
    DD MC-TDX CPU block | DD Maze5 GPU block | Black Ice Xtreme II 240 Rad | Laing D5 Pump

  7. #7
    Xtreme Addict CrazyNutz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,787
    Quote Originally Posted by fgw View Post
    looking for a way to extend the fan range to 0% - 100%
    Yes, when I have some time I plan on adding some parameters so you can change the settings.
    Sandy Bridge 2500k @ 4.5ghz 1.28v | MSI p67a-gd65 B3 Mobo | Samsung ddr3 8gb |
    Swiftech apogee drive II | Coolgate 120| GTX660ti w/heat killer gpu x| Seasonic x650 PSU

    QX9650 @ 4ghz | P5K-E/WIFI-AP Mobo | Hyperx ddr2 1066 4gb | EVGA GTX560ti 448 core FTW @ 900mhz | OCZ 700w Modular PSU |
    DD MC-TDX CPU block | DD Maze5 GPU block | Black Ice Xtreme II 240 Rad | Laing D5 Pump

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    28
    Thanks a Lot man, that is the tool I've been waiting for.

  9. #9
    Xtreme Addict C-N's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    1,627
    Quote Originally Posted by CrazyNutz View Post
    KGB (Kepler Golden BIOS) Is an Nvidia Kepler BIOS Editor/Unlocker program I have written. Enjoy

    KGB supports: GTX680, GTX670, GTX660Ti, and GTX660 for now.

    Usage Example 1: kgb.exe your_bios.rom
    This will display info from the bios.

    Usage Example 2: kgb.exe your_bios.rom unlock
    This will unlock your BIOS. Make sure you have a backup of your original BIOS file!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Right now that is it. It will unlock to 150% Power, Voltage 1.1875v (1.2125v On Boost), and Fan Range to 30% - 100% (Future versions will allow you to define these values)
    Hey CrazyNutz Your unlock appears to do what it says on the tin but just thought I'd let you know my Palait Jetstream GTX 680 don't like running once unlocked.

    Used example 1 to check my 680
    Saved stock bios using GPU-Z
    Run your unlock tool against my stock BIOS
    Flashed mod BIOS using nvflash 5.118 from W8 CMD line
    Checked again using example 1 & verified unlock worked ok.

    Run MSI Kombustor at stock & screen went black within 30 seconds. Reboot & try again same result.... maybe driver crash.

    Re-Flashed my original stock BIOS & tested all ok with Kombustor.


    Home / Play Rig Asrock Z87 OC Formula/AC, i7 4770K L310B487, 8GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2666 CL10, BeQuiet Dark Power Pro P8 1200W PSU, 120GB Corsair Force GT SSD, 2 x 1TB WD Sata Drives Mirrored, Palit 680GTX JetStream, Antec Kuhler 920, Windows 8.1 Pro WMP 64 Bit, Logitech LX700 Deskset, AOC 27" Monitor.

    Work 24/7 Rig Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5H, i7 4790K L418C133 ,8GB Team Xtreem LV 2600, PC Power & Cooling 850WPSU, 120GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD, 2 x 500GB Hitachi Sata Drives Mirrored, Antec Kuhler 620, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 Bit, Logitech LX700 Deskset, Samsung 24" Monitor.

    Home NAS DFI P35 T2RL Motherboard, Intel E6850 CPU, 8GB Nanya DDR2 6400, 2X 2TB Toshiba DT01ACA200 SATA Drives, ZFS RAID Mirror On Intel ICH9 AHCI, Artic Blue 850W PSU, Marvell Yukon 88E8053 Gigabit Ethernet, FreeNAS 9.2.1.5 RC, 64-Bit On 4GB USB2 SanDisk Cruizer Blade Thumb Drive.

  10. #10
    Xtreme Addict CrazyNutz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,787
    Quote Originally Posted by C-N View Post
    Hey CrazyNutz Your unlock appears to do what it says on the tin but just thought I'd let you know my Palait Jetstream GTX 680 don't like running once unlocked.

    Used example 1 to check my 680
    Saved stock bios using GPU-Z
    Run your unlock tool against my stock BIOS
    Flashed mod BIOS using nvflash 5.118 from W8 CMD line
    Checked again using example 1 & verified unlock worked ok.

    Run MSI Kombustor at stock & screen went black within 30 seconds. Reboot & try again same result.... maybe driver crash.

    Re-Flashed my original stock BIOS & tested all ok with Kombustor.
    After the unlock your boost clock will boost much higher. It is likely that it will has boosted past the stable point. You may have to control this by either down clocking the base clock, or lowering the power slider.
    Sandy Bridge 2500k @ 4.5ghz 1.28v | MSI p67a-gd65 B3 Mobo | Samsung ddr3 8gb |
    Swiftech apogee drive II | Coolgate 120| GTX660ti w/heat killer gpu x| Seasonic x650 PSU

    QX9650 @ 4ghz | P5K-E/WIFI-AP Mobo | Hyperx ddr2 1066 4gb | EVGA GTX560ti 448 core FTW @ 900mhz | OCZ 700w Modular PSU |
    DD MC-TDX CPU block | DD Maze5 GPU block | Black Ice Xtreme II 240 Rad | Laing D5 Pump

  11. #11
    The Doctor Warboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    2,571
    Can the power target go higher then 150% and isn't there a way to customize the power draw since I saw that discussed in some bios mod forums.
    My Rig can do EpicFLOPs, Can yours?
    Once this baby hits 88 GigaFLOPs, You're going to see some serious $@#%....

    MIA - XT4, will be missed. ST1 Active.
    Current OS Systems: Windows XP 64bit Build 3959, Windows 7 64bit SP1 Ultimate, Ubuntu 11.10 64Bit

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member fgw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    329
    did a quick check:

    my lightning bios has already a powerlimit of 300%

    was curious to see what happens if i run unlock to set the new powerlimit to 150% (as intended to be set during unlock) or leave it at 300%.

    it stayed at 300%. guess your unlock is not touching the limits if the limits contained in bios are already higher ...
    Processor: Intel Core i7 990X
    Motherboard: ASUS Rampage III Extreme
    Memory: Corsair CMT6GX3M3A2000C8
    Video Card: MSI N680GTX Lightning
    Power Supply: Seasonic S12 650W
    Case: Chieftec BH-01B-B-B

  13. #13
    Xtreme Addict C-N's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    1,627
    Quote Originally Posted by CrazyNutz View Post
    After the unlock your boost clock will boost much higher. It is likely that it will has boosted past the stable point. You may have to control this by either down clocking the base clock, or lowering the power slider.
    Yup looks like that is what it done although I can stop the driver crashing if I max out the power slider in Afterburner. I also added 100MHz to the clock making 1185 base & with the fan on 100% & the power slider @ 150% it runs fine on stock core voltage. Looks to me your mod will work good once you get round to adding the ability to pre define values from the BIOS.

    BTW thanks for sharing


    Home / Play Rig Asrock Z87 OC Formula/AC, i7 4770K L310B487, 8GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2666 CL10, BeQuiet Dark Power Pro P8 1200W PSU, 120GB Corsair Force GT SSD, 2 x 1TB WD Sata Drives Mirrored, Palit 680GTX JetStream, Antec Kuhler 920, Windows 8.1 Pro WMP 64 Bit, Logitech LX700 Deskset, AOC 27" Monitor.

    Work 24/7 Rig Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5H, i7 4790K L418C133 ,8GB Team Xtreem LV 2600, PC Power & Cooling 850WPSU, 120GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD, 2 x 500GB Hitachi Sata Drives Mirrored, Antec Kuhler 620, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 Bit, Logitech LX700 Deskset, Samsung 24" Monitor.

    Home NAS DFI P35 T2RL Motherboard, Intel E6850 CPU, 8GB Nanya DDR2 6400, 2X 2TB Toshiba DT01ACA200 SATA Drives, ZFS RAID Mirror On Intel ICH9 AHCI, Artic Blue 850W PSU, Marvell Yukon 88E8053 Gigabit Ethernet, FreeNAS 9.2.1.5 RC, 64-Bit On 4GB USB2 SanDisk Cruizer Blade Thumb Drive.

  14. #14
    Xtreme Addict CrazyNutz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,787
    Quote Originally Posted by Warboy View Post
    Can the power target go higher then 150% and isn't there a way to customize the power draw since I saw that discussed in some bios mod forums.
    I will eventually add the ability to set the values yourself. However this version is Alpha, and I'm just looking for feedback. Thanks

    Quote Originally Posted by fgw View Post
    did a quick check:

    my lightning bios has already a powerlimit of 300%

    was curious to see what happens if i run unlock to set the new powerlimit to 150% (as intended to be set during unlock) or leave it at 300%.

    it stayed at 300%. guess your unlock is not touching the limits if the limits contained in bios are already higher ...
    Yes the lightning LN2 Bios is already maxed out.

    Quote Originally Posted by C-N View Post
    Yup looks like that is what it done although I can stop the driver crashing if I max out the power slider in Afterburner. I also added 100MHz to the clock making 1185 base & with the fan on 100% & the power slider @ 150% it runs fine on stock core voltage. Looks to me your mod will work good once you get round to adding the ability to pre define values from the BIOS.

    BTW thanks for sharing
    Ok so if you maxed out power limit to %150 then it was stable?
    Sandy Bridge 2500k @ 4.5ghz 1.28v | MSI p67a-gd65 B3 Mobo | Samsung ddr3 8gb |
    Swiftech apogee drive II | Coolgate 120| GTX660ti w/heat killer gpu x| Seasonic x650 PSU

    QX9650 @ 4ghz | P5K-E/WIFI-AP Mobo | Hyperx ddr2 1066 4gb | EVGA GTX560ti 448 core FTW @ 900mhz | OCZ 700w Modular PSU |
    DD MC-TDX CPU block | DD Maze5 GPU block | Black Ice Xtreme II 240 Rad | Laing D5 Pump

  15. #15
    Xtreme Addict C-N's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    1,627
    Quote Originally Posted by CrazyNutz View Post
    Ok so if you maxed out power limit to %150 then it was stable?
    Yes both stock 1085MHz & +100 1185MHz on stock core voltage.


    Home / Play Rig Asrock Z87 OC Formula/AC, i7 4770K L310B487, 8GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2666 CL10, BeQuiet Dark Power Pro P8 1200W PSU, 120GB Corsair Force GT SSD, 2 x 1TB WD Sata Drives Mirrored, Palit 680GTX JetStream, Antec Kuhler 920, Windows 8.1 Pro WMP 64 Bit, Logitech LX700 Deskset, AOC 27" Monitor.

    Work 24/7 Rig Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5H, i7 4790K L418C133 ,8GB Team Xtreem LV 2600, PC Power & Cooling 850WPSU, 120GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD, 2 x 500GB Hitachi Sata Drives Mirrored, Antec Kuhler 620, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 Bit, Logitech LX700 Deskset, Samsung 24" Monitor.

    Home NAS DFI P35 T2RL Motherboard, Intel E6850 CPU, 8GB Nanya DDR2 6400, 2X 2TB Toshiba DT01ACA200 SATA Drives, ZFS RAID Mirror On Intel ICH9 AHCI, Artic Blue 850W PSU, Marvell Yukon 88E8053 Gigabit Ethernet, FreeNAS 9.2.1.5 RC, 64-Bit On 4GB USB2 SanDisk Cruizer Blade Thumb Drive.

  16. #16
    Xtreme Mentor bhavv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    2,617
    Hmm, I just tried dowloading and running the program, but it just flashes open and instantly closes again, maybe because I'm running window 8?

    I also uploaded my bios to Techpowerup because they didnt have it yet, but I'll have to wait until KGB works for me.
    Last edited by bhavv; 11-24-2012 at 02:58 PM.
    Intel I7 980 + Phanteks PH-TC14PE Red, Asus Rampage III Extreme, 12 GB Geil Ultra Series
    SLI MSI GTX 680 power edition, Creative X-Fi Titanium HD, 2x4 Tb Seagate HDD, 128 Gb Crucial M4, 512 Gb Crucial M4
    Gigabyte M8000X, Microsoft Sidewinder X4, Antec P182, Acer G24, Windows 7 Professional, XFX Proseries 850w XXX

    Keeping my mobo + CPU till they are obsolete

    Copper loop X48 build Blue X58 Build Red X58 build

  17. #17
    Xtreme Addict CrazyNutz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,787
    Quote Originally Posted by bhavv View Post
    Hmm, I just tried dowloading and running the program, but it just flashes open and instantly closes again, maybe because I'm running window 8?

    I also uploaded my bios to Techpowerup because they didnt have it yet, but I'll have to wait until KGB works for me.
    It's a console program. You have to run it from a cmd prompt.
    open a cmd prompt, then cd to where the kgb.exe file is then type: kgb.exe your_bios.rom
    Sandy Bridge 2500k @ 4.5ghz 1.28v | MSI p67a-gd65 B3 Mobo | Samsung ddr3 8gb |
    Swiftech apogee drive II | Coolgate 120| GTX660ti w/heat killer gpu x| Seasonic x650 PSU

    QX9650 @ 4ghz | P5K-E/WIFI-AP Mobo | Hyperx ddr2 1066 4gb | EVGA GTX560ti 448 core FTW @ 900mhz | OCZ 700w Modular PSU |
    DD MC-TDX CPU block | DD Maze5 GPU block | Black Ice Xtreme II 240 Rad | Laing D5 Pump

  18. #18
    Xtreme Mentor bhavv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    2,617
    Nicely done, I flashed with an unlocked bios and now I'm stable in Heaven with 1267 Mhz on the GPU

    But I need to set the core clock to -25 Mhz, otherwise it runs at 1293 Mhz which isnt stable.

    1267 Mhz plus my golden 7500 Mhz ram will be lovely

    Screenshot:

    http://i.imgur.com/4kD2b.jpg

    I dont know why my power graph only stays at 80 though, I think theres something wrong with that which is why I cant go any higher.
    Last edited by bhavv; 11-24-2012 at 06:24 PM.
    Intel I7 980 + Phanteks PH-TC14PE Red, Asus Rampage III Extreme, 12 GB Geil Ultra Series
    SLI MSI GTX 680 power edition, Creative X-Fi Titanium HD, 2x4 Tb Seagate HDD, 128 Gb Crucial M4, 512 Gb Crucial M4
    Gigabyte M8000X, Microsoft Sidewinder X4, Antec P182, Acer G24, Windows 7 Professional, XFX Proseries 850w XXX

    Keeping my mobo + CPU till they are obsolete

    Copper loop X48 build Blue X58 Build Red X58 build

  19. #19
    Xtreme Addict CrazyNutz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,787
    Quote Originally Posted by bhavv View Post
    Nicely done, I flashed with an unlocked bios and now I'm stable in Heaven with 1267 Mhz on the GPU

    But I need to set the core clock to -25 Mhz, otherwise it runs at 1293 Mhz which isnt stable.

    1267 Mhz plus my golden 7500 Mhz ram will be lovely

    Screenshot:

    http://i.imgur.com/4kD2b.jpg

    I dont know why my power graph only stays at 80 though, I think theres something wrong with that which is why I cant go any higher.
    Nice. I plan to have a parameter soon that you can use to cap the boost frequency. In your case you would set the boost cap to 1267, this would keep your card from going past that.
    Sandy Bridge 2500k @ 4.5ghz 1.28v | MSI p67a-gd65 B3 Mobo | Samsung ddr3 8gb |
    Swiftech apogee drive II | Coolgate 120| GTX660ti w/heat killer gpu x| Seasonic x650 PSU

    QX9650 @ 4ghz | P5K-E/WIFI-AP Mobo | Hyperx ddr2 1066 4gb | EVGA GTX560ti 448 core FTW @ 900mhz | OCZ 700w Modular PSU |
    DD MC-TDX CPU block | DD Maze5 GPU block | Black Ice Xtreme II 240 Rad | Laing D5 Pump

  20. #20
    Registered User nuno_p's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    9
    My gtx660ti its a really bad overclocker, i can only get 1189Mhz stable on the core with bios unlocked.

    When will you release the boost cap feature?

    I had to change the core offset to -110 to be stable.

    Other than that your tool its working great so far.

    Congrats.
    Last edited by nuno_p; 11-24-2012 at 11:45 PM.

  21. #21
    Xtreme Member fgw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    329
    CrazyNutz, need some clarification:

    here is the output of my stock bios (680 lightning)


    Power Target: 225000
    Max Power Target: 300000 (133%)

    Voltage Table:
    1150000
    1150000
    11500000

    1150000
    1150000
    11500000

    unlocking it with kgb and checking again without unlock switch resulted in the following output:


    Power Target: 225000
    Max Power Target: 337500 (150%)

    Voltage Table:
    1187500
    1187500
    11875000

    1187500
    1187500
    11875000


    regarding your statement in your first post: "It will unlock to 150% Power, Voltage 1.1875v (1.2125v On Boost)"

    shouldn't it read something like

    Voltage Table:
    1187500
    1187500
    11875000

    1212500
    1212500
    12125000
    after unlocking?

    is max applied boost voltage shown in the output of kgb? had the impression the last three voltage values might apply to max boost voltage?
    Processor: Intel Core i7 990X
    Motherboard: ASUS Rampage III Extreme
    Memory: Corsair CMT6GX3M3A2000C8
    Video Card: MSI N680GTX Lightning
    Power Supply: Seasonic S12 650W
    Case: Chieftec BH-01B-B-B

  22. #22
    Xtreme Addict CrazyNutz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,787
    Quote Originally Posted by fgw View Post
    CrazyNutz, need some clarification:

    here is the output of my stock bios (680 lightning)


    Power Target: 225000
    Max Power Target: 300000 (133%)

    Voltage Table:
    1150000
    1150000
    11500000

    1150000
    1150000
    11500000

    unlocking it with kgb and checking again without unlock switch resulted in the following output:


    Power Target: 225000
    Max Power Target: 337500 (150%)

    Voltage Table:
    1187500
    1187500
    11875000

    1187500
    1187500
    11875000


    regarding your statement in your first post: "It will unlock to 150% Power, Voltage 1.1875v (1.2125v On Boost)"

    shouldn't it read something like

    Voltage Table:
    1187500
    1187500
    11875000

    1212500
    1212500
    12125000
    after unlocking?

    is max applied boost voltage shown in the output of kgb? had the impression the last three voltage values might apply to max boost voltage?


    The two voltage tables for GK104 bios are always the same values. The boost logic automatically boost the voltage up 2 levels.
    You have notice i'm sure that your stock volts 1.150v will go to 1.175 on boost.

    1150000
    1162500
    1175000
    1187500 < my tool sets the voltage tables to this
    1200000
    1212500 < The boost logic will bring it here, (if the GPU is cool, and not drawing too much power))
    Sandy Bridge 2500k @ 4.5ghz 1.28v | MSI p67a-gd65 B3 Mobo | Samsung ddr3 8gb |
    Swiftech apogee drive II | Coolgate 120| GTX660ti w/heat killer gpu x| Seasonic x650 PSU

    QX9650 @ 4ghz | P5K-E/WIFI-AP Mobo | Hyperx ddr2 1066 4gb | EVGA GTX560ti 448 core FTW @ 900mhz | OCZ 700w Modular PSU |
    DD MC-TDX CPU block | DD Maze5 GPU block | Black Ice Xtreme II 240 Rad | Laing D5 Pump

  23. #23
    I am Xtreme Ket's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,585
    Interesting tool, sorta makes me wish I bought a GTX670 so I could play with this app. I suppose I'll have to make do with the AMD beta drivers for now while I research possibilities of making a similar app for AMD 7 series cards (I'm sick of using OC software)

    "Prowler"
    Asrock Z77 Extreme6 | i5 2500k @ 4.6GHz 1.4v | 2x4GB PC12800 Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-15 1T 1.55v | Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X w\ Gelid Icy Vision A | Xonar DX 7.1 | 640GB WD Black | 2x Sony Optiarc | Corsair 850w HX

    Cooling:

    3x Coolermaster Sickleflow 120mm 70CFM fans | Modified CoolIT ECO sealed loop CPU cooler | Custom made "The Judge" VGA VRM heatsink

    Asrock Z77 thread! | Asrock Z77 Extreme6 Review | Asrock P67 Extreme4 Review | Asrock P67 Extreme4/6 Pro3 thread | Asrock Z68 Extreme4 thread | Asrock Z68 Extreme4 Review | Asrock Z68 Gen3 Thread | 8GB G-Skill review | TK 2.ZERO homepage | P5Q series mBIOS thread

    (\_/) This is Bunny.
    (+.+) Bunny is dead.
    (^ ^) Copy and paste Bunny into your sig to create an army of BUNNY ZOMBIE MINIONS!!!

  24. #24
    Xtreme Addict aussie-revhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Sydney , Australia
    Posts
    1,604
    Can someone upload unlocked bios for Asus GTX680 DCII OC ?
    That way I won't stuff it up

    Bencher/Gamer(1) 4930K - Asus R4E - 2x R9 290x - G.skill Pi 2200c7 or Team 2400LV 4x4GB - EK Supreme HF - SR1-420 - Qnix 2560x1440
    Netbox AMD 5600K - Gigabyte mitx - Aten DVI/USB/120Hz KVM
    PB 1xTitan=16453(3D11), 1xGTX680=13343(3D11), 1x GTX580=8733(3D11)38000(3D06) 1x7970=12059(3D11)40000(vantage)395k(AM3) Folding for team 24

    AUSTRALIAN DRAG RACING http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OFsbfEIy3Yw

  25. #25
    Xtreme Mentor bhavv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    2,617
    If I managed to figure it out, you can too! Took me like 2-3 hours of reading to figure it out, but heres a summary:

    - Use GPUZ to extract your VGA bios, and make a copy into the KGB folder, and a backup elsewhere.
    - Put KBG folder including the bios on your C drive (not neccessary, but makes the rest easier)
    - Run cmd prompt which should default to the C drive:

    CD kbgfoldername
    kbg.exe biosname.rom unlock

    That should be done. Then use a bootable USB drive with the latest NVflash plus your unlocked bios and flash it. (--index=0 -4 -5 -6 biosname.rom, your index number might be 1 instead).
    Intel I7 980 + Phanteks PH-TC14PE Red, Asus Rampage III Extreme, 12 GB Geil Ultra Series
    SLI MSI GTX 680 power edition, Creative X-Fi Titanium HD, 2x4 Tb Seagate HDD, 128 Gb Crucial M4, 512 Gb Crucial M4
    Gigabyte M8000X, Microsoft Sidewinder X4, Antec P182, Acer G24, Windows 7 Professional, XFX Proseries 850w XXX

    Keeping my mobo + CPU till they are obsolete

    Copper loop X48 build Blue X58 Build Red X58 build

Page 1 of 21 123411 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •