Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Overclocking GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 Rev3 (FBd bios) with FX-8350 Piledriver

  1. #1
    I am Xtreme massman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    4,812

    Overclocking GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 Rev3 (FBd bios) with FX-8350 Piledriver

    Just a quick heads up for everyone who's playing with the UD3 and Piledriver.

    GBT recently released the UEFI BIOS for AMD on the 990FX series and I had the opportunity to quickly get a hands-on testing. As you can imagine, going from regular to UEFI BIOS comes with a whole lot of issues and problems and the first release didn't do so well for overclocking. I've quickly tested this combo for overclocking capability and the latest FBd BIOS fixes most of the issues I had before. The board's playing quite nicely HTT-wise - better than the UD7 in fact. There's still some stuff missing (DDR3-2400 divider for example) and some bugs (HTT overclocking when XMP enabled might not always work), but in general it's now working fine for overclocking .

    If you're on FA or FBa BIOS ... definitely flash .

    Didn't have the time to do much testing, so just ran a quick 3DMark11 Physics test on air cooling.



    Bios download: http://downloads.hwbot.org/downloads...X/9FXAUD33.FBd

    Have fun!
    Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

  2. #2
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,471
    Massman, push it more, I got 5200 MHz 3D11 :-)...
    AMD FX-8350@5 GHz 1.52V + H100 Corsair, Crosshair V Formula-Z, 2x 4GB GSKill TridentX 2400 MHz+ 10-12-12-25, EAH HD6870 DirectCU, Corsair TX850W
    CPUs:next 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, 2x Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930K, i7-5960x coming this yearAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread Intel Cinebench R15 thread

  3. #3
    Registered User Viking1962's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    30
    Code name: Zembezi but you have FX-8350?
    Computer 1: AMD Vishera FX-8350 - Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z (AM3+) - Zotac GF 560Ti 448 Core - 8GB (2x4GB) G.Skill TridentX 2400MHz - Samsung 500GB - Samsung 1TB - Western Digital 1TB - Motherboard Sound - Bitfenix Ghost - BenQ XL2410T
    Computer 2: AMD Phenom II x6 1100T BE - Asus M4A79T Deluxe (AM3) - Sapphire 5870 - 8GB 1600MHz Corsair Vengeance - Western Digital 500GB - X-FI XtremeGamer - Antec 300 - Samsung SyncMaster 204B

  4. #4
    Xtreme Cruncher charged3800z24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,988
    Quote Originally Posted by Viking1962 View Post
    Code name: Zembezi but you have FX-8350?
    Reason is CPU-Z version

  5. #5
    Xtreme Legend The Stilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    1,694
    UD3 really handing such a load
    Because UD7 (Rev. 1.0) isn't.


  6. #6
    I am Xtreme massman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    4,812
    Quote Originally Posted by FlanK3r View Post
    Massman, push it more, I got 5200 MHz 3D11 :-)...
    But my CPU cooler wasn't mounted, just on top of CPU, and only used one fan ... 4800 8c isn't that bad .

    Quote Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
    UD3 really handing such a load
    Because UD7 (Rev. 1.0) isn't.

    The PWM gets quite hot on the UD3, so had a fan on it. Not sure how it'll do with CPU under LN2 ... might test later.

    Didn't have an issue with the UD7 other than surprisingly low CPU overclocks. Got to about 6300 with 8c8t and 7000 6c6t (core 3-4 bad). About 7500 2D stable with 2c2t.



    Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

  7. #7
    xnotx
    Guest
    Very nice indeed...

    Are there any other 990fx boards that have a beta UEFI bios avail?
    Will the older revision UD3's get an updated UEFI bios?

    Trying to find a rev3 UD3 board but no luck....would grab one of an older revision or the UD5 if i knew they have/will get the UEFI bios in the future.

    Thanks

  8. #8
    I am Xtreme massman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    4,812
    Small update - I am done with the UD7 at the moment, trying the UD3 to see if I can push the HTT clock a little bit higher. Seems to be working fine:



    The UD7 was stuck at 335MHz HTT frequency. That board has a 6-layer PCB. The UD3 can easily do 350MHz HTT and has 4-layer PCB. I think it's obvious why I am trying the UD3, not much more explanation is needed. The efficiency on this board is off for some reason, I think I'll have to re-install the OS to get the right efficiency back. That will be something for later this week, though. Next objective is to see if I get my good PiFast run back (17.4x) and then Super PI 32M.

    Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •