Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 33

Thread: **[OFFICIAL]** Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z Overclocking / troubleshooting/ Discussion

  1. #1

    Cool **[OFFICIAL]** Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z Overclocking / troubleshooting/ Discussion

    Hello guys !

    The new AM3+ overclocking motherboard is finnaly here.

    Take a look



    Anyone have bought it? Any overclocking?

  2. #2
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,795
    ROG Power PCs - Intel and AMD
    CPUs:i9-7900X, i9-9900K, i7-6950X, i7-5960X, i7-8086K, i7-8700K, 4x i7-7700K, i3-7350K, 2x i7-6700K, i5-6600K, R7-2700X, 4x R5 2600X, R5 2400G, R3 1200, R7-1800X, R7-1700X, 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, A10-7870K, Athlon 845, Athlon 860K,AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930KAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread Intel Cinebench R15 thread

  3. #3
    Nice results Flank3r . Can you recomand some IC for this CPU and chipset?

  4. #4

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Front of computer
    Posts
    482
    Single Ethernet
    Step aside, and you won't have to feel the awesome wrath of my mustache!

  6. #6
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,795
    I have BIOS 0806, now this BIOS is not avaiable at asus web, I thinking, 0901 replace my 0806...
    ROG Power PCs - Intel and AMD
    CPUs:i9-7900X, i9-9900K, i7-6950X, i7-5960X, i7-8086K, i7-8700K, 4x i7-7700K, i3-7350K, 2x i7-6700K, i5-6600K, R7-2700X, 4x R5 2600X, R5 2400G, R3 1200, R7-1800X, R7-1700X, 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, A10-7870K, Athlon 845, Athlon 860K,AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930KAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread Intel Cinebench R15 thread

  7. #7
    After I updated the bios with 0901 and the Irog Firmware I shutdown the PC for a couple of minutes. After that I get the FF code no matter what I do. The led remains on DRAM led. I have try with ELPIDA BDBG , PSC 3GA, Hynix CFR,Hynix BFR IC , CPU Reset, clear cmos. The only code I get is FF. I don't have any video signal, I can't acces the bios.
    Any suggestions ?
    Last edited by Vladutz20; 11-07-2012 at 01:16 AM.

  8. #8
    Update for BIOS 1002
    http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/...-ASUS-1002.zip

    About my problem. I have send it to RMA. It was a hardware issue. I have tryed also with another cpu, memory kit and bios flashback.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Smalltimer View Post
    Single Ethernet
    Does such a beast even exist?

    I was going to go with a p8Z77-WS because of the dual gigabit ports, but I've since decided on the AM3+ socket for the new 8350, I haven't seen anything with the dual ports; may have to invest in an intel pci-e card.

  10. #10
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    544
    Yes, it's a shame. Old s.939 boards had dual gigabit ports, miss those days...
    X6 1090T (1010MPMW) @ 4267MHz 1.44V NB@3229MHz 1.33V | Asus Crosshair IV Formula | 2x2GB Corsair Dominator GTX2 @ 1845MHz 6-6-5-17-22 1T | Asus HD4890 @ 1050/4800 | Corsair HX850W | HAF 932
    EK Supreme HF | EK-FC4890LT | MCP655 + Koolance D5 Top | ThermoChill PA120.3 + 3x Enermax Magma | XSPC Bay res | Masterkleer 1/2" UV Red

  11. #11

  12. #12
    Registered User StinkEye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    36
    1101 turned my rig into a nightmare. Rolled back to 1002 and all is good again...after 2 weeks of memory swaps, timing changes, stock settings. My board seems exceptionally sensitive to the RAM I have installed. Mushkin Redline 1866 (4 x 4Gb) = nut roll, Crucial Ballistix Elite 1866 (2 x 8Gb) = horror show, Patriot Viper 3 1866 (2 x 8Gb) @ 2133_2.65v = golden...but only on 1002. Update the bios to 1101 and it is most certainly not "increasing system stability". Anybody else experienceing peculiar sensitivity to RAM?
    ASUS ROG Zenith Extreme
    AMD Ryzen TR 1950X @ 4GHz
    Corsair AX1600i
    32 Gb Corsair Vengeance LED 3200MHz (16-18-18-36)
    2 x Asus ROG Strix Vega 64
    Sound BlasterX AE-5
    Samsung SSD 950 Pro 512Gb, Samsung 850 Pro, 3 x Samsung 850 EVO, 2 x Samsung 860 EVO
    2 x Koolance RP-1250 (Corsair SP120 Fans)
    2 x Koolance 480mm Copper Radiators (20 FPI)
    XSPC RayStorm Neo TR4
    EK-FC Vega Strix
    Corsair Obsidian 900D (Corsair AF120/140 fans)

  13. #13
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,795
    So I know, I can stay at my BIOS too
    ROG Power PCs - Intel and AMD
    CPUs:i9-7900X, i9-9900K, i7-6950X, i7-5960X, i7-8086K, i7-8700K, 4x i7-7700K, i3-7350K, 2x i7-6700K, i5-6600K, R7-2700X, 4x R5 2600X, R5 2400G, R3 1200, R7-1800X, R7-1700X, 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, A10-7870K, Athlon 845, Athlon 860K,AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930KAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread Intel Cinebench R15 thread

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by StinkEye View Post
    1101 turned my rig into a nightmare. Rolled back to 1002 and all is good again...after 2 weeks of memory swaps, timing changes, stock settings. My board seems exceptionally sensitive to the RAM I have installed. Mushkin Redline 1866 (4 x 4Gb) = nut roll, Crucial Ballistix Elite 1866 (2 x 8Gb) = horror show, Patriot Viper 3 1866 (2 x 8Gb) @ 2133_2.65v = golden...but only on 1002. Update the bios to 1101 and it is most certainly not "increasing system stability". Anybody else experienceing peculiar sensitivity to RAM?
    I have just bought myself a Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z Rev. 1.01, but have not tested it yet (im waiting for my memory). I hope I can clock the computer little higher than my Gigabyte GA 990FXA-U7 (Rev.1.0) board did. So BIOS 1101 isnt any good? It doesnt sound good . I hope my 8GB (2x4) G.Skill TridentX 2400MHz memory will work. I also have G.Skill RipJaws 1866MHz memory if the new one wont work. Is it possible to downgrade the BIOS to 1002 if its already installed
    Computer 1: AMD Vishera FX-8350 - Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z (AM3+) - Zotac GF 560Ti 448 Core - 8GB (2x4GB) G.Skill TridentX 2400MHz - Samsung 500GB - Samsung 1TB - Western Digital 1TB - Motherboard Sound - Bitfenix Ghost - BenQ XL2410T
    Computer 2: AMD Phenom II x6 1100T BE - Asus M4A79T Deluxe (AM3) - Sapphire 5870 - 8GB 1600MHz Corsair Vengeance - Western Digital 500GB - X-FI XtremeGamer - Antec 300 - Samsung SyncMaster 204B

  15. #15
    Registered User StinkEye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    36
    1101 didn't work out at all for me, but it could just be the limited amount of ram I had to test it with. I didn't have any trouble rolling back to 1002, I even used Asus Update from windows. I haven't had any issues at all with Bios 1002, it is totally stable for me.
    ASUS ROG Zenith Extreme
    AMD Ryzen TR 1950X @ 4GHz
    Corsair AX1600i
    32 Gb Corsair Vengeance LED 3200MHz (16-18-18-36)
    2 x Asus ROG Strix Vega 64
    Sound BlasterX AE-5
    Samsung SSD 950 Pro 512Gb, Samsung 850 Pro, 3 x Samsung 850 EVO, 2 x Samsung 860 EVO
    2 x Koolance RP-1250 (Corsair SP120 Fans)
    2 x Koolance 480mm Copper Radiators (20 FPI)
    XSPC RayStorm Neo TR4
    EK-FC Vega Strix
    Corsair Obsidian 900D (Corsair AF120/140 fans)

  16. #16
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    30
    Ok, isnt higher risk that 4x4GB memory makes the computer more instable?

    I got my G.Skill 8GB (2x4GB) 2400MHz memory today. Started up my computer and the computer wont boot The error code was 50 that means Invalid Memory or Incompatible Memory speed. Damit!! I think, then I checked the BIOS version and it was 0508 Beta BIOS installed. After I updated the BIOS to 1002 the computer works perfect at 4.8GHz (seems stable at 1.44V so far) and 2400MHz on memory. At the moment Im installing Windows 8 and modding it so I get rid of Metro UI, Disable Ribbons an get a Startmenu (Classic Shell). After that I will do some benchmarks

    [EDIT]
    New BIOS for Formula-Z released today Version 1201
    Last edited by Viking1962; 01-09-2013 at 10:45 AM.
    Computer 1: AMD Vishera FX-8350 - Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z (AM3+) - Zotac GF 560Ti 448 Core - 8GB (2x4GB) G.Skill TridentX 2400MHz - Samsung 500GB - Samsung 1TB - Western Digital 1TB - Motherboard Sound - Bitfenix Ghost - BenQ XL2410T
    Computer 2: AMD Phenom II x6 1100T BE - Asus M4A79T Deluxe (AM3) - Sapphire 5870 - 8GB 1600MHz Corsair Vengeance - Western Digital 500GB - X-FI XtremeGamer - Antec 300 - Samsung SyncMaster 204B

  17. #17
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    6,465
    I'm running bios 1201 atm. Doesn't seem much different from the 0508 bios this board came with. A word of warning though: The board overvolts like mad! 1.6Vdimm is 1.65V under load, 1.275Vcpu-nb is 1.35V under laod with CPU-NB LLC at regular, Vcore overvolts as well, especially at LLC Ultra High.

    Make sure to have a DMM at hand and measure under load, you'll be surprised!
    Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z | FX 8350 | 2x4GB Trident-X 2600 C10 | 2x ATI HD5870 Crossfire | Enermax Revo 1050watt | OCZ Vertex 3 60GB | Samsung F1 1TB

    Watercooling: XSPC Raystorm | EK 5870 Delrin fullcover | TFC X-changer 480 w/ 4x Gentle Typhoon | DDC2+ Delrin top | EK 200mm res | Primochill LRT 3/8 tubing

    Case: Murdermodded TJ-07

    sub 9 sec. SPi1M 940BE 955BE 965BE 1090T

  18. #18
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    30
    Hi, i tried to use my mem at the spec frequency 2133 (Teamgroup Xtreem LV 9-11-11) but there's nothing to do. All the settings at default except for mem (i use xmp profile); occt fails after 1 / some minutes. If i set mem at 1600 auto occt run well.
    I tried all the bios for the motherboard (Crosshair V Foemula -Z) from 0901 to 1202, no difference.
    Triet Cpu/voltage up to 1.4 v and Vnb up to 1,2 v, and all the subtimings manually, no difference.
    If i set 1600 8-8-8-24 it's occt stable.
    What is the problem? Bad cpu?
    Tnx!!

    Inviato dal mio GT-I9300 con Tapatalk 2

  19. #19
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by Satanello View Post
    Hi, i tried to use my mem at the spec frequency 2133 (Teamgroup Xtreem LV 9-11-11) but there's nothing to do. All the settings at default except for mem (i use xmp profile); occt fails after 1 / some minutes. If i set mem at 1600 auto occt run well.
    I tried all the bios for the motherboard (Crosshair V Foemula -Z) from 0901 to 1202, no difference.
    Triet Cpu/voltage up to 1.4 v and Vnb up to 1,2 v, and all the subtimings manually, no difference.
    If i set 1600 8-8-8-24 it's occt stable.
    What is the problem? Bad cpu?
    Tnx!!

    Inviato dal mio GT-I9300 con Tapatalk 2
    BIOS 1202? the highest version number is 1201. I use version 1002 and it works perfect with my G.Skill TridentX 2400MHz memory
    Your memory maybe is incompatible with AMD?
    Last edited by Viking1962; 01-14-2013 at 12:03 AM.
    Computer 1: AMD Vishera FX-8350 - Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z (AM3+) - Zotac GF 560Ti 448 Core - 8GB (2x4GB) G.Skill TridentX 2400MHz - Samsung 500GB - Samsung 1TB - Western Digital 1TB - Motherboard Sound - Bitfenix Ghost - BenQ XL2410T
    Computer 2: AMD Phenom II x6 1100T BE - Asus M4A79T Deluxe (AM3) - Sapphire 5870 - 8GB 1600MHz Corsair Vengeance - Western Digital 500GB - X-FI XtremeGamer - Antec 300 - Samsung SyncMaster 204B

  20. #20
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    30
    :-) ops! Little mistake my bios ver. Is 1201; tried a new cpu and the problem is the same. With my new cpu i found "the trick".... i'm using memory oc profile and vdimm increased from default 1,5v to 1,53v. Now system is stable in occt and games/apps.

    Inviato dal mio GT-I9300 con Tapatalk 2
    Last edited by Satanello; 01-17-2013 at 03:00 AM.

  21. #21
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    6,465
    Does anyone know a program that reads out NB and SB temps?

    I remember this was a joke on the non Z version of the Crosshair V Formula but on this board it seems to be missing again. If it's possible to set a thermal treshold for the NB it should be possible to read out the temps, right?

    Maybe Asus is afraid to show NB temps after the overheating Northbridges on the Crosshair IV Formula due to poor designed heatsinks and wrong size stand offs?
    Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z | FX 8350 | 2x4GB Trident-X 2600 C10 | 2x ATI HD5870 Crossfire | Enermax Revo 1050watt | OCZ Vertex 3 60GB | Samsung F1 1TB

    Watercooling: XSPC Raystorm | EK 5870 Delrin fullcover | TFC X-changer 480 w/ 4x Gentle Typhoon | DDC2+ Delrin top | EK 200mm res | Primochill LRT 3/8 tubing

    Case: Murdermodded TJ-07

    sub 9 sec. SPi1M 940BE 955BE 965BE 1090T

  22. #22
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Athens -> Hellas
    Posts
    944
    Have you tried HW Info? Or Aida 64? Even if they don't name them NB or SB, they may have temp1 temp2 etc. which you may figure out.
    Last edited by felix_w; 01-20-2013 at 12:00 PM.

  23. #23
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    6,465
    Tried both, no temp1 or 2. Maybe an older version HW Info does, will try some.
    Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z | FX 8350 | 2x4GB Trident-X 2600 C10 | 2x ATI HD5870 Crossfire | Enermax Revo 1050watt | OCZ Vertex 3 60GB | Samsung F1 1TB

    Watercooling: XSPC Raystorm | EK 5870 Delrin fullcover | TFC X-changer 480 w/ 4x Gentle Typhoon | DDC2+ Delrin top | EK 200mm res | Primochill LRT 3/8 tubing

    Case: Murdermodded TJ-07

    sub 9 sec. SPi1M 940BE 955BE 965BE 1090T

  24. #24
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Athens -> Hellas
    Posts
    944
    What about Overdrive ? Does it have any info ?

    Ah, managed to recall where i've seen the temps you ask for, although a CHVF not Z.

    Check this thread by aphasia in [H]forum.

    Here's the screenshot, showing the ASUS ROG section with NB and SB temps.

    EDIT: Sorry, I meant HWMonitor, not HW Info...http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/hwmonitor.html
    Last edited by felix_w; 01-20-2013 at 03:12 PM.

  25. #25
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    6,465
    Nope, no info in Overdive, not in Ai suite (Turbo EVO )and not in Aida. Tried several versions of HWMonitor and HWMonitor Pro...no love.

    Maybe i should try a different bios version?
    Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z | FX 8350 | 2x4GB Trident-X 2600 C10 | 2x ATI HD5870 Crossfire | Enermax Revo 1050watt | OCZ Vertex 3 60GB | Samsung F1 1TB

    Watercooling: XSPC Raystorm | EK 5870 Delrin fullcover | TFC X-changer 480 w/ 4x Gentle Typhoon | DDC2+ Delrin top | EK 200mm res | Primochill LRT 3/8 tubing

    Case: Murdermodded TJ-07

    sub 9 sec. SPi1M 940BE 955BE 965BE 1090T

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •