Page 15 of 15 FirstFirst ... 512131415
Results 351 to 371 of 371

Thread: Working app_info files

  1. #351
    V3 Xeons coming soon!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    33,457
    Quote Originally Posted by OldChap View Post
    edited above to show change to GPU wu's running
    no, sorry, I meant I was able to contact WCG and upload...2600K machine still has it's issues..
    Crunch with us, the XS WCG team
    The XS WCG team needs your support.
    A good project with good goals.
    Come join us,get that warm fuzzy feeling that you've done something good for mankind.

    Quote Originally Posted by Frisch View Post
    If you have lost faith in humanity, then hold a newborn in your hands.

  2. #352
    NooB MOD
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    5,803
    This isn't working for me with my GTX 580, whenever I add:

    Code:
    <app_config>
       <app>
          <name>hcc1</name>
          <max_concurrent>4</max_concurrent>
          <gpu_versions>
              <gpu_usage>.25</gpu_usage>
              <cpu_usage>1</cpu_usage>
          </gpu_versions>
       </app>
    </app_config>
    I get a notice about a syntax error, clicking on it takes me here http://boinc.berkeley.edu/wiki/Anonymous_platform

    The project then forgets all work units in progress and won't fetch new work, even though the event log doesn't show errors.

    Anyone?
    Xtreme SUPERCOMPUTER
    Nov 1 - Nov 8 Join Now!


    Quote Originally Posted by Jowy Atreides View Post
    Intel is about to get athlon'd
    Athlon64 3700+ KACAE 0605APAW @ 3455MHz 314x11 1.92v/Vapochill || Core 2 Duo E8500 Q807 @ 6060MHz 638x9.5 1.95v LN2 @ -120'c || Athlon64 FX-55 CABCE 0516WPMW @ 3916MHz 261x15 1.802v/LN2 @ -40c || DFI LP UT CFX3200-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra D || Sapphire X1950XT || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 290MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v || 2x256MB G.Skill TCCD @ 350MHz 3-4-4-8 3.1v || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 294MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v

  3. #353
    V3 Xeons coming soon!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    33,457
    Quote Originally Posted by [XC] Oj101 View Post
    This isn't working for me with my GTX 580, whenever I add:

    Code:
    <app_config>
       <app>
          <name>hcc1</name>
          <max_concurrent>4</max_concurrent>
          <gpu_versions>
              <gpu_usage>.25</gpu_usage>
              <cpu_usage>1</cpu_usage>
          </gpu_versions>
       </app>
    </app_config>
    I get a notice about a syntax error, clicking on it takes me here http://boinc.berkeley.edu/wiki/Anonymous_platform

    The project then forgets all work units in progress and won't fetch new work, even though the event log doesn't show errors.

    Anyone?
    JMHO but I wouldn't run more than one GPU WU on an nVidia based card..That is just my opinion..
    Crunch with us, the XS WCG team
    The XS WCG team needs your support.
    A good project with good goals.
    Come join us,get that warm fuzzy feeling that you've done something good for mankind.

    Quote Originally Posted by Frisch View Post
    If you have lost faith in humanity, then hold a newborn in your hands.

  4. #354
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Middle Earth
    Posts
    208
    I have my NVIDIA GPUs set to 0.5C + 0.5NV. Works for me.

    The link referred to the app_info.xml file. That is not where you want to go.
    Last edited by Gandalf; 03-30-2013 at 10:47 AM.


    "I refuse to answer that question on the grounds that I don't know the answer" [Douglas Adams (11 March 1952 - 11 May 2001)]

  5. #355
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Middle Earth
    Posts
    208
    MM - if you are running BOINC on more than one computer, you might want to download/install/run BoincTasks. I use it to keep a watch on all my computers - http://www.efmer.eu/boinc/boinc_tasks/


    "I refuse to answer that question on the grounds that I don't know the answer" [Douglas Adams (11 March 1952 - 11 May 2001)]

  6. #356
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Plymouth (UK)
    Posts
    5,283
    Oj: show us your log.

    I'm particularly interested in these lines:



    With nVidia yours will be a bit different.

    Confirm which Boinc version and confirm that you have deleted any previous app_info file.
    Last edited by OldChap; 03-30-2013 at 11:31 AM.


    My Biggest Fear Is When I die, My Wife Sells All My Stuff For What I Told Her I Paid For It.
    79 SB threads and 32 IB Threads across 4 rigs 111 threads Crunching!!

  7. #357
    NooB MOD
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    5,803
    My log is currently clear as I had to reset WCG to get it crunching again and I don't want to break it again tonight for fear of not getting more work units, but I've never seen app_config and I had to make app_info (it wasn't there). BOINC version 7.0.59.
    Xtreme SUPERCOMPUTER
    Nov 1 - Nov 8 Join Now!


    Quote Originally Posted by Jowy Atreides View Post
    Intel is about to get athlon'd
    Athlon64 3700+ KACAE 0605APAW @ 3455MHz 314x11 1.92v/Vapochill || Core 2 Duo E8500 Q807 @ 6060MHz 638x9.5 1.95v LN2 @ -120'c || Athlon64 FX-55 CABCE 0516WPMW @ 3916MHz 261x15 1.802v/LN2 @ -40c || DFI LP UT CFX3200-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra D || Sapphire X1950XT || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 290MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v || 2x256MB G.Skill TCCD @ 350MHz 3-4-4-8 3.1v || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 294MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v

  8. #358
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Plymouth (UK)
    Posts
    5,283
    Mismatch in boinc version and use of app_config/app_info

    can't remember the exact version number but I think it was boinc 7.0.42 and later require app config or at least prior to that it doesn't work.

    app_config files replace app_info which must be deleted


    My Biggest Fear Is When I die, My Wife Sells All My Stuff For What I Told Her I Paid For It.
    79 SB threads and 32 IB Threads across 4 rigs 111 threads Crunching!!

  9. #359
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Crab Nebula
    Posts
    493
    Quote Originally Posted by OldChap View Post
    Mismatch in boinc version and use of app_config/app_info

    can't remember the exact version number but I think it was boinc 7.0.42 and later require app config or at least prior to that it doesn't work.

    app_config files replace app_info which must be deleted
    You are correct OC. 7.0.40 or above to use app_config. Do not use app_info in 7.0.40 or above. You'll be stuck with WUs that won't report.



    You'll never know what you're living for until you know what you're willing to die for.

  10. #360
    NooB MOD
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    5,803
    Ah, thank you. Does the content of the file stay the same?
    Xtreme SUPERCOMPUTER
    Nov 1 - Nov 8 Join Now!


    Quote Originally Posted by Jowy Atreides View Post
    Intel is about to get athlon'd
    Athlon64 3700+ KACAE 0605APAW @ 3455MHz 314x11 1.92v/Vapochill || Core 2 Duo E8500 Q807 @ 6060MHz 638x9.5 1.95v LN2 @ -120'c || Athlon64 FX-55 CABCE 0516WPMW @ 3916MHz 261x15 1.802v/LN2 @ -40c || DFI LP UT CFX3200-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra D || Sapphire X1950XT || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 290MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v || 2x256MB G.Skill TCCD @ 350MHz 3-4-4-8 3.1v || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 294MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v

  11. #361
    NooB MOD
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    5,803
    I took a chance, it's now running four WUs
    Xtreme SUPERCOMPUTER
    Nov 1 - Nov 8 Join Now!


    Quote Originally Posted by Jowy Atreides View Post
    Intel is about to get athlon'd
    Athlon64 3700+ KACAE 0605APAW @ 3455MHz 314x11 1.92v/Vapochill || Core 2 Duo E8500 Q807 @ 6060MHz 638x9.5 1.95v LN2 @ -120'c || Athlon64 FX-55 CABCE 0516WPMW @ 3916MHz 261x15 1.802v/LN2 @ -40c || DFI LP UT CFX3200-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra D || Sapphire X1950XT || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 290MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v || 2x256MB G.Skill TCCD @ 350MHz 3-4-4-8 3.1v || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 294MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v

  12. #362
    V3 Xeons coming soon!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    33,457
    Update:
    I uninstalled 7.0.59, installed 7.0.58, same issue
    Then I tried Driver sweeper, removed all the NVidia hidden files and reg entries, booted, did a fresh install of 7.0.58 and sam thing and this in the log:
    3/31/2013 1:40:22 AM | World Community Grid | Starting task X0930126750857201105260942_1 using hcc1 version 705 (ati_hcc1) in slot 8
    3/31/2013 1:40:23 AM | World Community Grid | Computation for task X0930126750857201105260942_1 finished
    3/31/2013 1:40:23 AM | World Community Grid | Output file X0930126750857201105260942_1_0 for task X0930126750857201105260942_1 absent

    They are starting and going to computational error in the same second..
    Well I've been wanting to replace this board with a Intel Z77 board I have and I guess this is the motivation to do so..
    Crunch with us, the XS WCG team
    The XS WCG team needs your support.
    A good project with good goals.
    Come join us,get that warm fuzzy feeling that you've done something good for mankind.

    Quote Originally Posted by Frisch View Post
    If you have lost faith in humanity, then hold a newborn in your hands.

  13. #363
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    727
    Quote Originally Posted by Movieman View Post
    Update:
    I uninstalled 7.0.59, installed 7.0.58, same issue
    Then I tried Driver sweeper, removed all the NVidia hidden files and reg entries, booted, did a fresh install of 7.0.58 and sam thing and this in the log:
    3/31/2013 1:40:22 AM | World Community Grid | Starting task X0930126750857201105260942_1 using hcc1 version 705 (ati_hcc1) in slot 8
    3/31/2013 1:40:23 AM | World Community Grid | Computation for task X0930126750857201105260942_1 finished
    3/31/2013 1:40:23 AM | World Community Grid | Output file X0930126750857201105260942_1_0 for task X0930126750857201105260942_1 absent

    They are starting and going to computational error in the same second..
    Well I've been wanting to replace this board with a Intel Z77 board I have and I guess this is the motivation to do so..
    MM, Can you confirm that you followed these steps to use Drive Sweeper..

    1- Un-install AMD CAT 13.1 and delete C:\AMD\Support\13-1_vista_win7_win8_64_dd_ccc_whql
    2- re-boot in safe mode
    3- Use drive sweeper to remove Nvidia and ATI/AMD display drivers
    4- Do normal OS re-boot & re-install AMD CAT 13.1
    5- Re-start system
    6- re-start BOINC


  14. #364
    V3 Xeons coming soon!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    33,457
    Quote Originally Posted by jeanguy2 View Post
    MM, Can you confirm that you followed these steps to use Drive Sweeper..

    1- Un-install AMD CAT 13.1 and delete C:\AMD\Support\13-1_vista_win7_win8_64_dd_ccc_whql
    2- re-boot in safe mode
    3- Use drive sweeper to remove Nvidia and ATI/AMD display drivers
    4- Do normal OS re-boot & re-install AMD CAT 13.1
    5- Re-start system
    6- re-start BOINC
    No, I did exactly what I said above..Didn't see the need to remove the ATI 13.1 drivers since that is what i needed to use..
    Sort of made up my mind tonight that I'm replacing the board and will have a fresh formatted drive to start with.
    Crunch with us, the XS WCG team
    The XS WCG team needs your support.
    A good project with good goals.
    Come join us,get that warm fuzzy feeling that you've done something good for mankind.

    Quote Originally Posted by Frisch View Post
    If you have lost faith in humanity, then hold a newborn in your hands.

  15. #365
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    385
    I had an issue when I messed with drivers. The WUs would immediately error out upon starting. I cleared them(drivers) out and reinstalled everything and the problem was fixed. But if you don't buy that, it's a good enough excuse to get a new board! Will this board be hypothetical like the other one?

  16. #366
    V3 Xeons coming soon!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    33,457
    Quote Originally Posted by 0ne.shot View Post
    I had an issue when I messed with drivers. The WUs would immediately error out upon starting. I cleared them(drivers) out and reinstalled everything and the problem was fixed. But if you don't buy that, it's a good enough excuse to get a new board! Will this board be hypothetical like the other one?
    No. it's for the 2600K..
    Intel DZ77RE-75K
    It's actually a board I sold to a guy here, someone stepped on the box in shipping and he sent it back to me and I replaced it..
    One of the dimm locks is broken off but I think it's usable..Not sellable but usable and a big step up from that first gen Intel board that the 2600K is in now.
    This is the board:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813121639
    Crunch with us, the XS WCG team
    The XS WCG team needs your support.
    A good project with good goals.
    Come join us,get that warm fuzzy feeling that you've done something good for mankind.

    Quote Originally Posted by Frisch View Post
    If you have lost faith in humanity, then hold a newborn in your hands.

  17. #367
    NooB MOD
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    5,803
    I think I'm missing something else now, since doing the app_config file the only threads using the CPU are GFX threads. My CPUs are sitting at 16 % usage and all CPU tasks are Waiting to run :/
    Xtreme SUPERCOMPUTER
    Nov 1 - Nov 8 Join Now!


    Quote Originally Posted by Jowy Atreides View Post
    Intel is about to get athlon'd
    Athlon64 3700+ KACAE 0605APAW @ 3455MHz 314x11 1.92v/Vapochill || Core 2 Duo E8500 Q807 @ 6060MHz 638x9.5 1.95v LN2 @ -120'c || Athlon64 FX-55 CABCE 0516WPMW @ 3916MHz 261x15 1.802v/LN2 @ -40c || DFI LP UT CFX3200-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra D || Sapphire X1950XT || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 290MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v || 2x256MB G.Skill TCCD @ 350MHz 3-4-4-8 3.1v || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 294MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v

  18. #368
    V3 Xeons coming soon!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    33,457
    Quote Originally Posted by [XC] Oj101 View Post
    I think I'm missing something else now, since doing the app_config file the only threads using the CPU are GFX threads. My CPUs are sitting at 16 % usage and all CPU tasks are Waiting to run :/
    You need to talk with the two guru's here..Old Chap and nanoprobe..Like the old Smith-Barney add.."When they talk people listen!"
    I need sleep..4:41am here! later guys!
    Crunch with us, the XS WCG team
    The XS WCG team needs your support.
    A good project with good goals.
    Come join us,get that warm fuzzy feeling that you've done something good for mankind.

    Quote Originally Posted by Frisch View Post
    If you have lost faith in humanity, then hold a newborn in your hands.

  19. #369
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    kingston.ma
    Posts
    2,139
    @OJ -
    max_concurrent is the total you want for both CPU and GPU

  20. #370
    NooB MOD
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    5,803
    So I want it like this?

    Code:
    <app_config>
       <app>
          <name>hcc1</name>
          <max_concurrent>26</max_concurrent>
          <gpu_versions>
              <gpu_usage>.25</gpu_usage>
              <cpu_usage>0.5</cpu_usage>
          </gpu_versions>
       </app>
    </app_config>
    Xtreme SUPERCOMPUTER
    Nov 1 - Nov 8 Join Now!


    Quote Originally Posted by Jowy Atreides View Post
    Intel is about to get athlon'd
    Athlon64 3700+ KACAE 0605APAW @ 3455MHz 314x11 1.92v/Vapochill || Core 2 Duo E8500 Q807 @ 6060MHz 638x9.5 1.95v LN2 @ -120'c || Athlon64 FX-55 CABCE 0516WPMW @ 3916MHz 261x15 1.802v/LN2 @ -40c || DFI LP UT CFX3200-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra D || Sapphire X1950XT || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 290MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v || 2x256MB G.Skill TCCD @ 350MHz 3-4-4-8 3.1v || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 294MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v

  21. #371
    NooB MOD
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    5,803
    CPU usage now sitting at 100 % with 22 CPU tasks and four GPU tasks in progress, many thanks!
    Xtreme SUPERCOMPUTER
    Nov 1 - Nov 8 Join Now!


    Quote Originally Posted by Jowy Atreides View Post
    Intel is about to get athlon'd
    Athlon64 3700+ KACAE 0605APAW @ 3455MHz 314x11 1.92v/Vapochill || Core 2 Duo E8500 Q807 @ 6060MHz 638x9.5 1.95v LN2 @ -120'c || Athlon64 FX-55 CABCE 0516WPMW @ 3916MHz 261x15 1.802v/LN2 @ -40c || DFI LP UT CFX3200-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra D || Sapphire X1950XT || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 290MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v || 2x256MB G.Skill TCCD @ 350MHz 3-4-4-8 3.1v || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 294MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v

Page 15 of 15 FirstFirst ... 512131415

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •