Page 1 of 20 123411 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 498

Thread: HCC GPU Launched.

  1. #1
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Plymouth (UK)
    Posts
    5,281

    HCC GPU Launched.

    It seems the launch for HCC GPU has gone ahead http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org/fo...d_thread,33962

    So, just to clarify ..... from the "getting started" http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org/he...rtName=GPU#610

    The cards that will be excluded listed below. We will periodically review the system for additional cards that should be added to this list.

    AMD/ATI: ATI Radeon HD 2300/2400/3200 (RV610)
    ATI Radeon HD 2600 (RV630)
    ATI Radeon HD 3800 (RV670)
    ATI Radeon HD 4350/4550 (R710)
    ATI Radeon HD 4600 series (R730)
    ATI Radeon HD 4700/4800 (RV740/RV770)

    NVIDIA: GeForce 210
    GeForce 310
    GeForce 310M
    GeForce 405
    GeForce 610M
    GeForce 8400
    GeForce 8400 GS
    GeForce 8500 GT
    GeForce 8600 GS
    GeForce 8600 GT
    GeForce 8700M GT
    GeForce 8800 GT
    GeForce 8800 GTS 512
    GeForce 8800M GTS
    GeForce 9300 GE
    GeForce 9400 GT
    GeForce 9500 GT
    GeForce 9600 GSO
    GeForce 9600 GSO 512
    GeForce 9600 GT
    GeForce 9800 GT
    GeForce 9800 GTX+
    GeForce 9800 GTX/9800 GTX+
    GeForce 9800 S
    GeForce G210
    GeForce GT 120
    GeForce GT 130
    GeForce GT 130M
    GeForce GT 230M
    GeForce GT 330M
    GeForce GT 420
    GeForce GT 520
    GeForce GT 520M
    GeForce GT 630
    GeForce GTS 240
    GeForce GTS 250
    GeForce GTX 260M
    GeForce GTX 280M
    GeForce GTX 660M
    NVS 3100M
    NVS 4200M
    NVS 5100M
    Quadro 400
    Quadro FX 1600M
    Quadro FX 1800
    Quadro FX 2700M
    Quadro FX 2800M
    Quadro FX 3700
    Quadro FX 380
    Quadro FX 570M
    Quadro FX 580
    Quadro FX 770M
    Quadro FX 880M
    Quadro NVS 290
    I guess I need to revert a rig or two to windows


    My Biggest Fear Is When I die, My Wife Sells All My Stuff For What I Told Her I Paid For It.
    79 SB threads and 32 IB Threads across 4 rigs 111 threads Crunching!!

  2. #2
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    267
    Saw this earlier

    It will be interesting to see if this runs on Linux--I see no mention of it, so I'm not too optimistic
    WCG Rigs: 184 threads, mostly i7s

  3. #3
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Plymouth (UK)
    Posts
    5,281
    It seems that you need to be running version 7+ of BOINC to make things work.

    We are still sending work for both cpu and gpu.

    There is no option at this time to enable 'hcc gpu', 'faah cpu'

    However, we have just started a serious look at what to do going forward so hopefully we will be able to give you the flexability you want down the road.
    Last edited by OldChap; 10-10-2012 at 07:07 PM.


    My Biggest Fear Is When I die, My Wife Sells All My Stuff For What I Told Her I Paid For It.
    79 SB threads and 32 IB Threads across 4 rigs 111 threads Crunching!!

  4. #4
    Xtremely High Voltage Sparky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    16,043
    Is it going to be possible to still get HCC CPU but not GPU? I'll run the GPU for sure at least for SC week but I don't want to be forced to run HCC GPU later on when I'm trying to cut back power use/heat output for summers. Hopefully they'll give that option.

    I'll need to upgrade BOINC it looks like.
    The Cardboard Master
    Crunch with us, the XS WCG team
    Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz, 16GB DDR3-1600, Radeon 7950 @ 1000/1250, Win 10 Pro x64

  5. #5
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Land o' 10,000 lakes
    Posts
    836
    Quote Originally Posted by Sparky View Post
    Is it going to be possible to still get HCC CPU but not GPU? I'll run the GPU for sure at least for SC week but I don't want to be forced to run HCC GPU later on when I'm trying to cut back power use/heat output for summers. Hopefully they'll give that option.

    I'll need to upgrade BOINC it looks like.
    Survey says yes.
    Will I be able to select to run work units only on my CPU, or only on my graphics card, or both?

    I'm almost always available on Steam to chat. Same username.

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    477
    Also, if you are wanting to suspend GPU usage when running a certain app. Add this line to your cc_config.xml.

    <exclusive_gpu_app>important.exe</exclusive_gpu_app>

    It is not instantaneous and takes maybe 20 seconds for it to kick in.
    Main Rig: i7 2600K @ 4.5ghz, Thermalright HR-02 Macho, Gigabyte Z68MA-DH2-B3, 4x4GB Gskill DDR3-1600, Visiontek Radeon 7850, OCZ Vertex 2 120GB, OCZ Agility 60GB, Silverstone TJ08B-E, Seasonic X750, Win 7 Ultimate 64bit
    Fiance's Rig: Apple iMac 21.5" 2011, i5 2.5ghz, 4GB DDR3-1333, Radeon 6750m, 500GB

  7. #7
    Xtremely High Voltage Sparky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    16,043
    Quote Originally Posted by kjeldoran View Post
    Also, if you are wanting to suspend GPU usage when running a certain app. Add this line to your cc_config.xml.

    <exclusive_gpu_app>important.exe</exclusive_gpu_app>

    It is not instantaneous and takes maybe 20 seconds for it to kick in.
    Does the <exclusive_app> line (that I currently use for some games that don't like to share with BOINC) also stop GPU as well as CPU?

    What I also wish was a way to make it so 1 or 2 cores would be released from BOINC for another program while that program runs, but the others keep going. I hate how I have to stop all 8 threads in BOINC just for this one single-threaded program to run well as it needs only one core available to it.
    The Cardboard Master
    Crunch with us, the XS WCG team
    Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz, 16GB DDR3-1600, Radeon 7950 @ 1000/1250, Win 10 Pro x64

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    477
    Quote Originally Posted by Sparky View Post
    Does the <exclusive_app> line (that I currently use for some games that don't like to share with BOINC) also stop GPU as well as CPU?

    What I also wish was a way to make it so 1 or 2 cores would be released from BOINC for another program while that program runs, but the others keep going. I hate how I have to stop all 8 threads in BOINC just for this one single-threaded program to run well as it needs only one core available to it.
    Yes, exclusive_app stops boinc altogether. I run BOINC 24/7 for CPU usage and I have never felt any ill effects. However, GPU usage does effect the apps that use a GPU which is why I mentioned the exclusive_gpu_app line .
    Main Rig: i7 2600K @ 4.5ghz, Thermalright HR-02 Macho, Gigabyte Z68MA-DH2-B3, 4x4GB Gskill DDR3-1600, Visiontek Radeon 7850, OCZ Vertex 2 120GB, OCZ Agility 60GB, Silverstone TJ08B-E, Seasonic X750, Win 7 Ultimate 64bit
    Fiance's Rig: Apple iMac 21.5" 2011, i5 2.5ghz, 4GB DDR3-1333, Radeon 6750m, 500GB

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    385
    Is it possible to run only GPU for HCC and CPU for other projects?

  10. #10
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Plymouth (UK)
    Posts
    5,281
    See post 3. There is currently no GPU only switch so you must select to use gpu and select HCC (and any other work you wish) then you will (should) get some of each


    My Biggest Fear Is When I die, My Wife Sells All My Stuff For What I Told Her I Paid For It.
    79 SB threads and 32 IB Threads across 4 rigs 111 threads Crunching!!

  11. #11
    c[_]
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    20,374
    takes just over 4 minutes per wu on my GTX670's @ 1283/3100 and 1322/3100.. but wow does it make using the system slow

    All along the watchtower the watchmen watch the eternal return.

  12. #12
    Xtremely High Voltage Sparky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    16,043
    You can set BOINC to not use GPU when the PC is in use at all. If it is making the PC sluggish that's what I'd do.
    The Cardboard Master
    Crunch with us, the XS WCG team
    Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz, 16GB DDR3-1600, Radeon 7950 @ 1000/1250, Win 10 Pro x64

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    385
    Thanks for the quick reply, OC. I'll have to give it a try once I run out of HCMD 2 WUs.

  14. #14
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Plymouth (UK)
    Posts
    5,281
    I bought a cheap Kill a Watt clone recently that keeps track of usage over time.... Might prove interesting

    Lots of nice snuggly warm rooms this winter


    My Biggest Fear Is When I die, My Wife Sells All My Stuff For What I Told Her I Paid For It.
    79 SB threads and 32 IB Threads across 4 rigs 111 threads Crunching!!

  15. #15
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    71
    Crunching away with Boinc 6.10.60 and a AMD 7970.
    HCC finishes in just over 1 minute.
    GPU is only used to 99% then it's idle in 30s until it gets too 100%.
    Main: Gulftown i7-970 4.00 Ghz | G.Skill 24GB DDR3 | Sapphire 7970 | Samsung 830 2x256GB | Lian Li PC6070B
    File Server: Dual Westmere-EP E5645 2.40 Ghz | Super Micro X8DTi-F | PERC 5/i | Samsung 8x2TB | Norco 4224
    ESXi Host: Dual Harpertown E5450 3.00 Ghz | 8GB ECC DDR2 | 4x36.6GB 15k RPM | HP DL380 G5



  16. #16
    of the Strawhat crew.
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    West TN
    Posts
    1,646
    Ok, I think I've figured it out.

    Here's how I've found out how to only get HCC GPU WU's and still be able to get CPU units from other projects.

    1: Select your other projects.
    2: Do not select HCC.
    3: Make sure "If my computer can process work on my graphics card, then please send me work to run on my graphics card for the projects that I have selected above." is checked.
    4: Make sure "If there is no work available for my computer for the projects I have selected above, please send me work from another project." is checked.
    5: Tell your rigs to update.

    Doing this seems to work for me.

    Edit: Downside: If your other projects run out of cpu work then you may get some stuff you don't want.

    XtremeSystems BF3 Platoon - Any XS member is welcome.

  17. #17
    Not Yours!
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Oslo-Norway
    Posts
    542
    Who will make a chart for to how much time the different GPU's use on this WU?
    If the 7970 use just a bit over one minut I might need to throw all my ATI cards in the crunchers here.

  18. #18
    Xtreme crazy bastid
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    On mah murder-sickle!
    Posts
    5,876
    I'm just waiting for the WCG servers to collapse into a black hole from the weight of data this team will return.

    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  19. #19
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Iowa, USA
    Posts
    705
    Quote Originally Posted by D_A View Post
    I'm just waiting for the WCG servers to collapse into a black hole from the weight of data this team will return.
    haha true! With workunits finishing in just a couple minutes each, even with 2 or 3 cards you have about 1 per minute or less!! I wonder why they went with such short tasks? Seems inefficient
    Main: i7-930 @ 2.8GHz HT on; 1x GIGABYTE GTX 660 Ti OC 100% GPUGrid
    2nd: i7-920 @ 2.66GHz HT off; 1x EVGA GTX 650 Ti SSC 100% GPUGrid
    3rd: i7-3770k @ 3.6GHz HT on, 3 threads GPUGrid CPU; 2x GIGABYTE GTX 660 Ti OC 100% GPUGrid
    Part-time: FX-4100 @ 3.6GHz, 2 threads GPUGrid CPU; 1x EVGA GTX 650 100% GPUGrid

  20. #20
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    The Hague, Netherlands
    Posts
    460
    I tested some WU's on a 3770K (4.8GHz) + GTX 260 (stock 192SP) and it seems a WU takes between 7.10 min and 7.50 min. I don't think it will be possible to run this while using the PC though, because everything stutters horribly and setting it to only use 50% does nothing, it keeps using 100%.

    Edit; apparently there is some variation between the WU's, after a whole bunch of 7 min WU's I suddenly get some that only take 5 min.
    Last edited by Conquistador SW; 10-11-2012 at 02:04 AM.

    3770K 4.7Ghz 1.32v / ASUS P8Z77-V PRO / 8GB DDR3 1866 9-9-9-27 /ASUS HD7970 1025MHz / Antec NeoHE 550 / Samsung 830 256GB Crunching
    Cooled by PA120.3, EK-HF, D-tek Fuzion GFX, DDC3.1 XSPC res/top

    i5 2400 Stock / ASUS P8P67 LE / 4GB DDR3 1600 / Seasonic S12II 430W / Intel G2 40GB Crunching

    2600K 4.6Ghz 1.34v / ASUS P8Z68-V PRO / 8GB DDR3 1600 8-8-8-24 / Antec 430W / Intel G2 80GB Crunching

    W3520 4.0Ghz 1.19v / Rampage II Gene / 6GB Kinston Value 1333 / 9800GT / Corsair TX650 / Antec mini P180 / Intel G2 160GB Crunching

    Intel G860 Stock / Gigabyte H67MA-UD2H-B3 / 4GB DDR3 1333 / Antec Earthwatts green 380W / Crucial M4 64GB Crunching

    E6600 3.2Ghz 1.36v - P5B Deluxe / i7 930 4.0Ghz 1.29v - ASUS P6X58D-E / Q9450 3.6Ghz 1.28v - Rampage Formula Retired

  21. #21
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    267
    Quote Originally Posted by Gamekiller View Post
    Ok, I think I've figured it out.

    Here's how I've found out how to only get HCC GPU WU's and still be able to get CPU units from other projects.

    1: Select your other projects.
    2: Do not select HCC.
    3: Make sure "If my computer can process work on my graphics card, then please send me work to run on my graphics card for the projects that I have selected above." is checked.
    4: Make sure "If there is no work available for my computer for the projects I have selected above, please send me work from another project." is checked.
    5: Tell your rigs to update.

    Doing this seems to work for me.
    Edit: Downside: If your other projects run out of cpu work then you may get some stuff you don't want.
    Yes, this is what I've done. Due to the badges I'm hunting ATM, I have my CPUs set to only get SN2S, GFAM, and DSFL. But my GPUs are still getting the HCC GPU WUs using this method
    WCG Rigs: 184 threads, mostly i7s

  22. #22
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    470
    one of us should really throw a spreadsheet together on this. from what i have seen a 7850 is best/buck. it takes 2min and a 7970 takes 1min30sec. seems like the wu cant use the shader amount on the 79xx.


    Tell it it's a :banana::banana::banana::banana::banana: and threaten it with replacement

    D_A on an UPS and life

  23. #23
    Back from the Dead
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    6,595
    ....remember when we dreamed about HCC supporting GPUs a few years back? Seems like it is finally happening heh
    Sadly it does not seem to work that well yet, as running a GPU WU makes my work PC totally unusable - Mouse freezes every second etc, worse than Bitcoin with -f0 parameter lol. I do hope they get this fixed, for now it seems like a great possibility for dedicated machines at least
    World Community Grid - come join a great team and help us fight for a better tomorrow![size=1]


  24. #24
    Xtremely High Voltage Sparky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    16,043
    Just set BOINC to use GPU only when the PC isn't in use.
    The Cardboard Master
    Crunch with us, the XS WCG team
    Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz, 16GB DDR3-1600, Radeon 7950 @ 1000/1250, Win 10 Pro x64

  25. #25
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    NE Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,601
    Quote Originally Posted by Gamekiller View Post
    Ok, I think I've figured it out.

    Here's how I've found out how to only get HCC GPU WU's and still be able to get CPU units from other projects.

    1: Select your other projects.
    2: Do not select HCC.
    3: Make sure "If my computer can process work on my graphics card, then please send me work to run on my graphics card for the projects that I have selected above." is checked.
    4: Make sure "If there is no work available for my computer for the projects I have selected above, please send me work from another project." is checked.
    5: Tell your rigs to update.

    Doing this seems to work for me.

    Edit: Downside: If your other projects run out of cpu work then you may get some stuff you don't want.
    I seem to be getting everything with this setting. I only have CEP2 selected for step 1 and step 2-5 as indicated by you. Not working for me, I'm geting WU for all active projects.

    Any ideas?

    EDIT: HD 7870 at stock 1050/1250:

    00:00:00 - 00:00:15 still at 0%...using CPU
    00:00:15 - 00:01:05 at 99.415%...using GPU (64-81%)
    00:01:05 - 00:01:59 using CPU

    Minimal affect on PC (Work-PC in sig) with very slight lag, not something that keeps me from working.

    EDIT 2: Changed from CEP2 to GFAM and now it works. Must not like CEP2 when trying to do this.
    Last edited by bluestang; 10-11-2012 at 07:39 AM.
    24/7 Cruncher #1
    Crosshair VII Hero, Ryzen 3900X, 4.0 GHz @ 1.225v, Fractal Design Celcius S36 AIO, 4x8GB GSKILL 3600MHz C15, 2x MSI 1660ti Armor OC
    Samsung 970 EVO 250GB NVMe, 2x10TB WD Red RAID1, BR Burner, Win 10 Pro, Enthoo Luxe TG, SeaSonic Focus+ Platinum 850W

    24/7 Cruncher #2
    GA-P67A-UD4-B3 BIOS F8 mod, 2600k (L051B138) @ 4.5 GHz, 1.260v full load, Arctic Liquid 120, (Boots Win7 @ 5.6 GHz per Massman binning)
    Samsung Green 2x4GB @2133 C10, 2x MSI 1660ti, Vertex 4 128GB, 2x3TB WD Red RAID1, BR Burner, Win7 Ult x64, Enthoo Pro, HX750

    24/7 Cruncher #3 ... Crucial M225 64GB SSD Donated to Endurance Testing (Died at 968 TB of writes...no that is not a typo!)
    GA-EP45T-UD3LR BIOS F10 modded, Q6600 G0 VID 1.212 (L731B536), 3.6 GHz 9x400 @ 1.312v full load, Zerotherm Zen FZ120
    OCZ 2x2GB DDR3-1600MHz C7, Gigabyte 7950 @1200/1250, Crucial MX100 128GB, 2x1TB WD Red RAID1, Win7 Ent x64, Centurion 590, XFX PRO650W

    Music System
    SB Server->SB Touch w/Android Tablet as a remote->S/PDIF->Denon AVR-X3300W->JBL Studio Series Floorstanding Speakers


Page 1 of 20 123411 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •