Thread: Why the Asus X79 Sabertooth?

Xtreme Member

Why the Asus X79 Sabertooth?

So you know how I have been soliciting advice for build/hardware information for a LGA2011 3930K build?

Some (a fair bit of you) have been suggesting that I should pick up the Asus X79 Sabertooth and I was just curious/wondering - why that board over all the others?

Feedback is greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
    flow man:
    du/dt + u dot del u = - del P / rho + v vector_Laplacian u
    {\partial\mathbf{u}\over\partial t}+\mathbf{u}\cdot\nabla\mathbf{u} = -{\nabla P\over\rho} + \nu\nabla^2\mathbf{u}

Xtreme Enthusiast
    Use the x79 RIVE.. You wont regret it.
    Asus RIVE Bios 2003
    3930k 4.5 ghz @1.29v
    G-SKILLS 32gig ddr-1600 ripjaws Z
    Enermax Evo Galaxy 1250W
    2x EVGA GTX 480 Superclocked SLI @ 900/1800/2000
    X-Fi Fatal1ty Titanium PCI-E
    4 x crucial Realssd C300 256 Raid 0
    Areca 1880i
    Seagate 1TB
    CM HAF 932
    On water:
    HK 3.0
    2x MCP655
    FESER X360
    Blackice GTX 480
    DD-GTX 480 VGA blocks
    DD Reservoir
    Windows 7 64bit

Dell 3008WFP 30"

Help Save Lives Join World Community Grid!

Xtreme Member
    Depending on your build size and whishes:
    RIVE ATX+

RIV Gene uATX/Sabertooth/RIV-F and the blue-camp Asus are all on par for clocking, and differ mainly in feature`s.
    Sabertooth and Formula are the same to me, Sab is more stable 24/7, Formula clocks a little better
    REX4F - X79A-Sabertooth
    Noctua NH-D14 Pull-Pull NoiseBlocker PK3
    X3930 @4.5 - 1,325V
    X3860 @4.5 - 1,28V
    Geil Ultra+ 6x4 7-8-7-24@1814 1,65V Elpida???
    Gskill RJ-X 4x8 9-11-11 @2200 1,65V Sammy
    580 SLI

Xtreme Member
    Quote Originally Posted by XII View Post
    Depending on your build size and whishes:
    RIVE ATX+

RIV Gene uATX/Sabertooth/RIV-F and the blue-camp Asus are all on par for clocking, and differ mainly in feature`s.