MMM
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Samsung 830 and nForce chipset questions

  1. #1
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2,597

    Samsung 830 and nForce chipset questions

    Hi

    I just bought my first SSD and before I install it, I would like to get the procedure steps on this as I would like my SSD to last me as long as possible and perform the best while in use.

    I have an nvidia nForce 790i (ASUS Striker II Extreme). I will perform a clean install of Windows 7 x64.

    First thing I heard was to NOT install nforce storage drivers as they do NOT support TRIM. Is this correct?
    Second, does windows automatically activate TRIM?
    Third, im not familiar with utilities, which ones should I use for my SSD? Is the included Magician software good enough?

    Anything else I should know before I proceed?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Hackintosh Lover
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Between London & Eastbourne, United Kingdom
    Posts
    559
    Quote: The only controllers I know of that currently support passing of the TRIM command in AHCI or RAID mode are Intel controllers. I suggest, if you want TRIM, run the Microsoft IDE driver.
    Why Not Try a Hackintosh for A Change?? Steps HERE!!
    Want to installing Mountain/Lion from a DVD or USB on you Apple PC?? Steps Here!


    Super Stable aKa 24/7




    Winners of EURO 08 | World Cup 10 | EURO 12
    Quote: Killin' Tube Kinks One Coil At A Time
    Hackintosh Lover
    "Dumb people" shouldn't use "Smart Phones"


    New Personal Wallpapers Selection

  3. #3
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2,597
    Ok so I guess for nForce drivers, only the ethernet one and SMBUS.

    What about utilities for maintenance?

  4. #4
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,136
    Wouldnt IDE mode be far more of a performance hit than loss of TRIM? Samsung drives have very strong garbage collection routines and TRIM isnt even needed on them.
    Rig 1:
    ASUS P8Z77-V
    Intel i5 3570K @ 4.75GHz
    16GB of Team Xtreme DDR-2666 RAM (11-13-13-35-2T)
    Nvidia GTX 670 4GB SLI

    Rig 2:
    Asus Sabertooth 990FX
    AMD FX-8350 @ 5.6GHz
    16GB of Mushkin DDR-1866 RAM (8-9-8-26-1T)
    AMD 6950 with 6970 bios flash

    Yamakasi Catleap 2B overclocked to 120Hz refresh rate
    Audio-GD FUN DAC unit w/ AD797BRZ opamps
    Sennheiser PC350 headset w/ hero mod

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    467
    you should be able to use AHCI mode as long as the microsoft drivers work.

    That said, the nforce chipset is not ideal for SSDs .... many reported problems. Things like SATA6 drives being downspeed to SATA1.5 and stuff.

  6. #6
    Hackintosh Lover
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Between London & Eastbourne, United Kingdom
    Posts
    559
    I am only reporting what I have found... by all means, I would rather lose TRIM, that using it on IDE... and I've always had problems with nForce and SATA3 SSDs, had to lower mine to operate to SATA2, otherwise my mobo would lower it to SATA 1.5 like canthearu said...
    Why Not Try a Hackintosh for A Change?? Steps HERE!!
    Want to installing Mountain/Lion from a DVD or USB on you Apple PC?? Steps Here!


    Super Stable aKa 24/7




    Winners of EURO 08 | World Cup 10 | EURO 12
    Quote: Killin' Tube Kinks One Coil At A Time
    Hackintosh Lover
    "Dumb people" shouldn't use "Smart Phones"


    New Personal Wallpapers Selection

  7. #7
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2,597
    Quote Originally Posted by davidkozat View Post
    I am only reporting what I have found... by all means, I would rather lose TRIM, that using it on IDE... and I've always had problems with nForce and SATA3 SSDs, had to lower mine to operate to SATA2, otherwise my mobo would lower it to SATA 1.5 like canthearu said...
    Well, no nForce chipset supports SATA 6Gbs so the best it will work is at SATA 3Gbs regardless.

    Also, eVGA forums report that nForce chipsets do not support AHCI, only IDE mode.

    I think Im ready for this. Will let you know guys how it goes.

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •