Page 3 of 26 FirstFirst 12345613 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 75 of 642

Thread: Raid0 and TRIM Support on Intel 11.5 OROM and Latest v11.5.0.1184 RST Drivers ?

  1. #51
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    83
    andressergio, looks like you did not have write back caching on your first as ssd pic. that would explain the lower score...
    Asus Rampage IV GENE
    i7 3930k
    8 gigs Mushkin 2133
    HIS 7970
    2x OCZ Vector 256gb raid0
    Crossover 27Q

  2. #52
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    83
    arg...these drivers are just awful on my x79 system. 11.0 and 11.2 are very nice. all the 11.5 seem to do is lower performance, even on my z68 with the 11.5 orom...
    Asus Rampage IV GENE
    i7 3930k
    8 gigs Mushkin 2133
    HIS 7970
    2x OCZ Vector 256gb raid0
    Crossover 27Q

  3. #53
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Montevideo - Uruguay
    Posts
    5,435
    Quote Originally Posted by m.oreilly View Post
    andressergio, looks like you did not have write back caching on your first as ssd pic. that would explain the lower score...
    thanks mate for ya help with new drivers score is better and i do have cache activated will do a screenshot for ya

    here look how much improved compared to http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...-Drivers/page2

    RAID ROM 11.5 latests + latest RST certified

    Last edited by andressergio; 07-26-2012 at 07:58 PM.
    24/7 - 5930K 46.5HT + ASUS R5E + DDR4 4x4GB 3100C15 1T + 2x 1TB SSD + 1x 3TB HDD + 4 SLI GALAXY GTX780 HOF + SEASONIC P-1200 all Water Cooled

    TRig - 4770KHT + ASUS M6E + GeIL 2x8GB 2666CL11 + GeiL Zenith 240GB SSD + GALAXY 750Ti HOF + CM 1200W + Raijintek Triton Liquid Cooler

  4. #54
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    200
    From what I've gathered, SCSI unmap is not on the public builds yet.

  5. #55
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    34
    The simpliest way to verify if TRIM is working is with WinHEX

    1/ Copy a JPEG file (for example) to the root directory of your RAID
    2/ Open WinHEX then press F9 (Open Disk) then choose your RAID partition
    3/ Choose your files and look at his content, note the first cluster / offset
    4/ Then delete the file under Windows
    5/ Under WinHEX press F9 to reopen your partition and choose "Take a new one"

    => When you choose your (deleted) file you must see 00 00 00 or FF FF FF (etc.) instead of the old content. If the content did not change then TRIM is not ok.
    => If the file is not here use alt+g or ctrl+g to go to the good location and see if you got 00 00 00 or FF FF FF (etc.) or the older data

    Example :

    http://www.hardware.fr/marc/rst_11.2_ahci.png

    One SSD, AHCI, RST 11.2 : ok

    http://www.hardware.fr/marc/rst_11.5_raid.png

    Two SSD, RAID 0, RST 11.5 : bad

    But for the moment i don't have a bios with ROM raid 11.5.0.1414 for my motherboard
    Last edited by Marc HFR; 07-30-2012 at 05:51 AM.

  6. #56
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Montevideo - Uruguay
    Posts
    5,435
    Quote Originally Posted by Marc HFR View Post
    The simpliest way to verify if TRIM is working is with WinHEX

    1/ Copy a JPEG file (for example) to the root directory of your RAID
    2/ Open WinHEX then press F9 (Open Disk) then choose your RAID partition
    3/ Choose your files and look at his content
    4/ Then delete the file under Windows
    5/ Under WinHEX press F9 to reopen your partition and choose "Take a new one"

    => When you choose your (deleted) file you must see 00 00 00 (etc.) instead of the old content. If the content did not change then TRIM is not ok.

    Example :

    http://www.hardware.fr/marc/rst_11.2_ahci.png

    One SSD, AHCI, RST 11.2 : ok

    http://www.hardware.fr/marc/rst_11.5_raid.png

    Two SSD, RAID 0, RST 11.5 : bad

    But for the moment i don't have a bios with ROM raid 11.5.0.1414 for my motherboard
    i do have new raid ROM and latest 11.5 certified i tried your method but i dont see the file anymore...

    here pics

    i copied



    deleted and where is the file ? i followed you procedure exact

    24/7 - 5930K 46.5HT + ASUS R5E + DDR4 4x4GB 3100C15 1T + 2x 1TB SSD + 1x 3TB HDD + 4 SLI GALAXY GTX780 HOF + SEASONIC P-1200 all Water Cooled

    TRig - 4770KHT + ASUS M6E + GeIL 2x8GB 2666CL11 + GeiL Zenith 240GB SSD + GALAXY 750Ti HOF + CM 1200W + Raijintek Triton Liquid Cooler

  7. #57
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    34
    Strange you don't get the filed marked as deleted

    What about choose OK instead of Take a new one ?

  8. #58
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Montevideo - Uruguay
    Posts
    5,435
    Quote Originally Posted by Marc HFR View Post
    Strange you don't get the filed marked as deleted

    What about choose OK instead of Take a new one ?
    i did like 3 times and nope it doesnt appear even with OK
    24/7 - 5930K 46.5HT + ASUS R5E + DDR4 4x4GB 3100C15 1T + 2x 1TB SSD + 1x 3TB HDD + 4 SLI GALAXY GTX780 HOF + SEASONIC P-1200 all Water Cooled

    TRig - 4770KHT + ASUS M6E + GeIL 2x8GB 2666CL11 + GeiL Zenith 240GB SSD + GALAXY 750Ti HOF + CM 1200W + Raijintek Triton Liquid Cooler

  9. #59
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    34
    Strange, i'm not on the same PC here so i can't check, in fact i test with a larger file than a simple JPEG (2 or 4 GB video file) file but i thought it was the same with a smaller one. In any case just note the first cluster / offset when the file is here and go to the same location after it's deleted.
    Last edited by Marc HFR; 07-27-2012 at 12:38 PM.

  10. #60
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    34
    Just testing on another machine and it works as expected but not every time

    If i choose "Take a new one" i see the file marked as deleted and content is 00 00 00 etc.
    If i choose "OK" i see the file since file listing is not up to date but the content is 00 00 00 etc.

    BTW when you do not see the file after hitting "Take a new one" use alt+g or ctrl+g to go to the good location

  11. #61
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Montevideo - Uruguay
    Posts
    5,435
    Quote Originally Posted by Marc HFR View Post
    Strange, i'm not on the same PC here so i can't check, in fact i test with a larger file than a simple JPEG (2 or 4 GB video file) file but i thought it was the same with a smaller one. In any case just note the first cluster / offset when the file is here and go to the same location after it's deleted.
    Quote Originally Posted by Marc HFR View Post
    Just testing on another machine and it works as expected but not every time

    If i choose "Take a new one" i see the file marked as deleted and content is 00 00 00 etc.
    If i choose "OK" i see the file since file listing is not up to date but the content is 00 00 00 etc.

    BTW when you do not see the file after hitting "Take a new one" use alt+g or ctrl+g to go to the good location
    ok man thanks i will try again
    24/7 - 5930K 46.5HT + ASUS R5E + DDR4 4x4GB 3100C15 1T + 2x 1TB SSD + 1x 3TB HDD + 4 SLI GALAXY GTX780 HOF + SEASONIC P-1200 all Water Cooled

    TRig - 4770KHT + ASUS M6E + GeIL 2x8GB 2666CL11 + GeiL Zenith 240GB SSD + GALAXY 750Ti HOF + CM 1200W + Raijintek Triton Liquid Cooler

  12. #62
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Montevideo - Uruguay
    Posts
    5,435
    here's the result file removed even from Recycle bin

    if i do as you say still file isnt there, but when i click the first snapshot instead of all hexa nrs its shows this:



    maybe its working...what do you think ?

    cauz here is the file when i just copied after deletion



    cheers and thanks for the help
    Sergio
    Last edited by andressergio; 07-27-2012 at 02:48 PM.
    24/7 - 5930K 46.5HT + ASUS R5E + DDR4 4x4GB 3100C15 1T + 2x 1TB SSD + 1x 3TB HDD + 4 SLI GALAXY GTX780 HOF + SEASONIC P-1200 all Water Cooled

    TRig - 4770KHT + ASUS M6E + GeIL 2x8GB 2666CL11 + GeiL Zenith 240GB SSD + GALAXY 750Ti HOF + CM 1200W + Raijintek Triton Liquid Cooler

  13. #63
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    34
    If you got 00 00 when looking in the (old) file content then it's ok, so it is

  14. #64
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Montevideo - Uruguay
    Posts
    5,435
    Quote Originally Posted by Marc HFR View Post
    If you got 00 00 when looking in the (old) file content then it's ok, so it is
    seem so right ? you saw the pics ?
    24/7 - 5930K 46.5HT + ASUS R5E + DDR4 4x4GB 3100C15 1T + 2x 1TB SSD + 1x 3TB HDD + 4 SLI GALAXY GTX780 HOF + SEASONIC P-1200 all Water Cooled

    TRig - 4770KHT + ASUS M6E + GeIL 2x8GB 2666CL11 + GeiL Zenith 240GB SSD + GALAXY 750Ti HOF + CM 1200W + Raijintek Triton Liquid Cooler

  15. #65
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    34
    Yes, for the first screen

    For the second screen i don't understand what do you want to show since you are on cluster 2 instead of 7059097

  16. #66
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Montevideo - Uruguay
    Posts
    5,435
    Quote Originally Posted by Marc HFR View Post
    Yes, for the first screen

    For the second screen i don't understand what do you want to show since you are on cluster 2 instead of 7059097
    sorry i wanted to show that the file newed copied shows the hexa instead of 0

    look at today after been idle some hours

    24/7 - 5930K 46.5HT + ASUS R5E + DDR4 4x4GB 3100C15 1T + 2x 1TB SSD + 1x 3TB HDD + 4 SLI GALAXY GTX780 HOF + SEASONIC P-1200 all Water Cooled

    TRig - 4770KHT + ASUS M6E + GeIL 2x8GB 2666CL11 + GeiL Zenith 240GB SSD + GALAXY 750Ti HOF + CM 1200W + Raijintek Triton Liquid Cooler

  17. #67
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    67
    I have 4 SSD in RAID0 on ICH10 (X58 chipset board) with OROM 11.5.0.1414 and IRST 11.5.0.1207 installed. Windows 7 U x64 SP1.

    I have been trying the procedure outlined here, but it does not appear that TRIM is working, that is; the clusters never zero out.

    Is that to be expected?

  18. #68
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    136
    Quote Originally Posted by Arctucas View Post
    I have 4 SSD in RAID0 on ICH10 (X58 chipset board) with OROM 11.5.0.1414 and IRST 11.5.0.1207 installed. Windows 7 U x64 SP1.
    I have been trying the procedure outlined here, but it does not appear that TRIM is working, that is; the clusters never zero out.
    Is that to be expected?
    Not expected, but that seems to be the truth:
    Until now only users with an Intel Z77 chipset mainboard have verified, that the Trim command really works within the RAID0 array. So i think, that an Ivy Bridge system is required to get benefit of this new Trim feature.

    Not even my Z68 RAID0 system seems to be supported by the Trim feature of the actual RST 11.5 ROM/Drivers combination (unless I have done a mistake). I have just tested it with the tool HxD. You can see the pictures >here<.

  19. #69
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Montevideo - Uruguay
    Posts
    5,435
    Quote Originally Posted by Fernando View Post
    Not expected, but that seems to be the truth:
    Until now only users with an Intel Z77 chipset mainboard have verified, that the Trim command really works within the RAID0 array. So i think, that an Ivy Bridge system is required to get benefit of this new Trim feature.

    Not even my Z68 RAID0 system seems to be supported by the Trim feature of the actual RST 11.5 ROM/Drivers combination (unless I have done a mistake). I have just tested it with the tool HxD. You can see the pictures >here<.
    Hey Fernando !!!

    from my tests seems working and as u can see score improves after idle some time, i let the PC dld some stuff and today i took a ASSD test and was really surprised

    see this was first run with JUST INSALLED NEW ROM and drivers




    and some days after....

    getting better

    Last edited by andressergio; 07-28-2012 at 09:16 AM.
    24/7 - 5930K 46.5HT + ASUS R5E + DDR4 4x4GB 3100C15 1T + 2x 1TB SSD + 1x 3TB HDD + 4 SLI GALAXY GTX780 HOF + SEASONIC P-1200 all Water Cooled

    TRig - 4770KHT + ASUS M6E + GeIL 2x8GB 2666CL11 + GeiL Zenith 240GB SSD + GALAXY 750Ti HOF + CM 1200W + Raijintek Triton Liquid Cooler

  20. #70
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    83
    http://www.ocztechnologyforum.com/fo...938#post746938
    i also assumed zero would be still programmed nand...
    Asus Rampage IV GENE
    i7 3930k
    8 gigs Mushkin 2133
    HIS 7970
    2x OCZ Vector 256gb raid0
    Crossover 27Q

  21. #71
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    83
    if these as ssd results are what you are going by, check out mine, and i'm not using any drivers or an os that would facilitate trim:

    night before last, after some heavy storage benching:


    afer reboot the next day (i believe the difference would be because of GC, not raid trim...):
    Asus Rampage IV GENE
    i7 3930k
    8 gigs Mushkin 2133
    HIS 7970
    2x OCZ Vector 256gb raid0
    Crossover 27Q

  22. #72
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Montevideo - Uruguay
    Posts
    5,435
    Quote Originally Posted by m.oreilly View Post
    if these as ssd results are what you are going by, check out mine, and i'm not using any drivers or an os that would facilitate trim:

    night before last, after some heavy storage benching:


    afer reboot the next day (i believe the difference would be because of GC, not raid trim...):
    nice score mate

    what is GC ?
    24/7 - 5930K 46.5HT + ASUS R5E + DDR4 4x4GB 3100C15 1T + 2x 1TB SSD + 1x 3TB HDD + 4 SLI GALAXY GTX780 HOF + SEASONIC P-1200 all Water Cooled

    TRig - 4770KHT + ASUS M6E + GeIL 2x8GB 2666CL11 + GeiL Zenith 240GB SSD + GALAXY 750Ti HOF + CM 1200W + Raijintek Triton Liquid Cooler

  23. #73
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    136

    Intel RST 11.5 brings Trim support for RAID0

    Quote Originally Posted by andressergio View Post
    what is GC ?
    GC stands for "Garbage Collection".

    Just for your information: I just have published the following statement within the Guru3D Forum (>LINK<):
    Quote Originally Posted by Fernando
    Quote Originally Posted by Arctucas View Post
    @Fernando,
    Per your comment on the XS forum; it only works on Windows 7 if you have a Z77 board, correct?
    Until now I know about 3 users with the required RST(e) drivers/ROM version combination, who have published their test results:
    • btester aka SSDFreak (board: GIGABYTE Z77X-UD5H, OS: Win7 x64)
      He has published his test results >here<, >here< and >here<.
    • andressergio (board: ASUS Maximus 5 Gene, OS: Win7 x64)
      You can find his test results >here<.
    • Fernando=me (board: ASUS P8Z68-V, OS: Win7 x64 and Win8 x64 on different RAID partitions)
      I have published my test results >here<. The screenshots were taken while running Win8 x64, but the results with Win7 x64 were exactly the same.

    All 3 users have done a quite similar test to verify, if Trim is working within the RAID or not:
    1. Copy any file into the root of drive C (= OS partition),
    2. Open Drive C with a Hex Editor and search for the Offset and Sector data of the just copied file.
    3. Delete the file and empty the Recycle Bin.
    4. After some minutes reopen Drive C with the Hex Editor and search again for the test file data (enter the previously noticed Offset/Sector digits)
    5. If you see just Hex data 00 00 00 00 00, the Trim resp. Unmap command has cleaned the related SSD cells.

    My conclusion: Trim/Unmap obviously works within the RAID0 array unter Win7.
    Preconditions:
    1. mainboard with an Intel Z77 chipset (it probably will work with other Intel chipsets of the 7-Series too),
    2. BIOS with an Intel RAID ROM v11.5.0.1414 and
    3. use of the actual Intel RST(e) drivers of the v11.5 series (v11.5.0.1184 or higher).

    My own test results show, that Trim/Unmap obviously is not working within the RAID array, if the system has an Intel Z68 chipset (neither on Win7 nor on Win8).
    Last edited by Fernando; 07-29-2012 at 03:41 AM.

  24. #74
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    353
    Quote Originally Posted by Fernando View Post
    Preconditions:

    a. mainboard with an Intel Z77 chipset (it probably will work with other Intel chipsets of the 7-Series too)
    It should be: mainboard with ICH10R southbridge
    i5 2500K (L041C124) @ 5GHz + Scythe Mugen 2 rev. B | ASRock P67 Extreme4 B3 UEFI L3.19 | ADATA 2x4GB DDR3 1600 | MSI Radeon RX 470 4GB | 2x Crucial m4 64GB SSD RAID 0, Seagate 7200.12 500GB, Samsung F4 EG 2TB | 24" HP LP2475w | EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W | Fractal Design Define R3 | Windows 10 64 bit

  25. #75
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    136
    Quote Originally Posted by radier View Post
    It should be: mainboard with ICH10R southbridge
    Why that?
    Do you know anybody with an ICH10R southbridge, who has verified, that Trim/Unmap is working within his/her RAID0 array?

Page 3 of 26 FirstFirst 12345613 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •