Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: X79 Sabertooth / 3820 - No power / Post - SOLVED

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    213

    X79 Sabertooth / 3820 - No power / Post - SOLVED

    Hi Guys, I've been out of the loop for ages, but trying to get back in.

    I am having a total nightmare though, for the love of god someone help me!

    I have a X79 Sabertooth, that will not power up for longer than a second.

    When I press the power button, the fans spin for 1-2 seconds then everything goes off....then it comes back on again itself for 1-2 secs, then off. Repeat etc

    I have tried 3 psu's, a 1500w thermaltake, a 1250w OCZ and a 500w Seasonic...its the same on all of them.

    I have reseated the ram, and tried one stick (on its own) in every slot. I have tried 3x lots of ddr3, Gskill, OCZ and Kingston.

    I have reset the bios, and tried to update / recover bios by using the usb flashback feature. I used a corsair usb stick formatted to fat32 and loaded with the latest bios (renamed to saberx79.rom) However, this feature doesn't seem to work either. The bios button led only blinks for 1 second, then says on. Afterwards, this has no effect on the problem.

    I have taken out all of the unnecessary components and tried to run with just mb, cpu, and ram...but it still does the same.

    I have ensured that everything is seated correctly, and have reseated everything numerous times to no effect.

    The board is new from Amazon, its a replacement for the first one that didn't power up at all.

    Please can you help? Is there anything I can try?

    Full system spes are:

    Intel Core i7 3820
    Asus X79 Sabertooth
    GSkill Ripjaws 2133mhz Quad Kit 16GB
    Sapphire 5970 2GB
    Auzentech Forte PCI-E
    OCZ 1250w or Thermal Take Tough Power 1500w
    Vertex 4 128GB
    4x Western digital Black 500GB
    Corsair H100

    Thanks guys, Pete.
    Last edited by madpete; 07-15-2012 at 01:01 AM.
    Intel Core i7 3820 / ASUS X79 Sabertooth
    Gskill 2133mhz Quad 16GB / Auzentech X-FI Forte
    Sapphire HD5970 OC 2GB
    4x 500GB Western Digital "Black Edition" (Raid5)
    Thermaltake ToughPower 1500w PSU / OCZ 1250W PSU
    Corsair H100
    CoolerMaster CM-690 / Windows 7 Pro 64bit
    Samsung T260HD 26" LCD / HDTV

  2. #2
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    St. Louis, MO USA
    Posts
    440
    Have you tried powering up with the mobo out of the case (mobo somehow shorted to case)? The HSF plug on the mobo CPU_FAN header? All power plugs attached to mobo and vidcard(s).
    The Money Trap = Intel i7 3930K | Corsair H100 push/pull fans | ASUS Rampage IV Extreme | 16GB (4 x 4GB) G.Skill DDR3 2133 9-11-10 CR1 | 2 x EVGA 680 SC+ Signature SLI | 256GB Samsung 830 SSD - OS, 256GB Crucial M4 SSD - Games - backup WD HDDs | Klipsch ProMedia | Cooler Master HAF 932 | Antec TPQ-1200w | Dell U2711 2560 x 1440 27" | Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit | APC RS1500


  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    213
    Thanks for the reply,

    yeah I've had it out of the case with just cpu, mem and power plugged in. After the first board didnt work, I was super paranoid and went over my case (Coolermaster Stacker) with a fine tooth comb. Anything that even remotely stuck out I put black electrical tap over.

    The HS/Fan is connected to the correct header, it has two headers actually and I tried both.

    Yes, All power plugs are in. I've been over and over checking and reseating them.
    Intel Core i7 3820 / ASUS X79 Sabertooth
    Gskill 2133mhz Quad 16GB / Auzentech X-FI Forte
    Sapphire HD5970 OC 2GB
    4x 500GB Western Digital "Black Edition" (Raid5)
    Thermaltake ToughPower 1500w PSU / OCZ 1250W PSU
    Corsair H100
    CoolerMaster CM-690 / Windows 7 Pro 64bit
    Samsung T260HD 26" LCD / HDTV

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    213
    Heres a video to show you whats happening...I was testing every slot with a stick of 1333 kingston at this point.

    I have shorted the power pins ONCE to start the system, after that it turns itself on and off by itself.

    But it does this no matter what I do:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1QZsE...ature=youtu.be
    Intel Core i7 3820 / ASUS X79 Sabertooth
    Gskill 2133mhz Quad 16GB / Auzentech X-FI Forte
    Sapphire HD5970 OC 2GB
    4x 500GB Western Digital "Black Edition" (Raid5)
    Thermaltake ToughPower 1500w PSU / OCZ 1250W PSU
    Corsair H100
    CoolerMaster CM-690 / Windows 7 Pro 64bit
    Samsung T260HD 26" LCD / HDTV

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    213
    Well....some progress....

    I cant quite believe it but I took the CPU out and cleaned it, applied a wheelbarrow of thermal paste and locked the cooler down tightly.

    It now powers up and stays on, but does not post.

    The CPU LED is lit constant RED.

    Again I've taken out the mem and reseated tightly, took out the cpu again and reseated, reseated the GPU but still no display. Also tried 1 stick at a time, in different slots.

    When it stayed on, I honestly thought it was fixed for a few seconds. Doh
    Intel Core i7 3820 / ASUS X79 Sabertooth
    Gskill 2133mhz Quad 16GB / Auzentech X-FI Forte
    Sapphire HD5970 OC 2GB
    4x 500GB Western Digital "Black Edition" (Raid5)
    Thermaltake ToughPower 1500w PSU / OCZ 1250W PSU
    Corsair H100
    CoolerMaster CM-690 / Windows 7 Pro 64bit
    Samsung T260HD 26" LCD / HDTV

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    St. Louis, MO USA
    Posts
    440
    Quote Originally Posted by madpete View Post
    Heres a video to show you whats happening...I was testing every slot with a stick of 1333 kingston at this point.

    I have shorted the power pins ONCE to start the system, after that it turns itself on and off by itself.

    But it does this no matter what I do:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1QZsE...ature=youtu.be
    I believe the memory stick is in the wrong slot for single stick operation -- check mobo manual.
    I can only think of two possibilities:
    bad mobo, geez, again or
    bad CPU

    You might RMA the Sabertooth for the P9X79 or the Rampage IV Extreme. I believe both will outperform the Sabertooth; I know the RIVE will.

    EDIT: h4ll, rma the mobo and cpu.
    The Money Trap = Intel i7 3930K | Corsair H100 push/pull fans | ASUS Rampage IV Extreme | 16GB (4 x 4GB) G.Skill DDR3 2133 9-11-10 CR1 | 2 x EVGA 680 SC+ Signature SLI | 256GB Samsung 830 SSD - OS, 256GB Crucial M4 SSD - Games - backup WD HDDs | Klipsch ProMedia | Cooler Master HAF 932 | Antec TPQ-1200w | Dell U2711 2560 x 1440 27" | Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit | APC RS1500


  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    213
    Quote Originally Posted by OS-Wiz View Post
    I believe the memory stick is in the wrong slot for single stick operation -- check mobo manual.
    I can only think of two possibilities:
    bad mobo, geez, again or
    bad CPU

    You might RMA the Sabertooth for the P9X79 or the Rampage IV Extreme. I believe both will outperform the Sabertooth; I know the RIVE will.

    EDIT: h4ll, rma the mobo and cpu.

    Thanks for the reply man, I was swapping sticks around at that point.

    I work for a big tech company so I've asked for a CPU to be sent to me for testing...gonna try that first. I just cant believe my bad luck so far.
    Intel Core i7 3820 / ASUS X79 Sabertooth
    Gskill 2133mhz Quad 16GB / Auzentech X-FI Forte
    Sapphire HD5970 OC 2GB
    4x 500GB Western Digital "Black Edition" (Raid5)
    Thermaltake ToughPower 1500w PSU / OCZ 1250W PSU
    Corsair H100
    CoolerMaster CM-690 / Windows 7 Pro 64bit
    Samsung T260HD 26" LCD / HDTV

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    213
    Here is whats happening up to now, there is no display to the monitor.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tvfh-...ature=youtu.be
    Intel Core i7 3820 / ASUS X79 Sabertooth
    Gskill 2133mhz Quad 16GB / Auzentech X-FI Forte
    Sapphire HD5970 OC 2GB
    4x 500GB Western Digital "Black Edition" (Raid5)
    Thermaltake ToughPower 1500w PSU / OCZ 1250W PSU
    Corsair H100
    CoolerMaster CM-690 / Windows 7 Pro 64bit
    Samsung T260HD 26" LCD / HDTV

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    St. Louis, MO USA
    Posts
    440
    Quote Originally Posted by madpete View Post
    Here is whats happening up to now, there is no display to the monitor.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tvfh-...ature=youtu.be
    Hold down the MemOK switch on the mobo until the memory light starts flashing. It will probably reboot. Check the mobo manual for error indicators on the mobo.
    The Money Trap = Intel i7 3930K | Corsair H100 push/pull fans | ASUS Rampage IV Extreme | 16GB (4 x 4GB) G.Skill DDR3 2133 9-11-10 CR1 | 2 x EVGA 680 SC+ Signature SLI | 256GB Samsung 830 SSD - OS, 256GB Crucial M4 SSD - Games - backup WD HDDs | Klipsch ProMedia | Cooler Master HAF 932 | Antec TPQ-1200w | Dell U2711 2560 x 1440 27" | Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit | APC RS1500


  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    213
    Quote Originally Posted by OS-Wiz View Post
    Hold down the MemOK switch on the mobo until the memory light starts flashing. It will probably reboot. Check the mobo manual for error indicators on the mobo.
    Thanks, just tried this the board reboots and the fans spin up to max...the mem led blinks away but still nothing on screen. Left it for twenty mins, but no go.

    There a hold up on getting that CPU in, so instead I found I local (ish) pc centre who will swap out the cpu and or mb to diagnose the problem for free. Going in the morning, will defo post back here once I know what the fault is so that it might be useful for others.
    Intel Core i7 3820 / ASUS X79 Sabertooth
    Gskill 2133mhz Quad 16GB / Auzentech X-FI Forte
    Sapphire HD5970 OC 2GB
    4x 500GB Western Digital "Black Edition" (Raid5)
    Thermaltake ToughPower 1500w PSU / OCZ 1250W PSU
    Corsair H100
    CoolerMaster CM-690 / Windows 7 Pro 64bit
    Samsung T260HD 26" LCD / HDTV

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    213
    Just to wrap this up...

    It was the CPU, it was dead!

    New CPU in and it boots fine, got windows installed and she's flying now.

    As a side note, I also discovered that 3 of my HDD are dead, I mean wont even spin up dead.

    I think that first mb I had, the one that wouldnt power up....somehow has taken out the CPU and 3 of my HDD's. No idea how, or why but its the only theory I have. I've done hundreds of builds and I know I did nothing wrong.

    Anyway, thanks for your help.

    Case closed.
    Intel Core i7 3820 / ASUS X79 Sabertooth
    Gskill 2133mhz Quad 16GB / Auzentech X-FI Forte
    Sapphire HD5970 OC 2GB
    4x 500GB Western Digital "Black Edition" (Raid5)
    Thermaltake ToughPower 1500w PSU / OCZ 1250W PSU
    Corsair H100
    CoolerMaster CM-690 / Windows 7 Pro 64bit
    Samsung T260HD 26" LCD / HDTV

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •