Page 1 of 11 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 271

Thread: New Corsair Dominator Platinums

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member Cecil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    338

    New Corsair Dominator Platinums

    http://www.corsair.com/en/memory-by-...r3-memory.html

    Anyone have any of these yet? They look pretty nice, and the swapable LEDs are neat.

    Only kit available I can find is the 1866 8GB 9-11-9-27 1.5V set. Will probably get them unless the 2133/2400 kits become available by the time I get a refund from newegg.

    Amazon is taking orders on a bunch of sets, but no ETA on when they will have them.

    Really want the 2400Mhz 9-11-11-31 set, but want it in 8GB and not 16GB (because of price), and it doesnt seem like they offer anything over 2133 in 8GB.
    Heatware Cecil

  2. #2
    Banned M.Beier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    4,702
    Hope to try them, but doubt I will

  3. #3
    V3 Xeons coming soon! Movieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    33,408
    saw them a couple weeks back and thinking of them on my next project: WC SR-X with 2-E5-2687W's..
    Crunch with us, the XS WCG team
    The XS WCG team needs your support.
    A good project with good goals.
    Come join us,get that warm fuzzy feeling that you've done something good for mankind.

    Quote Originally Posted by Frisch View Post
    If you have lost faith in humanity, then hold a newborn in your hands.

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member Cecil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    338
    Went ahead and ordered the 1866 kit. Didnt realise the 16GB high speed kits are 4x4s.
    The name and color scheme will fit my project "Domino Mini" well
    Heatware Cecil

  5. #5
    Registered User jjjc_93's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    83
    I wouldn't mind getting my hands on a 2400+ kit for some playing around, but if they're only going to come in 16gb kits then I don't think I will bother due to price. Might just be sticking with my team 2400 CL9 sticks.

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member Cecil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    338
    Im hoping the same ICs are used across the board, since the speed/timings scale pretty evenly. So probably higher binned for the top kits, less binning for the lower kits, but probably very similar results with all of them.
    Heatware Cecil

  7. #7
    XIP Dumo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    5,510
    Like all of those ddr3 2666 rated rams just make sure cpu's imc can scale to that freq.
    Last edited by Dumo; 06-20-2012 at 08:54 AM.

  8. #8
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    AB. Canada
    Posts
    817
    can you watercool them? doesn't look like existing watercooling blocks would fit on them


    "Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds" - (Einstein)

  9. #9
    Banned M.Beier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    4,702
    Quote Originally Posted by Dumo View Post
    Like all of those ddr3 2666 rated rams just make sure cpu's imc can scale to that freq.
    *and board.
    55,55,55,55 I am sure you know what I mean.

  10. #10
    Xtreme n00berclocker Planet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    1,456
    Quote Originally Posted by M.Beier View Post
    *and board.
    55,55,55,55 I am sure you know what I mean.
    55 is the module not being able to run it
    Quote Originally Posted by 3oh6
    damn you guys...am i in a three way and didn't know it again
    Quote Originally Posted by Brian y.
    Im exclusively benching ECS from this point forward

  11. #11
    Banned M.Beier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    4,702
    Quote Originally Posted by Planet View Post
    55 is the module not being able to run it
    That is incorrect.
    Both 23 and 55 can be; Motherboard, IMC, RAM.

    Most likely 23 is the point of which IMC stops working, but 55 is certainly not = ram, I suggest you try a bit more HW

    Or;
    Are you suggesting GTX3 cannot do DDR3-2600, at 1.83v w. Corsair T30 humidity control disabled = full throttle. Because I expect DDR3-2800 with ease
    Last edited by M.Beier; 06-20-2012 at 12:56 PM.

  12. #12
    Registered User jjjc_93's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    83
    Quote Originally Posted by Cecil View Post
    Im hoping the same ICs are used across the board, since the speed/timings scale pretty evenly. So probably higher binned for the top kits, less binning for the lower kits, but probably very similar results with all of them.
    Perhaps, or we could have a situation similar to TridentX ram where the lower rated kits can come with a different IC and clock poorly compared to higher models. We've got some 2400 kits maxing out before 2600 and we've got some that will go 2800 and beyond. Need 2600 or 2666 in gskills line to be assured of that kind of potential. Hopefully not the same with Corsair. I'll wait and see results from others, quite happy with my Team Xtreem kit for now anyway.

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member Cecil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    338
    Got the kit today, going to toy with them in a bit. If they do at least 2400Mhz 10-12-12 daily stable, Ill be happy with them.
    http://s864.photobucket.com/albums/a...r%20Platinums/
    White LEDs default.

    EDIT:
    Posted right up 2400Mhz 10-12-12-26-2T 1.65V and did a couple minutes of LinX before an error. going to tweak a bit.
    Last edited by Cecil; 06-23-2012 at 05:22 PM.
    Heatware Cecil

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member Cecil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    338
    Popped off the spreader, pretty easy to do. Just sticky, and hard to get back on right. Double sided Samsung HCH9 ICs.


    EDIT: Does the same specs as the 2133 kit so far, but not at 1.5V. Bumped to 1.55V and it worked, didnt try anything in between. Moving on to 2200Mhz.
    Last edited by Cecil; 06-23-2012 at 07:00 PM.
    Heatware Cecil

  15. #15
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    AB. Canada
    Posts
    817
    Quote Originally Posted by Cecil View Post
    Popped off the spreader, pretty easy to do. Just sticky, and hard to get back on right. Double sided Samsung HCH9 ICs.


    EDIT: Does the same specs as the 2133 kit so far, but not at 1.5V. Bumped to 1.55V and it worked, didnt try anything in between. Moving on to 2200Mhz.
    no picts?


    "Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds" - (Einstein)

  16. #16
    Xtreme Member Cecil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    338
    Added them to the link above.

    Dominator Platinum @ 2133 1.55v.JPG
    Heatware Cecil

  17. #17
    Xtreme Member Cecil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    338
    2200Mhz 9-11-11 failed with 1.55V, seems good at 1.6V. Will post another SS when memtest has ran some more.

    Faster then Crucials at 2000Mhz 8-8-8 / 2133 9-9-9 and RipjawsZ at 2400Mhz 10-12-12. I havent even tightened up the secondary timings yet either.
    Asrock Z77 2200 C9 Platinums.JPG
    ASrock Z77 2000 C8.JPG
    Asrock Z77 2133 C9.JPG
    Asrock Z77 2400 C10.JPG
    Last edited by Cecil; 06-23-2012 at 09:03 PM.
    Heatware Cecil

  18. #18
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    AB. Canada
    Posts
    817
    question... do they run warm?
    how much airflow would they need to keep cool?


    "Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds" - (Einstein)

  19. #19
    I am Xtreme BeepBeep2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,395
    Typical Samsung.
    Intel all dey erry dey
    AMD all nite erry nite party party party

  20. #20
    I am Xtreme Leeghoofd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,379
    plz do at least a 32M run Cecil as 8M is not a good indicator for SuperPi or ram stability... even better HCI memtest
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  21. #21
    I am Xtreme BeepBeep2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,395
    Also try to match up secondary/tertiary timings for the sake of automatic settings/performance... :o
    Intel all dey erry dey
    AMD all nite erry nite party party party

  22. #22
    Xtreme Member Cecil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    338
    Quote Originally Posted by Leeghoofd View Post
    plz do at least a 32M run Cecil as 8M is not a good indicator for SuperPi or ram stability... even better HCI memtest
    I did run memtest, the screeny is above. And I do 8m for quick comparisons, and will do 32m when I find the max. Ive never seen it not be faster in 32m if its faster in 8m.
    Quote Originally Posted by BeepBeep2 View Post
    Also try to match up secondary/tertiary timings for the sake of automatic settings/performance... :o
    Using a Z77E-ITX that only has about half a dozen sub timing options. I loosened a couple while checking for max speed, then going to tighten then. Still not finished with clocking these yet, short on time. But at least with loosened subs they are still a bit faster.

    My order is to find what speeds are stable at what voltage, then tighten timings. And for testing, run memtest, then Spi8m, AIDA64, and maxxmem. Once the timings are tightened all the way, then Ill do a 32m.

    I miss my UD5H for ram tweaking, but at least for a tiny gaming build, this board is every bit as good as any other Z77.
    Last edited by Cecil; 06-24-2012 at 05:55 AM.
    Heatware Cecil

  23. #23
    Xtreme Member Cecil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    338
    Quote Originally Posted by MadHacker View Post
    question... do they run warm?
    how much airflow would they need to keep cool?
    No, not really. I have a fan on them for now, but the slots are so close on my board they are pretty much touching and not getting any air flow except on the outsides. If you start pushing the volts then you would probably want a fan on them.
    Heatware Cecil

  24. #24
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    121
    try 2600/10-12-12-12 1T

  25. #25
    I am Xtreme BeepBeep2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,395
    Quote Originally Posted by theix View Post
    try 2600/10-12-12-12 1T
    10+12+12 = 24, not 12...
    Intel all dey erry dey
    AMD all nite erry nite party party party

Page 1 of 11 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •