MMM
    X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 33

Thread: [VR-Zone] Intel Haswell-EP Brings DDR4, to Eat up to 160W, 190 Amps

  1. #1
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    France
    Posts
    8,832

    [VR-Zone] Intel Haswell-EP Brings DDR4, to Eat up to 160W, 190 Amps

    Quote Originally Posted by VR-Zone
    As Nova elaborated in his exhaustive and insightful article with Ivy Bridge-EP in 2013, Intel will bring out higher TDP-draw processors, and that trend is set to continue with up to 16-core Haswell-EP monster which targets the introduction in the second half of 2014. The main competitor for Haswell-EP will not be AMD with their unannounced successor of the yet unannounced Abu Dhabi Server CPU (confused yet?), it will be a combination of NVIDIA Maxwell GPU paired with an Project Denver-based Server CPU.

    The processor will be available at different clock speeds and with the different amount of enabled CPU cores, but the main power characteristics are 120W, 135W, 145W and 160W. There will not be any sub-100W TDP parts, as the company was told that it has to compete against NVIDIA Tesla GPUs, which all come in 225 and 300W range. With Tesla K10 (Dual-GK104, server version of GTX 690 with ECC and 8GB of GDDR5 memory) coming at 375W, and GK110-based K20 drawing 300W with 12GB of GDDR5 memory, it is obvious what Haswell-EP has to do.

    Power draw characteristics require dedicated four and five rail solutions to feed the CPU. We were shown a prototype of the platform which draws less than 100 Amps in typical working conditions, with Turbo Mode jacking that up to 120 Amps. What will make overclockers wet is the fact that Haswell silicon is designed to accept draws of up to 190 Amps on AIR, meaning we might get another overclocking king if its able to sustain 190A when you freeze it and increase the voltage to let's say, 1.575V i.e. 300W.

    As far as the platform goes, The 2013/14 server and workstation platform is called Grantley. It will support DDR3 or DDR4, with extensive memory options. We were a bit intrigued by the amount of DIMMs/SO-DIMMs which Intel supports with the single 72-bit (64+8) lane (times four and six), bringing this author back into 1999 and the 8-channel RDRAM DEC Alpha… funny to see history repeating itself with the amount of supported DIMMs per channel.
    Source: http://vr-zone.com/articles/
    Donate to XS forums
    Quote Originally Posted by jayhall0315 View Post
    If you are really extreme, you never let informed facts or the scientific method hold you back from your journey to the wrong answer.

  2. #2
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    526
    Dual memory support...
    but this is server version.

  3. #3
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Bangkok,Thailand (DamHot)
    Posts
    2,690
    yessssssss if they don't use paste inside cpu
    Intel Core i5 6600K + ASRock Z170 OC Formula + Galax HOF 4000 (8GBx2) + Antec 1200W OC Version
    EK SupremeHF + BlackIce GTX360 + Swiftech 655 + XSPC ResTop
    Macbook Pro 15" Late 2011 (i7 2760QM + HD 6770M)
    Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 (2014) , Huawei Nexus 6P
    [history system]80286 80386 80486 Cyrix K5 Pentium133 Pentium II Duron1G Athlon1G E2180 E3300 E5300 E7200 E8200 E8400 E8500 E8600 Q9550 QX6800 X3-720BE i7-920 i3-530 i5-750 Semp140@x2 955BE X4-B55 Q6600 i5-2500K i7-2600K X4-B60 X6-1055T FX-8120 i7-4790K

  4. #4
    Wanna look under my kilt?
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Glasgow-ish U.K.
    Posts
    4,509
    nVidia led the way with massive GPU power consumptions, now they're forcing Intel to increase envelopes too. BOOOOOOOO nVidia, BOOOOOOOOOOOO
    Quote Originally Posted by T_M View Post
    Not sure i totally follow anything you said, but regardless of that you helped me come up with a very good idea....
    Quote Originally Posted by soundood View Post
    you sigged that?

    why?
    ______

    Sometimes, it's not your time. Sometimes, you have to make it your time. Sometimes, it can ONLY be your time.

  5. #5
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    North Queensland Australia
    Posts
    1,441
    Believe it when I see it.

    -PB
    -Project Sakura-
    Intel i7 860 @ 4.0Ghz, Asus Maximus III Formula, 8GB G-Skill Ripjaws X F3 (@ 1600Mhz), 2x GTX 295 Quad SLI
    2x 120GB OCZ Vertex 2 RAID 0, OCZ ZX 1000W, NZXT Phantom (Pink), Dell SX2210T Touch Screen, Windows 8.1 Pro

    Koolance RP-401X2 1.1 (w/ Swiftech MCP35X), XSPC EX420, XSPC X-Flow 240, DT Sniper, EK-FC 295s (w/ RAM Blocks), Enzotech M3F Mosfet+NB/SB

  6. #6
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,772
    isnt ddr4 just ultra low volt ddr3 with higher latency, it seams like ddr3 would be a draw back since the cpu has to be running at less than 1V

    Quote Originally Posted by K404 View Post
    nVidia led the way with massive GPU power consumptions, now they're forcing Intel to increase envelopes too. BOOOOOOOO nVidia, BOOOOOOOOOOOO
    why boo, this is not the only platform intel has, and the only thing keeping the higher end chips higher end right now is NV. sure amd has a beast for VM farms but intel owns that with marketing and IT stupidity so the only thing that they have now is to keep server loads in x86 instead of cuda/opencl. this is also the base of multi cpu servers so why would they go for 4 slow parts when you could have 2 fast parts do the same work load.
    Last edited by zanzabar; 06-07-2012 at 01:12 PM.
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  7. #7
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    1,674
    please please use paste instead of soldering, I love removing the ihs. I hope that the high power envelope doesn't mean just high clocks, but high ipc in this architecture.

  8. #8
    Wanna look under my kilt?
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Glasgow-ish U.K.
    Posts
    4,509
    Quote Originally Posted by zanzabar View Post

    why boo, this is not the only platform intel has, and the only thing keeping the higher end chips higher end right now is NV. sure amd has a beast for VM farms but intel owns that with marketing and IT stupidity so the only thing that they have now is to keep server loads in x86 instead of cuda/opencl. this is also the base of multi cpu servers so why would they go for 4 slow parts when you could have 2 fast parts do the same work load.
    I imagine it would still be a selling point "cut electricity running costs by 50%" It still puts pressure on the opposition. The move would take 1-2 generations, then performance starts increasing again with successive releases.
    Quote Originally Posted by T_M View Post
    Not sure i totally follow anything you said, but regardless of that you helped me come up with a very good idea....
    Quote Originally Posted by soundood View Post
    you sigged that?

    why?
    ______

    Sometimes, it's not your time. Sometimes, you have to make it your time. Sometimes, it can ONLY be your time.

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    423
    You know, they could start by offering a fully functional and fully unlocked SB-E die (8 cores, 20 megs of L3, QPI, unlocked multipliers). Ensuring this within 160W envelope should be a breeze.

  10. #10
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,772
    Quote Originally Posted by K404 View Post
    I imagine it would still be a selling point "cut electricity running costs by 50%" It still puts pressure on the opposition. The move would take 1-2 generations, then performance starts increasing again with successive releases.
    typically you can force a lower pstate on servers to get the wanted TDP, i do not see why they should aim at lower total wattage when the wattage per flop or operation will be lower. if you look at the NV cuda cards now they use about half the power of the sb-e to do the same operation.
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    447
    I missed a lot of other stuff posted about Ivy-EP and EX...Is vr-zone reliable?

    I just read a few of their articles, and its making a lot of sense. Why SB-E turned out the way it is, the difference's going forward with -E versions, specifically starting with Ivy. Also why SB-EX was skipped, going strait to Ivy-EX.

    Also this leads me to believe Intel ISN'T skipping Ivy-E for Haswell-E. Same misinformed and confused people did this with Sandy. They all forget that the mainstream 4 core versions come out first, followed much later by the server version/high end desktop versions. People saw only the Ivy 4cores that just came out and freaked/assumed the worst.

    Business as usual for Intel. I would love to see a 10-core ivy-e on the desktop but I will be happy with a fully enabled 8 core/Fixed/enhanced Patsburg Ivy setup!
    Iron Lung 3.0 | Intel Core i7 6800k @ 4ghz | 32gb G.SKILL RIPJAW V DDR4-3200 @16-16-16-36 | ASUS ROG STRIX X99 GAMING + ASUS ROG GeForce GTX 1070 STRIX GAMING | Samsung 960 Pro 512GB + Samsung 840 EVO + 4TB HDD | 55" Samsung KS8000 + 30" Dell u3011 via Displayport - @ 6400x2160

  12. #12
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    France
    Posts
    8,832
    Quote Originally Posted by Tenknics View Post
    I missed a lot of other stuff posted about Ivy-EP and EX...Is vr-zone reliable?
    I'd say so, yes!
    Quote Originally Posted by Tenknics View Post
    I just read a few of their articles, and its making a lot of sense. Why SB-E turned out the way it is, the difference's going forward with -E versions, specifically starting with Ivy. Also why SB-EX was skipped, going strait to Ivy-EX.

    Also this leads me to believe Intel ISN'T skipping Ivy-E for Haswell-E. Same misinformed and confused people did this with Sandy. They all forget that the mainstream 4 core versions come out first, followed much later by the server version/high end desktop versions. People saw only the Ivy 4cores that just came out and freaked/assumed the worst.
    Yeah, I think that's the case. Their high-end platform direction has changed, but that's about it.
    Donate to XS forums
    Quote Originally Posted by jayhall0315 View Post
    If you are really extreme, you never let informed facts or the scientific method hold you back from your journey to the wrong answer.

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    447
    There is no more like button..nice find zalbard.

    This news is the only type I care about these days really...high end CPU news...Its the only thing that excites me these days. SoC's and mobile computing and all that jazz is just so blaaaah
    Iron Lung 3.0 | Intel Core i7 6800k @ 4ghz | 32gb G.SKILL RIPJAW V DDR4-3200 @16-16-16-36 | ASUS ROG STRIX X99 GAMING + ASUS ROG GeForce GTX 1070 STRIX GAMING | Samsung 960 Pro 512GB + Samsung 840 EVO + 4TB HDD | 55" Samsung KS8000 + 30" Dell u3011 via Displayport - @ 6400x2160

  14. #14
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Flying through Space, with armoire, Armoire of INVINCIBILATAAAAY!
    Posts
    1,963
    Quote Originally Posted by Tenknics View Post

    This news is the only type I care about these days really...high end CPU news...Its the only thing that excites me these days.
    unf oh god intel don't stop
    Sigs are obnoxious.

  15. #15
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    France - Bx
    Posts
    2,595

  16. #16
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,796
    ROG Power PCs - Intel and AMD
    CPUs:i9-7900X, i9-9900K, i7-6950X, i7-5960X, i7-8086K, i7-8700K, 4x i7-7700K, i3-7350K, 2x i7-6700K, i5-6600K, R7-2700X, 4x R5 2600X, R5 2400G, R3 1200, R7-1800X, R7-1700X, 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, A10-7870K, Athlon 845, Athlon 860K,AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930KAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread Intel Cinebench R15 thread

  17. #17
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    4,332
    Looks like I'll wait until P87 b4 upgrading, Ivy was too disappointing to me to bother invest my money. I used to swap CPU once a year or so, A64 3700+ -> Opteron 165 -> E6750 -> E8400 -> i7-860. Now looks like I'll skip both Sandy and Ivy. ^^ Sandy upgrade had made sense at launch, Ivy didn't to me.
    Intel? Core i5-4670K @ 4.3 GHz | ASRock Extreme6 Z87 | G.Skill Sniper 2x8GB @ DDR4-1866 CL9 | Gigabyte GTX 970 OC Windforce 3x | Super Flower Titanium 1000W | ViewSonic VX2268wm 120Hz LCD | Phanteks PH-TC14PE | Logitech MX-518 | Win 7 x64 Professional | Samsung 850 EVO & 840 Pro SSDs

    If all people would share opinions in an objective manner, the world would be a friendlier place

  18. #18
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    447
    Quote Originally Posted by FlanK3r View Post
    so nothing new for a year on the chipset front?
    Iron Lung 3.0 | Intel Core i7 6800k @ 4ghz | 32gb G.SKILL RIPJAW V DDR4-3200 @16-16-16-36 | ASUS ROG STRIX X99 GAMING + ASUS ROG GeForce GTX 1070 STRIX GAMING | Samsung 960 Pro 512GB + Samsung 840 EVO + 4TB HDD | 55" Samsung KS8000 + 30" Dell u3011 via Displayport - @ 6400x2160

  19. #19
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,432
    Quote Originally Posted by zanzabar View Post
    isnt ddr4 just ultra low volt ddr3 with higher latency, it seams like ddr3 would be a draw back since the cpu has to be running at less than 1V



    why boo, this is not the only platform intel has, and the only thing keeping the higher end chips higher end right now is NV. sure amd has a beast for VM farms but intel owns that with marketing and IT stupidity so the only thing that they have now is to keep server loads in x86 instead of cuda/opencl. this is also the base of multi cpu servers so why would they go for 4 slow parts when you could have 2 fast parts do the same work load.
    source? i thought they performed almost the same as the intel parts?
    [MOBO] Asus CrossHair Formula 5 AM3+
    [GPU] ATI 6970 x2 Crossfire 2Gb
    [RAM] G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 1600
    [CPU] AMD FX-8120 @ 4.8 ghz
    [COOLER] XSPC Rasa 750 RS360 WaterCooling
    [OS] Windows 8 x64 Enterprise
    [HDD] OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD
    [AUDIO] Logitech S-220 17 Watts 2.1

  20. #20
    Xtremely Bad Overclocker
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    East Blue
    Posts
    3,663
    Quote Originally Posted by RPGWiZaRD View Post
    Looks like I'll wait until P87 b4 upgrading, Ivy was too disappointing to me to bother invest my money. I used to swap CPU once a year or so, A64 3700+ -> Opteron 165 -> E6750 -> E8400 -> i7-860. Now looks like I'll skip both Sandy and Ivy. ^^ Sandy upgrade had made sense at launch, Ivy didn't to me.
    think about it after new stepping - everything seems better now...had chips (actually the first week 18 I had) that did 1.3V 32m @5GHZ...Intel seems to improve 22nm..


    ....remarkable!
    | '12 IvyBridge - "ticks different"... | AwardFabrik IvyBridge round I by SoF | AwardFabrik IvyBridge round II by angoholic & stummerwinter
    | '11 The SandyBridge madness... | AwardFabrik / Team LDK OC-Season 2011/2012 Opening Event
    | '10 Gulftown LaunchDay OC round up @ASUS RIIE | 3DM05 2x GPU WR LIVE @Cebit 2010 @ASUS MIIIE | SandyBridge arrived @ASUS P8P67

    | '09 Foxconn Avenger | E8600 | Foxconn A79A-S | Phenom II 940 BE | LaunchDay Phenom II OC round up
    | '08 7.438s 1m LN2 | AMD 1m WR LN2 | 2nd AOCM | Phenom II teasing
    | '07 100% E2140 | 106.5% E2160 | 100% E4500 | 103% E4400 | 5508 MHZ E6850 | 7250 MHZ P4 641 126.5% by SoF and AwardFabrik Crew all on Gigabyte DS3P c? and LN2...
    | '06 3800+ X2 Manchester 0531TPEW noHS 3201MHZ c? | 3200+ Venice noHS 3279MHZ c? | Opteron 148 0536CABYE 3405MHZ c? all on Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI compressorcooled

    | '05 3500+[NC], 3000+[W], 2x 3200+[W], 3500+[NC], 3200+[V] 0516GPDW

    Quote Originally Posted by saaya
    sof pulled a fermi on all of us !!!

  21. #21
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Australia / Europe
    Posts
    1,309
    Quote Originally Posted by RPGWiZaRD View Post
    Looks like I'll wait until P87 b4 upgrading, Ivy was too disappointing to me to bother invest my money. I used to swap CPU once a year or so, A64 3700+ -> Opteron 165 -> E6750 -> E8400 -> i7-860. Now looks like I'll skip both Sandy and Ivy. ^^ Sandy upgrade had made sense at launch, Ivy didn't to me.
    Well, after my experience in the last 4 years...

    PII -> PII -> I5 750 -> 2600k -> Brazos e-350n -> E5300 -> IB 3570K, I can defetinely attest that my newly acquired IB is a much better bang for back than any of the preceeding systems, it outperforms my 2600k and it did cost me 30% less. god the RAM alone cost me half for twice the bandwith and size. I was thinking of waiting for Haswell and DDR4 awesomeness, improved processed, etc, but afteer the Bulldozer fiasco I refuse to sell my system in hope that the next platform's performance and price exceed the current's.
    この世界には 人の運命を司る 何らかの超越的な 〝律〝...... 〝神の手〝が 存在するのだろうか? 少なくとも 人は 自らの意志さえ 自由にはできな

  22. #22
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    North Queensland Australia
    Posts
    1,441
    Here's hoping for a new stepping IB that has the TIM issue fixed.

    -PB
    -Project Sakura-
    Intel i7 860 @ 4.0Ghz, Asus Maximus III Formula, 8GB G-Skill Ripjaws X F3 (@ 1600Mhz), 2x GTX 295 Quad SLI
    2x 120GB OCZ Vertex 2 RAID 0, OCZ ZX 1000W, NZXT Phantom (Pink), Dell SX2210T Touch Screen, Windows 8.1 Pro

    Koolance RP-401X2 1.1 (w/ Swiftech MCP35X), XSPC EX420, XSPC X-Flow 240, DT Sniper, EK-FC 295s (w/ RAM Blocks), Enzotech M3F Mosfet+NB/SB

  23. #23
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Australia / Europe
    Posts
    1,309
    mine is running at 4.2 Ghz only doing 38-42 Celsius.
    and the fact that I am running ram at 2400MHz straight out of the box is also something of an advantage when I was messing around with 2600k

    Quote Originally Posted by Olivon View Post
    snip
    Thanks for that my helpful Frenchman.
    Last edited by kuroikenshi; 06-23-2012 at 10:10 PM.
    この世界には 人の運命を司る 何らかの超越的な 〝律〝...... 〝神の手〝が 存在するのだろうか? 少なくとも 人は 自らの意志さえ 自由にはできな

  24. #24
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,772
    Quote Originally Posted by god_43 View Post
    source? i thought they performed almost the same as the intel parts?
    a "cheap" $1500 per chip socket g34 setup will outperform an extremely expensive 4p 1567 that are $3k-4k each chip and the amd will use less power, so per watt and cost amd is a beast.
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  25. #25
    Xtreme 3D Team
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,482
    I wish people would understand TDP does not mean power consumption.
    Smile

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •