Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Pinmod for Phenom X4 9950BE? (Undervolt/underclock)

  1. #1
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    ithaca, ny
    Posts
    2,430

    Pinmod for Phenom X4 9950BE? (Undervolt/underclock)

    I'm trying to fix a machine for a friend. I get a feeling it never actually worked right. It's a Shuttle XPC SA76G2, which from what I've gathered, supports CPUs up to 105W TDP and has a 250W power supply.

    The Phenom X4 9950BE (Agena) is 125W TDP with 1.30V VID.

    The BIOS does not have provisions to decrease vcore or multiplier, unfortunately.

    I managed to get Windows installed, but any sort of stress testing will immediately cause the machine to reboot. Hooked up to my Killawatt, I see that it's drawing 300W, well over the 250W PSU rating.

    As a proof of concept, I'm using PhenomMsrTweaker to reduce multiplier and VID, and am getting rock solid stability, with power draw not exceeding 200W at the wall. I will try to find the limits, since it's "only" at 1.15V VID and 10x200=2000 right now.


    I have not built (or really even touched) an AMD machine since the 462 days and know nothing about these K10s. Since there is no bios adjustment, is there a way to pinmod these CPUs for lower vcore/multiplier?

    Again, it's not my machine, and I'm imagining the owner is not wanting to spend any money (although how a 9950BE ended up in here, I have no idea)

    Thanks.


    If there's no easy solution, I'll have to have it run PhenomMsrTweaker on boot and advise to get a lower end (or Phenom II if supported) and sell this 9950BE
    Last edited by ziddey; 05-25-2012 at 12:07 AM.
    E8400 8x500=4000 | ABIT IP35-E
    2x2GB Tracer PC2-6400 1:1 500MHz 5-5-5-15 2.0V
    Galaxy 8800GT 800/2000/1100 1.3V | 80GB X25-M G2 + 1.5TB 7200.11 | XFiXG
    Fuzion | MCW60 | DDC2+Petra | Coolrad22T+BIP1

    Merom 13x133=1733 1MB L2 0.950V

  2. #2
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,789
    PhenomMsrTweaker on boot sounds to me like a very practical solution
    Sandy Bridge 2500k @ 4.5ghz 1.28v | MSI p67a-gd65 B3 Mobo | Samsung ddr3 8gb |
    Swiftech apogee drive II | Coolgate 120| GTX660ti w/heat killer gpu x| Seasonic x650 PSU

    QX9650 @ 4ghz | P5K-E/WIFI-AP Mobo | Hyperx ddr2 1066 4gb | EVGA GTX560ti 448 core FTW @ 900mhz | OCZ 700w Modular PSU |
    DD MC-TDX CPU block | DD Maze5 GPU block | Black Ice Xtreme II 240 Rad | Laing D5 Pump

  3. #3
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    1,698
    You said there was no control for core FID & VID in the bios.
    The XPC must have Award bios then -> i.e it is either SA76G2 or SA76G2L model.

    Either way you may want to try this: http://www.multiupload.nl/WLRLT8TDGD

    It is a modded bios I made based on the most recent S10J bios.

    CPU FID & VID controls added under "Advanced Bios Features" -> "CPU Feature".

    This specific bios is PITA to modify as the standard tools cannot be used (will completely corrupt the bootblock).
    Therefore even I checked there SHOULD NOT be any of such issues I cannot be completely sure since I cannot 'field test' it.

    So try it on your own responsibility.

  4. #4
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    ithaca, ny
    Posts
    2,430
    Wow, thank you! I am extremely appreciative!

    I will have to see how the owner wants to proceed, since I won't be able to do a hotflash currently.

    I'm imagining it's not as simple as not flashing the bootblock?

    Hopefully, I get the green light and it all works out.

    Thanks!

    edit: multiupload.nl seems to be down right now


    Any chance you could provide a mirror? Looking through all my old parts, I think I have an extra chip to hotflash in case things go south
    Last edited by ziddey; 05-25-2012 at 01:20 PM.
    E8400 8x500=4000 | ABIT IP35-E
    2x2GB Tracer PC2-6400 1:1 500MHz 5-5-5-15 2.0V
    Galaxy 8800GT 800/2000/1100 1.3V | 80GB X25-M G2 + 1.5TB 7200.11 | XFiXG
    Fuzion | MCW60 | DDC2+Petra | Coolrad22T+BIP1

    Merom 13x133=1733 1MB L2 0.950V

  5. #5
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    1,698
    http://depositfiles.com/files/xsqhkh3wg

    http://www.filefactory.com/file/5tmc...6G_S10JMOD.zip

    http://oron.com/oga1gfh0p8pl

    Flashing the bootblock should be fine since it has not been touched.

    If this one works I can enable some other features too, plenty actually.

  6. #6
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    ithaca, ny
    Posts
    2,430
    Thank you! I might have to order a spare chip to hotflash onto.

    I'm imagining there's no way to use the bootblock in case of a bad flash since it looks like there's not even a fdd header?
    E8400 8x500=4000 | ABIT IP35-E
    2x2GB Tracer PC2-6400 1:1 500MHz 5-5-5-15 2.0V
    Galaxy 8800GT 800/2000/1100 1.3V | 80GB X25-M G2 + 1.5TB 7200.11 | XFiXG
    Fuzion | MCW60 | DDC2+Petra | Coolrad22T+BIP1

    Merom 13x133=1733 1MB L2 0.950V

  7. #7
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    ithaca, ny
    Posts
    2,430
    Have any recommendations for a person/company that sells pre-flashed chips?

    I was debating flashing in windows (with msrtweak to drop fid and vid), or use a usb key and awdflash. Chose the usb key route, and it rebooted itself midway through the flash. Come to think of it, I probably should have hooked up a more powerful psu, but too late now.

    The chip is an ESMT 50
    F25L008A
    C70H2
    0744

    Never completed the bios flash to be able to tell if it'd have worked or not. Figure with an extra chip, I'd be able to hotflash. Don't have to give the computer back for a little bit longer, but need to get it done soon.

    I'm assuming a usbjtagnt won't work.



    Edit: checked all the spare boards I have laying around and found one with the same package chip. However, it's got a 4Mbit 3V chip vs the shuttle's 8Mbit 3V. Also, it runs amibios vs awd.

    Winflash refuses to run because it's not an award bios. Awdflash also detects it's not the same part, but with /qi flag, it gets stuck at "please wait!"

    Is there any way this would work? Or because of the chip disparity, it's not possible? The potential hotflashing board uses an amic a25l040-f chip
    Last edited by ziddey; 06-02-2012 at 05:59 PM.
    E8400 8x500=4000 | ABIT IP35-E
    2x2GB Tracer PC2-6400 1:1 500MHz 5-5-5-15 2.0V
    Galaxy 8800GT 800/2000/1100 1.3V | 80GB X25-M G2 + 1.5TB 7200.11 | XFiXG
    Fuzion | MCW60 | DDC2+Petra | Coolrad22T+BIP1

    Merom 13x133=1733 1MB L2 0.950V

  8. #8
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    1,698
    Try this: http://ra.openbios.org/~idwer/flashr...7/flashrom.exe

    Make a bootable DOS USB-stick and throw it in there.

    It should be able to flash it even the hotflashing platform is using a smaller bios chip.

    You might need to use "-p internal:laptop=this_is_not_a_laptop" switch incase the chipset is not recognized.

  9. #9
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    ithaca, ny
    Posts
    2,430
    AWESOME! Program worked great. Unfortunately, it doesn't seem like the bios mod works. Hotflashed back to stock twice.
    E8400 8x500=4000 | ABIT IP35-E
    2x2GB Tracer PC2-6400 1:1 500MHz 5-5-5-15 2.0V
    Galaxy 8800GT 800/2000/1100 1.3V | 80GB X25-M G2 + 1.5TB 7200.11 | XFiXG
    Fuzion | MCW60 | DDC2+Petra | Coolrad22T+BIP1

    Merom 13x133=1733 1MB L2 0.950V

  10. #10
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    1,698
    Ok, the bios structure is then even more delicate than I first thought.

    I rebuilt the whole bios manually this time.
    If this does not work, nothing will.

    https://rapidshare.com/files/1548167553/FINAL.zip

    Flash in DOS mode, with flashrom.

  11. #11
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    ithaca, ny
    Posts
    2,430
    Flashed without a hitch, but don't see any new options in BIOS.

    Thanks for your help by the way. I really appreciate it. Perhaps, msrtweak will be the only way?
    E8400 8x500=4000 | ABIT IP35-E
    2x2GB Tracer PC2-6400 1:1 500MHz 5-5-5-15 2.0V
    Galaxy 8800GT 800/2000/1100 1.3V | 80GB X25-M G2 + 1.5TB 7200.11 | XFiXG
    Fuzion | MCW60 | DDC2+Petra | Coolrad22T+BIP1

    Merom 13x133=1733 1MB L2 0.950V

  12. #12
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    1,698
    You can see the "CPU Features" menu under "Advanced Bios Features"?

  13. #13
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    1,698

  14. #14
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    ithaca, ny
    Posts
    2,430
    Quote Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
    You can see the "CPU Features" menu under "Advanced Bios Features"?
    Yeah, still only have cnq and secure vm mode options.
    Quote Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
    Giving it a try now. thanks
    Last edited by ziddey; 06-04-2012 at 04:04 PM.
    E8400 8x500=4000 | ABIT IP35-E
    2x2GB Tracer PC2-6400 1:1 500MHz 5-5-5-15 2.0V
    Galaxy 8800GT 800/2000/1100 1.3V | 80GB X25-M G2 + 1.5TB 7200.11 | XFiXG
    Fuzion | MCW60 | DDC2+Petra | Coolrad22T+BIP1

    Merom 13x133=1733 1MB L2 0.950V

  15. #15
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    ithaca, ny
    Posts
    2,430
    Awesome. Disabling CnQ allows fid/vid adjustment in hex now. Thanks so much!

    I'm seeing that each fid adjustment is 0.5x, so assuming that fid=0 would mean 13-5=8x (stock was 0a).
    Time to play with vid.

    You're a hero

    Dropping vid by 1 increases vcore by 0.02v. Going the other direction, it doesn't seem to scale linearly. I'm imagining due to droop maybe? Either way, got it at 1.20vcore in the bios now. Time to play!

    Assumedly, vid should be in 0.0125v increments. 1.175vid is translating to around 1.200vcore idle and 1.216vcore load

    This CPU is showing itself to be a real runt. I'm told it was prebuilt with the 9950be, a 125w tdp part. The psu is only 250w, and the system calls for no higher than 105w tdp IIRC. Supposedly, it worked without issue in the past. Either way, it looks like there's really no undervolting headroom at higher fids.

    Ok, going to have to settle with 2.1ghz 1.125vid. That's "stock" for a 9450e, except with 2ghz ht. It's a pig with vcore afterwards and becomes hard to tell whether I'm hitting instability from insufficient voltage or psu overload. Hopefully, they'll be happy the pc works again, even at the cost of 500mhz.

    Thanks for taking the time to mod this bios!
    Last edited by ziddey; 06-04-2012 at 04:50 PM.
    E8400 8x500=4000 | ABIT IP35-E
    2x2GB Tracer PC2-6400 1:1 500MHz 5-5-5-15 2.0V
    Galaxy 8800GT 800/2000/1100 1.3V | 80GB X25-M G2 + 1.5TB 7200.11 | XFiXG
    Fuzion | MCW60 | DDC2+Petra | Coolrad22T+BIP1

    Merom 13x133=1733 1MB L2 0.950V

  16. #16
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    1,698
    Sorry, just a minute.

  17. #17
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    1,698
    Desired FID = Multiplier (e.g 13.0x) * 2, dec to hex -10h = 0Ah (26 in decimal to hexadecimal = 1A, 1A - 10 = 0A).
    Desired VID = 00h = 1.550V, 01h = 1.525V, etc (IIRC).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •