Results 1 to 24 of 24

Thread: Direct CU 680

  1. #1
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    2,447

    Direct CU 680

    gpu on this card tops out at 1880 in 3d / memory 1900



    not sure why gpuz reads the non turbo clock.

    only scales with vcore and temperature, dram voltage doesnt help

  2. #2
    PI in the face
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3,084
    oOoooOOoo now this is what ive been waiting for!
    Quote Originally Posted by L0ud View Post
    So many opinions and so few screenshots

  3. #3
    XIP
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    5,580
    Awesome card Sham

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    2,447
    Quote Originally Posted by Splave View Post
    oOoooOOoo now this is what ive been waiting for!
    Why though? A good 7970 can do the same score, or maybe u mean a good CU2 680 core can do better?

  5. #5
    PI in the face
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3,084
    good cu2 will fly 1550 was a struggle on reference so...
    More so non reference 680 in general will be nice with asus bios support and ln2 overclocker helpfulness
    Last edited by Splave; 05-23-2012 at 09:32 AM.
    Quote Originally Posted by L0ud View Post
    So many opinions and so few screenshots

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    2,447
    one thing i love about the nvidia gpus is that the gpus themselves almost never die, sure vrms blow up and all on ref but the gpus themselves are sturdy even when u put 2+v into them
    not so with ATis

  7. #7
    take me to the manbar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    South Africa :)
    Posts
    1,182
    if tesselation had to be ON as a rule,

    then gtx 680 would be 3dm11 king :<

    Great work!

    So you are saying mere mortals can reach these clocks on a DirecuII?

  8. #8
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    2,447
    well most importantly i needed to flash a bios to remain always in 3d mode once drivers are loaded so that card doesnt crap out when cold on desktop.

    the rest is more convenience i think
    force mod strap a 1.40v vid
    made 2 switches to bump vcore , pushed vcore up more just for gt3
    modified sense to make it vdroop more , gpu felt like it hated any bit of overshoot.
    gave excessive pll voltage just to make it a bit more cold tolerant
    used dvi 1 just cos it felt to oc best

  9. #9
    Wanna look under my kilt?
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Glasgow-ish U.K.
    Posts
    4,509
    Quote Originally Posted by Vivi View Post
    if tesselation had to be ON as a rule,

    then gtx 680 would be 3dm11 king :<

    Great work!

    So you are saying mere mortals can reach these clocks on a DirecuII?


    OR...... if nVidia added Tess Disable options

    Nice to see Great GTX680 clocks without changing the PWM
    Quote Originally Posted by T_M View Post
    Not sure i totally follow anything you said, but regardless of that you helped me come up with a very good idea....
    Quote Originally Posted by soundood View Post
    you sigged that?

    why?
    ______

    Sometimes, it's not your time. Sometimes, you have to make it your time. Sometimes, it can ONLY be your time.

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Bar,Montenegro
    Posts
    164
    Wow , great card....Nice to see gtx680 in action....



  11. #11
    PI in the face
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3,084
    will there be matrix soon after?
    Quote Originally Posted by L0ud View Post
    So many opinions and so few screenshots

  12. #12
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Montevideo - Uruguay
    Posts
    5,435
    Quote Originally Posted by LardArse View Post
    gpu on this card tops out at 1880 in 3d / memory 1900



    not sure why gpuz reads the non turbo clock.

    only scales with vcore and temperature, dram voltage doesnt help

    Jeeze LardArse what cooling are you using

    congrats !
    Sergio
    24/7 - 5930K 46.5HT + ASUS R5E + DDR4 4x4GB 3100C15 1T + 2x 1TB SSD + 1x 3TB HDD + 4 SLI GALAXY GTX780 HOF + SEASONIC P-1200 all Water Cooled

    TRig - 4770KHT + ASUS M6E + GeIL 2x8GB 2666CL11 + GeiL Zenith 240GB SSD + GALAXY 750Ti HOF + CM 1200W + Raijintek Triton Liquid Cooler

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Valencia, España
    Posts
    146
    bestiality, Can you confirm the cooling used, congratulations!

  14. #14
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    2,447
    i used passive cooling

  15. #15
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Valencia, España
    Posts
    146
    Quote Originally Posted by LardArse View Post
    i used passive cooling
    nice

  16. #16
    take me to the manbar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    South Africa :)
    Posts
    1,182
    he probly modded the fan for 200% speed, no way he can reach 1800 on normal fan

  17. #17
    PI in the face
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3,084
    Quote Originally Posted by LardArse View Post
    i used passive cooling
    impressive, I thought direct die ice cube cooling
    Quote Originally Posted by L0ud View Post
    So many opinions and so few screenshots

  18. #18
    PIfection
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1,002
    Ah nice Pete, I think alot of us are early waiting to get back on the 680 band wagon, 7970 are great to bench but green team is always fun

  19. #19
    Slayer X
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    1,574
    Quote Originally Posted by LardArse View Post
    i used passive cooling
    passive LN2 ?
    Goliath:
    •Intel 3770k
    •Asus Maximus V Extreme - 0010
    •Corsair Dominator Platinum 2400C9 @ 2800 10/12/12/34 - 1t
    •Corsair Neutron GTX - SSD Raid 0
    •Areca 1880i 16X - 4GB DDR2 Cache
    •2x Corsair 1200i (napalmV5 style)

    David:
    •Gigabyte Z77X -UD3H
    •iGPU
    •Intel 3770K Overclocked
    •Corsair Dominator GTX
    •Kingston HyperX SSD 128GB RAID0
    •Corsair AX650

  20. #20
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Brasil
    Posts
    2

    opa...

    put the video...
    a64 3400+GiGABYTE K8NNXP FullModed By Copy|
    P4 3.2@3.7Ghz|Abit IC7-Max3|
    Maxtor Sata 80gb|AIW 9800pro|Combo LG 16x52x24|Samsung 512 333@430|Sony-Multiscan G420| DVD-RW|

  21. #21
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Athens,Greece
    Posts
    227
    i get weird -60c coldbug on my card? any solution on this?
    also if possible care to share the mods? thanks in advance

  22. #22
    Xtremely Bad Overclocker
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    East Blue
    Posts
    3,663
    Quote Originally Posted by LardArse View Post
    i used passive cooling
    The same you had on your 4870X2 zombie 4 years ago on cebit I guess?

    I prefer nvidia for benching always - AMD cards seem to die like flies very very often...

    Got some 7970 DCUII a week ago and not even touched it yet...580 GTX matrix still kickin' AM3 and 05 Sli
    | '12 IvyBridge - "ticks different"... | AwardFabrik IvyBridge round I by SoF | AwardFabrik IvyBridge round II by angoholic & stummerwinter
    | '11 The SandyBridge madness... | AwardFabrik / Team LDK OC-Season 2011/2012 Opening Event
    | '10 Gulftown LaunchDay OC round up @ASUS RIIE | 3DM05 2x GPU WR LIVE @Cebit 2010 @ASUS MIIIE | SandyBridge arrived @ASUS P8P67

    | '09 Foxconn Avenger | E8600 | Foxconn A79A-S | Phenom II 940 BE | LaunchDay Phenom II OC round up
    | '08 7.438s 1m LN2 | AMD 1m WR LN2 | 2nd AOCM | Phenom II teasing
    | '07 100% E2140 | 106.5% E2160 | 100% E4500 | 103% E4400 | 5508 MHZ E6850 | 7250 MHZ P4 641 126.5% by SoF and AwardFabrik Crew all on Gigabyte DS3P c? and LN2...
    | '06 3800+ X2 Manchester 0531TPEW noHS 3201MHZ c? | 3200+ Venice noHS 3279MHZ c? | Opteron 148 0536CABYE 3405MHZ c? all on Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI compressorcooled

    | '05 3500+[NC], 3000+[W], 2x 3200+[W], 3500+[NC], 3200+[V] 0516GPDW

    Quote Originally Posted by saaya
    sof pulled a fermi on all of us !!!

  23. #23
    Champion
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    476
    I hope to try it soon
    MSI MOA 2009 POLAND #3
    Gigabyte GOOC 2010 POLAND #2
    MSI MOA 2010 POLAND - NOT ORGANISED
    ASUS Polish Overclocking Championship 2010 #1
    MSI MOA 2011 POLAND - NOT INVITED
    HWBOT Country Cup 2011 - POLAND! #1
    MSI MOA 2012 EMEA - #1
    MSI MOA 2012 WW FINALS - #7
    ASUS Open Overclocking Cup AOOC 2012 - #1
    HWBOT Country Cup 2012 - POLAND! #2
    MSI MOA 2013 EMEA Qualifier - #2
    ASUS Open Overclocking Cup AOOC 2013 - #?
    MSI MOA 2013 WW FINALS - #?

  24. #24
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    new jersey
    Posts
    1,101
    Where does one go for a bios that does not bang in and out of 3d voltage when cold? thats besides the bios fix it needs for cb alltogether at
    -40.
    _________________

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •