Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 28

Thread: Overclocking on Ivy Bridge ...while undervolting???

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    El Dorado County, California
    Posts
    431

    Overclocking on Ivy Bridge ...while undervolting???

    I just came across this article on Anandtech, linked from their Ivy Bridge review:

    http://www.anandtech.com/show/5763/u...-on-ivy-bridge


    It's very interesting. While upping both the voltage and the clock speeds have rapid and averse affects on the temps of the chip... they managed to get a significant, stable overclock at 0.90 volts! Which suggests to me that if we go about it the right way, we can actually do fairly well at overclocking IB. Probably not as insanely awesome as SB, but still.
    The day we rename "Infanticide" as "After-Birth Abortions" is the day I give up on society.

  2. #2
    Xtreme Mentor eXa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Evje, Norway
    Posts
    3,424
    4.5ghz and 1.1v
    Fine by me for a nice low wattage 24/7 OC.
    Quote Originally Posted by iddqd View Post
    Not to be outdone by rival ATi, nVidia's going to offer its own drivers on EA Download Manager.
    X2 555 @ B55 @ 4050 1.4v, NB @ 2700 1.35v Fuzion V1
    Gigabyte 890gpa-ud3h v2.1
    HD6950 2GB swiftech MCW60 @ 1000mhz, 1.168v 1515mhz memory
    Corsair Vengeance 2x4GB 1866 cas 9 @ 1800 8.9.8.27.41 1T 110ns 1.605v
    C300 64GB, 2X Seagate barracuda green LP 2TB, Essence STX, Zalman ZM750-HP
    DDC 3.2/petras, PA120.3 ek-res400, Stackers STC-01,
    Dell U2412m, G110, G9x, Razer Scarab

  3. #3
    Registered User AFQ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    94
    Quote Originally Posted by eXa View Post
    4.5ghz and 1.1v
    Fine by me for a nice low wattage 24/7 OC.
    Yeah 4.5 GHz seems to be the sweetspot for Ivy Bridge. After that things start to get nasty.

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    El Dorado County, California
    Posts
    431
    I'd be satisfied with that for $250. Especially coming from an old Athlon64 4000+ San diego single core @2.4ghz...
    The day we rename "Infanticide" as "After-Birth Abortions" is the day I give up on society.

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    El Dorado County, California
    Posts
    431
    Bump.

    If over-volting causes premature CPU aging, will under-volting prolong its life?
    The day we rename "Infanticide" as "After-Birth Abortions" is the day I give up on society.

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member JaD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    251
    Yes, but it's negligible over a life span of 10 years.

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member OCX600RR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN
    Posts
    374
    I used to undervolt my E8400 Wolfdale and could still manage some decent clocks out of it. Never tried with my 2500K yet but I think I will go ahead and play around with it some today. Sitting at 4.5GHz @ 1.26v

    Core i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.31v [L041C123] | Gigabyte P67-UD3P-B3 | Corsair H60 | 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3-1866 8-9-8-24-1T | Samsung F3 1TB |
    ASUS GTX 670 2GB| PCP&C Silencer 500W | Antec Three Hundred "Blacked Out" | Dell Ultrasharp 23" U2311H IPS 1920x1080



  8. #8
    Xtreme Mentor AliG's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Ace Deuce, Michigan
    Posts
    3,179
    Quote Originally Posted by thegoatman View Post
    I'd be satisfied with that for $250. Especially coming from an old Athlon64 4000+ San diego single core @2.4ghz...
    I recommend swapping out your computer chair with a racing seat for the first month haha. Switching from an AM2 dual core to my 2500k damn near blasted my pants off

    Quote Originally Posted by Hans de Vries View Post

    JF-AMD posting: IPC increases!!!!!!! How many times did I tell you!!!

    terrace215 post: IPC decreases, The more I post the more it decreases.
    terrace215 post: IPC decreases, The more I post the more it decreases.
    terrace215 post: IPC decreases, The more I post the more it decreases.
    .....}
    until (interrupt by Movieman)


    Regards, Hans

  9. #9
    I am Xtreme Manicdan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    7,747
    shockingly similar to a review i did of thuban a few years back

    its good to show people what it takes to get different frequencies so they can choose how to use the chip.

    almost all cpus can be overclcoked some with less voltage as long as temps are maintained. the stock chip has to work at its set MHz up to its max thermal limit, which is why stock voltages are pretty high compared to what is really needed.

    they should have tested 1v though, since the jump from .9 to 1.1 is large and there could be an incredible sweet spot between them.
    2500k @ 4900mhz - Asus Maxiums IV Gene Z - Swiftech Apogee LP
    GTX 680 @ +170 (1267mhz) / +300 (3305mhz) - EK 680 FC EN/Acteal
    Swiftech MCR320 Drive @ 1300rpms - 3x GT 1850s @ 1150rpms
    XS Build Log for: My Latest Custom Case

  10. #10
    Xtreme Mentor AliG's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Ace Deuce, Michigan
    Posts
    3,179
    Quote Originally Posted by Manicdan View Post
    shockingly similar to a review i did of thuban a few years back

    its good to show people what it takes to get different frequencies so they can choose how to use the chip.

    almost all cpus can be overclcoked some with less voltage as long as temps are maintained. the stock chip has to work at its set MHz up to its max thermal limit, which is why stock voltages are pretty high compared to what is really needed.

    they should have tested 1v though, since the jump from .9 to 1.1 is large and there could be an incredible sweet spot between them.
    It's possible they were going for the lowest possible stable voltage? Also can you elaborate on what you mean by it'll overclock with less voltage as long as the temps are maintained? Shouldn't the temps be a nonexistant issue if you're undervolting?

    Quote Originally Posted by Hans de Vries View Post

    JF-AMD posting: IPC increases!!!!!!! How many times did I tell you!!!

    terrace215 post: IPC decreases, The more I post the more it decreases.
    terrace215 post: IPC decreases, The more I post the more it decreases.
    terrace215 post: IPC decreases, The more I post the more it decreases.
    .....}
    until (interrupt by Movieman)


    Regards, Hans

  11. #11
    I am Xtreme sin0822's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    France
    Posts
    3,563
    most ivy OCes are low wattage compared to SB. BTW turn down CPU PLL Voltage, it helps. I also downclock the vtt and sa voltages to help with temps too.

  12. #12
    I am Xtreme Manicdan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    7,747
    Quote Originally Posted by AliG View Post
    It's possible they were going for the lowest possible stable voltage? Also can you elaborate on what you mean by it'll overclock with less voltage as long as the temps are maintained? Shouldn't the temps be a nonexistant issue if you're undervolting?
    for your first question, i was looking at the max OC per voltage, they had 3.9 for .9v and 4.5 for 1.1v, but what if they got to 4.3 with 1v. that could offer 20% power reduction over the 1.1v 4.5ghz, while being only 5% slower.

    when we overclock, we do it based on our cooling power
    when a cpu is made its built for a cooling solution that can fail, resulting in temps of 100c (or whatever the cpu is limited to)

    so if you try to oc for a small air cooling your looking at temps above 60c, if your on heavy water its sub 40c (depending on what chip we are talking about)

    so now to the overclock itself. on air to get 4ghz you might need 1.05v because of the higher temp, for water you might be able to do it with .95v (all fake examples here). but lets say the pump fails, theres a 100% chance your OC will crash before you reach the peak temp where the cpu throttles (100ish C).

    so irrelevent of what voltage you use, or what clocks you want, you really OC based on the cooling solution you have available. water users might be able to get a better low voltage OC because their temps can still be 20c under that of air for the same settings. but we dont see that often because most who use water just throw in lots of volts and try to push it past what an air cooler can do.

    and 2 other points about their test:
    they did not mention how they measured the power consumption, was it a TDP based draw, or total system draw.
    and their PSU has 75% efficiency at 50W and 90% at 250W, so every value they have listed is between that range. meaning the lower overclocks are loosing 20% from the psu, and the higher overclocks loosing only 10%, making it SEEM like power consumption is not increasing as fast as it really did
    2500k @ 4900mhz - Asus Maxiums IV Gene Z - Swiftech Apogee LP
    GTX 680 @ +170 (1267mhz) / +300 (3305mhz) - EK 680 FC EN/Acteal
    Swiftech MCR320 Drive @ 1300rpms - 3x GT 1850s @ 1150rpms
    XS Build Log for: My Latest Custom Case

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member Halk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
    Posts
    464
    Is 4.5 reserved for the 3770Ks or is it just as possible on the 3570s? In other words I've seen that the 3570's don't seem to want to go as far as the 3770s, but when it's only a moderate overclock of 4.5 does it matter?

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    El Dorado County, California
    Posts
    431
    It could be that a higher grade silicon made it to the 3770K bin... I read a review that mentioned their chip was. Manufactured in August 2011, which is relatively recent, suggesting Intel had a few bumps.
    The day we rename "Infanticide" as "After-Birth Abortions" is the day I give up on society.

  15. #15
    Xtreme Mentor PatRaceTin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Bangkok,Thailand (DamHot)
    Posts
    2,681
    how about performance different between IVY & Sandy

    at the same MAX. temp when overclocking with same cooling
    i5-2500K + Asus P8P67 Deluxe + Mushkin Blackline 8GB - 2133C10 (Hynix BFR) + Asus HD7970 DirectCU2 TOP + Samsung S22A300B
    EK SupremeHF + EK VGA HF + Swiftech 655 + XSPC ResTop + BlackIce GTX360 + LamptronFC2 + NMB-MAT 130CFMx3 Antec 1200W OC Version
    Macbook Pro 15" Late 2011 (i7 2760QM + HD 6770M)
    Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 (2014 Edition) P601 3G , LG Nexus 5 (D821) LTE
    [history system]80286 80386 80486 Cyrix K5 Pentium133 Pentium II Duron1G Athlon1G E2180 E3300 E5300 E7200 E8200 E8400 E8500 E8600 Q9550 QX6800 X3-720BE i7-920 i3-530 i5-750 Semp140@x2 955BE X4-B55 Q6600 i5-2500K i7-2600K X4-B60 X6-1055T FX-8120

  16. #16
    I am Xtreme sin0822's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    France
    Posts
    3,563
    Quote Originally Posted by Halk View Post
    Is 4.5 reserved for the 3770Ks or is it just as possible on the 3570s? In other words I've seen that the 3570's don't seem to want to go as far as the 3770s, but when it's only a moderate overclock of 4.5 does it matter?
    both as the issue isn't the voltage so much that the voltage pushed up the temps really high even without much heat being outputted.

    4.5ghz is easy on every Ivy CPU that is unlocked, as you don't need more than 1.3v for it, and 1.3v is below the extreme temp barrier.

  17. #17
    Xtreme Addict Eldonko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    2,252
    Interesting article, Im going to see what I can get at 1.1 as well.
    MB Reviewer for HWC
    Team OCX Bench Team

  18. #18
    I am Xtreme Leeghoofd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,379
    My 3570K's need 1.23 for 4600Mhz prime95 stable... , but even 4500Mhz at 1.1 results in cores failing or freezing... either a sick CPU at Anandtech or OCCT doesn't stress properly... or I suck monky balls... take your fav pick (no dino you can not vote )
    Last edited by Leeghoofd; 04-25-2012 at 08:13 AM.
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  19. #19
    I am Xtreme sin0822's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    France
    Posts
    3,563
    My CPU that does 5.3ghz for valid on air can't even do 4.5ghz at 1.1v so ya go figure.

    but I can do 5ghz at 1.2v at -190C

  20. #20
    Xtreme Addict Eldonko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    2,252
    No 4.5Ghz for 1.1v for me, more like 4.3Ghz. 4320 is the absolute max for aida64 stability. Average load temperature measured over an hour of load is 46C. Should be a half decent test to quickly get the overclockability of a new chip.



    Full sized image - http://images.hardwarecanucks.com/im...undervolt1.png
    MB Reviewer for HWC
    Team OCX Bench Team

  21. #21
    I am Xtreme BeepBeep2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,396
    AIDA stress test IMO is a joke...
    Intel all dey erry dey
    AMD all nite erry nite party party party

  22. #22
    Xtreme Addict Eldonko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    2,252
    Maybe so, go ahead and prime your chip 24/7 if you prefer. When ASUS and Intel say aida64 is optimized for this platform and recommend using it then that is what Ill be using for all stability testing.
    MB Reviewer for HWC
    Team OCX Bench Team

  23. #23
    I am Xtreme sin0822's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    France
    Posts
    3,563
    only thing i don't like about AIDA is that they want to charge you for it. i think AIDA added AVX that is why Intel is in love with them hahaha.

    But yea you guys know SVID only works till like 4.2ghz-4.3ghz as well. With Sandy you could get it to work really well, but with ivy not so much.

  24. #24
    I am Xtreme Manicdan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    7,747
    whats SVID?
    2500k @ 4900mhz - Asus Maxiums IV Gene Z - Swiftech Apogee LP
    GTX 680 @ +170 (1267mhz) / +300 (3305mhz) - EK 680 FC EN/Acteal
    Swiftech MCR320 Drive @ 1300rpms - 3x GT 1850s @ 1150rpms
    XS Build Log for: My Latest Custom Case

  25. #25
    I am Xtreme sin0822's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    France
    Posts
    3,563
    SVID is serial VID, it is a digital bus between the CPU and the PWM(which is the control chip for the VRM) and it basically allows the CPu and the VRm to talk and pick the right voltage for the frequency. CPU can select its own voltage on the go, max is 1.52v, but it never picks that high. It was introduced on the Intel side with Sandy Bridge, it is what allowed people to just increase the multiplier to 4.2-4.5ghz without needing to change the voltage. it is also what makes DVID offset not so straight forward b/c you can't control your stock vcore and you can't disable SVID. Because of SVID your VID at 3.3ghz and your VID at 4ghz or 4.5ghz are going to differ.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •