Swiftech
Results 1 to 21 of 21

Thread: Max Payne 3 specs and new screens

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member n!Cola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CroLand
    Posts
    378

    Max Payne 3 specs and new screens

    Max Payne 3 PC System Specifications

    Operating System:
    Windows 7 32/64 Service Pack 1, Windows Vista 32/64 Service Pack 2, Windows XP 32/64 Service Pack 3

    Processor:
    Intel Dual Core 2.4 GHZ - i7 3930K 6 Core x 3.06 GHZ / AMD Dual Core 2.6 GHZ - FX8150 8 Core x 3.6 GHZ

    RAM:
    2GB - 16GB

    Video Card:
    NVIDIA® 8600 GT 512MB VRAM – NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 680 2GB VRAM / Radeon HD 3400 512MB VRAM - Radeon HD 7970 3GB VRAM

    Sound Card:
    100% Direct X 9.0 compatible – Direct X 9.0 compatible supporting Dolby Digital Live

    HDD Space:
    35 GB

    wow, didn't know the engine is so heavy



    ^For full res, right click and open in new tab or win.
    http://www.rockstargames.com/newswir...stem-spec.html
    http://www.rockstargames.com/maxpayne3/screens - for all screens
    Last edited by n!Cola; 04-23-2012 at 12:21 PM.
    Phenom II x2 555@ x4 B55 3.7GHz | ASRock 880G Ex.3 | 560Ti FrozrII 1GB| Corsair Vengeance 1600 2x4GB | Win7 64 | M4 128GB


  2. #2
    -100C Club Member Dualist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Somewhere off topic
    Posts
    516
    Quote Originally Posted by n!Cola View Post
    HDD Space:
    35 GB
    WTF..!!
    Quote Originally Posted by jimmyz View Post
    sorry to hear about the dead cards, but.. If stuff ain't dieing, you aren't trying.

    נְפִילִים

  3. #3
    Xtreme Enthusiast DTU_XaVier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    927
    HDD Space: They hopefully left out a comma... Otherwise - Holy texture size batman!

    Best Regards
    Silverstone RAVEN RV02|
    Core i5 2500K@4.4GHz, 1,300V|
    Corsair A70|ASUS P67 Sabertooth|Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty|
    Corsair Dominator DDR1600 4x4096MB@DDR3-1600@1.65V|Sapphire HD7970 3GB 1075/1475MHz|
    Corsair Force F120 120GB SSD SATA-II, WD Caviar Black 2x1TB SATA-II 32mb, Hitatchi 320GB SATA-II 16mb|Silverstone DA750 750w PSU|

  4. #4
    Xtreme Enthusiast Evantaur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    959
    oh my god, could it be?

    I like large posteriors and I cannot prevaricate

  5. #5
    Xtreme Enthusiast DTU_XaVier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    927
    We can only hope
    Silverstone RAVEN RV02|
    Core i5 2500K@4.4GHz, 1,300V|
    Corsair A70|ASUS P67 Sabertooth|Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty|
    Corsair Dominator DDR1600 4x4096MB@DDR3-1600@1.65V|Sapphire HD7970 3GB 1075/1475MHz|
    Corsair Force F120 120GB SSD SATA-II, WD Caviar Black 2x1TB SATA-II 32mb, Hitatchi 320GB SATA-II 16mb|Silverstone DA750 750w PSU|

  6. #6
    Xtreme Cruncher v0dka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,805
    Oh man I'm so happy with another Max Payne title, there's no game that ever came near the story telling of the MP series.

    But I must say I'm kind of doubting the old fat guy with beard look they put on Max this time. I want new york, snow, dark film noir scenes. Not some tropical fat guy with hawai shirt in 35C.
    P180 Mini - Rampage III Gene - W3570 @ 4.0Ghz - TRUE120 - 6GB @ 1420Mhz 7-7-7-15 - MSi GTX670 OC - Samsung 830 256GB & Samsung F1 1TB - BenQ VW2420H

  7. #7
    Xtreme Enthusiast Frag Maniac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    964
    WHAT, did Id secretly help them on this one? I thought 20+ GB on RAGE was bad enough.

  8. #8
    Xtreme Addict Andrea deluxe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Italia
    Posts
    1,018
    16gb of ram.....

    strange....

  9. #9
    Xtreme Enthusiast DTU_XaVier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    927
    I think the specs are written as [what the game requires] - [What the game supports], not as [required] - [recommended]. Because no game would be made to recommend 16GB of RAM or a GTX 680/HD7970.

    Best Regards
    Silverstone RAVEN RV02|
    Core i5 2500K@4.4GHz, 1,300V|
    Corsair A70|ASUS P67 Sabertooth|Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty|
    Corsair Dominator DDR1600 4x4096MB@DDR3-1600@1.65V|Sapphire HD7970 3GB 1075/1475MHz|
    Corsair Force F120 120GB SSD SATA-II, WD Caviar Black 2x1TB SATA-II 32mb, Hitatchi 320GB SATA-II 16mb|Silverstone DA750 750w PSU|

  10. #10
    I am Xtreme Ket's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,585
    From those few screens, the engine looks pretty basic so I'll be very upset if it truely needs specs like that to run. I'm fine with how Max looks, its been quite the number of years since his ordeal started after all.. I remember playing the first Max Payne on a Hercules 3D Prophet 4500 64MB with a Kyro 2 GPU

    "Prowler"
    Asrock Z77 Extreme6 | i5 2500k @ 4.6GHz 1.4v | 2x4GB PC12800 Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-15 1T 1.55v | Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X w\ Gelid Icy Vision A | Xonar DX 7.1 | 640GB WD Black | 2x Sony Optiarc | Corsair 850w HX

    Cooling:

    3x Coolermaster Sickleflow 120mm 70CFM fans | Modified CoolIT ECO sealed loop CPU cooler | Custom made "The Judge" VGA VRM heatsink

    Asrock Z77 thread! | Asrock Z77 Extreme6 Review | Asrock P67 Extreme4 Review | Asrock P67 Extreme4/6 Pro3 thread | Asrock Z68 Extreme4 thread | Asrock Z68 Extreme4 Review | Asrock Z68 Gen3 Thread | 8GB G-Skill review | TK 2.ZERO homepage | P5Q series mBIOS thread

    (\_/) This is Bunny.
    (+.+) Bunny is dead.
    (^ ^) Copy and paste Bunny into your sig to create an army of BUNNY ZOMBIE MINIONS!!!

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member Philip_J_Fry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Planet Express HQ, US
    Posts
    385
    i am guessing its a console port with better textures, or the textures that should have been in the console versions if consoles had more memory. they will probably slap in some minor GFX effect like tessellation that will not be noticeable when playing. the fact that its coming out 2 weeks after console versions tells me that they dont give a $hiit about PC version. well, besides porting the game from 360 to make extra bucks, hence the price tag $59.99. the lower the expectation > the less disappointment.
    "Thanks for the f-shack. Love, Dirty Mike & The Boys" - from Dirty Mike & The Boys

  12. #12
    I am Xtreme Ket's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,585
    I would assume similar as well. Sadly even the latest "true" PC games still don't look anywhere near as good as the should. You could argue Crysis or Crysis Warhead are still graphically the finest looking PC games and how old are they now?

    "Prowler"
    Asrock Z77 Extreme6 | i5 2500k @ 4.6GHz 1.4v | 2x4GB PC12800 Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-15 1T 1.55v | Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X w\ Gelid Icy Vision A | Xonar DX 7.1 | 640GB WD Black | 2x Sony Optiarc | Corsair 850w HX

    Cooling:

    3x Coolermaster Sickleflow 120mm 70CFM fans | Modified CoolIT ECO sealed loop CPU cooler | Custom made "The Judge" VGA VRM heatsink

    Asrock Z77 thread! | Asrock Z77 Extreme6 Review | Asrock P67 Extreme4 Review | Asrock P67 Extreme4/6 Pro3 thread | Asrock Z68 Extreme4 thread | Asrock Z68 Extreme4 Review | Asrock Z68 Gen3 Thread | 8GB G-Skill review | TK 2.ZERO homepage | P5Q series mBIOS thread

    (\_/) This is Bunny.
    (+.+) Bunny is dead.
    (^ ^) Copy and paste Bunny into your sig to create an army of BUNNY ZOMBIE MINIONS!!!

  13. #13
    I am Xtreme Manicdan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    7,745
    if this uses the engine that did grand theft auto 4, then i hope it runs better on PC than that game did.
    2500k @ 4900mhz - Asus Maxiums IV Gene Z - Swiftech Apogee LP
    GTX 680 @ +170 (1267mhz) / +300 (3305mhz) - EK 680 FC EN/Acteal
    Swiftech MCR320 Drive @ 1300rpms - 3x GT 1850s @ 1150rpms
    XS Build Log for: My Latest Custom Case

  14. #14
    Xtreme Enthusiast Frag Maniac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    964
    I was just looking at early videos of Sniper Ghost Warrior 2 yesterday. Apparently it's using CryENGINE3. Since most of the videos seem to be of the console versions of the game though, it's really hard to tell what the PC version will look like. The console versions have too much color saturation and bloom, and blurrier textures.

    Only one of the videos looked anything near what Crysis 2 PC did. The gaming consumer base seems to be getting more passive to accepting the slow degradation of image quality. It's pretty sad that with all this advanced hardware we buy, you can stick in a 5 year old game and it looks way better than what they're making now.

    What's extra insulting though is now we have worse looking games with much larger file sizes.
    Last edited by Frag Maniac; 04-28-2012 at 01:19 PM.

  15. #15
    Xtreme Addict El Mano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1,052
    Quote Originally Posted by Andrea deluxe View Post
    16gb of ram.....

    strange....
    The word is hype.
    I bet it's only going to be another generic console arcade shooter.

  16. #16
    Xtreme Addict SexyMF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,076
    Have any of you watched the tech video's for this? I am very interested in the effort they put towards the physics and movement of NPCs. This has had no love in any game of late.

    It doesn't matter how good it looks if you can't do anything interesting, or if the NPCs AI and movement is poor. That is, the attraction of online play is because you verse humans. Graphics, basic physics and sound have got better over the years, but AI has stagnated.

    Saying Max Payne will be another generic console arcade shooter is insulting. The bullet time mechanic was awesome. The generated kill-cams were awesome. Story wasn't bad either.

    Try not to be so jaded.

  17. #17
    I am Xtreme Ket's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,585
    I liked the story in Max 1&2, it kept my interest more than the gameplay. AI in games hasn't really stagnanted its just AI is a extremely difficult thing to program and in games we are pretty much stuck with AI thats as intelligent as a rat right now.

    "Prowler"
    Asrock Z77 Extreme6 | i5 2500k @ 4.6GHz 1.4v | 2x4GB PC12800 Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-15 1T 1.55v | Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X w\ Gelid Icy Vision A | Xonar DX 7.1 | 640GB WD Black | 2x Sony Optiarc | Corsair 850w HX

    Cooling:

    3x Coolermaster Sickleflow 120mm 70CFM fans | Modified CoolIT ECO sealed loop CPU cooler | Custom made "The Judge" VGA VRM heatsink

    Asrock Z77 thread! | Asrock Z77 Extreme6 Review | Asrock P67 Extreme4 Review | Asrock P67 Extreme4/6 Pro3 thread | Asrock Z68 Extreme4 thread | Asrock Z68 Extreme4 Review | Asrock Z68 Gen3 Thread | 8GB G-Skill review | TK 2.ZERO homepage | P5Q series mBIOS thread

    (\_/) This is Bunny.
    (+.+) Bunny is dead.
    (^ ^) Copy and paste Bunny into your sig to create an army of BUNNY ZOMBIE MINIONS!!!

  18. #18
    Xtreme Enthusiast Frag Maniac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    964
    Speaking of rats, there was an easter egg in MP1 where if you used a grenade in the right spot, you'd see rats toting guns!

  19. #19
    Registered User audioave10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    86
    That's funny...I never knew about that.
    I'm more worried about constant QTE's and video interuptions taking you out of the gameplay...thus the 35GB.
    Phenom II 945 (95w)@3.5Ghz
    Geil BlackDragon 1066 2x2GB
    Gigabyte 790X UD4P
    WD 640GB Black
    Gigabyte GTX 470
    Corsair HX620-Hiper Anubis case
    Windows 7 Home 64bit
    Samsung 27" monitor

  20. #20
    Banned k0nsl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    A house near the creek
    Posts
    873
    Quote Originally Posted by Ket View Post
    I remember playing the first Max Payne on a Hercules 3D Prophet 4500 64MB with a Kyro 2 GPU
    Me too! I still have my card laying around the house someplace. It had a blue PCB, if I am not incorrect, yes? Damn those were good times!

    -k0nsl

  21. #21
    Xtreme Member THX1138's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Reno NV
    Posts
    170
    "wow, didn't know the engine is so heavy "
    more like bloated

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •