MMM
    X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Page 13 of 13 FirstFirst ... 310111213
Results 301 to 323 of 323

Thread: Asrock Z77 Extreme4 & Extreme6. Report issues, overclocks, and related stuff here!

  1. #301
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    175
    nobody huh?

  2. #302
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    175
    awesome..this place rocks

  3. #303
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    953
    What exactly is happening and a hardware list would be helpful for this build, I have a Xtreme4 on water that runs rather well at all different speeds.

  4. #304
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    175
    I just need some known good bios settings as a guide, I haven't installed this board yet,although my p67 extreme 4 is running single channel only on my memory because I changed my cpu cooler to a thermalright silver arrow sb-e and some pins got bent it still plays bf4 at 50+ fps with my gtx 780. that being said im dreading all the crap of installing the board..dealing with a bios update..hopefully my hard drive will just plug and play and I wont have to reformat and loose all my programs and stuff. thanks for the reply

  5. #305
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    953
    OK my extreme4 currently has a Sandy 2700K on water running at just under 5500. For perhaps 5G I would start by setting CPU to fixed v at around 1.4+, set load line to level 1, IGPU voltage and load line leave in auto, Dram to whatever you run around 1.7v, VTT 1.41v,PCH 1.059v,CPU PLL 1.80v,VCCSA 0.925v. See what this will do for starters, these numbers could be higher or lower depending on a ton of variables but should get you up for initial testing. This board runs sweet with Sandy and can push them to the limits. It has a pretty solid bios that so far is holding up, version P2.90, again without knowing your exact hardware this is just a rough profile.

  6. #306
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    175
    awesome..thanks so much

  7. #307
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    175
    board installed, didn't update bios because I think it has 2.90 already. there is a sticker on the board that says asrock extreme 4 2.90 on it somewhere near the bottom. anyways booted right to windows going from p67 extreme 4 to this board...only had to find a few drivers..also in device manager it has a yellow exclamation sign next to sm bus controller and usb controller, so I need to find the drivers for those. I disabled internal pll and a few other settings and just set my cpu to fixed 1.375 and put it to 4.6..oh and load line level to 3. running good so far..thanks

  8. #308
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    953
    Grab there drivers right from there site which is good, glad everything is working out good.

  9. #309
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    175
    so I fixed the sm bus issue..all devices are working...tried to set the cpu(i2500k) to 4.8 but it keeps crashing in bf4...screen freezes

  10. #310
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    953
    What is the cooling? and if it's good increase CPU PLL to 1.840 and up the CPU vcore two.

  11. #311
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    175
    I have a thermalright silver arrow sb-e...awesome cooler. thanks ill give that a try..thanks

  12. #312
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Where You don't get nothin' for $
    Posts
    1,001
    Using the Xtreme4, really nice board. If You don't plan to deal with LN2 it's a good choice for low bucks.

    Never had a problem with stability:



    So now I will wait for BROADWELL - another delay now really sucks - and buy a Z97 Xtreme4.

    If nothing works nomore......:


  13. #313
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Where You don't get nothin' for $
    Posts
    1,001
    Might be interesting for all non "k" users - can boot up to 107.5 BCKL:



    This is not bad for a maintream series board.............
    If nothing works nomore......:


  14. #314
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Where You don't get nothin' for $
    Posts
    1,001
    OK - now some critical words from my side. Just noticed the discussion in this thread started by DjLeco about poor mem performance.

    And yes - I can confirm.

    Tried three 3570k CPUs and two different RAM kits (G-SKILL GTXD 2400CL9 & Kingston HyperX Predator 2666CL11).

    Now way to boot more than 1300MHz. Tried all possible settings and also tried to raise VTT & VCCSA. No way..........

    So it is indeed something with the board, it's not caused by mem controller or RAM.

    Maybe the BIOS is faulty and - by the time - way too old. About 1 year no BIOS update - still 2.90 the latest.

    I don't want to blame the board at all - it offers a nice performance but the limitation in mem frequency is annoying.

    If nothing works nomore......:


  15. #315
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Where You don't get nothin' for $
    Posts
    1,001
    BTW - anyone out there can boot up this board in DDR3-2666 config ??? Anyone ??? Settings ???
    If nothing works nomore......:


  16. #316
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    IND
    Posts
    1,056
    Quote Originally Posted by camouflage View Post
    BTW - anyone out there can boot up this board in DDR3-2666 config ??? Anyone ??? Settings ???
    this mobo can't touch 2666, max 2600

  17. #317
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Where You don't get nothin' for $
    Posts
    1,001
    That's what I suspected. I feel a little p...ed of it - this board is a great stable clocker but in nowadays times when we have the mem controller build into the CPU it's a shame that the board is limitting the frequency.

    So maybe I have to change the board to test my TridentX 2400CL9 up to the max.
    If nothing works nomore......:


  18. #318
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Where You don't get nothin' for $
    Posts
    1,001
    Quote Originally Posted by Gaul View Post
    this mobo can't touch 2666, max 2600
    Hm, I just wonder why the promoted mem speed on AsRock Homepage sounds to me like a LIE:



    Last edited by camouflage; 07-15-2014 at 06:34 AM. Reason: typo
    If nothing works nomore......:


  19. #319
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    IND
    Posts
    1,056
    @^ = ha ha ha............

  20. #320
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    175
    so I bought a 2nd gtx 780sc to match the one I have. I put it in the second slot,hooked power to it,put the sli bridge on and it gets to the asrock splash screen,then loops back..wont boot to windows. I swapped cards,both boot by themselves in the 1st and 2nd slot to windows. I have a 1200 watt Silverstone strider
    http://www.silverstonetek.com/product.php?pid=179&area=
    I have an asrock z77 extreme 4... bios 2.9( the latest and it was sent this way..cant go back)
    16 gb of gskill 1600 ram
    2500k cpu at 4.6
    win 7 64 bit ultimate
    2x gtx 780 sc 03g-p4-2784-kr
    funny thing is this...even if I put a card in the second slot without the sli bridge or the power cords to it from the psu..it still wont boot.
    I can get into bios..i have reset it when im in the bios to default and I also reset it from the cmos switch in the back by the I/O panel portion of the board
    thanks for any ideas in advance
    Last edited by pythonse; 09-03-2014 at 08:22 PM.

  21. #321
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    175
    nothing huh? not one single reply or idea?

  22. #322
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    175
    is there something in the bios i need to set before installing an sli config to get it to boot?

  23. #323
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    175
    I figured it out..this forum is awesome,thanks for the replies and help...that and the awesome admins like stevil, great place u got here

Page 13 of 13 FirstFirst ... 310111213

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •