Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Does it work to buy an HD with OSX on in?

  1. #1
    Xtreme Enthusiast Natalia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    700

    Does it work to buy an HD with OSX on in?

    I want to do some iPhone development, but I don't have a Mac.

    Can I just buy a HD off of eBay that already has OSX Lion on it, stick it in my PC, and choose to boot from that HD from the BIOS?
    Windows 7 - x64
    Intel i7 3930k Sandy Bridge-E @ 3.80GHz
    Thermaltake WATER2.0 Pro
    ASRock Extreme6/GB
    16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws 2133
    3x EVGA GeForce 670 GTX FTW : Tri-SLi
    2x Kingston HyperX 3K SSD : RAID 0
    3x 30" Dell @ 2560x1600
    ASUS Xonar DG
    Beyerdynamic MMX 300
    Denon D2000

  2. #2
    Xtreme n00berclocker Planet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    1,457
    Most likely it will not work like you want it to. Check out these guides on Hackintosh.

    http://www.hackintosh.com/
    Quote Originally Posted by 3oh6
    damn you guys...am i in a three way and didn't know it again
    Quote Originally Posted by Brian y.
    Im exclusively benching ECS from this point forward

  3. #3
    Xtreme Enthusiast Natalia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    700
    Quote Originally Posted by Planet View Post
    Most likely it will not work like you want it to. Check out these guides on Hackintosh.

    http://www.hackintosh.com/
    Wow, that's quite a bit of steps. But it looks like I can do that all on an external HD and then just plug that into my PC whenever I need to boot into OSX?
    Windows 7 - x64
    Intel i7 3930k Sandy Bridge-E @ 3.80GHz
    Thermaltake WATER2.0 Pro
    ASRock Extreme6/GB
    16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws 2133
    3x EVGA GeForce 670 GTX FTW : Tri-SLi
    2x Kingston HyperX 3K SSD : RAID 0
    3x 30" Dell @ 2560x1600
    ASUS Xonar DG
    Beyerdynamic MMX 300
    Denon D2000

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    62
    Yes once it is setup you can just plug the hard drive in, and boot OSX. But the setup does take many steps, is hit and miss based on your hardware chipsets/revisions etc. And there is no way you could just buy it pre-configured, for your machine.

    For example Radeon 4850's are supposed to be supported fairly easily with OSX, but mine was an ASUS card and this somehow made the process of getting fully accelerated graphics impossible.
    Last edited by dairyFarmer; 04-14-2012 at 01:25 PM.

  5. #5
    Xtreme Enthusiast Natalia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    700
    Quote Originally Posted by dairyFarmer View Post
    Yes once it is setup you can just plug the hard drive in, and boot OSX. But the setup does take many steps, is hit and miss based on your hardware chipsets/revisions etc. And there is no way you could just buy it pre-configured, for your machine.

    For example Radeon 4850's are supposed to be supported fairly easily with OSX, but mine was an ASUS card and this somehow made the process of getting fully accelerated graphics impossible.
    Is there anyway to run a check to see if your hardware will work?
    I know MSFT was nice enough to make something like that...........
    Windows 7 - x64
    Intel i7 3930k Sandy Bridge-E @ 3.80GHz
    Thermaltake WATER2.0 Pro
    ASRock Extreme6/GB
    16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws 2133
    3x EVGA GeForce 670 GTX FTW : Tri-SLi
    2x Kingston HyperX 3K SSD : RAID 0
    3x 30" Dell @ 2560x1600
    ASUS Xonar DG
    Beyerdynamic MMX 300
    Denon D2000

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    62
    Apple control the hardware and the software so don't care much....but the community has compiled Hardware Compatability Lists (HCL) for recent versions of OSX on the site http://wiki.osx86project.org (right side of homepage)

  7. #7
    Xtreme Owner FUGGER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    11,921
    I have had good luck with firing up intel/mac loaded HD with iBoot or rBoot, worth trying if you have the drive already.

    Hackintosh is the other method, it is not too complicated if you know how to burn cd's
    ASUS Maximus VII Extreme
    2X ASUS GTX Titan
    Intel 4790K Overclocked
    Swiftech WC
    16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2666C10
    4X Corsair Neutron SSD
    Corsair 1200i
    NZXT Phantom 800


    Intel 5960X USA
    Asus Rampage V Extreme
    Asus GTX 780
    16GB Corsair Vengeance 2666C15
    1TB Intel SSD RAID 0
    Corsair AX1200
    Dimas Benchtable

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •