Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 71

Thread: *** ASUS Sabertooth Z77 official thread - info, BIOS, preview, review etc.***

  1. #26
    Xtreme Member jackbrennan2008's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Trondheim, Norway
    Posts
    147
    I didn't have any fans blowing on my Ga-P67A-UD7 and it was fine. The chipsets don't really get all the hot. So watercooling is fine.
    CPU: i7-2600K||Sabertooth Z77|DDR3 16GB CL9 1866Mhz|GTX 580|SSD: Corsair Force 180GB|Blog: Jack-Brennan.com|Twitter: JBTechSec

  2. #27
    Xtreme Member herderien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    425
    thx !

    ps : it's stupid they don't do reviews yet...you can find those Z77 boards pretty much everywhere now...
    Core i7 2700k@4,8ghz HT off- 1.41v / Gainward GTX580 GooD 850/1700/2200 / 2X4Gb G.Skill Ares 1833C9 / Z77 Sabertooth / Crucial M4 64 Gb / WD 320Gb and 640GB / Corsair H80 / Corsair 620 HX

  3. #28
    Xtreme Member herderien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    425
    i ordered mine today paired with a 2700k

    a nice review :

    http://www.kitguru.net/components/mo...ith-oc-gtx680/
    Core i7 2700k@4,8ghz HT off- 1.41v / Gainward GTX580 GooD 850/1700/2200 / 2X4Gb G.Skill Ares 1833C9 / Z77 Sabertooth / Crucial M4 64 Gb / WD 320Gb and 640GB / Corsair H80 / Corsair 620 HX

  4. #29
    Xtreme Member herderien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    425
    ok so i did load bios 906...and no mater what i do, i cannot have any effect when i change cpu multiplier, i tried bios 801 too just in case.
    i'm new to sandy OC, and frankly i'm a little lost in the bios...but even ai suite overclock doesn't seem to have any effect.









    Last edited by herderien; 04-14-2012 at 04:52 AM.
    Core i7 2700k@4,8ghz HT off- 1.41v / Gainward GTX580 GooD 850/1700/2200 / 2X4Gb G.Skill Ares 1833C9 / Z77 Sabertooth / Crucial M4 64 Gb / WD 320Gb and 640GB / Corsair H80 / Corsair 620 HX

  5. #30
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,411
    now Im testing this mobo, but I have not the ideal CPU for it. Its IB, but not unlocked
    AMD FX-8350@5 GHz 1.52V + H100 Corsair, Crosshair V Formula-Z, 2x 4GB GSKill TridentX 2400 MHz+ 10-12-12-25, EAH HD6870 DirectCU, Corsair TX850W
    CPUs:next 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, 2x Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930K, i7-5960x coming this yearAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread

  6. #31
    Team AF @rne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    CeBIT-City
    Posts
    445
    Reviewing this mobo now for AwardFabrik. But i have a new cpu so no review will be published before NDA ends

  7. #32
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    51

  8. #33
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by lysyn123 View Post
    That is not a Sabertooth BIOS.

  9. #34
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    51
    You checked?

  10. #35
    Xtreme Member herderien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    425
    raj gave the 1050 bios on the asus Z77 official thread (download the package with all the bioses inside)
    Core i7 2700k@4,8ghz HT off- 1.41v / Gainward GTX580 GooD 850/1700/2200 / 2X4Gb G.Skill Ares 1833C9 / Z77 Sabertooth / Crucial M4 64 Gb / WD 320Gb and 640GB / Corsair H80 / Corsair 620 HX

  11. #36
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by lysyn123 View Post
    You checked?
    Ofc, returned an error.

  12. #37
    Xtreme Member herderien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    425
    anyone noticed 20°C temp (load) and 3/5 (idle) difference between thermal radar and realtemp for cpu ?
    Core i7 2700k@4,8ghz HT off- 1.41v / Gainward GTX580 GooD 850/1700/2200 / 2X4Gb G.Skill Ares 1833C9 / Z77 Sabertooth / Crucial M4 64 Gb / WD 320Gb and 640GB / Corsair H80 / Corsair 620 HX

  13. #38
    I am Xtreme Leeghoofd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,379
    Core temps versus CPU sensor temps of the board ?
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  14. #39
    Xtreme Mentor TEDY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    SLOVENIJA
    Posts
    2,602
    Does this really have 5 yr warranty?
    ASUS P5K-E // E8400 Q746A519
    G.Skill F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ
    LC 550W GP// XPERTVISION 9600GT

  15. #40
    Xtreme Member herderien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    425
    Quote Originally Posted by Leeghoofd View Post
    Core temps versus CPU sensor temps of the board ?
    i'm not sure, witch is why i ask ^^
    Core i7 2700k@4,8ghz HT off- 1.41v / Gainward GTX580 GooD 850/1700/2200 / 2X4Gb G.Skill Ares 1833C9 / Z77 Sabertooth / Crucial M4 64 Gb / WD 320Gb and 640GB / Corsair H80 / Corsair 620 HX

  16. #41
    I am Xtreme Leeghoofd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,379
    Quote Originally Posted by TEDY View Post
    Does this really have 5 yr warranty?
    Nope in fact it's only 1 year, the other 4 are done by Raja who comes personally to your house and fixes or swaps the motherboard. This service however is not free : in return of free food and drinks you can get along way...

    Why do you think they print 5 years of warranty on the box ?

    I have the Sabretooth here Herderien, I'll fire her up tomorrow... (which bios do you use ?)
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  17. #42
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by herderien View Post
    anyone noticed 20°C temp (load) and 3/5 (idle) difference between thermal radar and realtemp for cpu ?
    Idle not so much difference for me , but the load temps are definitely about 20 degrees lower in Thermal Radar.

  18. #43
    Xtreme Member herderien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    425
    Quote Originally Posted by Leeghoofd View Post

    I have the Sabretooth here Herderien, I'll fire her up tomorrow... (which bios do you use ?)
    i use 906 right now, i had issues, i'll try 1050 asap

    Quote Originally Posted by siggie View Post
    Idle not so much difference for me , but the load temps are definitely about 20 degrees lower in Thermal Radar.
    yeah idle is like 3/5 degrees tops depending on which core

    it's anoying because the vents profiles are based on the sensor temps, if there's 20 degrees diff between real and sensor there is not enough power throu the vents to cool the cpu because the board think its ok.
    you have to manualy adjust the thresholds/ wich i did
    Last edited by herderien; 04-22-2012 at 08:57 AM.
    Core i7 2700k@4,8ghz HT off- 1.41v / Gainward GTX580 GooD 850/1700/2200 / 2X4Gb G.Skill Ares 1833C9 / Z77 Sabertooth / Crucial M4 64 Gb / WD 320Gb and 640GB / Corsair H80 / Corsair 620 HX

  19. #44
    Xtreme Enthusiast Tarowah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Greensboro NC
    Posts
    518
    I have my 2600k running at 4.6Ghz on air with this board, I just upgraded from the system in my sig, after seeing the Ivy Bridge benchmarks I didnt think it would be worth waiting so here I am.

    I know next to nothing about how the settings work but I figured out enough to get things prime stable at 4.6Ghz with a max vcore of 1.34v, over all the speed of this board is impressive to say the least.

    i7 2600k@4.6Ghz 1.34v
    Coolermaster 212 Evo cooler
    Asus Z77 Sabertooth
    2 x GTX 470 EVGA SLI
    G.Skill 2x4 PC2133 DDR2
    Cooler Master 850W
    Rocketfish Full Tower
    Crucial M4 64 Gig
    WD 640 AAKS
    320 gig 7200.10


    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/19737951@N07/

  20. #45
    Team AF @rne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    CeBIT-City
    Posts
    445
    With 0906, memory oc above 2400+ gives me a hard time when pushing psc and bbse. also one thing i don't like is, that they have neither a post code display nor common pci port for debug led card :-/

  21. #46
    Xtreme Member jackbrennan2008's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Trondheim, Norway
    Posts
    147
    For those of you overclocking using the main multiplier and offset voltage you will need to disable "Asus Multicore Enhancement" if you want to take advantage of Intel speedstep. If you leave "Asus Multicore Enhancement" enabled your CPU will not clock down during idle periods.

    It's years since i've had an ASUS board so it might be common knowledge, but it was just something i came across after overclocking my 2600k.
    CPU: i7-2600K||Sabertooth Z77|DDR3 16GB CL9 1866Mhz|GTX 580|SSD: Corsair Force 180GB|Blog: Jack-Brennan.com|Twitter: JBTechSec

  22. #47
    Xtreme Guru itznfb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    steelcity.pa.usa
    Posts
    3,547
    Quote Originally Posted by jackbrennan2008 View Post
    For those of you overclocking using the main multiplier and offset voltage you will need to disable "Asus Multicore Enhancement" if you want to take advantage of Intel speedstep. If you leave "Asus Multicore Enhancement" enabled your CPU will not clock down during idle periods.

    It's years since i've had an ASUS board so it might be common knowledge, but it was just something i came across after overclocking my 2600k.
    Thank you for this... I couldn't remember what to disable to re-enable speed step after overclocking.

    I have a 2500k running in this board @ 4.7ghz on Corsair H100. 52c max temp.
    STARSCREAM
    3570k @ 4.6 GHz | Asus P8Z77-V LK | G.Skill F3-12800CL8D-8GBXM | ASUS GeForce GTX550 Ti
    Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB | Corsair Force GT 120GB | SK hynix 128GB | Samsung 830 64GB
    WD Black 640GB (3) | Seagate 7200rpm 1TB | Dell Perc H310 xflashed to LSI 9211-8i
    Corsair AX750 | CoolerMaster Hyper 212 | Antec P280 | Dell Ultrasharp U2410 | BenQ XL2420T
    ROCCAT Savu | Filco Majestouch-2 TKL w/Cherry MX Reds
    MEGATRON
    3770k @ 4.5GHz | Asus Sabertooth Z77 | G.Skill F3-12800CL8D-8GBXM
    SK hynix 128GB | Mushkin Enhanced Chronos 60GB | WD Red 3TB (4) | Seagate 7200rpm 3TB (2)
    WD Green 2TB (3) | Seagate 7200rpm 1TB | Dell Perc H310 xflashed to LSI 9211-8i (2)
    Corsair AX650 | Corsair H80i

  23. #48
    Xtreme Member herderien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    425
    Quote Originally Posted by itznfb View Post
    Thank you for this... I couldn't remember what to disable to re-enable speed step after overclocking.

    I have a 2500k running in this board @ 4.7ghz on Corsair H100. 52c max temp.
    did you keep the original fans or did you change them ?
    Core i7 2700k@4,8ghz HT off- 1.41v / Gainward GTX580 GooD 850/1700/2200 / 2X4Gb G.Skill Ares 1833C9 / Z77 Sabertooth / Crucial M4 64 Gb / WD 320Gb and 640GB / Corsair H80 / Corsair 620 HX

  24. #49
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,411
    AMD FX-8350@5 GHz 1.52V + H100 Corsair, Crosshair V Formula-Z, 2x 4GB GSKill TridentX 2400 MHz+ 10-12-12-25, EAH HD6870 DirectCU, Corsair TX850W
    CPUs:next 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, 2x Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930K, i7-5960x coming this yearAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread

  25. #50
    Xtreme Guru itznfb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    steelcity.pa.usa
    Posts
    3,547
    Quote Originally Posted by herderien View Post
    did you keep the original fans or did you change them ?
    Original fans on the H100. They are loud but seem to push a lot of air.
    STARSCREAM
    3570k @ 4.6 GHz | Asus P8Z77-V LK | G.Skill F3-12800CL8D-8GBXM | ASUS GeForce GTX550 Ti
    Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB | Corsair Force GT 120GB | SK hynix 128GB | Samsung 830 64GB
    WD Black 640GB (3) | Seagate 7200rpm 1TB | Dell Perc H310 xflashed to LSI 9211-8i
    Corsair AX750 | CoolerMaster Hyper 212 | Antec P280 | Dell Ultrasharp U2410 | BenQ XL2420T
    ROCCAT Savu | Filco Majestouch-2 TKL w/Cherry MX Reds
    MEGATRON
    3770k @ 4.5GHz | Asus Sabertooth Z77 | G.Skill F3-12800CL8D-8GBXM
    SK hynix 128GB | Mushkin Enhanced Chronos 60GB | WD Red 3TB (4) | Seagate 7200rpm 3TB (2)
    WD Green 2TB (3) | Seagate 7200rpm 1TB | Dell Perc H310 xflashed to LSI 9211-8i (2)
    Corsair AX650 | Corsair H80i

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •