Page 1 of 6 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 137

Thread: Zotac gone off the deep end, planning a 2 ghz GTX 680?

  1. #1
    Stop...Ban-Hammer Time! DilTech's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    3,760

    Zotac gone off the deep end, planning a 2 ghz GTX 680?

    http://www.legitreviews.com/news/12697/

    If they pull that off, it'd definitely be the fastest card on the market for awhile... I personally don't see it as possible, but if they do it, I'm bringing them milk and cookies and apologizing to my parents for telling them that santa wasn't real.
    Quote Originally Posted by Leon2ky
    "dammit kyle what's with the 30 second sex lately?" "Sorry sweetie, I overclocked my nuts and they haven't been stable since"
    Quote Originally Posted by trinibwoy View Post
    I don't think his backside has internet access.
    Quote Originally Posted by n00b 0f l337 View Post
    Hey I just met you
    And this is crazy
    But I'm on bath salts
    And your face looks tasty

  2. #2
    I am Xtreme Hornet331's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    5,466
    so it goes for 2k$ and comes with cascade...

  3. #3
    I am Xtreme zalbard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    8,752
    Quote Originally Posted by Hornet331 View Post
    so it goes for 2k$ and comes with cascade...
    They probably built a cloning machine and got a hold of Vince's DNA... Shipping may be expensive! But totally worth it!
    Donate to XS forums
    Quote Originally Posted by jayhall0315 View Post
    If you are really extreme, you never let informed facts or the scientific method hold you back from your journey to the wrong answer.

  4. #4
    Xtreme Cruncher informal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    6,173
    Let me guess,they will sell it together with custom Zotac 2KW power supply unit ?

  5. #5
    I am Xtreme Manicdan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    7,747
    probably meant 1.2ghz
    thats the only thing i can think of
    2500k @ 4900mhz - Asus Maxiums IV Gene Z - Swiftech Apogee LP
    GTX 680 @ +170 (1267mhz) / +300 (3305mhz) - EK 680 FC EN/Acteal
    Swiftech MCR320 Drive @ 1300rpms - 3x GT 1850s @ 1150rpms
    XS Build Log for: My Latest Custom Case

  6. #6
    I am Xtreme andressergio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Montevideo - Uruguay
    Posts
    5,407
    card pump and a river as res lol


    24/7 4770K 48HT + ASUS M6E + TeamX 2x8GB 2666CL11 + 2x SSD 256GB RAID0 + SSD 256GB mSATA + Seagate 3TB HDD + 3x SLI GALAXY GTX780 HOF + SEASONIC P-1000 all WC
    Test Rig1 3770K 50HT + ASUS M5E + GSkill 2x4GB 2800CL11 + OCZ Vertex 4 128GB SSD + GALAXY 750Ti GC 2GB + SEASONIC X-1250W + TT Water Extreme 2.0
    Test Rig2 4770K 48HT + ASRock Z87 OC Formula + GeIL 2x4GB 3000CL12 + GeiL Zenith 240GB SSD + GALAXY HOF 1200W + Cooler Master Nepton 280L
    Test Rig3 4790K XXHT + ASRock Z97M OC Formula + GeIL 2x8GB 2666CL11 + GeiL Zenith 240GB SSD + SEASONIC P-1200 + Cooler Master Nepton 280L

  7. #7
    Xtreme Addict Lanek's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    1,935
    Do they plan to invert the GPU boost effect ? set it to 2000mhz > running @ 1200mhz?

    Joke aside, im with Manicdan on this. should be a typo.
    CPU: - I7 4930K (EK Supremacy )
    GPU: - 2x AMD HD7970 flashed GHZ bios ( EK Acetal Nickel Waterblock H2o)
    Motherboard: Asus x79 Deluxe
    RAM: G-skill Ares C9 2133mhz 16GB
    Main Storage: Samsung 840EVO 500GB / 2x Crucial RealSSD C300 Raid0

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member Dark-Energy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    224
    With an environmental fee of $100 for contributing to global warming.
    Antec 900
    Corsair TX750
    Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
    Q9550 E0 500x8 4.0 GHZ 1.360v
    ECO A.L.C Cooler with Gentle Typhoon PushPull
    Kingston HyperX T1 5-5-5-18 1:1
    XFX Radeon 6950 @ 880/1300 (Shader unlocked)
    WD Caviar Black 2 x 640GB - Short Stroked 120GB RAID0 128KB Stripe - 540GB RAID1

  9. #9
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,140
    take note that NV changed their naming scheme replacing physical shader count and the scalier unit multiplying the clock speed by 2x to multiplying the shaders by 2 (like amd dose but i think amd is 4x now), so since it zotac had leaked that the card had 768 shaders (half the specs) im betting that they would have a 1ghz card so its not really anythig.

    if they want to double the stock clock range of the card that is insane since its already a ~250W card with a 200W gpu.
    3770k, M5E, kingston 2x4GB cfr
    samsung 2TB F4EG, samsung 840 250GB , CM690II, corsair 750tx

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member The Jesus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Winter Springs, FL
    Posts
    278
    Maybe he meant 2GHz memory?
    Why yes, yes I do use Koolance..*Flame Wall Inbound*

  11. #11
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    So near, yet so far.
    Posts
    736
    might be model clocked around 1980+ Mhz that's capable of reaching 2Ghz w/ the help of gpu boost?
    [[Daily R!G]]
    Core i7 920 D0 @ 4.0GHz w/ 1.325 vcore.
    Rampage II Gene||CM HAF 932||HX850||MSI GTX 660ti PE OC||Corsair H50||G.Skill Phoenix 3 240GB||G.Skill NQ 6x2GB||Samsung 2333SW

    flickr

  12. #12
    Xtreme Addict Russian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    America's Finest City
    Posts
    2,072
    Confirmed with Zotac, this is not a typo.
    Quote Originally Posted by FUGGER View Post
    I am magical.

  13. #13
    Xtreme Enthusiast Klarko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    East Troy Wisconsin
    Posts
    707
    hmmm I can see a lot of issues with power, heat, noise... Liquid cooled?
    HAF922 (3 fan upgraded) 700w ModXtreme
    MSI GD-65 // HIS 5850 // Saitek Esclipse
    Core i5 750 @ 3.32Ghz (OC Genie) Megahalem w/ 1200rpm Scythe Slipstream
    G. Skill RipJaws DDR3 2000 4x2 gig
    Samsung SpinPoint F3 1TB // 5:1 Dell Surround
    24inch Samsung ToC // MX518

  14. #14
    Xtremely Hot Sauce Bobsama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    3,586
    Quote Originally Posted by Klarko View Post
    hmmm I can see a lot of issues with power, heat, noise... Liquid cooled?
    Toss on a TEC and 4 more PCI-E cables...

    My toys:
    Asus Sabertooth X58 | Core i7-950 (D0) | CM Hyper 212+ | G.Skill Sniper LV 12GB DDR3-1600 CL9 | GeForce GTX 670-2048MB | OCZ Agility 4 512GB, WD Raptor 150GB x 3 (RAID0), WD Black 1TB x 2 (RAID0) | XFX 650W CAH9 | Lian-Li PC-9F | Win 7 Pro x86-64
    Gigabyte EX58-UD3R | Core i7-920 (D0) | Stock HSF | G.Skill Sniper LV 4GB DDR3-1600 CL9 | Radeon HD 2600 Pro 512MB | WD Caviar 80GB IDE, 4TB x 2 (RAID5) | Corsair TX750 | XClio 188AF | Win 7 Pro x86-64
    Dell Dimension 8400 | Pentium 4 530 HT (E0) | Stock HSF | 1.5GB DDR2-400 CL3 | GeForce 8800 GT 256MB | WD Caviar 160GB SATA | Stock PSU | (Broken) Stock Case | Win Vista HP x86
    Little Dot DAC_I | Little Dot MK IV | Beyerdynamic DT-880 Premium (600 Ω) | TEAC AG-H300 MkIII | Polk Audio Monitor 5 Series 2's

  15. #15
    Stop...Ban-Hammer Time! DilTech's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    3,760
    Quote Originally Posted by Russian View Post
    Confirmed with Zotac, this is not a typo.
    Getting my milk and cookies ready just in case they actually pull this one off. You figure with the supposedly "cheap" PCB and 2x6 pins it's capable of 1.3ghz, I can see 1.5 being doable--but 2ghz?
    Quote Originally Posted by Leon2ky
    "dammit kyle what's with the 30 second sex lately?" "Sorry sweetie, I overclocked my nuts and they haven't been stable since"
    Quote Originally Posted by trinibwoy View Post
    I don't think his backside has internet access.
    Quote Originally Posted by n00b 0f l337 View Post
    Hey I just met you
    And this is crazy
    But I'm on bath salts
    And your face looks tasty

  16. #16
    I am Xtreme Manicdan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    7,747
    Quote Originally Posted by DilTech View Post
    Getting my milk and cookies ready just in case they actually pull this one off. You figure with the supposedly "cheap" PCB and 2x6 pins it's capable of 1.3ghz, I can see 1.5 being doable--but 2ghz?
    "screenshot or it didnt happen" is my motto until this thing settles.
    if they really can launch a 2ghz card, then this is a serious feat for perf/mm2, and that means ill short AMD stock and buy some nvidia.
    2500k @ 4900mhz - Asus Maxiums IV Gene Z - Swiftech Apogee LP
    GTX 680 @ +170 (1267mhz) / +300 (3305mhz) - EK 680 FC EN/Acteal
    Swiftech MCR320 Drive @ 1300rpms - 3x GT 1850s @ 1150rpms
    XS Build Log for: My Latest Custom Case

  17. #17
    Xtreme Addict CrazyNutz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,786
    Perhaps there is a way to unlink the shaders so they run asynch again. Core @ 1016mhz and shaders @ 2032mhz?
    Sandy Bridge 2500k @ 4.5ghz 1.28v | MSI p67a-gd65 B3 Mobo | Samsung ddr3 8gb |
    Swiftech apogee drive II | Coolgate 120| GTX660ti w/heat killer gpu x| Seasonic x650 PSU

    QX9650 @ 4ghz | P5K-E/WIFI-AP Mobo | Hyperx ddr2 1066 4gb | EVGA GTX560ti 448 core FTW @ 900mhz | OCZ 700w Modular PSU |
    DD MC-TDX CPU block | DD Maze5 GPU block | Black Ice Xtreme II 240 Rad | Laing D5 Pump

  18. #18
    Xtreme Guru SKYMTL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3,544
    There isn't. They are hard locked.

  19. #19
    Xtreme Mentor tbone8ty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    West hartford, CT
    Posts
    2,695
    It will be able to do 2ghz on ln2. If the Evga gtx 680 was able to hit ~1.8ghz then I'm sure it wont be to hard to hit 2ghz
    FX-8350(1249PGT) @ 4.6ghz 1.44v, lapped Nzxt Havik 140 push/pull
    Asus Crosshair Formula 5 Am3+ bios v1703
    G.skill Trident X (2x4gb) ~1200mhz @ 10-12-12-31-45-1T @ 1.65v
    MSI 7950 TwinFrozr *1050/1450* Cat.14.4
    OCZ ZX 850w psu
    Lian-Li Lancool K62
    Samsung 830 128g
    2 x 1TB Samsung SpinpointF3, 2T Samsung
    Win7 Home 64bit
    My Rig

  20. #20
    I am Xtreme BeepBeep2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,378
    Quote Originally Posted by DilTech View Post
    Getting my milk and cookies ready just in case they actually pull this one off. You figure with the supposedly "cheap" PCB and 2x6 pins it's capable of 1.3ghz, I can see 1.5 being doable--but 2ghz?
    Not even 1.5. Maybe 1.4. PCB ain't worth that much...EVGA Untouchables proves that. 30-100 MHz can be done moving from 3/4 phase VRM to 10 phase beefy burrito VRM

    I could only think of them trying to use a high qmax (~400w) TEC to cool this thing or something...4x8 pin connectors and junk, power consumption 675w, XD

    Quote Originally Posted by tbone8ty View Post
    It will be able to do 2ghz on ln2. If the Evga gtx 680 was able to hit ~1.8ghz then I'm sure it wont be to hard to hit 2ghz
    Remember to note that all the manufacturers right now run the same NVIDIA reference PCB.
    Last edited by BeepBeep2; 03-23-2012 at 06:25 PM.
    Intel all dey erry dey
    AMD all nite erry nite party party party

  21. #21
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,140
    if they do put the 2ghz cards out in large numbers i dont see how any1 could complain about no gk100
    3770k, M5E, kingston 2x4GB cfr
    samsung 2TB F4EG, samsung 840 250GB , CM690II, corsair 750tx

  22. #22
    Xtreme Addict GoldenTiger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1,955
    Quote Originally Posted by Russian View Post
    Confirmed with Zotac, this is not a typo.
    My brain is having trouble understanding how it could possibly be ! Even if it were a 100-unit special run, just wow... I'd LOVE to get my hands on a pair of these things if they're available in the US.

    Even if it's not widely available, I'm wondering if say 1.5ghz or 1.6ghz ones WILL be soon...? I wonder how soon, if so... suddenly really questioning my purchase of 2x reference cards (eVGA 680) since it seems I would be unable to step-up to say an eVGA non-reference model of the same GPU . Any thoughts, anyone?
    Last edited by GoldenTiger; 03-23-2012 at 06:43 PM.

  23. #23
    Xtreme Cruncher Musho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    895
    April Fools' Day.

    Awww, did I spoil the fun?

  24. #24
    Xtreme Member LiquidReactor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    449
    Ultra cherry picking. There has to be at least a couple of dies that can do 2 Ghz if liquid cooled.
    --lapped Q9650 #L828A446 @ 4.608, 1.45V bios, 1.425V load.
    -- NH-D14 2x Delta AFB1212SHE push/pull and 110 cfm fan -- Coollaboratory Liquid PRO
    -- Gigabyte EP45-UD3P ( F10 ) - G.Skill 4x2Gb 9600 PI @ 1221 5-5-5-15, PL8, 2.1V
    - GTX 480 ( 875/1750/928)
    - HAF 932 - Antec TPQ 1200 -- Crucial C300 128Gb boot --
    Primary Monitor - Samsung T260

  25. #25
    I am Xtreme BeepBeep2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,378
    Quote Originally Posted by LiquidReactor View Post
    Ultra cherry picking. There has to be at least a couple of dies that can do 2 Ghz if liquid cooled.
    ...
    Average 1200-1400 on air/water vs 2000? At the very best that would be a 45% improvement...it would be like average Bulldozer parts doing 4.7 on water, and the ultra cherry picked doing 6.8 XD

    I'm not using SB or SB-E because of the multiplier ceiling...but thats kinda ridiculous to expect
    Intel all dey erry dey
    AMD all nite erry nite party party party

Page 1 of 6 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •